About a scene Football and India – do they go together?

Football in Bandra StAndrew
Football in Bandra StAndrew | © Natalie Mayroth

The next FIFA World Cup will get under way in Russia on 14 June 2018 and will continue until 15 July 2018. What not many people know: the last U-17 World Cup was held in India. In search of Germany’s favourite sport in India.

Not long ago, in November, Kheleo, a clouded leopard and the mascot for the event, adorned billboards in New Delhi. #FootballTakesOver was splashed across. This was during the U–17 FIFA World Cup held last year. Yet the euphoria did not spill over.
 
India is a cricketing nation. Football has it tough. Even billboards cannot prevent this. ‘I watched some of the matches that were broadcast,’ says Omar, 23, who works as a street vendor just a couple of kilometres away from the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. He saw a few fans in football jerseys, he says, but otherwise he hasn’t really taken much of an interest in the tournament.
 
‘The U–17 World Cup is a good opportunity,’ says Prashant Nakwe, a professional photographer for the matches. According to him, the younger generation talks more about football than about cricket. However, the Champions League in Europe means more to football fans than the U-17 World Cup. Yet Nakwe is convinced: ‘Football is gradually gaining popularity.’
 
Football in India has its centres: West Bengal and Assam in the north-east, Goa on the west coast, scattered across Mumbai and across Kerala and Chennai in the south. Nevertheless, the game has a limited public presence in Mumbai, Chennai or New Delhi, even though these cities can boast of having some professional clubs: Mumbai City FC, Delhi Dynamos and even two clubs in the south – Chennaiyin and Chennai City FC. To be fair, all but the last mentioned (Chennai City FC) were established only in 2014.
 
The scene in Kolkata is different. The city is known for its football culture: 'The three big football clubs in India are Mohun Bagan AC, East Bengal FC and Mohammedan Sporting Club,’ says a member of the All India Football Federation (AIFF). These are clubs with a hundred-year-old history, and all are from Kolkata. And then there is Atlético de Kolkata, which was established with the help of Atlético Madrid four years ago.
 
In contrast, AIFF was founded in 1948, just a year after the birth of India. And the l-League, the predecessor of the Indian Bundesliga, was launched in 1996. The Indian Super League (ISL), the country’s second professional league, followed in 2013 and is far better known. Its clubs either belong to or have been co-founded by Bollywood stars. They include: Mumbai City FC (co-owned by actor Ranbir Kapoor); NorthEast United (owned by actor John Abraham) or FC Pune City (co-owned by actor Hrithik Roshan). More film stars will be on the green carpet in Mumbai later in the year when they play against cricket stars in the Celebrity Clasico.
 
Yet the large grounds in the city of 22 million people are traditionally reserved for cricket or horse racing. In the narrow lanes of the city, boys with cricket bats wait to strike next ball. Yet if you happen to be in a part of the city like Bandra, you can also see the boys playing football in the early morning and evening hours on the grass, which is sometimes completely brown, as is the case at St Andrews Turf Park, a school playing field, on in private grounds.

 
Football in St. Andrews Turf in Bandra The sun is about to set, yet play continues at St Andrews Turf Park in Bandra, Mumbai | © Natalie Mayroth It is shortly after six and still a hot 31 degrees Celsius. Neapun, 17, comes from the ground, wiping the sweat off his face. When he and his friends kick the ball they create a brown cloud of dust, a mini tornado. The ball, in the eye of the tornado, is being kicked around the rest of the field. His round is over for the day, but others will continue playing here until the sun goes down. ‘Most people in India only know Virat Kohli (a famous cricketer). But all the boys here know of Barca (FC Barcelona) and Madrid!’ says Neapun. He and the players at the St. Stanislaus football ground, St Andrew’s or the new Neville D’Souza Football Turf, prove that he who seeks football hearts in Mumbai shall also find them.
 
It will be a while in India until #FootballTakesOver. Besides three Olympic football tournaments in the mid-1920s, and besides qualifying for the upcoming Asian Cup, Indian football has no bigger success to show at international level. Having earned a spot at the men’s World Cup held in 1950 in Brazil due to withdrawals, the Indian national team declined the invitation to play because FIFA had only just banned barefoot play. The team never made it to the big stage again. In the qualifying rounds for Russia 2018, the team was at the bottom of Group D, below Guam, and was eliminated on 12 November. However, the fact that India will not be there does not bother the kickers from Bandra. ‘We need some more time,’ says Neapun. In the meantime, he will watch the Portugal and Germany matches.

Spurensuche Fußball und Indien – passt das zusammen?

Fußball in Bandra StAndrew
Fußball in Bandra StAndrew | © Natalie Mayroth

Mitte Juni findet (vom 14. Juni bis 15. Juli 2018) die nächste Fußball-Weltmeisterschaft in Russland statt. Was nur Wenige wissen: Die jüngste U17-WM war in Indien. Auf der Spurensuche nach dem Lieblingssport der Deutschen in Indien.

Noch im November zierte Tiger-Maskottchen „Kheleo“ Werbetafeln in Neu-Delhi. „#FootballTakesOver“ stand darauf. Das war während der U17-WM im vergangenen Jahr. Doch die Euphorie sprang nicht überall über.
 
Indien ist Cricketnation. Fußball hat einen schweren Stand. Da kommen auch Werbetafeln nicht dagegen an. „Ich habe bei ein paar Spielübertragungen reingeschaut“, sagt Omar, 23, der nur ein paar Kilometer vom Jawaharlal-Nehru-Stadion entfernt als Straßenhändler arbeitet. Ein paar Fans in Fußballtrikots habe er gesehen, erzählt Omar, doch sonst beschäftige er sich eher weniger mit dem Turnier.
 
„Die U17-Weltmeisterschaft ist eine gute Chance“, sagt der Fotograf Prashant Nakwe, der bei den Spielen beruflich im Einsatz war. Die jüngere Generation spreche mehr über Fußball als über Cricket. Doch in der Wahrnehmung von Fußballfans sei die Champions League in Europa präsenter als die WM der Junioren. Nakwe ist aber überzeugt: „Fußball findet langsam Anklang.“
 
Fußball in Indien hat seine Zentren: Westbengalen und Assam im Nordosten, an der Westküste Goa und vereinzelt in Mumbai, im Süden Kerala und Chennai. Dennoch: Sichtbar ist er in der Öffentlichkeit der Metropolen Mumbai, Chennai oder Neu-Delhi wenig – auch wenn sie eigene Profi-Clubs vorzuweisen haben: Mumbai City FC, Delhi Dynamos und sogar zwei im Süden Chennaiyin und Chennai City FC. Um fair zu sein, alle bis auf den letzten (Chennai City FC) wurden erst 2014 gegründet.
 
Anders ist das in Kalkutta. Die Stadt ist für seine Fußballkultur bekannt: „Die drei großen indischen Fußballklubs sind Mohun Bagan AC, East Bengal FC und Mohammedan Sporting Club“, erklärt ein Mitglied der All India Football Federation. Es sind Klubs mit einer hundertjährigen Geschichte, allesamt aus Kalkutta. Hinzu kommt der vor vier Jahren mithilfe von Atlético Madrid gegründete Verein Atlético Kolkata.
 
Die All India Football Federation (AIFF) hingehen wurde erst ein Jahr nach der Gründung Indiens 1948 ins Leben gerufen. Und der Vorgänger der indischen Bundesliga, der I-League, wurde 1996 initiiert. 2013 folgte die zweite indische Profiliga, die Indian Super League (ISL). Sie ist weit aus bekannter. Ihre Clubs gehören oder wurden zum Teil von Bollywood-Stars mitgegründet darunter: Mumbai City (Schauspieler Ranbir Kapoor), NorthEast United (Schauspieler John Abraham) oder FC Pune City (Schauspieler Hrithik Roshan). Mehr Filmstars lassen sich im Herbst in Mumbai auf dem grünen Teppich finden, wenn sie gegen Cricketstars, während der ‚Celebrity Clasico’ antreten.
 
Doch die großen Plätze der 22-Millionen-Stadt sind traditionell für Cricket oder Pferderennen reserviert. In den kleinen Gassen stehen Jungs mit einem breiten Holzschläger (Cricket), bereit den nächsten Ball zu erwischen. Doch wer in Vierteln wie Bandra unterwegs ist, sieht sie morgens und in den Abendstunden auch auf dem Rasen Fußball spielen, der manchmal schon ganz braun ist, wie auf dem Schulsportplatz ‚St. Andrews Turf’ oder privaten Anlagen.

Fußball in St. Andrews Turf in Bandra Bald geht die Sonne unter, doch es wird weiter gespielt auf dem St. Andrews Turf in Bandra | © Natalie Mayroth Es ist kurz nach Sechs und immer noch 31 Grad warm. Neapun, 17, kommt vom Platz, wischt sich die Schweißperlen aus dem Gesicht. Wenn er und seine Freunde gegen den Ball kicken, wirbelt sich eine braune Staubwolke wie ein Miniaturwirbelsturm auf, im Zentrum der Ball, den sie über die Reste des Feldes schießen. Seine Runde ist für heute beendet, doch andere werden noch bis in den Sonnenuntergang hinein dort spielen. „In Indien kenn die meisten kennen nur Virat Kohli (ein bekannter Cricketspieler). Doch die Jungs hier kennen alle Barca (FC Barcelona) und Madrid!’, sagt Neapun. Er und die Spielerinnen in St. Stanislaus, St. Andrew oder dem neuen Neville D’Souza Football Turf zeigen, wer sucht, der findet auch Fußballherzen in Mumbai.
 
Bis zu #FootballTakesOver wird es in Indien noch dauern. Neben drei olympischen Fußballturnieren Mitte des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts und der Qualifikation für die abstehenden Asienmeisterschaften kann der indische Fußball international keine größeren Erfolge vorweisen. Nachdem das Nationalteam 1950 als Nachrücker die Einladung zur WM der Männer nach Brasilien ausschlug, da der Weltverband das Barfußspielen kurz zuvor verboten hatte, schaffte man es nicht mehr auf die große Bühne. Bei der Qualifikation für Russland 2018 schied das Team am 12. November als Letzter in der Gruppe D hinter Guam aus. Docch dass Indien nicht dabei ist, stört die Kicker aus Bandra aber nicht. „Wir brauchen noch etwas Zeit“, sagt Neapun. Währenddessen wird es sich die Spiele von Portugal und Deutschland ansehen.