Intimacy and Data Protection The Grey Area of Sexuality

Dries Verhoeven “Wanna Play? Liebe in Zeiten von Grindr”, Hebbel am Ufer (HAU)
Dries Verhoeven “Wanna Play? Liebe in Zeiten von Grindr”, Hebbel am Ufer (HAU) | Photo (detail): Sascha Weidner

Homosexuality appears to be an almost conflict-free matter in the social order of the Federal Republic of Germany. Recognised as a way of life under civil law, hardly anything is said about sexual orientation anymore. Yet sexuality itself remains a taboo. If the subject is brought up in public, it provokes scandals.

It was almost exactly ten years ago. In 2004, Berlin choreographer Felix Ruckert had organised an event lasting several days called xplore which dealt with sexual practices of all kinds. Group experiences, optimised pleasure and the general public were brought together in a way that went beyond the performing arts’ traditional framework. This was not only risqué on account of the subject matter – anyone who knows Felix Ruckert is also aware of his preoccupation with bondage and sadomasochism – but particularly also because the event was financed by the public purse. Ruckert had been granted so-called basic funding from the Berlin Senate. When the press found out, it was not only certain print media that were alarmed, but also the donor. The city’s parliament demanded explanations, and the author of these lines, then a member of the jury that had allocated the funding, had to prepare a written defence. In the end, Ruckert did not have to repay the subsidies, but he was called upon to refrain from holding such events in the future. Yet he claimed that xplore was his best artistic work to date.

From “gay” to “queer”

Since that incident, there is no doubt that reality has moved in Ruckert’s direction. The ongoing pornographisation of society goes hand in hand with the media presentation of all kinds of sexual practices. In 2014, it no longer seems to be a matter of any importance whether something is homosexual, heterosexual, transsexual or metrosexual. The younger generation is hardly guided by reference to such attributes anymore. Who is involved with whom in what relationships of desire no longer serves to create identity. “Queer” is the term used for this non-conformist variant of social sexuality.

Yet in spite of all this liberalism, one prohibition remains entirely intact: talking about preferences. Sexual orientation may have become the subject of casual after-dinner conversations, but sexuality remains subject to an unwritten rule of silence. This paradox emerged in October 2014 in Germany’s frivolous capital Berlin, of all places. Wanna Play. Love in Times of Grindr was a theatre project by Netherlands artist Dries Verhoeven, carried out at the invitation of Hebbel am Ufer (HAU) theatre. It aimed to address precisely the transfer of public recognition to the invisible practice of homosexuality. Verhoeven contacted men through a chat portal and got them involved in a chat about intimacy and closeness. The twist about Wanna Play was that Verhoeven went public with these conversations. He himself was in a glass trailer and could be gaped at, and exchanges on the chat screens were projected onto giant screens, suddenly enabling uninvolved passers-by to witness the chats, some of which were quite explicit.

Such publicity was unbearable, however, particularly for those involved. There were growing protests after one of the chat partners felt recognised and exposed. In the end, the Wanna Play project had to be discontinued and discussed in hurriedly convened round-table discussions. The interplay of de facto anonymity and urbanely exhibited acceptance had reached its limits.

Stages of intimacy

Incidentally, the Internet service which was used as part of this project also offers its members a special service. The precise location of the user or his computer, identified by GPS, is communicated to the chat partners. This is something that is accepted without question in this context; under other circumstances, permanent surveillance and - if you will allow a cheap pun - the shameless exploitation of location data would lead to civil protest. Oddly, however, data protection appears uninteresting when intimate needs are at stake. Unless that intimacy is made public.

Singaporean performance artist Daniel Kok carried out a similar project in Berlin a few years ago, but without any secretiveness. He asked forty men for a rendezvous through a similar online dating agency, found out about their sexual wishes and then gave them a gift in the form of a dance. The ensuing stage project comprised a mega-rendezvous that brought together all those network partners whose dance gifts the artist had collected and collaged into a performance. The Gay Romeo is still touring successfully.

Public figures today no longer have to resign if they indulge in a homosexual lifestyle, but they do if they are kinky, as the British say, that is to say, if their preferences become known. That means sexuality may no longer be a direct factor for brutalisation. However, the conflict-fraught nexus of secrecy, shame and transgression remains as much an issue as ever, even in the theatre.

Intimität und Datenschutz Sexualität als Grauzone

Dries Verhoeven „Wanna Play? Liebe in Zeiten von Grindr“, Hebbel am Ufer (HAU)
Dries Verhoeven „Wanna Play? Liebe in Zeiten von Grindr“, Hebbel am Ufer (HAU) | Foto (Ausschnitt): Sascha Weidner

Homosexualität scheint in der bundesdeutschen Gesellschaftsordnung ein beinahe konfliktfreies Thema zu sein. Im bürgerlichen Sinne anerkannt als Lebensform, wird über die sexuelle Orientierung so gut wie nicht mehr geredet. Trotzdem bleibt Sexualität selbst ein Tabu. Kommt das Thema an die Öffentlichkeit, ruft es Skandale hervor.

Es war vor ziemlich genau zehn Jahren. Der Berliner Choreograf Felix Ruckert hatte 2004 die mehrtägige Veranstaltung xplore organisiert, bei der es um sexuelle Praktiken aller Art ging. Gruppenerleben, Lustgewinn und Öffentlichkeit waren auf eine Weise vermengt, die den herkömmlichen Rahmen der Darstellenden Kunst überstieg. Pikant daran waren nicht nur die aufgerufenen Themen – wer Felix Ruckert kennt, weiß um seine Beschäftigung mit Bondage und Sadomasochismus – sondern vor allem, dass die Veranstaltung mit öffentlichen Geldern finanziert war. Ruckert erhielt damals die sogenannte Basisförderung des Senats von Berlin. Als die Presse davon erfuhr, waren nicht nur gewisse Printmedien aufgeschreckt, sondern auch der Geldgeber. Das Stadtparlament forderte Erklärungen, und der Autor dieser Zeilen, damals Mitglied der Jury zur Vergabe von Fördergeldern, musste eine Verteidigungsschrift aufsetzen. Am Ende brauchte Ruckert seine Subventionen nicht zurückzuzahlen, wurde aber aufgefordert, künftig derartige Veranstaltungen zu unterlassen. Er beteuerte allerdings, xplore sei seine bislang beste künstlerische Arbeit gewesen.

Von „gay“ zu „queer“

Die Realität hat sich seit diesem Vorfall zweifellos in Ruckerts Richtung entwickelt. Die fortschreitende Pornografisierung der Gesellschaft ist mit der medialen Darstellung aller möglichen sexuellen Praktiken einhergegangen. Ob homo-, hetero-, trans- oder metrosexuell scheint 2014 keine Frage von Rang mehr zu sein. Ohnehin orientiert sich die junge Generation kaum noch über derartige Zuschreibungen. Wer mit wem in welche Begehrensverhältnisse verstrickt ist, dient nicht mehr der Identitätsstiftung. „Queer“ heißt diese nonkonformistische Variante der sozialen Geschlechtlichkeit.

Doch bei allem Liberalismus bleibt ein Verbot völlig unangetastet: das Reden über Vorlieben. Sexuelle Orientierung mag Gegenstand von unverbindlichen Tischgesprächen geworden sein, Sexualität bleibt dem Schweigegebot unterworfen. Dieses Paradox kam im Oktober 2014 ausgerechnet in Deutschlands frivoler Kapitale Berlin zum Vorschein. Mit seinem Theaterprojekt Wanna Play. Liebe in Zeiten von Grindr wollte der niederländische Künstler Dries Verhoeven auf Einladung des Theaters HAU Hebbel am Ufer genau diese Verschiebung von öffentlicher Anerkennung zu unsichtbarer Ausübung gleichgeschlechtlicher Sexualität thematisieren. Über ein Chat-Portal trat er mit Männern in Kontakt und verwickelte sie in Gespräche über Intimität und Nähe. Der Clou an Wanna Play: Verhoeven versetzte diese Unterhaltungen in die Öffentlichkeit. Er selbst war in einem Glascontainer zu bestaunen, das Geschehen an den Chat-Bildschirmen wurde auf Großleinwände projiziert. So konnten plötzlich Passanten und Unbeteiligte den teils recht freizügigen Gesprächen beiwohnen.

Eine solche Öffentlichkeit aber war vor allem den Beteiligten unerträglich. Nachdem sich einer der Chatpartner erkannt und bloßgestellt fühlte, gab es zunehmende Proteste. Am Ende musste Wanna Play abgebrochen und in eilig einberufenen Podiumsgesprächen erörtert werden. Das Zusammenspiel aus tatsächlicher Anonymität und urban ausgestellter Akzeptanz war an sein Ende gelangt.

Bühnen der Intimität

Der für dieses Projekt genutzte Internetdienst bietet übrigens seinen Mitgliedern einen besonderen Service: Der per GPS ermittelte Standort des Nutzers beziehungsweise seines Computers wird den Chatpartnern übermittelt. In diesem Kontext wird fraglos akzeptiert, was in anderen Zusammenhängen zu zivilem Protest führt: die permanente Überwachung und – das billige Wortspiel sei hier erlaubt – die schamlose Auswertung der Standort-Daten. Seltsamerweise aber scheint Datenschutz uninteressant, wenn es um intime Bedürfnisse geht. Es sei denn, die Intimität wird öffentlich.

Der singapurische Performancekünstler Daniel Kok hatte schon vor einigen Jahren in Berlin ein ähnliches Projekt unternommen, allerdings ohne jede Geheimnistuerei. Über ein vergleichbares Kontaktportal hatte er vierzig Männer um ein Rendezvous gebeten, sich über ihre sexuellen Wünsche informiert und ihnen dann einen Tanz zum Geschenk gemacht. Das Bühnenprojekt bestand dann in einem Mega-Rendezvous all jener Netzpartner, deren Tanzgeschenke der Künstler gesammelt und zu einer Aufführung collagiert hatte. Die Arbeit The Gay Romeo tourt noch immer mit Erfolg.

Personen des öffentlichen Lebens müssen heute nicht mehr demissionieren, wenn sie einer gleichgeschlechtlichen Lebensform frönen, wohl aber, wenn sie kinky sind, wie man in Großbritannien sagt: wenn ihre Vorlieben bekannt werden. So ist zwar womöglich Sexualität kein unmittelbarer Faktor für Brutalisierung mehr; aber der konfliktreiche Konnex aus Heimlichkeit, Scham und Transgression bleibt – auch im Theater – aktuell.