Football Last Destination Super League in India

Manuel Friedrich is an adventurer. At 34 he rushed headlong into top international Football once again. That is not absolutely unusual. But the professional was almost five months without a club and kept himself fit only as part of the regional league team RW Oberhausen. In November 2013 followed the transfer to Borussia Dortmund. National championship, Champions League, defending in front of an audience of 80,000. But he had planned an adventure of a different kind altogether. This he gets to realize now. In probably the most exotic league in the world. 

He intentionally let his contract with Bayer Leverkusen expire in summer 2013, in order to make his dream possible: a transfer to Asia. But Friedrich could not find any club. And finally after a call from his former coach Jürgen Klopp who asked him to help out as there had been many injuries in Dortmund, it was clear that the transfer to Far East was not going to happen.

A few days ago Friedrich signed a contract for a season with Mumbai City FC, which plays in the Indian Super League founded in October 2013. Not Qatar, not China, not Australia or the USA – India is the new destination for the older stars who have disappeared from the screen. Here they spread the last glamour of former days – before they take off their shoes for good.

Eight teams were put together with clear guidelines per Drafting system following the model of North American professional Basketball league NBA. Apart from one so-called Marquee-player or main performer like David Trezeguet, Robert Pirès or Fredrik Ljungberg who had fought in at least one European tournament, a team consists of 14 native players and 7 other foreign professionals.

Manuel Friedrich is one of them. His trainer is the Dutch Ruud Gullit. “I am very excited to be part of the team in Mumbai and will give my best”, said the 34-year old player who comes across as rather young compared to other older stars. Players like Italian icon Alessandro Del Piero (39), Spanish World and Europe champion Joan Capdevilla (36), French Mikael Silvestre (37) and his compatriot David Trezeguet (36), who had shot the Golden Goal against Italy (2:1) in the EURO-Finale 2000, are all 36 years or above.

Former English National Goalkeeper David James, who has been rather prone to mishaps, has, in fact, two functions to perform. At 44, he is also the coach of a team. One of his coach colleagues is the Brazilian football legend Zico. And also a former player from Borussia Mönchengladbach ended up in Super League: the Norwegian Morten Skoubo.

In India, where Cricket is the most popular sport, football can be pulled into the focus of the populace of 1.2 Billion only through attractive, well-known names. The first attempt, however, already failed two years ago, as a similar project with the name ‘Premier League Soccer’ could not be implemented. Five clubs wooed famous players like Fabio Cannavaro, Hernan Crespo, Jay-Jay Okocha, Juan Pablo Sorin or Robbie Fowler to play in India. For a couple of games they could have made enormous money. But the league never took off because of financial reasons.

For Manuel Friedrich, money is not the first priority. He has another logic. “It is just that in the Bundesliga business I have experienced nearly everything that one can experience. Now it must be a new experience which includes an unknown language and culture – and that’s possible only in such countries”, he explains. Dortmund Trainer Klopp who would have employed the 1.89 Meter tall defender perhaps for one more year, commented smugly: “For me, the question yet remains to be answered as to why he wants to play in the future with people who barely reach his hip-bone.”

At the level of sports it´s certainly not the greatest challenge for the former National player. But the ex-Bundesliga professional has another reason in consideration: “For me, it’s tempting to come to a country where I can’t read anything, no one speaks English and I still have to communicate somehow.” He sees it as sheer adventure. Not for nothing is his Mantra: “Easy things can be done by anyone.”

Fußball Endstation Super League in Indien

Manuel Friedrich ist ein Abenteurer. Mit 34 Jahren stürzte er sich noch einmal in den internationalen Spitzenfußball. Das ist nicht zwingend ungewöhnlich. Doch der Profi war fast fünf Monate vereinslos, hielt sich lediglich beim Regionalligisten RW Oberhausen fit. Ende November 2013 folgte der Wechsel zu Borussia Dortmund. Meisterschaftskampf, Champions League, verteidigen vor 80.000 Zuschauern. Dabei hatte er ein Abenteuer ganz anderer Art geplant. Das holt er jetzt nach. In der wohl exotischsten Liga der Welt. 


Bei Bayer Leverkusen ließ er seinen Vertrag im Sommer 2013 bewusst auslaufen, um sich seinen großen Traum zu ermöglichen: einen Wechsel nach Asien. Doch Friedrich fand keinen Verein. Und spätestens nach dem Anruf seines ehemaligen Mainzer Trainers Jürgen Klopp, dem er nach einer Verletztenmisere in Dortmund aus der Bredouille helfen sollte, war klar, dass der Fernost-Transfer nicht klappt.

Vor einigen Tagen unterschrieb Friedrich nun einen Vertrag für eine Saison beim Mumbai City FC, der in der erst im Oktober 2013 gegründeten Indian Super League spielt. Nicht Katar, nicht China, nicht Australien oder die USA – Indien ist das neue Auffangbecken für von der Bildfläche verschwundene Altstars. Hier versprühen sie den letzten Glanz alter Tage - bevor sie ihre Schuhe dann endgültig ausziehen.

Acht Ligateams wurden per Draftingsystem nach Vorbild der nordamerikanischen Basketball-Profiliga NBA und klaren Vorgaben zusammengestellt. Neben jeweils einem sogenannten Marquee-Player, einem Vorzeigespieler wie David Trezeguet, Robert Pirès oder Fredrik Ljungberg, der mindestens ein Spiel bei einem kontinentalen Turnier bestritten haben muss, besteht ein Team aus 14 einheimischen Spielern sowie sieben weiteren ausländischen Profis.

Zu ihnen gehört nun auch Manuel Friedrich. Sein Trainer ist der Niederländer Ruud Gullit. "Ich bin sehr aufgeregt, Teil des Teams in Mumbai zu sein und werde mein Bestes geben", sagte der 34-Jährige, der im Vergleich zu einigen Altstars aber noch recht jung daher kommt. Spieler wie die italienische Ikone Alessandro Del Piero (39), der spanische Welt- und Europameister Joan Capdevilla (36), der Franzose Mikael Silvestre (37) oder dessen Landsmann David Trezeguet (36), der im EM-Finale 2000 gegen Italien (2:1) das Golden Goal erzielte, liegen bei 36 Jahren aufwärts.

Der einstige – und selten pannenfreie – englische Nationalkeeper David James fungiert mit 44 Jahren sogar in Doppelfunktion, ist zugleich auch Coach einer Mannschaft. Einer seiner Trainerkollegen ist die brasilianische Fußball-Legende Zico. Und auch ein alter Bekannter von Borussia Mönchengladbach findet sich nun in der Super League wieder: der Norweger Morten Skoubo.

In Indien, wo eigentlich Cricket als Nationalsport gilt, soll der Fußball durch die attraktiven Namen stärker in den Fokus der 1,2 Milliarden Menschen gerückt werden. Ein erster Versuch scheiterte aber bereits vor zwei Jahren, als sich ein ähnliches Projekt unter dem Namen "Premier League Soccer" nicht durchsetzte. Fünf Klubs lockten namhafte Spieler wie Fabio Cannavaro, Hernan Crespo, Jay-Jay Okocha, Juan Pablo Sorin oder Robbie Fowler nach Indien. Für eine Handvoll Spiele hätten sie noch einmal kräftig kassieren können. Doch der Ligabetrieb startete wegen finanzieller Probleme nie.

Manuel Friedrich reizt nicht in erster Linie das Geld. Er hat ein anderes Kalkül. "Es ist eben so, dass ich im Geschäft Bundesliga fast alles erlebt habe, was man erleben kann. Nun soll es eben eine neue Erfahrung inklusive unbekannter Sprache und Kultur sein – und das geht halt nur in solchen Ländern", erklärte er. Dortmunds Trainer Klopp, der den 1,89 Meter großen Verteidiger vielleicht sogar ein weiteres Jahr hätte beschäftigen wollen, bemerkte trotzdem süffisant: "Mir stellt sich schon die Frage, warum er künftig gegen Leute spielen will, die ihm nur bis zum Hüftknochen gehen."

Sicher: Sportlich ist es als ehemaliger Nationalspieler vielleicht nicht die allergrößte Herausforderung. Doch der frühere Bundesligaprofi hat andere Beweggründe: "Mich reizt es, in ein Land zu kommen, in dem ich erst einmal nichts lesen kann, niemand Englisch spricht und ich mich dennoch irgendwie verständigen muss." Er sieht das als reines Abenteuer. Nicht umsonst lautet ja auch sein Mantra: "Einfach kann jeder."