Bangalore Queer Film Festival Mattresses, movies and madness

Bangalore Queer Film Festivals (BQFF) 2018
Bangalore Queer Film Festivals (BQFF) 2018 | © BQFF

The Bangalore Queer Film Festival (BQFF), perhaps the largest film festival to deal with LGBT themes in the south, is a yearly fixture in Bangalore’s cultural calendar. Run entirely by volunteers – a small group of friends – the festival is committed to the circulation of good queer cinema, including films from non-Western locations, films by independent filmmakers, popular cinema that experiments with LGBT concerns, and experimental films that push aesthetic limits. BQFF has brought, and will continue to bring films for and by lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and other communities that fall outside the heterosexual norm.

This year, BQFF was held from 9th to 11th March, at the Goethe Institut/Max Mueller Bhavan, Bangalore. With over 1300 registered participants, this meant a really packed hall, and a long line of eager film viewers snaking all the way to top, where it met the line of people waiting to get their coffee and croissant.
 
The BQFF is relatively unique in the queer subculture of India, since the only other festival of comparable scale takes place in the city of the Mumbai. There is indeed a South India focus at the BQFF.
 
One of the first ever queer film festivals in India was called “Larzish: International Film Festival of Sexuality & Gender Plurality” and took place in Mumbai in 2003. In the same year Bangalore held its first queer film festival and has never looked back since.

Never looked back since

For the last nine years, each edition of the festival has had between 1000 and 1500 registered participants, who have entered free and often donated their own money to sustain and keep the festival going. This scale of participation – largely unchanged throughout the years – indicates both a need felt by LGBT people for community spaces, as well as a growing taste in cultural consumption for newer forms of video and films. And BQFF has delivered on this, with short and feature length fiction films, documentaries, animated films, and more, screened every year.
 
Yet, films have only been one part of the festival, which brings to Bangalore many other forms of art. One major aspect has been the performances, very often by members of the LGBT community. BQFF performances are a stage for non-professional performers to showcase dance, music or theatre.

Trial and error, humour and bawdiness

There is a spirit of trial and error, humour and bawdiness in these performances, making them some of the best attended events of the festival with loud and raucous audience participation. Any image of film festivals as a purely silent space and studied nonchalance simply goes away during BQFF performances. This intense audience participation helps create a sense of the city’s progressive and LGBT community — something that is difficult to gauge except at events like BQFF or queer pride. Another important aspect of the festival has been photography and art exhibitions accompanying the film screenings.  The decade or so of BQFF has also coincided with a spike in the visibility of queer arts and culture in India.
 
The sheer numbers of Indian films that can be screened every year grows as both mainstream and independent filmmakers gain more exposure to the topic, and more members of the queer community - in Bangalore and outside, come out as filmmakers, and tell their stories.
 
One important contribution of the festival has been to showcase popular commercial films in Tamil, Malayalam, Kannada and Telugu. These films, usually reserved for the thronging crowds in single-screen cinemas, have been received with great enthusiasm by a queer film festival audience used to assuming that all LGBT cinema is indecent or western.

The definition of the term queer cinema

An important and ongoing discussion amongst curators of the festival is about the definition of the term queer cinema. One meaning is easier to grasp: cinema by and about LGBT people. Another definition holds that queer cinema can simply be experimental cinema, changing how we think about films themselves. This productive tension between the two meanings of queer cinema has animated the aesthetic vision of BQFF.
 
How this will play out in the years to come, is what makes BQFF one of the most exciting film and cultural festivals in the country.

Bangalore Queer Film Festival Matratzen, Filme und Verrücktheiten

Bangalore Queer Film Festivals (BQFF) 2018
Bangalore Queer Film Festivals (BQFF) 2018 | © BQFF

Das Bangalore Queer Film Festival (BQFF), das vielleicht größte Filmfestival im Süden, das sich LGBT-Themen widmet, ist eine feste Einrichtung im Kulturkalender von Bangalore. Veranstaltet von einer Gruppe von Freunden, die sich rein ehrenamtlich engagieren, hat sich das Festival die Verbreitung von anspruchsvollen Queerfilmen, darunter auch solchen aus nicht-westlichen Gegenden, von Filmen von unabhängigen Filmemachern, von populären Filmen, in denen LGBT-Anliegen vorkommen, und von experimentellen Filmen, die ästhetische Grenzen überschreiten, zum Ziel gesetzt. Zu sehen bekam und bekommt man beim BQFF Filme von und für Lesben, Schwule, Bisexuelle, Transgender, Intersexuelle und anderen Gruppen, die aus der heterosexuellen Norm herausfallen – und deren Sichtbarkeit wird weiterhin gefördert.

In diesem Jahr (2018) fand das Festival vom 9.-11. März am Goethe Institut/Max Mueller Bhavan, Bangalore statt. Über 1300 angemeldete Teilnehmer*innen bedeuteten für die Filminteressierten volle Räume und eine lange Schlange bis ganz nach oben, wo diese auf diejenigen traf, die auf Kaffee und Croissants warteten.
 
Das BQFF ist ziemlich einzigartig in der queeren Kultur Indiens, denn das einzige andere vergleichbare Festival findet in Mumbai statt. Tatsächlich gibt es beim BQFF einen Südindien-Schwerpunkt.
 
Eines der ersten queeren Filmfestivals in Indien war das “Larzish: International Film Festival of Sexuality & Gender Plurality”, das 2003 in Mumbai stattfand. In gleichen Jahr wurde das erste queere Filmfestival in Bangalore veranstaltet und seither gibt es kein Zurück mehr.

Kein Zurück mehr

Das Festival hatte in den vergangenen neun Jahren jährlich jeweils zwischen 1000 und 1500 angemeldete Besucher, die keinen Eintritt bezahlen müssen und oft noch durch Spenden den Fortbestand des Festivals sicherstellten. Diese Unterstützung – die in all den Jahren kaum nachgelassen hat – ist ein Zeichen dafür, wie sehr die LGBT-Gemeinde solche Orte braucht – wie auch Zeichen für das wachsende Interesse an neuen Video- und Film-Formaten auf Seiten der Kulturkonsumenten. Und Jahr für Jahr versorgt sie das BQFF ganz in diesem Sinne – mit Kurz- und Langfilmen, Dokumentationen, Animationsfilmen und vielen anderen.
 
Filme jedoch sind nur die eine Seite des Festivals, das zahlreiche andere Kunstformen nach Bangalore bringt. Einen wichtigen Teil machen die Performances aus, bei denen oftmals Performer aus Reihen der LGBT-Gemeinde auftreten. Die BQFF-Performances sind eine Bühne für nicht-professionelle Künstler, die ihre Tanzstücke, Musik oder Theaterstücke vorführen.

Humor und eine Portion Unzüchtigkeit

Bei den Performances steht das Ausprobieren im Mittelpunkt, getragen von Humor und einer Portion Unzüchtigkeit, was sie zu den beliebtesten und den am besten besuchten Veranstaltungen des gesamten Festivals macht, eine lautstarke und lärmige Beteiligung des Publikums inklusive. Vom üblichen ruhig dasitzenden und stummen Publikum bei anderen Filmfestivals kann hier keine Rede sein, wo sich bei den BQFF-Performances jede einstudierte Nonchalance verliert. Diese höchst intensive Beteiligung des Publikums ist Ausdruck der Fortschrittlichkeit des Lebens in der Stadt und der LGBT-Gemeinde – etwas, was außerhalb des BQFF oder der Pride Parade ansonsten nur schwer wahrzunehmen ist. Ebenso wichtig sind die Foto- und Kunst-Ausstellungen, die das eigentliche Filmfestival begleiten. In eben jenen zehn Jahren, die das das BQFF nun beinahe besteht, hat sich die Sichtbarkeit von queerer Kunst und Kultur in Indien deutlich erhöht.
 
Die Anzahl indischer Filme, die gezeigt werden können, wird mit jedem Jahr größer, da sich Mainstream- und unabhängige Filmemacher dem Thema geöffnet haben und sich immer mehr Mitglieder der queeren Gemeinde in Bangalore und anderswo als Filmemacher versuchen und ihre Geschichten erzählen.
 
Ein weiterer wichtiger Bestandteil des Festivalprogramms sind populäre kommerzielle Filme in Tamil, Malayalam, Kannada und Telugu. Diese Filme, die normalerweise nur in kleinen Kinos vor dicht gedrängten Reihen gezeigt werden, stoßen hier auf lebhaftes Interesse und die Begeisterung des queeren Filmpublikums, das ehedem davon ausging, das gesamte LGBT-Kino sei anzüglich oder westlich.

Was ist queeres Kino?

Eine wichtige und fortgesetzte Debatte unter den Kuratoren des Festivals betrifft die Frage, wie queeres Kino zu definieren ist. Der eine Ansatz ist ganz einfach: Kino von und über LGBT-Menschen. Ein anderer Ansatz bestimmt queeres Kino allgemeiner als ein experimentelles, das unser Denken über das Kino als solches verändert. Diese produktive Spannung zwischen solch unterschiedlichen Definitionsansätzen liefert Anregungen für die ästhetische Vision des BQFF.
 
Die Frage, was sich daraus in den kommenden Jahren entwickeln wird, macht das BQFF zu einem der spannendsten Film- und Kulturfestivals im ganzen Land.