Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Potsdamer Platz© Marine Leduc

Following the borders

The wall that divided Germany and Berlin fell in 1989. What changes have the country and the city seen since then? And where does one still find traces of the previous borders? Walks and tours along the places where the wall once stood.

Mr. Gorbatschow, tear down this wall!"

Ronald Reagan at the Brandenburg Gate on 12 June 1987


Stories of the wall worldwide

In front of the Tacheles in Berlin, in the 90s Courtesy Martin Reiter, Kunsthaus Tacheles Archive

The Big Pond #48
Legacies of the Berlin Wall

“It was chaos, it was total chaos.” When the Berlin Wall unexpectedly fell in 1989, it triggered a time of massive flux for the newly reunited capital of Germany. Subcultures and international trends combined with other creative forces to establish Berlin as a mecca for artists. For The Big Pond, KCRW Berlin speaks to Berliners who helped build the city’s lasting legacy.

Born after ’89 | fltr: Hannah Stegmeier, Bonn; Riccardo Pilat, Triest; Agata Otranto, Bari; Philipp Werner, Dresden. © Goethe-Institut Italy / Collage / Photos: Ignacio María Coccia

Portrait of a generation from Italy
Born after ’89

Since the fall of the Berlin Wall, Europe has fundamentally changed: the EU has grown, there is freedom of movement and a common currency. But how do people born after 1989 experience it? Journalist Matteo Tacconi and photographer Ignacio María Coccia explored this question in Dresden, Bonn, Trieste and Bari.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Potsdamer Platz© Marine Leduc

30 Jahre Mauerfall
Auf den Spuren der Grenzen

Im Jahr 1989 fiel die Mauer, die Deutschland und Berlin teilte. Wie haben sich das Land und die Stadt seitdem verändert? Und wo finden sich noch Spuren der ehemaligen Grenzen? Spaziergänge und Reisen entlang der Orte, an denen früher die Mauer stand.

Mr. Gorbatschow, tear down this wall!"

Ronald Reagan at the Brandenburg Gate on 12 June 1987


Geschichten der Mauer weltweit

Vor dem Tacheles in Berlin, in den 90ern Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Martin Reiter, Kunsthaus Tacheles Archiv

The Big Pond #48
Legacies of the Berlin Wall

„Es war Chaos, es war totales Chaos.“ Als die Berliner Mauer 1989 unerwartet fiel, löste das eine Zeit extremer Umbrüche in der wiedervereinten Hauptstadt Deutschlands aus. Für The Big Pond unterhält sich KCRW Berlin mit Berlinerinnen und Berlinern, die zum nachhaltigen kulturellen Erbe der Metropole beigetragen haben.

Geboren nach ’89 | vlnr: Hannah Stegmeier, Bonn; Riccardo Pilat, Triest; Agata Otranto, Bari; Philipp Werner, Dresden. © Goethe-Institut Italien / Collage / Fotos: Ignacio María Coccia

Portrait einer Generation aus Italien
Geboren nach ’89

Seit dem Mauerfall hat sich Europa grundlegend verändert: Die EU ist gewachsen, es gibt Reisefreiheit und eine gemeinsame Währung. Aber wie erleben es Menschen, die nach 1989 geboren wurden? Dieser Frage gingen der Journalist Matteo Tacconi und der Fotograf Ignacio María Coccia in Dresden, Bonn, Triest und Bari nach.

Top