Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

"Refugees Worldwide"
Stories of Rohingya women refugees from India

Rohingya-Women report
Rohingya women in refugee camps share stories of loss and hopes of recovery | © UN Women/Allison Joyce

The Rohingya are “the Worlds’ Most Persecuted Minority,” according to U.N. Secretary-General Ban Ki Moon. This stateless Muslim people may constitute up to 7% of the total Burmese population of nearly 60 million. The Myanmar government continues to deny the Rohingya any legal status or rights, insisting that they are “Bengalis” illegally in the country. Bangladesh, however, does not claim them.

In the last four years, in an effort to “purify” the nation, these Buddhist supremacists have been committing rape, arson, murder and land confiscation on a massive scale. Hundreds of thousands of Rohingyas struggle to survive in “concentration camps.” They are denied freedom of movement, marriage, jobs and schooling. At least an equal number of refugees have fled to an unknown fate. Unknown numbers of people have drowned or been captured by traffickers to toil as slaves. Some found second-class residency in Malaysia, Thailand Bangladesh, India living at a risk of another expulsion. Till date an estimated 140,000 Rohingyas have been displaced from Myanmar. 
 
Different socio economic factors that have brought close to 36,000 Rohingyas Muslims to India. However, the rise of the Hindu nationalism in India, has led to a sectarian divide amongst the Hindu majority of roughly 84 percent and the Muslim minority of 13 percent. Currently, Muslims, Tribals and Dalits-the untouchables are the most marginalized sections of Indian society. Conservative political parties have always invoked the migrant crisis, giving it a religious colour, for political gains.

Seven thousand Rohingyas have settled in Jammu, a north Indian district. These are the stories of Rohingya women who continue to survive the complexities of the  sectarian divide in South Asia.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

"Refugees Worldwide"
Geschichten geflüchteter Rohingya-Frauen aus Indien

Rohingya-Frauen erzählen
Rohingya Frauen in Flüchtlingslagern teilen Geschichten über Verlust und Hoffnung. | © UN Women/Allison Joyce

Die Rohingya sind laut den Vereinten Nationen „die am meisten verfolgte Minderheit der Welt“. Das staatenlose muslimische Volk macht möglicherweise bis zu 7 Prozent der insgesamt 60 Millionen mehrheitlich buddhistischen Burmesen aus. Die Regierung von Myanmar verweigert den Rohingya nach wie vor jegliche Rechte, mit der Begründung, dass sie „Bengalis“ seien und sich illegal im Land aufhielten. Auch Bangladesch fühlt sich für sie nicht zuständig.

Mit dem Ziel, das Land zu „säubern“, begingen buddhistische Extremisten in den letzten vier Jahren in gewaltigem Ausmaß Vergewaltigungen und Morde, brannten Häuser nieder und besetzten das Land der Rohingya.

Seither kämpfen Hunderttausende von ihnen in Flüchtlingslagern, die Konzentrationslagern gleichen, um ihr Leben. Sie dürfen nicht reisen, nicht heiraten, weder arbeiten noch zur Schule gehen. Mindestens ebenso viele haben sich einem unbekannten Schicksal ausgeliefert. Niemand weiß, wie viele von ihnen ertranken oder in die Hände von Menschenhändlern fielen, um fortan als Sklaven ihr Dasein fristen zu müssen. Einige fanden vorübergehend Zuflucht in Malaysia, Thailand, Bangladesch oder Indien, wo ihnen jedoch jederzeit die erneute Ausweisung droht. Bis jetzt wurden schätzungsweise 140.000 Rohingya aus Myanmar vertrieben.

Verschiedene sozioökonomische Faktoren haben fast 36.000 Rohingya nach Indien getrieben. Der wachsende Hindu-Nationalismus indes führte zu einer tiefen Spaltung zwischen einer Hindu-Mehrheit von rund 84 Prozent und einer muslimischen Minderheit von 13 Prozent. Gegenwärtig sind es Muslime, Indigene und Dalit (die „Unberührbaren“), die von der indischen Gesellschaft am stärksten marginalisiert werden. Seit jeher haben sich konservative indische Politiker auf die Flüchtlingskrise berufen und ihr einen religiösen Anstrich gegeben, um bei Wahlen punkten zu können.

In Jammu, einem Distrikt im Norden Indiens, leben ca. 7.000 Rohingya. Dies sind Geschichten von Rohingya-Frauen, die mit ihrem unerschütterlichen Lebenswillen den verheerenden Folgen der konfessionellen Spaltung in Südasien trotzen.

Top