Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Part one
Black magic

Rohingya Woman
Rohingya women in refugee camps share stories of loss and hopes of recovery | © UN Women/Allison Joyce

“Mumtaz Begum practices black magic. Else which kind of girl survive a dead family, a runaway husband and still paint her nails red,” warns Mehrunissa, a 60 year old woman from Kariyani pond camp of Rohingya settlement in Jammu, a north Indian district with a large Rohingya refugee settlement.

Mumtaz Begum is 22. The entrance to her shanty is adorned with sequin embroidery patches that sparkle in the winter sunshine. She had fled Maungdaw in Myanmar along with her neighbours, after her village was attacked by the Buddhist mobs in 2013. “The sight of her parents and younger siblings chopped to death does not fade away from the mind easily,” she says.

The neighbours, Shahida and her husband Younis, both in their 60s, were the only familiar faces she could trace after losing her family. They first crossed over to Bangladesh and then came to Jammu via Kolkata in India.  “They were kind and gave me shelter throughout. There are not many takers for an orphan, unmarried girl for this sort of help,” she says.
That’s where she was introduced to Mohammed Aarif, 42, a man twenty years her senior. Aarif too had lost his family like Mumtaz except that he did not have the assurance that Mumtaz had. That they were dead. He worked as a farmer in Buthidaung town of Rakhine state in Myanmar. Then there was a spate of violence in April 2011 where his house and crops were set to fire. This was second time in two years. His brother had already shifted with his family to Cox Bazaar in Bangladesh, a year before when the sectarian violence against Rohingya Muslims had taken a full swing.

Nagma, his wife and his three sons packed whatever was left at home and joined a set of 300 people who were leaving Arakan to go to Bangladesh with a plan that they will come back once the conflict cools down. They walked for nine days to reach the Myanmar-Bangladesh border on a dark night in May, 2011. As they reached, there was a small explosion and the ground beneath Nagma’s feet moved. It left a gaping wound in her right leg. It was a suspected landmine that had been allegedly put in by  the inter-agency border control force called Nasaka to prevent the Rohingya refugees to return to Bangladesh.

She bled profusely as the shrapnels had torn her flesh apart. There was a long queue and a waitlist to let the refugees in through the border. They were told that they had to wait for another ten hours before they would be allowed entry to Bangladesh and then access the makeshift clinic to treat Nagma. Aarif asked his sons to wait on her as he went looking for a way to speed up the process. When he returned an hour later, most people from the spot had fled after a rumour that the Burmese military was moving towards the border to attack them. That was the last time Aarif saw of them.

He looked for them in Cox Bazaar for an entire year before someone told them that his family is in Jammu. Next week, he crossed over to India, took a train from Kolkata to Jammu and reached the Narwal camp near Kariyani talab in June 2012. Shahida and Younis, the neighbours who had given refuge to Mumtaz were Aarif’s maternal uncle and aunt.

They helped him to look for Nagma and the boys all over. Even made trips to Hyderabad and Delhi, where there is a large Rohingya settlement to look for them. But they were nowhere to be found.

In 2013, when the next round of Rohingya refugees landed in Jammu, he heard from one of the families that Nagma and the boys were killed by the Burmese military. Aarif sunk into depression for several months. To shake him out of it,  he patriarchs of the camp decided to get him married off to Mumtaz. “This is an efficient way of getting people to start a new life,” says Yousuf, a self appointed community leader in the camp. “Initially ,Aarif was unwilling but we convinced him. Both of them were alone. So that was the correct thing to do. Also, an unmarried girl should be gotten rid off as soon as possible,”he says.

Aarif and Mumtaz got married in September 2014 and set up new shanty in the settlement. “ I constructed it bit by bit just like the ones in my village in Maungdaw. Just like my mother made one back home,” says Mumtaz. She set up tall bamboo poles to raise the eight with bamboo partition walls. The walls were three layered- bamboo mat, tarpaulin and blankets.  There was also an attic, unlike the Indian shanties. “Attics help during waterlogging,” she says.

A new life seemed to have begun. Aarif started getting regular work as a daily wage laborer with a local contractor who was laying broadband cables all over the Jammu city. Mumtaz transformed from an emaciated, pale, short girl with matted hair to a plump, glowing woman with new clothes and trimmed, neat hair. She no more doubled up as the community babysitter or children’s barber to survive on leftover food and castaway clothes. Her time was now either used up in fixing her house or practicing brocade or sequin embroidery on her clothes, hair bands, her burqas and even the wall hangings. She was no more dependent on the neighbours for food and castaway clothes.

Meanwhile, Shahida and Younis traced their elder son in a Rohingya settlement in Mewat district of Haryana, 700 kms from Jammu and moved there.

“He was a reserved, quiet man. She was talkative, extrovert and social. She forgot that she was now a married woman and could not go around galloping like pampered teenagers,” says Afsana her 40 year old neighbour disapprovingly. 

Rubaiya, another neighbour from the camp interrupts,“Poor girl, she had found someone of her own after three years. And Aarif never stopped her from mingling.”

“She kept arguing with Aarif over silly things. Like why does he not eat the lunch she packs for him. Why does he not talk to her enough. Why does he talk about Nagma and his sons so much? And why does he not buy a smartphone to play music and films,” adds Afsana. “It is a sin for a woman to question and badger their husbands. With a big mouth and no hesitation even when she had lost her whole family.”

Then, one day, Aarif did buy the mobile phone that played music and had internet. He got obsessed with Whatsapp and managed to connect with his displaced family and friends all over Asia. He found his elder brother in Malaysia, an uncle in UAE, one nephew in Delhi through several Whatsapp groups. “That is how a lot of Rohingya people continue to find their lost ones,”says Yousuf. 

A year later in September 2017, he found a message in one of the groups. “Mohd Salim, son of Mohd Aarif from Buthidaung in Myanmar looking for him. Contact on this number.” Aarif immediately called up on the number.

“He spoke to his wife and the elder son, Salim and found out that they were in Kutupalong refugee camp in Ukhia in Cox Bazaar, Bangladesh,” says Yousuf.

Two days later, Aarif had tea just like any regular morning, Mumtaz packed his lunch like she did everyday. He gave Mumtaz a new smartphone and told her that he had found his lost family in a very matter of fact tone. Before Mumtaz could ask any question, he left for work. He did not come back that evening, next evening or the evening after that. It has been four months.

Yousuf says, “Who will say that she has been deserted by her husband? Look at that sparkling sequence burqa. No grief on her face at all. This is why Aarif ran away.”

Mumtaz has found out through Whatsapp on her blue smartphone that Aarif has reunited with his family. “I cant reach his phone. I cant even reach his son’s phone. I dont even have the money to go there,” she points out the picture of Aarif and his family in Bangladesh.

The other day, Yousuf told Mumtaz that Aarif told him that he plans to settle in Bangladesh. “He has no reason to come. He doesnt even have children with Mumtaz. She is cursed that is why no one stays with her, family, husband, no one” he says.

Mumtaz thinks in retrospect that it is good that she does not have children or else what would she have told them about their abandonment. “Children cannot be reproduced alone. Things also need to be done by the husband too,” she says.

Mumtaz now embroiders from home for a local boutique and earns her own living unlike a few single women who continue to work as babysitters for the community’s children for food and shelter.

“I always knew that she practiced black magic. With those needles and threads. How else can a young, single girls live without the community’s help.”

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Teil 1
Schwarze Magie

Rohingya-Frau
Rohingya Frauen in Flüchtlingslagern teilen Geschichten über Verlust und Hoffnung. | © UN Women/Allison Joyce

„Mumtaz Begum beherrscht schwarze Magie. Wie sonst könnte ein Mädchen den Tod ihrer Familie und einen weggelaufenen Ehemann verkraften, und sich auch noch die Nägel rot lackieren?“, mahnt Mehrunissa, eine 60-jährige Frau im Kariyani-Pond-Flüchtlingslager in Jammu.

Mumtaz Begum ist 22. Der Eingang ihrer Baracke ist mit Pailletten bestickt, die in der Wintersonne funkeln. Nach einer Gewaltorgie des buddhistischen Mobs floh sie 2013 mit ihren beiden Nachbarn aus Maungdaw in Myanmar. „Der Anblick der eigenen zerhackten Eltern und jüngeren Geschwister geht einem nicht mehr aus dem Kopf“, sagt sie.

Nach dem Verlust ihrer Familie waren die Nachbarn, Shahida und ihr Mann Younis, beide um die 60, ihre einzigen Vertrauten. Sie flüchteten erst nach Bangladesch und über Kolkata schließlich weiter nach Jammu in Indien. „Sie waren sehr freundlich und beschützten mich. Wen kümmert sonst schon ein Waisenkind, ein unverheiratetes Mädchen?“

In Jammu lernte sie Mohammed Aarif kennen, 20 Jahre älter war er als sie. Auch Aarif hatte wohl seine Familie verloren, doch anders als Mumtaz war er sich dessen nicht wirklich sicher. Er lebte als Bauer in Buthidaung im Rakhaing-Staat (ehemals Arakan) in Myanmar. Bei gewalttätigen Unruhen im April 2011 wurden sein Haus und seine Ernte niedergebrannt – zum zweiten Mal innerhalb von zwei Jahren. Sein Bruder hatte das Land bereits ein Jahr zuvor, als die religiös motivierte Gewalt gegen Rohingya-Muslime bereits an der Tagesordnung war, mit seiner Familie in Richtung Cox’s Bazar in Bangladesch verlassen.

Aarif, seine Frau Nagma und die drei Söhne packten ihre verbliebenen Habseligkeiten und schlossen sich einer Gruppe von 300 Menschen an, die sich auf den Weg nach Bangladesch machten und erst wiederkehren wollten, wenn sich die Lage wieder beruhigt haben würde. Nach neun Tagen Fußmarsch erreichten sie in einer finsteren Nacht im Mai 2011 die Grenze zwischen Myanmar und Bangladesch. Kaum angekommen, explodierte der Boden unter Nagmas Füßen: vermutlich eine der Landminen der myanmarischen Grenzschutzeinheit Nasaka, die angeblich dazu dienten, die Rückkehr der Rohingya-Flüchtlinge nach Bangladesch zu verhindern.
Nagma blutete heftig, Splitter hatten eine tiefe Wunde in ihr rechtes Bein gerissen. An der Grenze standen lange Schlangen von Flüchtlingen, die sich in Wartelisten eintragen mussten, um die Grenze zu passieren. Frühestens in zehn Stunden, hieß es, würden sie nach Bangladesch einreisen können, wo Nagma Aussicht auf Behandlung in einer provisorischen Klinik gehabt hätte. Aarif bat seine Söhne, sich um Nagma zu kümmern, während er nach einer Möglichkeit suchen wollte, die Grenze doch schneller zu passieren. Als er nach einer Stunde zurückkehrte, war seine Familie und die meisten anderen Menschen geflohen – Gerüchte hatten sich verbreitet, dass burmesisches Militär auf dem Weg zur Grenze war, um die Geflüchteten anzugreifen. Er sollte seine Familie lange nicht wiedersehen.

Ein Jahr lang hatte er in Cox’s Bazar schon nach ihnen gesucht, als ihm jemand erzählte, dass seine Familie in Jammu sei. Eine Woche später, im Juni 2012, reiste er nach Indien, nahm einen Zug von Kolkata nach Jammu und erreichte das Narwal-Camp in der Nähe von Kariyani Talab.

Shahida und Younis, die Nachbarn, die sich Mumtaz’ angenommen hatten, waren Aarifs Onkel und Tante mütterlicherseits. Sie halfen ihm bei der Suche nach Nagma und den Jungen. Sogar nach Hyderabad und Delhi fuhren sie, weil es dort große Rohingya-Siedlungen gibt, jedoch ohne Erfolg.
Als ein Jahr später eine weitere Welle von Rohingya-Flüchtlingen Jammu erreichte, hörte er von einer der neu eingetroffenen Familien, das burmesische Militär habe Nagma und seine Söhne getötet. Aarif verfiel monatelang in tiefe Depressionen. Um ihm herauszuhelfen, beschlossen die Oberhäupter des Lagers, ihn mit Mumtaz zu verheiraten. „Das hilft den Menschen, ein neues Leben zu beginnen“, sagt Yousuf, einer der selbsternannten Anführer im Lager. „Aarif wollte zunächst nicht, aber wir haben ihn überzeugt. Beide waren allein, also war es das Richtige. Außerdem sollte man ein unverheiratetes Mädchen möglichst schnell unter die Haube bringen.“

Aarif und Mumtaz heirateten im September 2014 und errichteten sich in der Siedlung eine Baracke. „Stück für Stück habe ich sie genauso gebaut wie unsere in Maungdaw. So wie es früher meine Mutter getan hat“, sagt Mumtaz. Sie stellte hohe Bambusstangen auf und stützte die Decke mit dreilagigen Bambuswänden aus Bambusmatte, Plane und Decken. Anders als indische Hütten hatte das Haus auch einen Dachboden. „Dachböden sind gut, wenn die Erde feucht ist“, erklärt sie.

Nun schien ein neues Leben zu beginnen. Aarif arbeitete als Tagelöhner bei einer örtlichen Firma, die in Jammu Breitbandkabel verlegte. Mumtaz verwandelte sich von einem ausgemergelten, blassen kleinen Mädchen mit verfilzten Haaren in eine üppige, strahlende Frau mit neuen Kleidern und gepflegtem Haar. Sie musste nicht mehr babysitten oder Kindern anderer Leute die Haare schneiden, um Essensreste und alte Kleidung zu ergattern. Jetzt verbrachte sie ihre Zeit damit, ihr Haus instand zu halten oder ihre Kleider, Haarbänder, Burkas und sogar ihre Wände mit Brokat- oder Paillettenstickereien zu verzieren. Shahida und Younis waren inzwischen zu ihrem ältesten Sohn gezogen, der in einer Rohingya-Siedlung im Mewat-Distrikt in der Provinz Haryana lebte, 700 Kilometer von Jammu entfernt.
„Aarif war ein zurückhaltender, ruhiger Mann. Mumtaz dagegen war gesprächig, extrovertiert und gesellig. Sie vergaß, dass sie jetzt eine verheiratete Frau war und nicht mehr wie ein verwöhnter Teenager herumspringen konnte“, erinnert sich Afsana, ihre 40-jährige Nachbarin, missbilligend.

Rubaiya, eine andere Nachbarin, fällt ihr ins Wort: „Die Arme, nach drei Jahren hatte sie endlich wieder jemanden. Und Aarif hat es ihr nie untersagt, unter die Leute zu gehen.“

„Immer wieder hat sie sich mit Aarif über dummes Zeug gestritten. Warum isst er nicht das Mittagessen, das sie ihm einpackt? Warum redet er so wenig mit ihr? Warum spricht er dauernd von Nagma und seinen Söhnen? Und warum kauft er kein Smartphone, mit dem man Musik hören und Filme sehen kann?“, ergänzt Afsana. „Für eine Ehefrau ist es eine Sünde, ihren Mann zu verhören und ihn so zu belästigen – große Klappe und einfach drauf los, obwohl sie ihre ganze Familie verloren hatte.“

Eines Tages kaufte Aarif schließlich doch ein Mobiltelefon, das Musik spielte und Internet hatte. Er war ständig mit WhatsApp zugange und schaffte es schließlich, mit Angehörigen seiner vertriebenen Familie und Freunden, die es nach ganz Asien verschlagen hatte, in Kontakt zu kommen. Mithilfe von verschiedenen WhatsApp-Gruppen fand er seinen älteren Bruder in Malaysia, einen Onkel in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten, einen Neffen in Delhi. „Viele Rohingya finden so ihre Familien und Freunde wieder”, erklärt Yousuf.

Ein Jahr später, im September 2017, stieß er in einer der Gruppen auf diese Nachricht: „Mohd Salim, Sohn von Mohd Aarif aus Buthidaung in Myanmar, sucht seinen Vater, Kontaktnahme unter folgender Nummer.” Aarif rief sofort an.

„Er sprach mit seiner Frau und dem älteren Sohn Salim, die noch immer in Bangladesch waren, im Flüchtlingslager Kutupalong in Ukhia, Cox’s Bazar.”
Zwei Tage später trank Aarif wie jeden Morgen seinen Tee, Mumtaz packte ihm wie jeden Morgen sein Mittagessen ein. Er übergab Mumtaz ein neues Smartphone und erklärte ihr trocken, dass er seine Familie gefunden habe. Bevor Mumtaz ihm auch nur eine Frage stellen konnte, verschwand er zur Arbeit. Er kam nicht mehr nach Hause, weder an diesem Abend, noch am nächsten oder den Abenden danach. Seitdem sind vier Monate vergangen.
Yousuf sagt: „Kaum zu glauben, dass ihr Ehemann sie gerade verlassen hat! Sieh dir nur ihre funkelnde Burka an. Und keine Spur von Trauer in ihrem Gesicht.”

Mit ihrem blauen Smartphone hat Mumtaz über WhatsApp herausgefunden, dass Aarif wieder bei seiner Familie ist. „Ich kann ihn nicht erreichen, nicht einmal seinen Sohn. Ich habe auch kein Geld, um hinzufahren”, sagt sie und zeigt auf das Bild von Aarif und seiner Familie in Bangladesch.
Neulich erzählte Yousuf Mumtaz, Aarif habe ihm gesagt, er wolle sich in Bangladesch niederlassen. „Es gibt ja auch keinen Grund, weshalb er zurückkommen sollte. Er hat nicht einmal Kinder mit Mumtaz. Sie ist verflucht, deshalb bleibt niemand bei ihr – die Familie nicht, der Ehemann nicht, niemand”, sagt er.

Rückblickend, findet Mumtaz, sei es eher gut, dass sie keine Kinder habe – wie hätte sie ihnen erklären sollen, dass sie verlassen wurden?
Heute arbeitet Mumtaz von zu Hause, sie stickt für ein Modegeschäft in der Gegend und verdient sich so ihren Lebensunterhalt. Anders als andere alleinstehende Frauen, die für etwas zu essen und ein Dach über dem Kopf die Kinder der Gemeinschaft hüten.

„Mir war immer klar, dass sie schwarze Magie praktiziert. Diese ganzen Nadeln und Fäden. Wie sonst kann ein junges, alleinstehendes Mädchen ohne Hilfe der Gemeinschaft überleben?”

Top