Migration – Emigration – Fleeing The terror and the refugees

Correspondence
Correspondence | Photo: © Colourbox.de/Goethe Institut Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

Dear Aman,
 
I was in Paris for the second time. I was there after the attacks on the offices of Charlie Hebdo and saw people standing together, night after night at the Place de la République, because they were shocked, angry and sad – and thereby forgetting that they were only one portion of the city. The other portion of the city wasn’t at the Place de la République; they were outside, on the other side of the city walls, which have taken on the form of a highway today, but are similarly as insurmountable as they were in the Middle Ages. They were in the banlieues and they weren’t invited to the celebration of self-assurance. And some of them were openly celebrating the dead cartoonists and the dead Jews.
 
The mood was different ten months later. There were more deaths, but in a certain sense, it was the group of people who had lit candles at the statue of Marianne in January, who had become the target this time around. It was their friends or they themselves who sat in Petit Cambodge or in Belle Équipe, a few meters away from the Place de la République; it was their friends or they themselves who danced in the Bataclan. And, since it’s easier to mourn others than it is to mourn yourself, they were more quiet, more baffled, less angry and less solidary. They really were hurt, because they could feel in their gut where terror comes from: from their country, from their society, bypassing the war in Syria and fueled by the Islamists’ murderous mania. Nevertheless, they were kids that were born here.
 
I think it’s important to understand that. Because an attempt was immediately made of course to make that connection, between the terror and the refugees. That is cynical and wrong, and Mao has nothing to do with it. The people coming to Europe happen to be fleeing exactly the kind of people who killed in Paris. If there are a few terrorists among the hundreds of thousands of people coming, then that’s both statistically a strong probability and is absolutely a problem in terms of its implications for security; however, it’s not a problem that can be fixed by putting a fence up right in front of the refugees’ faces and thereby punishing the masses for something they’ve already been the victims of. 
 
I think Slavoj Zizek said it quite clearly:  "The greatest victims of the Paris terror attacks will be the refugees themselves, and the true winner, behind the platitudes in the style of je suis Paris, will be simply the partisans of total war on both sides. This is how we should really condemn the Paris killings: not just to engage in shows of anti-terrorist solidarity but to insist on the simple cui bono question." He also wrote that the terrorists are “the Islamo-Fascist counterpart of the European immigration racists.”
 
And so both things actually do correlate – the terror and the refugees –, but not as plainly as a faked Syrian passport would suggest. Both fundamentalism and racism are extreme answers to a reality that is perceived to be increasingly complex. What gets lost here are the reasons for social tensions, economic inequality and tendencies towards societal breakup. I don’t mean that in a sweeping and overarching way. And a lot of the things that both fundamentalists and racists attack are things that I love and are important to me: freedom, individualism, hedonism. But there are also forces in the essence of capitalism that reveal themselves in this reciprocal violence. And Zizek also points this out: “We can’t address the EU refugee crisis without confronting global capitalism,” he writes.
 
What does this have to do with Lageso, with the Landesamt für Gesundheit und Soziales [Office of Health and Social Affairs Berlin]? You were right to point out the strange circumstance, in which a agency for public health is responsible for the question of refugees. And this is perhaps where the problem begins. Your association with Foucault was also very right. Because evidently what’s happening here, day for day in fact, is one thing: Discipline and Punishment. A veritable biopolitical regime reveals itself here; Giorgio Agamben would be appalled at how validated he has been now. The state manifests itself here in its contemporary biformity: as the administrator of conditions it created itself without laying blame – each individual is just an official in the machine; and as the dysfunctional extension of a system, which isn’t prepared for the almost metaphysical shift that awaits Europe. 
 
Metaphysical? Maybe you’re right, I’m probably exaggerating. But that’s the mood at the moment – the insecurity, a bewilderment, that’s created with a specific goal in mind and is being exploited. The events aren’t metaphysical, they just appear to be so in the eyes of Europeans, which have adjusted to a few calm centuries. What’s happening right now between North Africa, the Middle East and Europe is rather routine in many parts of the world. And that’s exactly why what  you can observe in Lageso, night after night, is so severe and alarming. The image of Europe is being deliberately destroyed here; the image, that Europe had of itself, as a continent of civilization or at least of civilizedness. Now you’ll say, Yes but at whose cost? Who were the victims of colonialism that were necessary for this civilizedness? Or you’ll say, There’s another whiny self-deprecating European, who enjoys nothing more than self-hatred.
 
I don’t know. All I know is that Lageso has made it into the New York Times by now, that there are online petitions and segments in the national news, that leading politicians are going there and writing open letters, that Berlin’s governing coalition could break up over it – and that none of that matters to me. Because it’s already taking too long. And because I’ve seen it for weeks and months, and couldn’t change anything. I wrote about it in my column and many people who agree with me read it. The others wrote vitriolic comments. I was there again after writing you; it was during the day and it seemed more calm and organized than it did during my first visits. But nothing had changed, as we now know. There was still the same chaos and the same arbitrariness. They were playing with people there.
 
And yes, it makes me angry. It may well be that Berlin’s government will fall in the end because of what it tolerated or created in Lageso, this intentional and inhumane mess in which children are lost and peoples’ hope, the most precious thing they still have, is destroyed. It’s the moment that will inform their image of Germany; and if they don’t arrive here, then they will withdraw back into themselves, and that in turn means that there will be parallel societies. But here it is the German state creating this situation of ostracization. Some lawyers in Berlin are filing charges against the senator of social affairs, and they are right in doing so. The pressure must grow. But it’s both sad and sobering that this situation had been tolerated for so long already.
 
The Front National just won in France’s regional elections. Donald Trump just uttered a few exceptionally dumb sentences: No Muslims should be allowed to enter the US. He’s a clown; but he’s a clown that wants to be president. And with each of his utterances of hogwash that get applauded, the measure of rationality slides a bit further to the right. And when somebody makes the suggestion of maybe only registering all Muslims, as Trump himself said a few days ago, then they even seem rational in comparison to the insanity of latter statements. It’s a sick cycle that can be observed here, a study of communicative dysfunctionality. Jürgen Habermas, the great theorist of communicative democracy, always started from the premise that participating parties are rational. But what happens when they simply denounce reason? How does legitimacy through communication work then?
 
These are the questions I’m concerned with right now. I’ll tell you about the history of gastarbeiter [guest laborers] in this country next time. With pleasure. And again about Lageso. Because everything is connected to everything else.
 
Sincerely yours, as always,
Georg

Berlin, 10th of December 2015

Migration – Emigration – Flucht Der Terror und die Flüchtlinge

Briefwechsel
Briefwechsel | Foto: © Colourbox.de/Goethe Institut Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

Lieber Aman,
 
ich war in Paris, zum zweiten Mal, ich war nach den Anschlägen auf die Redaktion von "Charlie Hebdo" dort und sah Menschen, die zusammenstanden, Nacht für Nacht an der Place de la République, weil sie geschockt waren und wütend und traurig, und die dabei vergaßen, dass sie nur ein Teil dieser Stadt waren, und der andere Teil der Stadt war nicht an der Place de la République, sondern draußen, jenseits der Stadtmauern, die heute die Form einer Autobahn angenommen haben und ähnlich unüberwindbar wirken wie im Mittelalter, sie saßen in den Banlieues und waren nicht eingeladen zur nationalen Selbstvergewisserungsfeier, und manche von ihnen freuten sich ganz offen über die toten Zeichner und die toten Juden.
 
Zehn Monate später war die Stimmung anders. Es hatte mehr Tote gegeben, nur dieses Mal war es in gewisser Weise die Menge derer, die im Januar die Kerzen an der Statue der Madeleine angezündet hatten, die zum Ziel geworden war. Es waren ihre Freunde oder sie selbst, die im Petit Cambodge oder im Belle Équipe saßen, ein paar Meter entfernt nur von der Place de la République, es waren ihre Freunde oder sie, die im Bataclan tanzten. Und weil es leichter ist, um andere zu trauern, als um sich selbst, waren sie stiller, ratloser, weniger wütend und weniger solidarisch. Sie waren wirklich verletzt, weil sie am eigenen Leib gespürt hatten, wo der Terror herkommt: Aus ihrem Land, aus ihrer Gesellschaft, über den Umweg des Krieges in Syrien und angefacht vom mörderischen Wahn der Islamisten. Aber doch: Kinder, die hier geboren wurden.
 
Ich glaube, das ist wichtig zu verstehen. Denn es wurde natürlich sofort versucht, diese beiden Dinge miteinander zu verbinden, den Terror und die Flüchtlinge. Das ist zynisch und falsch, und Mao hat damit nichts zu tun: Die Menschen, die nach Europa kommen, fliehen ja gerade vor Menschen wie denen, die in Paris mordeten. Wenn unter den Hunderttausenden, die kommen, ein paar Terroristen sind, dann ist das statistisch gesehen von hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit, sicherheitstechnisch gesehen durchaus ein Problem, aber nichts, was man damit regeln kann, den Flüchtlingen einen Zaun vor die Nase zu setzen und sie in der Masse für etwas zu bestrafen, dessen Opfer sie schon einmal geworden sind.
 
Slavoj Zizek hat das, wie ich finde, mit aller Klarheit benannt: "The greatest victims of the Paris terror attacks will be the refugees themselves, and the true winner, behind the platitudes in the style of je suis Paris, will be simply the partisans of total war on both sides. This is how we should really condemn the Paris killings: not just to engage in shows of anti-terrorist solidarity but to insist on the simple cui bono question." Er hat auch geschrieben, dass die Terroristen das "islamo-faschistische Pendant der einwanderungsfeindlichen Rassisten Europas" seien, "the Islamo-Fascist counterpart of the European anti-immigration racists".
 
Und so hängt eben doch beides zusammen, der Terror und die Flüchtlinge, aber nicht so einfach, wie es ein gefälschter syrischer Pass suggeriert. Beides, der Fundamentalismus und der Rassismus, sind extreme Antworten auf eine zunehmend als komplex wahrgenommene Wirklichkeit. Was dabei verloren geht, sind die Gründe für soziale Spannungen, wirtschaftliche Ungerechtigkeit und gesellschaftliche Auflösungstendenzen. Ich meine das nicht allumfassend und pauschal, und vieles von dem, was Fundamentalisten und Rassisten gemeinsam attackieren, ist mir lieb und wichtig, die Freiheit, der Individualismus, der Hedonismus. Dass es aber auch im Wesen des Kapitalismus Kräfte gibt, die sich in dieser wechselseitigen Gewalt zeigt, auch darauf weist Zizek hin: "We can`t address the EU refugee crisis without confronting global capitalism", schreibt er.
 
Was das mit Lageso zu tun hat, dem Landesamt für Gesundheit und Soziales? Du hast zu recht auf den seltsamen Umstand hingewiesen, dass eine Gesundheitsbehörde für Flüchtlingsfragen zuständig ist, und vielleicht fängt hier das Problem schon an. Auch deine Assoziation mit Foucault war sicher richtig. Denn es geht hier, tatsächlich Tag für Tag, augenscheinlich nur um das eine: Überwachen und Strafen. Es ist ein wahrhaft biopolitisches Regime, das sich hier zeigt, Giorgio Agamben wäre entsetzt, wie sehr er hier bestätigt wird. Der Staat zeigt sich hier in seiner gegenwärtigen Doppelgestalt: Als Verwalter von Umständen, die er selbst geschaffen hat, ohne sie zu verschulden, jeder Einzelne nur ein Beamter in einem Apparat; und als dysfunktionale Erweiterung eines Systems, das nicht auf den schon fast metaphysischen Wandel vorbereitet ist, der auf Europa wartet.
 
Metaphysisch? Vielleicht hast du Recht, wahrscheinlich übertreibe ich. Aber das ist die Stimmung gerade, die Unsicherheit, eine Verunsicherung, die gezielt geschaffen und ausgenutzt wird. Die Ereignisse sind nicht metaphysisch, sie scheinen nur so in den Augen der Europäer, die sich auf ein paar ruhige Jahrhunderte eingestellt hatten. In großen Teilen der Welt ist das, was gerade zwischen Nordafrika, dem Nahen und Mittleren Osten und Europa passiert, eher Routine. Aber gerade deshalb ist das, was man am Lageso beobachten kann, Nacht für Nacht, so schlimm und erschreckend. Hier wird das Bild Europas willkürlich zerstört, das Bild, das Europa von sich selbst hatte, als ein Kontinent der Zivilisation oder jedenfalls der Zivilisiertheit. Nun wirst du sagen: Ja, aber auf wessen Kosten, welche kolonialen Opfer waren denn nötig für diese Zivilisiertheit? Oder du wirst sagen, dass da schon wieder so ein weinerlicher und selbstzerfleischender Europäer ist, der nichts so sehr genießt wie den Selbsthass.
 
Ich weiß es nicht. Ich weiß nur, dass Lageso mittlerweile in der "New York Times" war, dass es Online-Petitionen und Beiträge in den nationalen Nachrichten gibt, dass führende Bundespolitiker dorthin fahren und offene Briefe schreiben, dass die Regierungskoalition in Berlin daran zerbrechen könnte - und dass mir das alles egal ist. Weil es schon viel zu lange dauert. Und weil ich es seit Wochen und Monaten gesehen habe, und nichts ändern konnte. Ich habe in meiner Kolumne geschrieben, und es haben viele Menschen gelesen, die meiner Meinung sind. Die anderen haben hasserfüllte Kommentare geschrieben. Ich war noch einmal dort, nachdem ich dir geschrieben hatte, es war tagsüber, und es wirkte ruhiger, geordneter als bei den ersten Besuchen. Es hatte sich aber nichts verändert, wie sich nun zeigt. Es war immer noch das gleiche Chaos und die gleiche Willkür. Sie haben dort mit Menschen gespielt.
 
Und ja, das macht mich wütend. Es kann sein, dass die Berliner Regierung am Ende darüber stürzt, was sie am Lageso geduldet haben oder geschaffen haben, dieses vorsätzliche und unmenschliche Durcheinander, in dem Kinder verloren gehen und die Hoffnung von Menschen zerstört wird, das Kostbarste, was sie noch haben. Es ist der Moment, der ihr Bild von Deutschland prägt, und wenn sie hier nicht ankommen, werden sie sich auf sich zurückziehen, und dann heißt es wieder, es gibt Parallelgesellschaften. Aber hier ist es der deutsche Staat, der diese Ausgrenzungssituation schafft. Einige Berliner Rechtsanwälte haben nun Anzeige erstattet gegen den Sozialsenator, und das ist richtig. Der Druck muss wachsen, aber es ist traurig und ernüchternd, dass dieser Zustand schon so lange geduldet wurde.
 
Gerade hat der Front National bei der französischen Regionalwahl gewonnen. Gerade hat Donald Trump ein paar einmalig dumme Sätze gesagt: Kein Muslim soll mehr nach Amerika einreisen dürfen. Schon richtig. Er ist ein Clown. Aber ein Clown, der Präsident werden will. Und mit jedem seiner Unsinnssätze, die beklatscht werden, rückt er das Maß an Rationalität ein wenig weiter nach rechts. Und wenn jemand den Vorschlag macht, vielleicht nur alle Muslime zu registrieren, wie Trump das selbst vor einigen Tagen gesagt hat, dann wirkt er im Vergleich zum Wahnsinn der letzten Aussagen sogar rational. Es ist ein krasser Kreislauf, den man gerade hier beobachten kann, eine Studie in kommunikativer Disfunktionalität. Jürgen Habermas, der große Theoretiker der kommunikativen Demokratie, ging immer von der Rationalität der beteiligten Parteien aus. Was aber, wenn die einfach die Vernunft aufkündigen? Wie funktioniert dann Legitimität aus Kommunikation?
 
Das sind die Fragen, die mich gerade beschäftigen. Ich werde dir das nächste Mal über die Geschichte der Gastarbeiter in diesem Land erzählen. Sehr gern. Und auch wieder von Lageso. Weil alles mit allem zusammenhängt.
 
Herzlich, wie immer.
Georg

Berlin, den 10. Dezember 2015