Migration – Emigration – Fleeing Is the continent breaking up again right now?

Correspondence
Correspondence | Photo: © Colourbox.de/Goethe Institut Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

Dear Aman,

I visited Lageso again today. That’s what they call the official post in Berlin where refugees have to register. Landesamt für Gesundheit und Soziales [Office for Health and Social Affairs Berlin], abbreviated as Lageso.

Like Pegida. Or Hogesa. It’s been an autumn of abbreviations with six letters. Patriotic Europeans Against the Islamisation of the Occident. That’s what one is called. And Hooligans Against Salafists.

These are the scary six-letter-groups that have changed Germany. Especially Pegida, who march through Dresden every Monday and are getting more and more radical. They carry signs that say “traitor” on them and have a gallows with them that they hold ready for Angela Merkel.

And yesterday I happened to read two columns that spoke of a “putsch” against Merkel. This is the mood in Germany at the moment. Just as The Economist is calling Merkel a model European, which isn’t true either, CDU politicians and political journalists in Berlin with bite reflexes are working to push Merkel out of office. 

But what for? And why?

Back to Lageso. I was there for the first time in the end of summer. The people there were quiet, they were tired, they had made it. They were in Germany. There were about 400 people, I’d say, that were waiting to get a number, with which they’d continue to wait to get an appointment to make an application, which they then had to wait again to have processed.

That was strange to begin with. Even in Berlin, where a lot of stuff doesn’t work, an airport for instance, that’s supposed to cost 5.4 billion euros instead of 1.1 billion and may never be finished.

Is this Germany, some of them asked, the country where everything works and is on time according to cliché?

Is this Germany, many asked, when they saw the images of Lageso a few weeks after I was there, in late-September, early-October?

They were images of dismay, images of desperation, images of distress. “This is worse than in Turkey, worse than in Hungary,” said a Syrian refugee. “If I had the money, I’d go back.”

I was there one morning to behold the scene. Five thirty. Darkness. The shaded forms can be seen from a distance. They’re standing on the street, ten, 20, 200, more. Men on one side, women, children and families on the other.

The door opens at six. The people make a dash for it to secure the best place, they want these numbers, they need these numbers, it’s all about numbers. As if in the 21st century they couldn’t regulate everything online that isn’t working here. Every morning the same scenes, ambulances driving off with the injured of the mad scramble.

Maybe it’s not supposed to work. There are stories of corruption in Lageso, there are stories of violence against refugees by security guards, there was a boy, Mohamed, who got lost in the chaos and was only found weeks later, abused and murdered.

“We will manage,” that’s what Angela Merkel said. The help and the openness of a large share of the population reflect this.

“We won’t manage,” that’s the mood that they spin, the media, the politicians. Images like the ones from Lageso are useful for demonstrating that it isn’t working.

The chaos is produced synthetically, so it often seems, so some say. The chaos shows we won’t manage.

And that was the point at which I had to cringe for a second when I read your mail. I thought, yes, you’re right, yes, that’s the view that I wanted to present, forms without dignity, without civilization. That’s the image that should be generated, because it can be manipulated to dehumanize the refugees, to reduce them, make them into an abstract quantity, into a number.

I wanted to present this mechanism to you. And I realized all of the sudden, that this sight, this point of view, this thinking has made a greater impression on me than I thought.

You talk about the state, the nation, the framework that the Europeans gave to politics – and you talk about it critically.
You say that it’s old thinking, that it’s dangerous thinking. And you’re right.

“What the Left has missed, is the utopia of internationalism,” my friend Nils recently said at lunch. If you believe in the nation as a solution for anything, then you’ve already lost.

But why did it sound for you like that’s what I wanted to suggest? Or did I even say it that clearly?

Alternatively: The state, the way it currently exists, may actually function better than the supranational constructions, the EU for instance, which degrades into egoisms.

Aman, how do you see an ideal order? What do you see for the future? What can Europe learn, from India, from other parts of the world?

What Europe is going through right now is a renationalization not only of thought, but also in politics. Egoism. Pop-psychological conjecture. Old role plays.

It is horrible. It’s as if you were to break through the base and realize that there’s no net, nothing to stop you and hold you up.
Is the continent breaking up again right now in front of our eyes? Sometimes it seems like it. The dramatic part of this is almost less, as you rightly say, that it’s breaking up, which is dramatic enough – the really dramatic part is that there’s a thought vacuum, a perplexity in policy, which you observed from a distance very well and precisely and better than I did.

In a certain sense you caught me. You noticed something in me that I don’t want to see. I consider myself to be outside of a world of thought that only talks about “self-defence” and “invasion” and “measures.” They just decided that Syrian refugees will only receive a provisional admittance and that there families in Syria won’t be able to join them here, where they would be protected.

They should remain amidst war, in distress and in misery. How can a country overcome this moral blemish? This kind of decision?
But am I myself so far removed from this policy? In your words a self-evident utopia appears, one that I’m missing. With the relentless news reports here it’s hardly possible, it seems sometimes, to lift your head up and regard the situation clearly and to see yourself in this scenario, one character among others.

You spoke of Abdul, who is a mentch, as my friend Igor would say, Yiddish for a person of integrity; he is a musafir, that’s what you call him, and it’s good that you told me about him, because of course there’s dignity in him, there is beauty and there is liberty in him.

But we want to see the people that are coming as weak. We want to see them as a mass. We also arguably want to see them as degraded, to whom we can give back some dignity out of our good graces.

We, we, we.

Who is this we?

It’s an awful train of thought you’re referring to. It’s an extremely Western, European, German view. It’s the egoism of colonists. It’s the white man’s burden, again and again.

Abdul, the mystery, the man that crossed the German-Swiss border in bright cycling gear, who was happy here and then again not, because happiness is an attribute not a condition. This Abdul that disappeared again, who knows where to – this Abdul is existence in the emphatic sense.

Not in this pitifully threatened, threatening tone, which is used when talking about the mass of refugees, as beings who remain in the minority in their passiveness.

A person is most dangerous, so it seems, and also most normal in what he or she does. Free and self-determined.
This person is the threat. For any order.

Thank you for showing me that again with Abdul’s story.

It was very quiet again today in Legaso by the way. I’m going to try and find out why it was like that today and what changed. And I’ll report back to you.

Sincerely yours, as always,
Georg


Berlin, 11th of November 2015

Migration – Emigration – Flucht Zerlegt sich der Kontinent gerade wieder?

Briefwechsel
Briefwechsel | Foto: © Colourbox.de/Goethe Institut Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

Lieber Aman,
 
ich war heute wieder am Lageso. So heißt die offizielle Stelle in Berlin, wo die Flüchtlinge sich registrieren müssen. Landesamt für Gesundheit und Soziales. Abgekürzt Lageso.

Genauso wie Pegida. Und Hogesa. Es ist der Herbst der Abkürzungen mit sechs Buchstaben. Patriotischer Europäer gegen die Islamisierung des Abendlandes. Das heißt das eine. Und Hooligans gegen Salafisten.

Das sind die beiden Sechs-Buchstaben-Schreckensgruppen, die Deutschland verändert haben. Vor allem Pegida, die jeden Montag durch Dresden laufen und sich immer weiter radikalisieren. Sie tragen Schilder, auf denen steht "Volksverräter", sie haben einen Galgen dabei, den sie für Angela Merkel bereit halten.

Und gestern habe ich zwei Kolumnen gelesen haben, die von einem "Putsch" gegen Merkel sprachen. Das ist die Stimmung gerade in Deutschland. Während im "Economist" von der Vorbild-Europäerin Merkel gesprochen wird, was auch nicht stimmt, arbeiten Politiker der CDU und Berliner Politikjournalisten mit Beißreflex daran, Merkel aus dem Amt zu drängen.

Aber wofür? Und warum?

Zurück zu Lageso. Ich war zum ersten Mal Ende des Sommers dort. Die Menschen dort waren ruhig, sie waren müde, sie hatten es geschafft. Sie waren in Deutschland. Es waren etwa 400, würde ich sagen, die darauf warteten, dass sie eine Nummer bekamen, mit der sie dann wieder warteten, um einen Termin zu bekommen für einen Antrag, auf dessen Bearbeitung sie dann wieder warten mussten.

Schon das war merkwürdig. Selbst in Berlin, wo vieles nicht klappt, ein Flughafen etwa, der statt 1,1 Milliarden Euro nun 5,4 Milliarden Euro kosten soll und womöglich nie fertig wird.

Ist das Deutschland, fragten sich manche, das Land, wo alles pünktlich ist und alles klappt, so das Klischee?
Ist das Deutschland, fragten sich viele, als sie die Bilder von Lageso sahen, ein paar Wochen, nachdem ich dort gewesen war, Ende September, Anfang Oktober?

Es waren Bilder des Schreckens, Bilder der Verzweiflung, Bilder des Elends. "Das ist schlimmer als in der Türkei, schlimmer als in Ungarn", sagte ein syrischer Flüchtling, "wenn ich das Geld hätte, ich würde zurück gehen."

Ich war dort, eines morgens, um mir die Szenen anzuschauen. Halb sechs. Dunkelheit. Schon von weitem sind die Gestalten im Schatten zu sehen. Sie stehen auf der Straße, zehn, 20, 200, mehr. Auf der einen Seite die Männer, auf der anderen Seite Frauen, Kinder, Familien.

Um sechs wird das Tor geöffnet. Die Menschen stürzen los, um den besten Platz zu ergattern, sie wollen diese Nummern, sie brauchen diese Nummern, es geht alles um die Nummern, als ob man im 21. Jahrhundert nicht auch über das Internet all das regeln könnte, was hier nicht klappt. Jeden Morgen die gleichen Szenen, Krankenwagen, die die Verletzten dieser Wahnsinnssituation wegfahren.

Womöglich soll hier gar nichts klappen. Es gibt Geschichten von Korruption im Lageso, es gibt Geschichten der Gewalt von Sicherheitsleuten gegen Flüchtlinge, es gab einen Jungen, Mohamed, der in dem Chaos verloren ging und erst Wochen später wieder auftauchte, missbraucht und ermordet.

"Wir schaffen das", das ist es, was Angela Merkel gesagt hat. Die Hilfe und die Offenheit von weiten Teilen der Bevölkerung spiegeln das.

"Wir schaffen das nicht", das ist die Stimmung, wie sie gekippt wurde, von Medien, von Politikern. Die Bilder wie die vom Lageso sind nützlich, um zu zeigen, dass es nicht geht.

Das Chaos ist künstlich produziert, so scheint es oft, so sagen es manche. Das Chaos zeigt, dass wir es nicht schaffen.
Und das ist der Punkt, an dem ich kurz zusammengezuckt bin, als ich deine Mail las. Ich dachte, ja, du hast recht, ja, das ist der Blick, den ich vorführen wollte, Gestalten ohne Würde, ohne Zivilisation, das ist das Bild, das erzeugt werden soll, weil es manipuliert werden kann, um eben die Flüchtlinge zu entmenschlichen und zu reduzieren und zu einer abstrakten Größe zu machen, zu einer Zahl.

Ich wollte dir diesen Mechanismus vorführen. Und merkte auf einmal, dass ich vielleicht stärker von dieser Sicht, von diesem Blick, von diesem Denken geprägt bin, als ich dachte.

Du sprichst von Staat, von der Nation, von den Hüllen, die die Europäer dem Politischen verpasst haben – und du sprichst kritisch davon. Du sagst, dass das altes Denken ist, dass das gefährliches Denken ist. Und du hast Recht.

"Was der Linken verloren gegangen ist, ist die Utopie des Internationalismus", sagte neulich beim Mittagessen mein Freund Nils. Wer an die Nation glaubt als Lösung für irgendetwas, der hat schon verloren.

Warum klang es aber für dich so, als wollte ich das suggerieren? Oder habe ich es sogar so deutlich gesagt?

Andererseits: Der Staat, so wie er gerade existiert, funktioniert womöglich besser als die supranationalen Konstruktionen, die EU etwa, die in Egoismen zerfällt.

Aman, wie siehst du eine ideale Ordnung? Was siehst du für die Zukunft? Was kann Europa lernen, von Indien, von anderen Gegenden der Welt?

Was Europa ja gerade erlebt, ist eine Renationalisierung nicht nur des Denkens, sondern der Politik. Egoismen. Volkspsychologische Mutmaßungen. Alte Rollenspiele.

Es ist schrecklich. Es ist, als würde man durch einen Boden brechen und merken, dass es kein Netz gibt, nichts, was hält und einen aufhält.

Zerlegt sich der Kontinent gerade wieder, vor unseren Augen? Manchmal scheint es so. Das Dramatische daran ist allerdings fast weniger, wie du richtig sagst, dass er sich zerlegt, dramatisch genug – das wirklich Dramatische ist, dass es eine Leere im Denken gibt, eine Ratlosigkeit des Handelns, die du aus der Distanz sehr gut und genau und besser als ich beobachtet hast.

Du hast mich, in gewisser Weise, erwischt. Du hast bei mir etwas festgestellt, das ich nicht sehen will. Ich wähne mich außerhalb einer Gedankenwelt, die nur noch von "Notwehr" und "Invasion" und "Maßnahmen" redet. Gerade wurde beschlossen, dass syrische Flüchtlinge nur einen provisorischen Aufnahmeschutz bekommen und ihre Familien nicht dorthin nachkommen dürfen, wo sie geschützt wären.

Sie sollen im Krieg bleiben, in Not und Elend. Wie kann ein Land diesen moralischen Makel überstehen? Solch eine Entscheidung?
Aber bin ich selbst so weit von dieser Haltung entfernt? In deinen Worten schien eine selbstverständliche Utopie auf, die ich so vermisse. Es ist im Dauerfeuer der Berichte hier kaum noch möglich, so scheint es manchmal, den Kopf zu heben und die Situation klar zu betrachten und sich selbst in diesem Szenario zu sehen, eine Figur unter anderen.

Du hast von Abdul erzählt, der ein "Mentch" ist, wie mein Freund Igor sagen würde, yiddisch für Mensch; er ist ein Musafir, so nennst du ihn, und es ist gut, dass du mir von ihm erzählt hast, denn natürlich ist die Würde in ihm, ist die Möglichkeit in ihm, ist die Schönheit und die Freiheit in ihm.

Wir aber wollen aber die Menschen, die kommen, als Schwache sehen. Wir wollen sie als Masse sehen. Wir wollen sie wohl auch als Erniedrigte sehen, denen wir von unserer Gnade aus wieder etwas Würde zurückgeben können.

Wir, wir, wir.

Wer ist dieses Wir?

Das ist der scheußliche Gedankengang, auf den du verwiesen hast. Es ist eine sehr westliche, europäische, deutsche Sicht. Es ist der Egoismus der Kolonisatoren. Es ist die Bürde des weißen Mannes, wieder und wieder.

Abdul, das Rätsel, der Mann, der in knallbunten Fahrradklamotten über die deutsch-schweizer Grenze kam, der hier glücklich wurde und wieder nicht, weil Glück eine Zuschreibung ist und kein Zustand, dieser Abdul, der wieder verschwand, wer weiß schon, wohin – dieser Abdul ist Existenz im emphatischen Sinn.

Nicht in diesem mitleidig bedrohten, bedrohlichem Tonfall, in dem über die Masse der Flüchtlinge gesprochen wird, als Wesen, die in der Passivität, in der Unmündigkeit verharren.

Das Gefährlichste, so scheint es, das Normalste auch ist der Mensch in dem, was er tut. Frei und selbstbestimmt.
Dieser Mensch ist die Bedrohung. Für jede Ordnung.
Danke, dass du mir das mit der Geschichte von Abdul wieder einmal gezeigt hast.

Im Lageso übrigens war es heute sehr ruhig. Ich werde versuchen herauszufinden, warum das heute so war und was sich geändert hat. Und werde dir berichten.

Sehr herzlich, wie immer,
Georg


Berlin, den 11. November 2015