Migration – Emigration – Fleeing So many missed chances

Correspondence
Correspondence | Photo: © Colourbox.de/Goethe Institut Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

Dear Aman,

That’s a fantastic idea. Everyone should move around every few years, to a new country, in a different culture. That could possibly be a solution for a lot: Frenchmen in Bangalore, Indians in Namibia, Italians in Memphis.

I’m realizing how my brain is changing here, how I’m changing, how my view is changing, every day, each time the new, old question: Who am I, here, in this place, at this moment, and altogether?

That is what a stranger does, with me at least, in this very very privileged place, Cambridge, Harvard, with all its elite foreigners and natives that come together into a cosmopolitical super-mass.

It’s as if you can watch the world in thought. Impressive. But of course it also makes you skeptical, since the way people think here quite obviously has certain limits.

Limits of reason, for instance, when it comes to Donald Trump in a post-truth age, as it’s now called. You can now be as liberal and enlightened and worldly as you want, you still won’t reach large parts of the population for the foreseeable future.

Quite the contrary. It’s the fear of globalization that drives voters to Trump. They’re the losers when it comes to this. Yeah, what is it, reality or ideology?

This connects them to so many other losers, and segregates them even further. They have something to loose, hence their aggression. Those who have nothing to loose are their opponents, more than the people who have everything.

This is the strange, the terrible logic of our days. It’s the inception of war and violence. The irrational fear of the other and its actual reasons and consequences.

In Germany, it seems to me from afar, they’re still in the process of figuring out what happened back then, a little over a year ago – and it’s sad to see how large parts of the mainstream media and politics have taken on the rhetoric of the right.

And yet everything is functioning more or less fine. It was recently reported, that just as many refugees have come as was predicted, 890,000 in the year 2015, less than the more than a million, which had been declared – an anxiety-inducing figure.

And due to the hardline policies ever since, it’s considerably fewer this year than claimed by the conservative-right CSU – which seems to not matter at all, since politicians and some in the media are simply carrying on with their crazed hunt for Angela Merkel.

It almost seems as though they wanted to take vengeance on the woman that they trusted for so long – they want to see her fall, regardless of whether their alleged reasons add up, regardless of whether chaos would ensue thereafter. It’s not nice to watch a mob with bloodlust.

The aggression and irrationality, which came out of the fringes of the right-wing, have pushed their way into the middle. The refugees are the medium through which the hate is transported. These are archaic sights, and you have to ask yourself if it will ever stop.

The 21st century will intensify this rift. Those who have and know will have more and know more; those who have nothing, will in desperation do everything and anything to get a chance.

That is also something that you can sense here in this place. Many here are thinking about how things could be different, but the power of the real seems to be so much stronger. On the other hand, you learn this here too: Optimism is possible.

The sad thing about last year’s discussion was that, yes, so many chances to constructively, openly, radically or ludicrously think about what was unfolding were missed. First, the hardship of the people who came was distorted, then the hate of the people who were already here.

In the process, it isn’t just possible, it’s necessary – the way you guys did it at the symposium: A global Schengen. I don’t know, to me, Schengen just has such a hollow ring to it, since it’s been quite closely related to the Dublin mechanism, which de facto established two classes for freedom of movement within the Schengen Area.

This Dublin Regulation altogether. It determines that any asylum-seeker can only request asylum where he or she originally arrived – usually, almost always, meaning in one of the Mediterranean countries.

It’s so obviously wrong, this regulation. It so obviously benefits countries like Germany, Austria, Hungary, all the countries with no access to the Mediterranean, that you have to ask yourself how the EU could have accepted this misguided mechanism.

But, then again, the EU is not just part of the problem, it’s also a very essential reason for why the crisis unfolded the way it did. It is a failure of politics and of values that we can marvel at. The end of Europe will not come from the outside, it will come from within.

Of course that’s one view of this old continent, which perhaps gets clearer – or crueler – from a distance. You must have a similar experience, when looking at Europe from India, I suppose.

What do you see?

I would very much like to know that. And we should write each other more often again, more routinely, so that we’re faster in thought.

So much is happening.

From my heart, as always, I look forward to your response.

Georg

Cambridge, 17th of October 2016

Migration – Emigration – Flucht So viele verpasste Chancen

Briefwechsel
Briefwechsel | Foto: © Colourbox.de/Goethe Institut Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

Lieber Aman,

das ist eine phantastische Idee, jeder sollte alle paar Jahre umziehen, in ein anderes Land, eine andere Kultur, das wäre womöglich die Lösung für vieles: Franzosen in Bangalore, Inder in Namibia, Italiener in Memphis.

Ich merke hier, wie sich mein Gehirn verändert, wie ich mich verändere, wie sich mein Blick verändert, jeden Tag, jedes Mal die neue, alte Frage: Wer bin ich, hier, an diesem Ort, in diesem Moment, und überhaupt?

Das ist es, was die Fremde macht, mit mir jedenfalls, an diesem sehr sehr privilegierten Ort, Cambridge, Harvard, mit all den Edel-Ausländern und -Inländern, die sich zu einer kosmopolitischen Supermasse vereinen.

Es ist, als ob man der Welt beim Denken zusehen kann. Eindrucksvoll. Aber natürlich macht es einen auch skeptisch, weil die Art, wie hier gedacht wird, gerade sehr offensichtlich an bestimmte Grenzen stößt.

Grenzen der Vernunft etwa, wenn es um Donald Trump geht, im „post-truth age“, wie das jetzt immer heißt: Man kann hier so liberal und aufgeklärt und weltzugewandt denken, wie man will, weite Teil der Bevölkerung wird man damit auf absehbare Zeit nicht erreichen.

Im Gegenteil. Es ist die Angst vor der Globalisierung, die die Wähler zu Trump treibt, sie sind die Verlierer dieser: ja, was ist es, Realität oder Ideologie?

Das verbindet sie mit so vielen anderen Verlierern, und trennt sie doch wieder: Sie haben etwas zu verlieren, daher ihre Aggression. Die, die nichts zu verlieren haben, sind ihre Gegner, mehr als die, die alles haben.

Das ist die seltsame, die schreckliche Logik unserer Tage. Es ist der Anfang für Kriege und für Gewalt. Die irrationale Furcht vor dem Anderen und ihre realen Gründe und Konsequenzen.

In Deutschland, so scheint es mir aus der Ferne, sind sie immer noch dabei, herauszufinden, was damals passiert ist, vor etwas mehr als einem Jahr – und es ist traurig zu sehen, wie sehr weite Teile der Mainstream-Medien und der Politik die Rhetorik von Rechts übernommen haben.

Dabei funktioniert doch alles mehr oder weniger gut. Es sind, das wurde neulich gemeldet, genauso viele Flüchtende gekommen, wie prognostiziert, 890000 im Jahr 2015, weniger als die mehr als eine Million, die als Angstzahl vermeldet wurden.

Und wegen der harten Politik seither sind es in diesem Jahr deutlich weniger als von der rechtskonservativen CSU gefordert – was vollkommen egal zu sein scheint, denn Politik und manche Medien machen einfach weiter in ihrer Gaga-Jagd auf Angela Merkel.

Es scheint fast, als wollten sie sich dafür rächen, dass sie der Frau so lange vertraut haben ­– sie wollen sie fallen sehen, egal, ob die Gründe stimmen, die sie vorbringen, egal, ob danach das Chaos käme. Es ist nicht schön anzusehen, eine Meute im Blutrausch.

Die Aggression und Irrationalität, die von den rechten Rändern ausging, ist also in die Mitte vorgedrungen, die Flüchtenden sind das Medium, durch das der Hass transportiert wird: Es sind archaische Schauspiele, und man fragt sich, ob das jemals aufhören wird.

Das 21. Jahrhundert wird den Riss noch verstärken, die, die haben und wissen, werden mehr haben und mehr wissen, die, die nichts haben, werden in Verzweiflung alles, alles tun, um eine Chance zu bekommen.

Auch das ist etwas, das man hier an diesem Ort spürt: Viele denken hier darüber nach, wie es anders gehen könnte, aber die Macht des Realen scheint so viel stärker zu sein. Andererseits, auch das lernt man hier: Optimismus ist möglich.

Das Traurige an der Diskussion des vergangenen Jahres war ja, dass so viele Chancen verpasst wurden, konstruktiv, offen, radikal oder aberwitzig über das nachzudenken, was gerade passiert: Erst verstellte die Not der Menschen, die kamen, dann der Hass der Menschen, die schon da waren.

Dabei wäre das nicht nur möglich, es wäre nötig – so wie ihr es gemacht habt, bei dem Symposium: Das weltweite Schengen, ich weiß nicht, Schengen hat gerade so einen hohlen Klang für mich, weil es recht bald mit dem Dublin-Mechanismus verbunden wurde, der de facto eine Zwei-Klassen-Freizügigkeit im Schengenraum festgelegt hat.

Überhaupt dieses Dublin-Abkommen, das bestimmt, dass jeder Asylsuchende nur dort seinen Antrag stellen kann, wo er oder sie zuerst angekommen ist – meistens also, fast immer, in einem der Mittelmeerstaaten.

Es ist so offensichtlich falsch, dieses Abkommen, es begünstigt so offensichtlich Länder wie Deutschland, Österreich, Ungarn, all die Länder, die keinen Mittelmeerzugang haben, dass man sich fragt, wie die EU diesen missratenen Mechanismus akzeptieren konnte.

Aber dann ist die EU wiederum nicht nur Teil des Problems, sondern ein sehr wesentlicher Grund dafür, dass die Krise so kam, wie sie kam: Es ist ein Versagen der Politik wie der Werte, das wir bestaunen konnten, das Ende Europas wird nicht von außen kommen, sondern von innen.

Auch das ist natürlich ein Blick auf diesen alten Kontinent, der durch die Distanz vielleicht klarer – oder grausamer – wird: Dir wird es ähnlich gehen, wenn du von Indien aus auf Europa blickst, nehme ich an?

Was siehst du?

Das würde ich gerne wissen. Und wir sollten wieder öfter schreiben, regelmäßiger, damit wir schneller sind im Denken.

Es passiert so viel.

Herzlich, wie immer, ich freue mich auf deine Antwort.

Georg


Cambridge, den 17. Oktober 2016