Christopher Street Day From demo to party

Flamboyant and colourful: Christopher Street Day
Flamboyant and colourful: Christopher Street Day | Photo (detail): © istock

Streets decked out in the colours of the rainbow and teeming with flamboyantly dressed revellers – that’s what most people associate with Christopher Street Day in Germany. The parade used to be far more than just a gaudy party, however.

Crowds of party-goers – loud and exuberantly colourful. This is precisely what many people associate with Christopher Street Day (CSD) in Germany. But there is also a story behind the party, one that began in 1979 – when a few hundred took to the streets to demonstrate for more tolerance towards gays, lesbians and transgender people. Nowadays the CSD parade brings hundreds of thousands of people together in a celebration of sexual diversity.

Much had already changed for homosexuals around the world in 1969: during the night of 27 to 28 June, guests of a gay bar in New York protested for the first time against arbitrary police discrimination. The uprising took place at Stonewall Inn, a bar in Christopher Street in Greenwich Village. The riots that took place in Christopher Street are regarded worldwide as the start of the gay, lesbian and transgender movement.

CSD premiere in Germany

It was not until the end of the 1960s that legislators in Germany relaxed Paragraph 175: homosexual relationships between adults were no longer penalized. This change in the law and the Christopher Street resistance motivated many homosexuals to fight for more equality. Gradually, the gay and lesbian scene in Germany began to become more organized. By the mid-1970s, homosexuals in Münster and Bremen were already out on the streets demonstrating for more tolerance, but would conceal their faces for fear of social ostracism. At the time, no solid organizational structure to hold the scene together existed as yet.

That changed at the end of the decade when Germany’s first official Christopher Street Day was staged in Berlin in 1979. Some 450 demonstrators took to the streets in a celebratory and upbeat mood. The parade’s slogan was “gay pride”; this was not so much about making political demands but rather about calling on all gays, lesbians and transgender people to embrace their sexuality with confidence. The demonstrators experienced no hostility or violence – in stark contrast to earlier events.

More and more CSD fans

The number of people taking part in CSD has soared in recent decades. By the early 1990s, tens of thousands were already gathering in Berlin for Christopher Street Day – crowds that hardly anyone had anticipated. Nowadays Berlin, Cologne and Hamburg are among the German cities that attract the most CSD party-goers, with hundreds of thousands having already celebrated Christopher Street Day there. At the same time, however, more and more smaller towns are also staging their own CSD parades – the non-profit organization CSD Deutschland e.V. lists around 50 CSD locations.

Political demands – then and now

The original idea of Christopher Street Day was to fight arbitrary discrimination against homosexuals. CSD is still a day on which to stand up for the rights of sexual diversity – that is to say for the rights of the LGBTI (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex) community. Activists today demonstrate above all for same-sex unions to be put on a completely equal footing with marriage, for full rights to access adoption procedures and for social acceptance of transgender and intersex people.

The legal and social standing of homosexuals has improved significantly over the decades in Germany. Consequently, the political demands are taking more of a back seat, unlike in the past. Nonetheless, a political demonstration is still an integral part of any CSD parade. In larger cities the focus tends to be on nationwide issues, while the political demands in smaller towns are frequently directed at regional decision-makers.

Criticism of the commercial side

Not everyone is crazy about the large, high-profile CSD parties. In some cases the parades are sponsored by breweries, discotheques and other companies – the focus here being on commercial interests. Furthermore, high-level politicians from various parties can be spotted up on the floats; one can only assume that they hope their presence there will improve their standing among the wilder and more colourful sections of the electorate. Some activists are opposed to such commercial considerations and want to prevent CSD being used as a stage for politicians. As a result, a group of activists in Berlin split from the traditional CSD in 1998. They established their own event, the “Transgenialer CSD“, a CSD alternative that has been known since 2014 as “Kreuzberg CSD” or “Kreuzberg Pride”. Political parties, national symbols and commercial firms are not welcome at this protest march.

Christopher Street Day Von der Demo zur Party

Schrill und bunt: der Christopher Street Day
Schrill und bunt: der Christopher Street Day | Foto (Ausschnitt): © istock

Straßen, getaucht in Regenbogenfarben, feiernde, schrill gekleidete Menschen: Das verbinden die meisten Menschen mit dem Christopher Street Day in Deutschland. Doch die Parade war einmal viel mehr als eine schillernde Party.

Menschenmassen – laut und überbordend bunt. Für viele ist es genau das, was sie mit dem Christopher Street Day (CSD) in Deutschland verbinden. Doch hinter der großen Party steckt eine Geschichte. Sie begann 1979: Wenige Hundert trauten sich damals auf die Straße und demonstrierten für mehr Toleranz gegenüber Schwulen, Lesben und Transgender. Heute sind es Hunderttausende, die beim CSD-Demonstrationszug die Vielfalt der Sexualität feiern.

Für Homosexuelle auf der ganzen Welt hatte sich schon im Jahr 1969 sehr viel verändert. In der Nacht vom 27. auf den 28. Juni wehrten sich erstmals in New York Gäste einer Schwulenbar gegen willkürliche Diskriminierungen der Polizei. Schauplatz des Aufstands war das „Stonewall Inn“, eine Bar in der Christopher Street in Greenwich Village. Die Unruhen in der Christopher Street gelten weltweit als Beginn der Schwulen-, Lesben- und Transgenderbewegung.

CSD-Premiere in Deutschland

Erst Ende der 1960er-Jahre lockerte der Gesetzgeber in Deutschland den Paragrafen 175: Homosexuelle Beziehungen unter Erwachsenen wurden von nun an nicht mehr bestraft. Diese Gesetzesänderung und der Widerstand in der Christopher Street motivierten viele Homosexuelle, für mehr Gleichberechtigung zu kämpfen. Die Schwulen- und Lesbenszene in Deutschland begann sich langsam zu organisieren. Schon Mitte der 1970er-Jahre gingen Homosexuelle in Münster und Bremen auf die Straße, um für mehr Toleranz zu demonstrieren. Aus Angst vor gesellschaftlicher Ächtung vermummten sie damals ihre Gesichter. Eine gefestigte Organisationsstruktur, die die Szene zusammenhielt, existierte zu der Zeit noch nicht.

Das änderte sich Ende des Jahrzehnts: 1979 fand der erste offizielle Christopher Street Day in Deutschland in Berlin statt. Etwa 450 Demonstranten konnten dort ausgelassen und fröhlich auf die Straße gehen. „Gay Pride“, also „Stolz aufs Schwulsein“, war das Motto des Fußmarsches. Dabei ging es weniger um politische Forderungen, als vielmehr um die Aufforderung an alle Schwulen, Lesben und Transgender, selbstbewusst zu ihrer Sexualität zu stehen. Anfeindungen oder Gewalt gegen Teilnehmer gab es nicht – ein entscheidender Unterschied zu früheren Veranstaltungen.

Immer mehr CSD-Fans

Die CSD-Teilnehmerzahl hat sich in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten rasant nach oben entwickelt. In den frühen 1990er-Jahren trafen sich in Berlin bereits Zehntausende Besucher zum Christopher Street Day – ein Ansturm, mit dem kaum jemand gerechnet hätte. Heute zählen Berlin, Köln und Hamburg zu den deutschen Städten mit den meisten CSD-Party-Besuchern. Hunderttausende feierten dort bereits den Christopher Street Day. Aber auch immer mehr kleinere Städte richten einen CSD aus – etwa 50 Veranstaltungsorte listet der CSD Deutschland e.V.

Politische Forderungen – damals und heute

Der Ursprungsgedanke des Christopher Street Day ist es, gegen die willkürliche Diskriminierung von Homosexuellen zu kämpfen. Der CSD ist auch weiterhin ein Tag, der für die Rechte der sexuellen Vielfalt einsteht – also für die Rechte von LGBTI (Lesben, Schwule, Bisexuelle, Transgender und Intersexuelle). Die Aktivisten heute demonstrieren vor allem für eine vollständige Gleichstellung der gleichgeschlechtlichen Partnerschaft mit der Ehe, ein volles Recht auf Zugang zum Adoptionsverfahren und die gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz von Transgender und Intersexuellen.

Im Laufe der Jahrzehnte hat sich die rechtliche und gesellschaftliche Stellung von Homosexuellen in Deutschland deutlich verbessert. Die politischen Forderungen stehen daher – im Vergleich zu früher – eher im Hintergrund. Eine politische Kundgebung ist jedoch nach wie vor fester Bestandteil einer CSD-Demonstration. In größeren Städten sind meist bundespolitische Themen von Bedeutung. An kleineren Veranstaltungsorten richten sich die politischen Forderungen häufig an regionale Entscheidungsträger.

Kritik an Kommerz

Nicht alle sind von den großen und publikumswirksamen CSD-Partys begeistert. Die Paraden werden teilweise von Brauereien, Diskotheken und anderen Firmen gesponsert – kommerzielle Interessen stehen hier im Vordergrund. Auf den Trucks sitzen zudem Spitzenpolitiker unterschiedlicher Parteien, von denen man annehmen kann, dass sie mit ihrer Anwesenheit beim bunten, wilden Wählervolk punkten wollen. Manch ein Aktivist stellt sich gegen diese kommerziellen Interessen und wehrt sich gegen den CSD als Bühne für Politiker. 1998 spaltete sich deswegen in Berlin eine Gruppe von Aktivisten vom traditionellen CSD ab. Sie gründete mit dem „Transgenialen CSD“ ihre eigene Veranstaltung. Seit 2014 heißt diese CSD-Alternative „Kreuzberger CSD“. Bei diesem Demonstrationszug sind Parteien, Nationensymbole und kommerzielle Unternehmen unerwünscht.