Artist residencies Solidarity and Reflexivity

Reflections of Barcelona
Reflections of Barcelona | Photo (detail): © Carlos ZGZ

Uncovering your ideas and strategies in developing your arts management skills, exposing your vulnerabilities in building a bigger dream, weaving the threads that binds one into a tighter, stronger network - all this and more is what ARThink South Asia Fellowship and Residency gave Rashmi Dhanwani. Here she charts her journey.

A few weeks ago, Vikram Iyengar, Co-founder and Artistic Director of the performance company, Ranan, and a former ARThink South Asia (ATSA) Fellow, shared a Ministry of Culture link requesting “comments from public on the Draft document on proposed National Mission on Intangible Cultural Heritage of India”. A critical document that outlines not just the discussions and agenda setting processes at play, but also traces the evolution of this document to its present stage. Such public declarations, usually unpublicised, often go unnoticed. Sharing of such content occurs within certain arts networks in the country, especially those that concern themselves with public funding for culture, run arts institutions, and who are directly impacted by such documents—a small number, that may not include a young arts manager building a portfolio career.
 
Being a part of the same network of ATSA fellows, I scanned Iyengar’s post. It was shared on a highly popular social networking group for arts opportunities, exposing many more arts professionals to the document exhorting them to send in comments. View the process from the top, and you can see movement of information and knowledge spread from those within a relatively structured network to those outside of it. Fellowships like ATSA generate a crucial pathway into harnessing the strength of informal networks, while also endorsing the importance of structure in an increasingly compartmentalised arts sector in India.
 
Not too long ago, I was a part of one fragment of this compartment, marooned in a mammoth arts institution and questioning the audience accessibility gap. It was in an attempt to delve into the reasons for this gap and the desire to bridge it that triggered the idea for a project on cultivating the ‘Rasika (aesthete)’ – an audience building initiative for classical arts at the National Centre for the Performing Arts (NCPA) in Mumbai. The ARThink South Asia Fellowship that was awarded for this project in 2011, transformed my practice in more ways than one:

The Project and Professional Development

Dance demonstration with Astaad Deboo Dance demonstration with Astaad Deboo | Photo: © Astad Deboo The Fellowship enabled the project to grow in scope during the course of the fortnight’s residency. By the end of the Fellowship in 2012, we had started NCPA’s first outreach department with a team of two people to manage the initiatives, connected with several schools and colleges, collaborated with youth festivals, developed a range of online and offline engagement initiatives, initiated audience data tracking, and developed an outreach component for every NCPA festival leading to student shows, introductory ‘Chalk talks’, and access-based workshops. The attempt made to seed outreach into organisational thinking and strategy was reasonably successful, as the activities of the department were subsumed into the existing departmental frameworks. Elements from the project continue to be used even two years after I left the organisation.

Contemporary Dancer Astaad Deboo and his troupe interact with school students at a dance demonstration organised by the NCPA
Professionally, I developed skills in project management, strategic planning, financial planning and management, insight into significant legal issues, and a keen perspective on policy development—approaches that I continue to use today.

Networks

School Children interacting with Astad Deboo and his troop after his work is presented at NCPA School Children interacting with Astad Deboo and his troop after his work is presented at NCPA | Photo: © Astad Deboo Arts Management is a relatively new discipline, with one of earliest scientific conferences only being organised in 1991 (International Conference on Arts and Cultural Management). In India the landscape is relatively sparse,  where only a couple of arts management diplomas around. In terms of training, most arts professionals in the sector occupy opposing ends of the spectrum: they either have some relevant degree from a University abroad or absolutely no formal training in arts management from India. Consequently, network building in the arts sector is rarely institutional and more informal than most other sectors. Whatever exists, exists in compartmentalised pockets: with the visual arts, theatre, dance, music genres having their own grammar of networks, connections and information exchange.
 
These networks assume a more critical role for professional development within the arts sector. As Eleanor Shaw[1] (2006) notes, all networks contain information, advice and economic transactions. It is these transactions that are augmented by relationship dynamics of friendships and trust-based relationships within those networks. In a project-driven environment, reliability and recommendation become crucial normative elements of building artistic work—be it a performance, project or a festival.
 
In a sector devoid of major alumni based networks or cross-genre interactions, a young arts manager faces significant challenges in grasping the big picture of the sectoral changes or even getting access to the right information. In this light, a programme like ATSA has played in creating cohesion of professional solidarity in an otherwise dispersed sector in a country as culturally diverse as India. Over the years, I have relied on my cohort for advice, information and support. The knowhow of their projects and their management strategies, and being privy to challenges in the development of their own journeys, have significantly impacted my own growth within the sector. As recently as last month, I was guided by one of my cohort while developing an arts project proposal for an international charity.
 
Additionally, access to networks enable sound boarding, verification of decisions in line with key policy documents, exposure to multiple information sources that enable triangulation of data, opening up of project opportunities, and help generate sound, wholesome decisions.

Reflexivity

Power Lines Power Lines | Photo: © Devansh Jhaveri The ATSA fellowship created room for reflection in my practice. Connecting arts management to self-reflexivity isn’t an entirely new approach. In fact, this approach has impacted the larger discourse around effective management. As Peter Senge (1990)[2] noted, effective management in the early 80s came to be associated with developed of self-reflective practices by  which one’s assumptions, identity and values are frequently re-thought.
 
In the context of Project Rasika, the fellowship allowed me to question the motives behind audience building for an institution and how it aligns and intersects with the broader cultural sector. “No culture is sustained much less advanced by such a poor audience,” wrote columnist Aakar Patel, and drives home a crucial point about arts management: that to be an arts manager, you need to critically engage with both the sector and your place in it. I used the space to outline how my work could make a difference both to the institution and to the sector at large. Academic Hilary Glow (2010)[3] identifies one of the future challenges of arts management i.e. to take a critical approach to the conventional discourses of arts marketing in order to deliver a new focus on audience engagement. That helped strengthen the project, while also giving me the confidence in my own ability to deliver.
 
Over the years, reflexivity has also helped inject passion and a dynamism in my project plans, stemming from a confidence of having engaged with my approach on a much deeper level. Assumptions are questioned, convictions verified, and impact envisioned — the courage of conviction is aligned with a critical approach to management. Together with access to networks, the ATSA Fellowship has helped me develop a holistic approach to arts management and helped nuture my growth as an arts professional.

 
[1] Shaw, Eleanor. "Small firm networking an insight into contents and motivating factors." International Small Business Journal 24.1 (2006): 5-29.
[2] Senge, Peter M. "The fifth discipline: The art and practice of the learning organization." New York: Currency Doubleday (1990).
[3] Glow, Hilary. "Taking a critical approach to arts management." Asia Pacific journal of arts & cultural management 7.2 (2010): 585-594.

Künstlerresidenzen Solidarität und Reflexivität

Reflections of Barcelona
Reflections of Barcelona | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Carlos ZGZ

Wie man Fähigkeiten im Bereich Kulturmanagement erwirbt und damit eigene Ideen und Strategien umsetzt, wie man an Selbstbewusstsein gewinnt und sich ehrgeizige Ziele setzt, wie man als Teil eines Netzwerks vom Wissen und Zusammenhalt der Teilnehmer profitiert – all das und noch mehr erfuhr Rashmi Dhanwani dank eines Stipendiums von ARThink South Asia. Im Folgenden beschreibt sie ihre Erfahrungen.     

Vor ein paar Wochen wies Vikram Iyengar, Mitbegründer und künstlerischer Leiter des Kunstkollektivs Rahan sowie ehemaliger Stipendiat von ARThink South Asia (ATSA), auf einen Link des Kulturministeriums hin, in dem die Öffentlichkeit aufgerufen wurde, zu dem Entwurf einer geplanten Nationalen Mission zur Bewahrung und Förderung des immateriellen Kulturerbes Indiens (National Mission on Intangible Cultural Heritage of India) Stellung zu nehmen. Es handelte sich dabei um ein wichtiges Papier, das nicht nur die Diskussionen, die darin einflossen, aufzeigte, sondern auch den Prozess, den es bis zu seiner jetzigen Form durchlaufen hatte.

Solche Vorhaben werden in der Regel nicht publik gemacht, und wenn doch, kaum wahrgenommen. Hierzulande wird der Inhalt solcher Entwürfe nur innerhalb bestimmter kultureller Netzwerke diskutiert, deren Mitglieder sich mit der Finanzierung von Kulturprojekten durch die öffentliche Hand beschäftigen, Kulturinstitutionen leiten oder die von solchen Plänen unmittelbar betroffen sind – ein kleiner Kreis, dem normalerweise keine ambitionierte Kulturmanagerin, die noch am Anfang ihrer Karriere steht, angehört.
 
Da ich auch zum Netzwerk der ATSA-Stipendiaten gehöre, las ich mir Iyengars Beitrag aufmerksam durch. Iyengar teilte diesen Link mit einer im Kulturbetrieb äußerst populären sozialen Netzwerk-Gruppe. Dadurch wurde eine große Anzahl von Leuten – von Kulturschaffenden bis und Kulturvermittlern – aufgefordert, sich zu dem Entwurf zu äußern – ein gutes Beispiel dafür, wie Informationen und Wissen von den Mitgliedern eines relativ strukturierten Netzwerks an Außenstehende weitergegeben werden. Stipendien wie die von ATSA ermöglichen es Neulingen, von informellen Netzwerken zu profitieren, und zeigen gleichzeitig, welche Bedeutung einer Struktur in Indiens fragmentiertem Kunstsektor zukommt.     
 
Vor nicht allzu langer Zeit war ich Teil eines solchen Fragments. Als Mitarbeiterin einer großen Kulturinstitution trieb mich die Frage um, wie man es schaffte, ein breiteres Publikum zu erreichen. Im Zuge meiner Überlegungen kam mir die Idee zu „Rasika (Ästhet)“, eine Initiative, die das Angebot des National Centre for the Performing Arts (NCPA) in Mumbai einem breiteren Publikum näher bringen sollte. Das Stipendium, das wir 2011 für dieses Projekt von ARThink South Asia erhielten, veränderte meine Arbeits- und Denkweise in mehrfacher Hinsicht:

Das Projekt und Professionalisierung

Der Tänzer Astaad Deboo und seine Truppe bei einer Vorstellung für Schüler, die vom NCPA organisiert wurde. Der Tänzer Astaad Deboo und seine Truppe bei einer Vorstellung für Schüler, die vom NCPA organisiert wurde. | Foto: © Astad Deboo Während des zweiwöchigen Residenzprogramms zu Beginn des Stipendiums nahm das Projekt Gestalt an. Als das Stipendienjahr 2012 zu Ende ging, hatten wir im NCPA die erste Abteilung aufgebaut, die sich mit Publikumsakquise beschäftigte. Ein Team, bestehend aus zwei Personen, bearbeitete Anregungen, sowohl on- als auch offline, stellte Kontakte zu Schulen und Hochschulen her, unterstützte Jugendfestivals, sammelte und analysierte Zuschauerdaten und -informationen und nutzte NCPA-Veranstaltungen, um für spezielle Angebote wie Vorführungen für Schulklassen, Einführungsvorträge und Online-Workshops zu werben [unklar]. Dieser Versuch, neue Zielgruppen zu erschließen, war recht erfolgreich, da die Aktivitäten der neuen Abteilung in bestehende Organisationsstrukturen und -prozesse integriert wurden. Auch zwei Jahre, nachdem ich NCPA verlassen hatte, ist der Einfluss unseres Projekts noch spürbar.
 
In beruflicher Hinsicht lernte ich eine Menge über Projektmanagement, Strategieplanung, Finanzplanung und -wirtschaft, gewann Einblick in wichtige rechtliche Aspekte und schärfte meinen Blick für Methoden der Strategieentwicklung - Fähigkeiten, die mir auch heute noch zugute kommen.

Netzwerke

Astad Deboo und seine Gruppe mit Schulkindern Astad Deboo und seine Gruppe mit Schulkindern | Foto: © Astad Deboo Kulturmanagement ist eine relativ neue Disziplin. Eine der ersten wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen zu diesem Thema fand 1991 statt (International Conference on Arts and Cultural Management). Leider gibt es in Indien so gut wie keine qualifizierten Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten auf diesem Gebiet. Diejenigen, die in diesem Bereich tätig sind, haben entweder einen Abschluss in Kulturmanagement an einer ausländischen Universität erworben oder besitzen überhaupt keine formelle Ausbildung. Insofern sind die existierenden Netzwerke eher informeller als institutioneller Natur und auch nicht interdisziplinär. Jeder Bereich, ob bildende Kunst, Theater, Tanz oder Musik, hat sein eigenes Netzwerk, über das der interne Informationsaustausch erfolgt.
 
Diese Netzwerke spielen eine wichtige Rolle bei der Professionalisierung des Kunstsektors. Wie Eleanor Shaw [1] anmerkte, besteht die Funktion eines Netzwerks darin, Informationen auszutauschen, Ratschläge zu erteilen und wirtschaftliche Transaktionen durchzuführen. Vor allem wirtschaftliche Transaktionen wie Akquise, Auftragserteilung oder -vermittlung werden durch persönliche, auf gegenseitigem Vertrauen basierende Beziehungen erleichtert. In einem Bereich, wo es primär darum geht, Projekte zu realisieren, Aufführungen oder Festivals zu organisieren, sind Zuverlässigkeit und persönliche Empfehlungen unabdingbar.
 
Ohne interdisziplinäre Interaktion und die Unterstützung durch eine Ehemaligenvereinigung ist es vor allem für junge Kulturmanager schwierig, Einblick in die Dynamiken des Sektors zu nehmen oder auch nur Zugang zu relevanten Informationen zu bekommen. Insofern kommt einem Programm wie dem von ATSA eine bedeutende Rolle zu, denn es trägt dazu bei, in einem Land wie Indien, dessen Kulturszene äußerst vielseitig, aber fragmentiert ist, eine gewisse professionelle Solidarität zwischen den einzelnen Akteuren herzustellen. Im Laufe der Jahre habe ich immer wieder von den Informationen, Ratschlägen und der Unterstützung meiner Mitstipendiaten profitiert. Ihr Know-how, ihre Managementstrategien und ihre Erfahrungen hatten großen Einfluss auf meine eigene, nicht nur berufliche, Entwicklung. Erst letzten Monat half mir ein Kollege dabei, ein Konzept für ein Kunstprojekt für eine internationale Wohltätigkeitsorganisation zu entwickeln.
 
Wenn man einem Netzwerk angehört, ist man Teil einer Diskussionsgruppe,  man kann sich bei Entscheidungen formeller Art absichern, man hat Zugang zu Informationsquellen, die Datentriangulation ermöglichen, man erfährt von geplanten Projekten, und nicht zuletzt erleichtert der Austausch untereinander die eigene Entscheidungsfindung.

Reflexivität

Power Lines Power Lines | Foto: © Devansh Jhaveri Das ATSA-Stipendium gab mir auch Gelegenheit, über meine bisherige Arbeitsweise nachzudenken. Die Kombination von Kulturmanagement und Selbstreflexion ist nicht neu. Im Gegenteil, dieser Ansatz hatte großen Einfluss auf den Diskurs über effizientes Management. Wie Peter Senge [2] in seinem Standardwerk darlegt, waren bereits Anfang der 1980er Jahre selbstreflexive Praktiken – sprich eigene Annahmen, die eigene Identität und eigene Werte zu hinterfragen – ein wesentlicher Bestandteil von effizientem Management.
 
In Bezug auf Rasika ermöglichte mir das Stipendium, mich eingehend mit der Thematik der Publikumsakquise und ihrer Bedeutung für eine Institution und den Kulturbetrieb allgemein zu beschäftigen. „Keine Kultur kann ohne Publikum überleben, geschweige denn sich weiterentwickeln“, schreibt der Kolumnist Aakar Patel und spricht damit ein wichtiges Thema an. Als Kulturmanager sollte man sich nicht nur kritisch mit dem Sektor als solchem auseinandersetzen, sondern auch mit seiner eigenen Rolle. Ich nutzte den Freiraum, den mir das Stipendium bot, um mir Gedanken darüber zu machen, wie ich mich sinnvoll in die Institution und den Kulturbetrieb insgesamt einbringen könnte. Für die Akademikerin Hilary Glow [3] ist eine der zukünftigen Herausforderungen des Kulturmanagements eine kritische Haltung zu konventionellen Diskursen über Kulturmarketing, denn ihr zufolge kommt es vor allem darauf an, neue Publikumsschichten zu erreichen. Ihre Überlegungen flossen in unser Projekt ein und bestärkten mich gleichzeitig in meinen eigenen Vorstellungen.
 
Regelmäßige Selbstreflexion hat mir im Lauf der Jahre auch geholfen, meine Projektpläne mit mehr Leidenschaft und Dynamik zu verfolgen. Meine Herangehensweise an ein Problem ist jetzt fundierter und komplexer, da ich mich intensiv mit einer Thematik auseinandersetze, Annahmen hinterfrage, Überzeugungen überprüfe, Ziele formuliere und Varianten durchspiele – Gewissheit geht immer Hand in Hand mit kritischen Fragen. Das Stipendium von ATSA hat nicht nur dazu beigetragen, dass ich einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz im Bereich Kulturmanagement entwickelte, sondern mir auch zu mehr Professionalität als Kulturvermittlerin verholfen.
 

[1] Shaw, Eleanor, „Small Firm Networking – An Insight into Contents and Motivating Factors.” International Small Business Journal 21.1 (2006): S. 5-29.
[2] Senge, Peter M, The Fifth Discipline: The Art and Practice of the Learning Organization. New York: Currency Doubleday (1990).
[3] Glow, Hilary, „Taking a Critical Approach to Arts Management.” Asia Pacific Journal of Arts & Cultural Management 7.2 (2010): S. 585-594.