Sounds of home Sounds of Belonging and Otherness

Sounds of the neighbourhood
Sounds of the neighbourhood | © Ira Goldbecher

What do you call home? How much home do you need? Can you identify specific sounds that make you feel at home? With a bag full of questions and sounds, German artist and dramaturge Ira Goldbecher travelled to Varanasi to find not only answers but also soundscapes much different to what she used to call sounds of home...

The audio-walk through the streets of Assi Ghat is the outcome of my research into the sounds and concepts of home. Heimat – the German translation of home – has more meaning to it than the place you were born in. It may be connected to one´s own understanding of the inhabited space and its social and emotional indication, it may be linked to knowledge and foreseeable behavior in others, it may be a form of control of one´s immediate spatial environment. On a different level, this idea is also applicable to the sounds of the place a person inhabits. Is Heimat/Home also defined by the sounds that make up our immediate surroundings? And how much do we consciously perceive of those sounds or have they all been put on mute?

What science says… 

As the perception of noise and sounds can be overwhelming, the brain involves in a process of selection. The majority of everyday sounds is stored in a part of the brain called sensory storage. With the help of (long-term) memories derived from that sensory storage it is then possible for the brain to examine the importance of an audible piece of information. Sounds, that are familiar to us, will not be processed by the brain (about 90-95% of what we hear), while acoustic stimuli, which we cannot classify or which demand an immediate action, will find their way into consciousness. – The question arises whether a person creates a temporary memory of sounds where she lives; sounds which are namely perceived but not transferred in the brain for further procession because they are classified as "identifiable, familiar and reoccurring".

 What Max Frisch asks… 

The Swiss author, who died in 1991, became increasingly critical towards his home country during the later of part of his life. While traveling and living abroad in the United States of America, he wrote a questionnaire in 1971 on the topic of home. The questions entail his approach to home as a key element to identity and belonging. After having translated this questionnaire into English, I conducted six interviews in two different countries (Austria/India) in the quest for different ideas of home. I categorized three groups of interviewees: natives (living in their countries of birth), immigrants (living in their countries of choice) and refugees (living in foreign countries out of necessity). All of them found themselves not only confronted with the same questions and their own emerging concepts of home, but were also asked to identify sounds of home that they did not perceive as audible any more due to their familiarity.
Taking the idea of the temporary memory of non-audible sounds as a starting point and combining it with the insights of the interviews on the topic of Heimat/Home, the audio-walk tries to reverse the muteness of perception by merging binaural sounds from my hometown in Austria with the visual surroundings of Assi Ghat, Varanasi. Therefore, you will not only move through a space that is created by audio-visual opposites, similarities and suggestions but might also begin to question your own conceptions of what home means to you.

Heimatklänge Klänge von Zugehörigkeit und Andersartigkeit

Klänge in der Nachbarschaft
Klänge in der Nachbarschaft | © Ira Goldbecher

Heimat – was ist das? Wieviel Heimat braucht man? Welche Klänge geben einem das Gefühl, zu Hause und daheim zu sein? Mit einer Vielzahl von Fragen und Klängen reiste die deutsche Künstlerin und Dramaturgin Ira Goldbecher nach Varanasi, um nicht nur Antworten zu finden, sondern auch Klanglandschaften, die so ganz anders sind als die, die sie aus ihrer Heimat kennt...

Der Audio-Gang durch die Straßen von Assi Ghat ist das Ergebnis meiner Nachforschung zu Klängen und zu Vorstellung von Heimat. Das Wort Heimat bezeichnet – im Deutschen– mehr als nur den Ort, an dem man geboren ist. Es benennt auch das eigene Verständnis für den Wohnort und dessen emotionale Bedeutung; es steht für ein besonderes Wissen und erwartbares Verhalten von anderen und es kann auch eine Form der Kontrolle der eigenen unmittelbaren Umgebung sein. Auf anderer Ebene ist diese Vorstellung von Heimat auch nützlich, um die Klänge des Ortes zu benennen, an dem man lebt. Wird Heimat also von den Klängen bestimmt, die unsere unmittelbare Umgebung ausmachen? Und sind wir überhaupt in der Lage, diese Klänge wahrzunehmen, oder sind sie zum Verstummen gebracht?

Was die Wissenschaft sagt…

Da die Wahrnehmung von Lärm und Klang überwältigend sein kann, versteht sich das Gehirn auf die Selektion. Die Mehrheit aller Alltagsklänge ist in einem Teil des Gehirns gespeichert, dem Sinnesspeicher. Mit Hilfe des (Langzeit-)Gedächtnisses aus den Beständen des Sinnesspeichers ist es dem Gehirn möglich, die Bedeutung von wahrgenommenen Klanginformationen zu untersuchen. Vertraute Klänge werden vom Gehirn nicht weiterverarbeitet (etwa 90-95% dessen, was wir hören), während akustische Stimuli ihren Weg in Bewusstsein finden. Es stellt sich nun die Frage, ob jemand ein zeitweiliges Gedächtnis von Klängen aus dem Wohnumfeld anlegt; Klänge, die wahrgenommen und doch nicht weiterverarbeitet werden, weil sie als „identifizierbar, bekannt und wiederkehrend“ klassifiziert werden können.

 
Wonach Max Frisch fragt...

Der 1991 gestorbene Schweizer Autor wurde im späteren Leben zum ausgesprochenen Kritiker seines Heimatlandes. Während er in den USA herumreiste und lebte, verfasste er 1971 einen Fragenkatalog zum Thema Heimat. Die Frage spiegelt seine Haltung in Bezug zur Heimat als ein Schlüsselelement für Identität und Zugehörigkeit. Nach der Übersetzung seiner Fragen ins Englische führte ich sechs Interviews in zwei Ländern (Österreich und Indien), um etwas über unterschiedliche Vorstellungen zur Heimat zu erfahren. Ich teilte die Interviewten drei Gruppen zu: den Einheimischen (die in ihren Geburtsländern leben), den Migranten (die in Ländern ihrer Wahl leben) und den Flüchtlingen (die aufgrund von anderen Umständen in fremden Ländern leben). Ihnen allen wurden nicht nur die gleichen Fragen gestellt und sie alle nach ihren Vorstellungen von Heimat befragt, sondern auch gebeten, Klänge ihrer Heimat zu benennen, die sie aus lauter Gewohnheit eigentlich gar nicht mehr hören.

Indem er die Idee einer zeitweiligen Erinnerung an nicht-hörbare Klänge zum Ausgangspunkt macht und mit den Einsichten aus den Interviews zum Thema Heimat verbindet, versucht der Audio-Gang die Stummheit der Wahrnehmung umzukehren, indem ich hörbare Klänge aus meinem Heimatort in Österreich mit visuellen Eindrücken von Assi Ghat, Varanasi, zusammenbrachte. Dadurch bewegt man sich nicht nur durch einen Raum, der durch audio-visuelle Gegensätze konstruiert wurde, sondern vermag auch die eigenen Vorstellungen dessen zu befragen, was Heimat für einen selbst bedeutet.