India’s LGBTI community Two steps forward, one step back

Two women
Photo (detail): Debapriya Biswas Nandi

India’s LGBTI community is fighting over the right way to achieve better justice. Questions about homosexuality and transsexuality are a complex amalgam in India, made up of law, culture, tradition, religion and living environment.

Abhijit Iyer Mitra is annoyed. Annoyed at the official homosexual representatives in India, who he feels don’t represent him. “I’m gay and I have never been discriminated against in my life,” he rants. “I have a career in security policy, I’ve kissed my friends in public and nobody bothered us. There is no active homophobia in India,” says the 39-year-old from Chennai.

This sounds surprising for a fleeting observer. Doesn’t the Indian penal code include Paragraph 377, which makes homosexuality a crime? And didn’t the highest court repeal a judgement made by the high court in Delhi in 2013, which declared the Paragraph unconstitutional?

A complex Amalgam

So now we’re in the middle of a complicated melange, because questions about homosexuality and transsexuality (abbreviated as LGBTI: Lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersexual) are a complex amalgam in India, made up of law, culture, tradition, religion and living environment.

And so there isn’t only a fight about how the current law is interpreted, there’s also a discussion about whether the strategies of the LGBTI movement in the West can be applied to this country. Quite a few people are of the opinion that the situation for gays, lesbians and trans people in India cannot be compared with Europe and America because of the different cultural context.

So one by one: A “gay paragraph,” such as Paragraph 175 in Germany (which was repealed in East Germany in 1957 and was only repealed in reunified Germany in 1994), doesn’t exist in India. Unlike Paragraph 175, which explicitly prohibited sex between men, Paragraph 377, which was introduced by the British in 1861, only penalizes sexual activities “against the order of nature.” However, this is often interpreted to mean homosexuality.

Paragraph 377

Yet, unlike in West Germany, where, according to the Federal Anti-Discrimination Agency, more than 50,000 men were sentenced to imprisonment for several years on the basis of Paragraph 175 since 1945, India’s Paragraph 377 was as good as never utilized.

“Since 1870, there have been about 40 convictions, but they were all cases of rape,” says Abhijit Iyer Mitra. “If a man is the victim of rape, there isn’t any other legal recourse he can take besides invoking Paragraph 377,” bemoans the research fellow at the Institute of Peace and Conflict Studies (IPCS) in Neu-Delhi.

With that, it’s clear at least, that things aren’t at their best for India’s gays, lesbians and trans people. While trans people were recognized to be able to identify with a “third gender” on official documents, following a progressive judgement by the highest court in 2014, representatives and allies of the LGBTI movement have been fighting for years to abolish Paragraph 377.

Decriminalizing consensual sex

One of them is MP Shashi Tharoor. He suggested amending Paragraph 377 to decriminalize sex among consenting adults in the Indian parliament, Lok Sabha, in late-2015.

“Even if Paragraph 377 isn’t utilized often, it’s an instrument of harassment, discrimination and oppression of sexual minorities in India and it’s got to go,” Tharoor said, who is also known internationally for being an author and former Under-Secretary General of the United Nations (UN).

Tharoor’s initiative, which was struck down by the governing Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), was a reaction to the declaration of the highest court in 2013, which decided that the question must be settled by the parliament, rather than in the courts.

“However, because of the prejudices of some of the MPs, there will arguably be no change to the law as long as the BJP is in power,” Tharoor laments. And yet he’s also intentionally overlooking that his own oppositional party, Indian National Congress, has shown little interest to date in the matter, even though the party leadership, under Sonia Gandhi, recently declared itself in favor of abolishing Paragraph 377.

“No government has been especially helpful yet,” says Anjali Gopalan, director of the Naz Foundation, a non-governmental organization, which is also campaigning to abolish Paragraph 377. “That’s why we went to court.”

Using precedence to reach a goal

In short: The situation has stalled because nobody dares to advance it out of consideration for the conservatives. This is exactly the reason why Abhijit Iyer Mitra is proposing another strategy. “I’m obviously for equal rights, but we have to be smart in how we proceed,” he says. It would be counterproductive in the current situation offer full-throated remarks to the media. “Some people seem to be more concerned with their appearance than with a solution,” he complains.

Instead of launching public campaigns, he proposes forcing the courts to consider precedence regarding two questions that have to do with Paragraph 377. “On the one hand, it’s totally unclear what sexual activities “against the order of nature” means; on the other, the law is hardly enforceable because it’s very hard to tell what happens in peoples’ bedrooms.

The latter could be a reason that people are hardly ever convicted on the basis of Paragraph 377, which is the reason some organizations sat that in India, homosexuals being threatened with lifelong imprisonment, is theoretically correct, but also misleading.

Different concepts of God and nature

The formulation introduced into the Indian penal code by the British colonists isn’t only vague, it also presents a particular problem in an Indian cultural context, since it’s imported from a Christian tradition, whereas in India, Hindus, Muslims, Buddhists, Christians and people of other faiths, that have totally different concepts of God and nature, have been live alongside each other for centuries.

“India was always historically liberal when it came to sexual differences,” says Shashi Tharoor. Neither mythology nor historic tradition refer to the persecution of sexual nonconformity.”

In the Hindu tradition, there are representations of homosexual sex in temples as well as numerous figures who shift gender over time in stories.

The god, Shiva, is often represented as Ardhanarishvara, half man, half woman, and symbolizes both the masculine as well as feminine energy that makes up the universe. Thus, the “third gender” has been revered for a long time and its legal recognition is the result of this worldview.

The colonial legacy

Shashi Tharoor therefore criticizes the Hindu-nationalist, governing party, BJP, for ignoring their own, Hindu tradition. Nevertheless, it isn’t on its own. The colonial rule also altered Indians’ views of morality. Puritanism can also definitely apply to Indian tradition. And the ca. 20% of religious minorities in the country have their own ideas in turn.

Thus, for a long time, homosexuals have ceded to societal pressure to get married, only to then pursue their sexual interests outside of marriage, unchecked. However, the younger generation especially doesn’t want to consider itself satisfied with this status quo.

The conflict in the LBGTI community is therefore not only an expression of societal change in India, it’s also the quest to find their own way when it comes to questions of sexual self-determination.

“Public opinion has changed since the 19th century,” says Shashi Tharoor. “The time has come for the lawmakers and the courts to acknowledge a pluralistic India.

Indiens LGBTI Community Zwei Schritte vor und einer zurück

Zwei Frauen
Foto (Ausschnitt): Debapriya Biswas Nandi

Indiens „LGBTI Community“ streitet um den rechten Weg zu einem besseren Recht. Auch in Indien sind Fragen der Homo- und Transsexualität ein komplexes Amalgam aus Recht, Kultur, Tradition, Religion und Lebenswelt.

Abhijit Iyer Mitra ist genervt. Genervt von den offiziellen Homosexuellen-Vertretern in Indien, von denen er sich nicht repräsentiert fühlt. „Ich bin schwul und ich bin in meinem ganzen Leben noch nie benachteilgt worden“, schimpft er. „ich habe akademisch Karriere in der Sicherheitspolitik gemacht, ich habe meine Freunde in der Öffentlichkeit geküsst und niemanden hat es gestört. Es gibt in Indien keine aktive Homophobie“, sagt der 39-Jährige aus Chennai.

Das klingt überraschend für den flüchtigen Beobachter. Gibt es nicht den Paragraphen 377 im indischen Strafgesetzbuch, der Homosexualität unter Strafe stellt? Und hatte nicht der Oberste Gerichtshof 2013 ein Urteil des High Court in Delhi aufgehoben, das den Paragraphen für verfassungswidrig erklärte?

Ein komplexes Amalgam

Damit wären wir mittendrin in einer komplizierten Gemengelage. Denn auch in Indien sind Fragen der Homosexualität und Transsexualität (abgekürzt als LGBTI: Lesbian, Gay, Bi-Sexual, Transgender, Intersexual) ein komplexes Amalgam aus Recht, Kultur, Tradition, Religion und Lebenswelt.

Und so gibt es denn nicht nur einen Streit darüber, wie die Rechtslage zu interpretieren ist, sondern auch eine Diskussion, ob die Strategien der LGBTI- Bewegung aus dem Westen auf das Land übertragbar sind. Nicht wenige sind der Meinung, dass die Lage von Schwulen, Lesben und Transsexuellen in Indien sich wegen des anderen kulturellen Kontextes mit Europa und den USA nicht vergleichen lässt

Also der Reihe nach. Einen „Schwulenparagraphen“ wie den 175 in Deutschland (der in der DDR 1957 und im vereinigten Deutschland erst 1994 aufgehoben wurde) gibt es in Indien nicht. Anders als Paragraph 175, der explizit Sex unter Männern verbot, stellt der von den Briten in Indien 1861 eingeführte Paragraph 377 nur „fleischlichen Verkehr gegen die Ordnung der Natur“ unter Strafe. Er wird allerdings oft in Richtung Homosexualität interpretiert.

Der Paragraph 377

Doch anders als in West-Deutschland, wo nach Angaben des Antidiskriminierungsstelle des Bundes seit 1945 mehr als 50.000 Männer auf Basis des Paragraphen 175 zum Teil zu mehrjährigen Haftstrafen verurteilt wurden, kam der Paragraph 377 in Indien so gut wie nie zur Anwendung.

„Es hat seit 1870 etwa 20 Verurteilungen gegeben, aber das waren alles Fälle von Vergewaltigung“, sagt Abhijit Iyer Mitra. „Wenn ein Mann vergewaltigt wird, gibt es bisher keine andere rechtliche Zuflucht für ihn als Paragraph 377 aufzurufen“, klagt der Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institute of Peace and Conflict Studies (IPCS) in Neu-Delhi.

Womit zumindest klar ist, dass wohl doch nicht alles zum Besten steht für Indiens Schwule, Lesben und Transsexuelle. Während Letztere 2014 in einem richtungweisenden Urteil des Obersten Gerichts als „drittes Geschlecht“ anerkannt wurden und dies nun in offiziellen Dokumenten ausweisen können, kämpfen Vertreter und Sympatisanten der LGBTI-Bewegung seit Jahren für eine Abschaffung des Paragraphen 377.

Einvernehmlichen Sex entkriminalisieren

Einer von ihnen ist der Abgeordnete Shashi Tharoor. Er hat Ende 2015 einen Vorschlag zur Änderung des Paragraphen 377 in das indische Parlament (Lok Sabha) eingebracht, der vorsieht, einvernehmlichen Sex unter Erwachsenen zu entkriminalisieren.

„Auch wenn der Paragraph 377 nicht oft angewendet wird, ist er ein Instrument zur Belästigung, Verfolgung und Erpressung sexueller Minderheiten in Indien und muss weg“, meint Tharoor, der auch als Buchautor und ehemals stellvertretender Generalsekretär der Vereinten Nationen (UN) international bekannt ist.

Tharoors Initiative, die von der regierenden Bharatiya Janata Partei (BJP) niedergeschlagen wurde, war eine Reaktion auf die Erklärung des Obersten Gerichtshofs von 2013, der entschied, dass die Frage nicht von Gerichten sondern vom Parlament entschieden werden muss.

„Aber wegen der Vorurteile einiger Abgeordneter, wird es wohl keine Gesetzesänderung geben so lange die BJP an der Macht ist“, klagt Tharoor. Dabei übersieht er geflissentlich, dass auch seine eigene Partei, die oppositionelle Kongress-Partei bisher wenig Interesse an der Frage gezeigt hat, obwohl die Parteiführung unter Sonia Gandhi sich kürzlich für eine Abschaffung des Paragraphen 377 ausgesprochen hat.

„Keine Regierung war bisher sonderlich hilfreich“, sagt Anjali Gopalan, Chefin der Naz-Foundation, eine Nicht-Regierungsorganisation, die sich ebenfalls für die Abschaffung des Paragraphen 377 einsetzt. „Deswegen sind wir ja vor Gericht gegangen.“

Mit Präzedenzurteilen zum Ziel

Kurz: Die Lage ist festgefahren, weil niemand sich aus Rücksicht auf Konservative wirklich vorwagen will. Dies ist genau der Grund, weshalb Abhijit Iyer Mitra eine andere Strategie vorschlägt „Ich bin natürlich für gleiche Rechte, aber man muss klug vorgehen“, sagt er. Es sei in der jetzigen Situation kontraproduktiv, sich lauthals in den Medien zu äußern. „Einige Leute scheinen mehr an Selbstdarstellung interessiert zu sein als an einer Lösung“, klagt er.

Statt öffentlichen Kampagnen schlägt er vor, die Gerichte dazu zu bringen, Präzedenzurteile in zwei Fragen bezüglich des Paragraphen 377 zu fällen. „Zum einen ist es völlig unklar, was eigentlich fleischlicher Verkehr gegen die Ordnung der Natur sein soll und zum anderen ist das Gesetz nicht durchsetzbar, weil sich kaum feststellen lässt, was im Schlafzimmer der Leute passiert.“

Letzteres dürfte ein Grund dafür sein, dass der Paragraph 377 kaum zu Verurteilungen führt. Daher ist die Aussage von manchen Organisationen, dass in Indien Homosexuellen lebenslange Haft droht, theoretisch richtig aber eher irreführend.

Unterschiedliche Konzepte von Gott und Natur

Die Formulierung des von der britischen Kolonialmacht eingeführten Strafgesetzbuches, ist nicht nur schwammig, sondern stellt im indischen kulturellen Kontext ein besonderes Problem dar, da sie ein Import aus der christlichen Tradition ist. In Indien hingegen leben seit Jahrhunderten Hindus, Muslime, Buddhisten, Christen und andere Religionen nebeneinander, die ganz unterschiedliche Konzepte von Gott und der Natur haben.

„Indien war gegenüber sexueller Differenz historisch immer liberal“, sagt Shashi Tharoor. „Weder die Mythologie noch historische Überlieferung berichtet über die Verfolgung von sexueller Abweichung.“

In der Hindu-Tradition gibt es Darstellungen von homosexuellem Sex in Tempeln sowie zahlreiche Charaktere, die im Laufe von Erzählungen ihr Geschlecht wechseln.

Der Gott Shiva wird oft als Ardhanarishvara, halb Mann, halb Frau dargestellt und symbolisiert so die männliche und weibliche Energie, aus denen das Universum entsteht. Das „dritte Geschlecht“ wurde deshalb lange verehrt und die Anerkennung auf gesetzlicher Ebene ist auch ein Ergebnis dieses Weltbildes.

Das koloniale Erbe

Shashi Tharoor wirft der Hindu-nationalistischen Regierungspartei BJP deshalb vor, sie ignoriere ihre eigene, hinduistische Tradition. Allerdings ist sie damit nicht allein. Die Kolonialherrschaft hat auch die moralischen Vorstellungen der Inder verändert. Puritanismus kann durchaus auch als indische Tradition gelten. Und die etwa 20 Prozent religiösen Minderheiten im Land haben wiederum eigene Vorstellungen.

Lange haben sich Homosexuelle daher dem gesellschaftlichen Druck zur Heirat gebeugt, um dann unbehelligt ihren sexuellen Interessen außerhalb der Ehe nachzugehen. Doch vor allem die jüngere Generation will sich damit nicht mehr zufrieden geben.

Der Streit in der LGBTI Community ist daher nicht nur ein Ausdruck von gesellschaftlichem Wandel in Indien sondern auch von der Suche nach einem eigenen Weg in Fragen sexueller Selbstbestimmung.

“Die öffentliche Meinung hat sich seit dem 19. Jahrhundert verändert“, sagt Shashi Tharoor. „Es ist an der Zeit, dass sich der Gesetzgeber und die Gerichte zu einem pluralistischen Indien bekennen.“