Nora Bibel’s Bangalore Photos Documenting without exposing

Family comes first
© Nora Bibel

Nora Bibel quickly got a reputation among the other residents: worker bee. During her 6-week-long BangalorREsidency, in 2014, the photographer from Berlin researched 50 extended families, took elaborate photographs of them, and organized an exhibition in India of the works that came out if it on top of that. In 2016, she culminated the project with the photo book, Family Comes First. Our writer spoke to Nora Bibel outside her book presentation at Haus am Kleistpark in Berlin-Schöneberg

Ms. Bibel, 50 extended families from Bangalore await us in your book. What drew you to this subject?

In India, there’s the tradition of the so-called joint family: A couple lives together with their sons, their sons’ wives and children and their children’s children. All the members of the family share a kitchen, a communal living room and a bank account. It doesn’t matter how big or small, how wealthy or humble the household is. I was fascinated by this concept, especially since it’s gradually disappearing in cities.

Why?

Business in Bangalore is heavily influenced by IT and other modern sectors like biochemistry. Standards of living are going up and housing is getting more scarce at the same time. Joint families seem paradoxical in big cities: They’re simultaneously deeply rooted and of a different era.

So are you trying to hold onto a dwindling phenomenon in these images?

The act of documenting occupies a large space in my work. I’m interested in societal upheaval and what it does to people. But I always make sure not to overexpose anyone. Additionally, it might be difficult for people viewing my photos to guess my own opinion of the concept of a joint family. That’s quite secondary.

How did you find the families?

The idea of photographing joint families in their respective living rooms was already at the center of my application to the BangalorREsidency. In this respect, I could begin immediately. My host during the initial part of the Goethe-Institut residency helped me a lot. I also got a ton of contacts directly through the Goethe-Institute. Nevertheless, I quickly realized that I needed to go beyond this network in order to achieve the diversity I desired. So I walked around Bangalore and asked people if there were any joint families living in the neighborhood. And on top of that, I took out and ad. The next day, my inbox was already full of requests.

Did the families expect anything in return?

From the outset, I knew that I would compensate them for participating in the project with a photograph. They all thought that was enough, because joint families are proud of their tradition and enjoy showing it.
 

  • Sabanna © Nora Bibel
  • Panduranga © Nora Bibel
  • Navaratan_Mehta © Nora Bibel
  • Clare © Nora Bibel
  • Suhail © Nora Bibel
  • Chitlur © Nora Bibel
  • Shree_Setlur © Nora Bibel
  • Lokanathan © Nora Bibel
  • Poornima © Nora Bibel
  • Ananth_Kumar © Nora Bibel

The photographs radiate something calming, although there are up to 20 people depicted…

You should have been there! At times the noise was deafening. Hardly any of the participants reckoned that a sitting could take up to an hour. My decision to use long exposure times – based on historical portrait photography – made things all the more difficult. But ultimately we always succeeded in getting everyone to look in the camera without blinking at the crucial moment. Except for a few children. But it doesn’t bother me at all that there’s a bit of motion blurring on their faces. It accentuates them.

Looking directly into the camera – was that what you wanted?

Yes, I asked the families to look directly at me and to relax. I didn’t want them to have tense smiles like you see in wedding photos. In this way, many people who view my images feel like they’re in the middle of the room with dozens of pairs of eyes fixated on them.

And who decided which members of the family would sit and which would stand?

In the beginning, the families positioned themselves the way they wanted. But it was important to me to illustrate the relationships between family members. So I took over the arrangements. Sometimes I needed to be persuasive. Also when it came to lighting and field of view, I had to assert myself at first. Men tend to want to show women how things work. Especially in India.
 

Nora Bibel was born in Munich in 1971. She discovered her passion for photography in an intensive course in high school. She then studied photography at the University of Applied Sciences in Bielefeld and spent an exchange year in Australia. She went to Moscow for her thesis project. Her series of portraits and cityscapes – submitted in 1999 – already demonstrated her eye for societies in upheaval. Nora Bibel lives in Berlin and works as a freelance photographer and is a professor there at the HMKW University of Applied Sciences there.

Nora Bibels Bangalore-Fotos Dokumentieren, ohne zu entblößen

Family comes first
© Nora Bibel

Ihren Ruf unter den anderen Residenten hatte Nora Bibel schnell weg: Arbeitsbiene. Während ihrer sechswöchigen BangaloREsidency im Jahr 2014 recherchierte die Berliner Fotografin 50 Großfamilien, lichtete sie aufwändig ab und organisierte noch in Indien eine erste Ausstellung der entstandenen Arbeiten. 2017 gipfelte das Projekt in dem Fotobuch „Family comes first“. Unser Autor hat am Rande der Buchvorstellung im „Haus am Kleistpark“ in Berlin-Schöneberg mit Nora Bibel gesprochen.

Frau Bibel, in Ihrem Buch blicken uns 50 Großfamilien aus Bangalore entgegen. Was hat sie an diesem Sujet gereizt?

In Indien gibt es die Tradition der sogenannten joint family: Ein Paar lebt zusammen mit seinen Söhnen, deren Ehefrauen und Kindern sowie wiederum deren Kindern. Alle Mitglieder der Familie teilen sich eine Küche, ein gemeinsames Wohnzimmer und ein Bankkonto. Dabei spielt keine Rolle, wie groß oder klein, wie prächtig oder ärmlich der übrige Haushalt ausgestattet ist. Dieses Konzept hat mich fasziniert, zumal es zumindest in den Städten wohl allmählich verschwinden wird.
 
Warum?

Das Geschäftsleben in Bangalore ist geprägt von der IT und anderen modernen Branchen wie der Biochemie. Der Lebensstandard steigt, zugleich wird Wohnraum knapp. Joint families wirken in großen Städten paradox: tief verwurzelt und zugleich aus der Zeit gefallen.
 
Es geht Ihnen also darum, ein schwindendes Phänomen bildlich festzuhalten?

Das Dokumentarische nimmt in meiner Arbeit einen breiten Raum ein. Mich interessieren gesellschaftliche Umbrüche und die Frage, was sie mit den Menschen machen. Dabei achte ich immer darauf, niemanden zu entblößen. Außerdem dürfte es den Betrachtern meiner Fotos schwerfallen, meine eigene Meinung über das Konzept der joint family zu erraten. Die ist ganz nebensächlich.
 
Wie haben Sie die Familien gefunden?

Schon in meiner Bewerbung um die BangaloREsidency stand die Idee im Mittelpunkt, joint families in ihrem jeweiligen Wohnzimmer zu fotografieren. Insofern konnte ich sofort loslegen. Sehr geholfen hat mir der Gastgeber, bei dem mich das Goethe-Institut in der ersten Zeit untergebracht hat. Auch durch das Goethe-Institut selbst sind jede Menge Kontakte entstanden. Allerdings habe ich früh gemerkt, dass ich über dieses Netzwerk hinausgehen muss, um die gewünschte Vielfalt zu erreichen. Also bin ich in Bangalore spazieren gegangen und habe herumgefragt, ob in der Nachbarschaft eine joint family wohnt. Außerdem habe ich eine Anzeige geschaltet. Schon am nächsten Tag war mein E-Mail-Postfach voller Anfragen.
 
Haben die Familien eine Gegenleistung erwartet?

Von Anfang an war klar, dass ich die Teilnahme am Projekt mit dem Abzug eines Fotos belohnen werde. Das war allen genug. Denn die joint families sind stolz auf ihre Tradition und zeigen das auch gern.
 



Obwohl oft jeweils bis zu zwanzig Personen abgebildet sind, strahlen die Fotos Ruhe aus...

Sie hätten dabei sein sollen! Der Lärm war teilweise ohrenbetäubend. Kaum ein Teilnehmer hatte damit gerechnet, dass die Sitzung bis zu einer Stunde dauern würde. Erschwerend kam hinzu, dass ich eine lange Belichtungszeit wählte – angelehnt an die historische Porträtfotografie. Letztlich ist es aber immer gelungen, dass im entscheidenden Moment fast alle ohne zu blinzeln in die Kamera guckten. Außer ein paar kleine Kinder. Mir macht es aber nichts aus, dass deren Gesichter eine gewisse Bewegungsunschärfe zeigen. Das setzt Akzente.
 
Dieser Blick direkt in die Kamera – war das Ihr Wunsch?

Ja, ich habe die Familien gebeten, mich direkt anzuschauen und sich zu entspannen. Also bitte bloß nicht krampfhaft lächeln wie auf einem Hochzeitsfoto. So kommt bei vielen Betrachtern meiner Bilder der Eindruck zustande, dass sie mitten im Raum stehen und Dutzende Augenpaare sie fixieren.
 
Und wer hat entschieden, welches Familienmitglied wo sitzt oder steht?

Anfangs haben sich die Familien postiert wie sie wollten. Aber mir war wichtig, die Beziehungen zwischen den Mitgliedern zu verdeutlichen. Also habe ich das Arrangement übernommen. Da war manchmal Überzeugungskraft gefragt. Auch was den Umgang mit dem Licht und dem Bildausschnitt anging, musste ich mich mitunter erst durchsetzen. Manchmal neigen Männer ja dazu, Frauen zu zeigen, wie es geht. Besonders in Indien.
 

Nora Bibel wurde 1971 in München geboren. Ihre Leidenschaft für die Fotografie entdeckte sie während eines Leistungskurses am Gymnasium. Es folgten ein Studium der Fotografie an der Fachhochschule Bielefeld und ein Austauschjahr in Australien. Für ihre Diplomarbeit ging sie nach Moskau. Schon diese Serie von Portraits und Stadtansichten – vorgelegt im Jahr 1999 – bewies ihren ausgeprägten Blick für Gesellschaften im Umbruch. Nora Bibel lebt als freie Fotografin in Berlin und lehrt als Professorin an der dortigen Hochschule für Medien, Kommunikation und Wirtschaft.
www.nora-bibel.de