Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Improvisational Theatre
Meet the Indian Karl Marx

Satchit Puranik alias Karl Marx
Satchit Puranik alias Karl Marx | © Natalie Mayroth

A bearded man is standing on a theatre stage. Above him is a multi-storey building in Mumbai’s suburb. He is holding a book in the air as if it was a holy script. But it’s neither the Bible, nor the Quran nor the Vedas. It’s Das Kapital (Capital) he is praising to his audience, which is considered by to be an outstanding work of world history, and not just by Marxists. Satchit Puranik is embodying Marx in the improvisational theatre piece called Karl Marx in Kalbadevi. We are talking with him about one of the main works of the German philosopher and sociologist Karl Marx, who was born 1818 in the city of Trier in Germany.

By Natalie Mayroth

In Gujarat, where Satchit Puranik grew up, Marxism was seen as a utopian, irrelevant dream. While Puranik attended school, he studied Marx briefly, who was the first to define what constitutes capitalism at its core. In college, Puranik read the Communist Manifesto. For a long while he thought his graduation in economics was a complete waste, since he was keener on literature, theatre and film. But his past efforts would prove to be useful years later, when he was cast as Indian Karl Marx. For over five years now, Satchit Puranik has been playing the German scholar. Even two centuries later, Marx’s works have remained influential. Who else could know it better than his Indian double. We talked with the actor about the meaning of Communism today and what he learned about capitalism, Gandhi and Germany during his time as Marx.
 
 
Mister Puranik, do you remember how often you played Marx in the last years?
I started to play Marx in February 2013. It has been at least a hundred shows, and I will go on as long as he is relevant, which should be at least two more centuries. 
 
Where does the play come from?
In 1999, Howard Zinn, an American writer, wrote the play Marx in Soho. Zinn wanted to get to know  the human side behind the philosopher, the political figure, the journalist. The Indian playwright Uttam Gadal had seen it and was inspired to transfer this play into present-day India. They had chosen a man, who is probably the most hated on this planet.
 
How did you become the Indian ’Karl Marx’?
Uttam Gadal teamed up with the director Manoj Shah, who shares an interest in Marx as a thinker. They came up with the idea of putting Marx in the financial centre of India, to be more precise in the marketplace of Mumbai called Kalbadevi. Before, I had worked with Manoj Shah and he knew that if he was looking for an actor with a physical semblance to Marx, an interest in politics and economy and who also speaks Gujarati, he wouldn't have to look too far.
 
Why is Mumbai a good place for Marx?
The average Indian has an inseparable connection with its local marketplaces. The commercial activity, the cash-dependent transactions, the classes and ever so tangible caste distinctions make it a melting pot of economics, politics and sociology. Gadal and Shah especially wanted to attract a Gujarati-speaking audience, to create a discourse on money. (In India, Gujarati’s are known as traders.) Historically speaking, the marketplace of Kalbadevi is close to Mani Bhavan, which used to be Gandhi's Mumbai residence and was an important epicentre of Gandhian politics and his movements from 1917 to 1934.
 
Fist Marx, now Gandhi, how does that go together?
Gandhi is India's most interesting and polarizing figure. So, we created a play in which Marx is confronting Gandhi in his afterlife. By the way, Gandhi and also the Indian Prime Minister, Narendra Modi, are originally from Gujarat. To confront a community, which is quite oriented towards consumerism is even more interesting.
 
In your play, you address also Mister Modi. What is the reason behind this?
For every theatre piece to remain alive, it needs to address the times in which we are living. When the piece opened in 2013, there was a different government in power, and Marx rightfully attacked it for its callousness. 2015 onwards, while India has been changing drastically, Marx is becoming more and more tangible. Religious fundamentalism, attacks on minorities, farmer’s crises, caste and class conflicts have become more rampant. The ill-fated demonetization imposed a financial emergency of sorts, and the country is yet to recover. At such a time, Prime Minister Modi and his claims, his promises, are bound to be under the scanner. Marx in an Indian context is also compelled to question the political situation.
 
What significance does the economist Marx have in today's India?
Fortunately, or unfortunately, Marx is here to stay until private property, patriarchy, private ownership of land and exploitation of classes continues. Until capitalism continues to push the world, Marx will continue to push the envelope. However, Marxism with a capital M may be an idea worth debating. What one is more interested in is the variety of Marxism’s, the movements, the everyday struggles and power exchanges that it deals with.
 
Where do you see the similarities between Marx and Gandhi?
Both are thinkers whom you can call 'utopian' dreamers. And both are largely misunderstood for their work. They were fighting injustice with different ideas of how a revolution could happen. And they negotiated with a poverty lifestyle. Gandhi used poverty as a political tool. By the choices Marx made, he lived in precarious conditions. The dream of an ideal world connected them, even though their paths were radically different.
 
We spoke about Marx, but what is the Gandhian dream?
It’s an independent India containing intelligent human beings, not living in dirt and darkness. Men and women being free and able to hold their own against anyone in the world. 'No plague, no cholera and no small pox. Nobody will be allowed to be idle or to wallow in luxury.' This seems rather close to the 'spectre' of communism haunting Europe that Marx spoke about.
 
In fact, this sounds not too far away from the concept of communism. As an Indian, do you see this as a reason to be more concerned with Marx?
Anybody in the world should know. More so in India, which has been grappling with its semi-feudal and semi-colonial identity since its independence 70 years ago. Today we are at an extreme point of no return. One thing is for sure: that the basic idea of limited resources and unlimited growth comes with a price tag. In any place in the world, when we are talking about decentralized power structures, worker's and property rights, then we are actually paying homage to an idea that Marx came up with. Capitalism has led to the concentration of wealth in a few hands. For anyone who wishes to understand how power dynamics work, Marx is inescapable.
 
Did your view on society change since you started playing Marx?
Marx helped me to decode society and how history is written, recorded and appropriated. As Marx said, "Theory becomes a material force as soon as it has gripped the masses”. I am lucky to have had this opportunity to engage with the materiality of society, with all its complex hues and textures of class, caste and economic difference.
 
Your audience is very different – from school classes to members of the military. How does the piece catch on with the crowd?
While there is a curiosity about Marx, I have seen that the humanity in his story ends up moving most people. Purely because of the fact that we seem to have heard more about Marxism than about Marx himself.
 
You learned from Marx, what can Germans learn from you?
Without sounding immodest, I can safely quote Marx here. I learnt the best thing about 'work' from him.  He said that the problem with philosophy is that philosophers have only tried to interpret the world. The goal, should be to change it. I am trying to change the world, one show at a time. And what can Germans learn from me? Maybe how to get Gandhi and Marx to peacefully coexist. As Gandhi is rumoured to have said, 'be the change you want to see in the world'. These thinkers tell us that there is more to us than our Indianness or Germanness, more than our skin colour or our histories. We are all international citizens and even more so, in a post globalized world. We really have nothing to lose but our chains. And yes, it is high time we look at history and redeem ourselves from repeating the old mistakes.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Improvisations-Theater
Der indische Karl Marx

Satchit Puranik alias Karl Marx
Satchit Puranik alias Karl Marx | © Natalie Mayroth

Ein bärtiger Mann steht auf einer Theaterbühne. Er hält ein Buch in die Luft, als wäre es eine heilige Schrift. Doch es sind weder Bibel, noch Koran und auch nicht die hinduistischen Veden. Es ist Das Kapital, welches er vor seinem Publikum lobt. Nicht nur unter Marxisten gilt es als herausragendes Werk der Weltgeschichte. Das Kapital ist eines der Hauptwerke des deutschen Philosophen und Soziologen Karl Marx, der 1818 in Trier geboren wurde und jetzt in dem Impro-Theaterstück Karl Marx in Kalbadevi durch den indischstämmigen Schauspieler Satchit Puranik verkörpert wird.

Von Natalie Mayroth

Im westindischen Gujarat, wo Puranik aufwuchs, galt der Marxismus als utopisch und gegenstandslos. Dennoch befasste er sich in seiner Schulzeit intensiv mit Marx, der als Erster definiert hat, was Kapitalismus im Kern ausmacht. Im College las Puranik das Kommunistische Manifest. Lange Zeit hielt er seinen Abschluss in Wirtschaftswissenschaften für Zeitverschwendung, da er eigentlich viel mehr für Literatur, Theater und Film übrig hatte. Aber seine Bemühungen sollten ihm später noch nützlich sein, als er nämlich für die Rolle als indischer Karl Marx gecastet wurde. Seit mehr als fünf Jahren spielt Satchit Puranik nun schon den deutschen Gelehrten. Wir haben den Schauspieler zum Gespräch getroffen und mit ihm über die Bedeutung von Kommunismus gesprochen und darüber, was er in seiner Zeit als Marx über Kapitalismus, Gandhi und Deutschland gelernt hat.
 
 
Können Sie sich erinnern, wie oft Sie in die Rolle von Marx in den vergangenen Jahren geschlüpft sind?
Im Februar 2013 habe ich angefangen. Seitdem waren es mindestens hundert Shows, und ich werde so lange weitermachen, wie Marx relevant ist. Und das sind mindestens zweihundert weitere Jahre.
 
Woher kommt das Stück?
Es gab eine Vorlage des US-amerikanischen Schriftstellers Howard Zinn, der das Theaterstück Marx in Soho 1999 inszenierte. Zinn wollte damit die menschliche Seite hinter dem Philosophen, der politischen Figur und dem Journalisten herausstellen. Der indischer Dramatiker Uttam Gadal hatte das Stück gesehen, was ihn dazu veranlasste, es ins heutige Indien zu überführen. Damit hat er sich  wahrscheinlich einen der am meist gehassten Männer auf diesem Planeten ausgesucht.
 
Wie wurden Sie zum indischen Karl Marx?
Uttam Gadal schloss sich mit dem indischen Regisseur Manoj Shah zusammen. Sie waren an Marx als Denker interessiert und kamen auf die Idee, ihn ins Finanzzentrum Indiens, genauer gesagt auf den Marktplatz Kalbadevi der Metropole Mumbais zu holen. Ich hatte bereits mit Manoj Shah zusammengearbeitet, und er wusste, wenn er einen Schauspieler sucht, der aussieht wie Marx, sich für Politik und Wirtschaft interessiert und dazu noch Gujarati spricht, muss er nicht lange suchen.
 
Warum gerade Mumbai?
Jeder Inder hat eine besondere Beziehung zu seinem lokalen Marktplatz. Die Geschäftstätigkeit, die Bargeld abhängigen Abwicklungen von Geschäften, die sozialen Klassen und die spürbaren Kastenunterschiede machen sie zu einem Ort, an dem Wirtschaft, Politik und Soziologie aufeinandertreffen. Gadal und Shah wollten vor allem ein Gujarati sprechendes Publikum ansprechen, um mit ihnen in einen Diskurs über Geld zu treten. (In Indien sind Gujaratis besonders als Händler bekannt.) Historisch gesehen liegt der Marktplatz von Kalbadevi auch ganz in ​​der Nähe von Mani Bhavan, dem ehemaligen Wohnsitz Gandhis in Mumbai. Mani Bhavan war ein wichtiges Epizentrum seiner Politik von 1917 bis 1934.
 
Erst Marx, jetzt Gandhi – wie passt das zusammen?
Gandhi ist Indiens interessanteste und polarisierendste Figur. Also haben wir ein Stück geschaffen, in dem Marx Gandhi im Jenseits konfrontiert. Gandhi, wie auch der indische Premierminister Narendra Modi stammen übrigens aus Gujarat. Aber noch interessanter ist es, diesen Stoff einer Gesellschaft zu präsentieren, die ziemlich am Konsum orientiert ist.
 
In dem Stück sprechen Sie auch den amtierenden Premierminister an. Was ist der Grund?

Damit Theater am Leben bleiben kann, muss es sich mit dem Heute befassen. Als wir das Stück 2013 auf die Bühne brachten, war eine andere Regierung an der Macht, als es heute der Fall ist. Damals griff ich als Marx die Regierung zu Recht für ihre Herzlosigkeit an. Seit 2015 hat sich Indien jedoch drastisch verändert, deshalb werde ich in meiner Rolle als Marx immer konkreter. Religiöser Fundamentalismus, Angriffe auf Minderheiten, das Leiden der Bauern, sowie Kasten- und Klassenkonflikte sind weiter verbreitet als zuvor. Die Währungsreform von 2017 stellte sich als verhängnisvoll heraus, wovon sich das Land noch immer erholt. In solchen Zeiten stehen die Forderungen und Versprechen unseres Premierministers unter besonderer Beobachtung. Marx ist im indischen Kontext quasi gezwungen, auch die politische Situation infrage zu stellen.
 
Welche Bedeutung hat der Ökonom Marx im heutigen Indien?
Glücklicherweise oder unglücklicherweise ist Marx hier, um zu bleiben und dass so lange bis Privateigentum, Patriarchat, privater Grundbesitz und die Ausbeutung der Arbeiterklasse andauern. Solange wie der Kapitalismus die Welt weiter vorantreibt, wird Marx bis an seine Grenzen gehen. Dennoch ist Marxismus eine Diskussion wert.
 
Wo sehen Sie die Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen Marx und Gandhi?
Beide sind Denker, die man als 'utopische Träumer' bezeichnen kann. Und beide werden weitgehend für ihre Arbeit missverstanden. Sie bekämpften Ungerechtigkeiten mit unterschiedlichen Vorstellungen davon, wie eine Revolution stattfinden könnte. Und sie lebten in ärmlichen Verhältnissen. Gandhi nutzte Armut als politisches Instrument. Bei Marx waren es seine eigenen Entscheidungen, die zu prekären Bedingungen führten. Sie verbindet der Traum von einer idealen Welt, auch wenn ihre Ansätze grundlegend andere sind.
 
Wir haben über Marx gesprochen, aber was war der Traum Gandhis?
Ein unabhängiges Indien mit intelligenten Menschen, die nicht in Dreck und Dunkelheit leben. Männer und Frauen, die frei und in der Lage sind, gegen jeden aufzustehen. „Keine Seuche, keine Cholera, keine kleinen Pocken, niemand wird müßig sein und niemand wird sich in Luxus wälzen." Das scheint dem 'Geist' des Kommunismus in Europa, von dem Marx sprach, ziemlich nahe zu kommen.
 
Das klingt in der Tat nicht zu weit vom Konzept des Kommunismus entfernt. Sehen Sie das als Grund, sich als Inder mehr mit Marx auseinandersetzen?
Jeder sollte das tun. Dies gilt insbesondere für ein Land, das sich seit unserer Unabhängigkeit vor 70 Jahren mit seiner halbfeudalen und halbkolonialen Identität auseinandersetzt.
Wir sind heute an einem Punkt, an dem es kein Zurück mehr gibt. Eines ist sicher: Die Idee von begrenzten Ressourcen und unbegrenztem Wachstum ist an ein Preisschild geknüpft. Egal wo oder wann wir über dezentrale Machtstrukturen, Arbeiter- und Eigentumsrechte sprechen, erweisen wir damit Marx Ehre, da es auf seinen Gedanken aufbaut. Der Kapitalismus hat zur Konzentration des Reichtums in den Händen weniger geführt. Für jeden, der wissen möchte, wie die Dynamik Macht funktioniert, ist Marx unausweichlich.
 
Hat sich ihr Blick auf die Gesellschaft verändert, seitdem Sie Marx spielen?
Marx hat mir geholfen, die Gesellschaft zu entschlüsseln und zu verstehen, wie Geschichte geschrieben, wiedergegeben und angeeignet wird. Marx sagte: "Die Theorie wird zur materiellen Gewalt, sobald sie die Massen ergreift." Ich habe das Glück, die Gelegenheit zu haben, mich mit der komplexen Beschaffenheit von Klasse, Kaste und wirtschaftlichen Unterschieden auseinanderzusetzen.
 
Ihr Publikum ist sehr unterschiedlich – von Schulklassen bis zu Militärangehörigen. Wie kommt das Stück an?
Es gibt eine Neugier gegenüber Marx. Das Menschliche an ihm, an seiner Geschichte bewegt die meisten. Das liegt sicher daran, dass viele mehr über Marxismus als über Marx selbst gehört haben.
 
Sie haben von Marx gelernt, was können Deutsche von Ihnen lernen?
Ohne unbescheiden zu klingen, kann ich auch hier Marx zitieren. Ich habe am meisten über ‚Arbeit' von ihm gelernt. Nach Marx ist das Problem der Philosophie, dass Philosophen nur versuchen, die Welt zu interpretieren. Das Ziel sollte es jedoch sein, sie zu ändern. Ich versuche, die Welt mit jeder einzelnen Show  zu verändern. Und was könnten da Deutsche von mir lernen? Vielleicht wie Gandhi und Marx friedlich nebeneinander bestehen können. Gandhi soll gesagt haben: "Sei die Veränderung, die du in der Welt sehen willst." Diese Denker sagen uns, dass wir mehr als unsere Indianness oder Germanness sind, mehr als unsere Hautfarbe und unsere Geschichte. Wir sind alle internationale Bürger und das viel mehr in einer post-globalisierten Welt. Wir haben wirklich nichts zu verlieren außer unseren Fesseln. Und ja, es ist höchste Zeit, die Geschichte zu betrachten und die Wiederholung alter Fehler zu verhindern.

Top