Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Discussion
Time without Qualities

Akademie Schloss Solitude:
Akademie Schloss Solitude: | © Akademie Schloss Solitude

What actually is an artist residency and what is it good for? If you have ever asked yourself this question, you could have hoped for an answer at Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan in February 2019. Jean-Baptiste Joly, former director of Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart, Germany, was on a visit and was joined by three Indian artists in a discussion on the purpose and experience of residencies.

By Britta Petersen

Joly’s introduction was crisp and elegant. There can hardly be a better expert on the subject than the French scholar of German studies, curator and culture manager who has been associated with artist residencies for 30 years. Nevertheless, Joly believes that residencies are better described ex negativo: ‘A residency is no museum, library, theatre, or school,’ but ‘an institution without a teacher, a retreat from daily life, a laboratory, a networking machine.’
 
The origins of the artist residency can be traced back to the 17th century, or, more precisely, to the year 1666 when the French Sun King, Louis XIV founded The French Academy in Rome. In contrast to today’s residencies, a stay at The French Academy had a specific goal, says Joly. French artists were supposed to learn how to copy the exquisite Roman sculptures. The best among them were appointed court artists.
In contrast, the focus today is on the free space that a residency offers. More familiar to us than The French Academy in Rome is therefore the ‘Secession’ model dating back to the late 19th and early 20th century when artists in Europe turned their back on academy art and large cities.
 
The movement gave birth to an artist colony in Germany in 1889, in Worpswede, near Bremen and the garden city of Hellerau in Saxony. This is where Adolphe Appia’s legendary ‘theatre space’ opened in 1911 with a stage lighting concept that revolutionised theatre.
The state of New Hampshire in the US has been home to MacDowell Colony since 1907 and around 8,000 artists have worked in residence here. Its motto: ‘MacDowell makes a place in the world for artists because art makes the world a better place.’

established all over the world

Most residencies are for visual artists who are offered space and time for their work. Although artist residencies are a ‘European invention’, they have now established themselves all over the world, with a growing number in Africa and Oceania. ‘Of the 1,525 residences worldwide, 56 per cent are based in Europe, 24 per cent in North America, 11 per cent in Asia, 4.5 per cent in South America, 2.5 per cent in Africa and 2 per cent in Oceania.’
 
As was the case with Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart, Joly’s former place of work, most of these residencies are identified with a particular place, a city, a building or a landscape, such as the Künstlerhaus Bethanien in Berlin, Cite Internationale des Arts in Ile-de-France in Paris or diverse formats in the deserts of Texas. Joly goes on to say that Schloss Solitude now also offers online residencies as well because ‘the practice of art online also needs to be visible’. Micro residencies are relatively new.  Largely private initiatives in South-East and East Asia, they remain under the radar of the public at large. ‘They appear and disappear.’

Jean Baptist Joly Jean-Baptiste Joly | © Jean-Baptiste Joly Residencies, says Joly, are places where artists have time and the energy for their work. The artists must, however, – and this is an important aspect – first be clear about their financial status before taking up a residency offer. ‘Only 10 per cent of the residencies offer fellowships or scholarships.’ However, besides time and space, a residency also promises interaction with like-minded people, recognition as “an artist to be taken seriously” and support in organising exhibitions and public events.
 
The empty frame or ‘time without qualities’ is, however, no guarantee for producing successful art. On the contrary. Speaking from experience, a residency can also trigger ‘fear of the unknown’, says Joly. Uprooted from the bustle of everyday life, one has to ‘deal with oneself.’ But the good thing is that one can as such also ‘take pleasure in failure’. ‘At the end of the residency, one knows more about oneself,’ says Joly.

fear of the unknown

This was endorsed by the Indian artists at Max Mueller Bhavan when they spoke about their personal experiences of residencies at the event, which was moderated by Leonhard Emmerling, Programme Director. 
 
‘The residency at Schloss Solitude changed my life,’ said Jasmeen Patheja, an artist and activist from Bangalore. Founder of the Blank Noise project, which creates awareness of sexual and gender-based violence through street campaigns, Patheja spent a total of 14 months spread over three years at Schloss Solitude. ‘I work a lot on the streets where everything is urgent. The residencies in Germany have helped me change the tempo,’ she says.  She claims it helped in producing her film. ‘I had the time for it!’
 
Prashant Prakash, actor and author from New Delhi, is known for testing the limits – personal and theatrical – with his theatre group called Crow. He admitted that he belongs to those who had to ‘take pleasure in failing’. ‘After a year at Schloss Solitude, we were unable to finish our project on time. But to have such a conducive space was an extremely valuable opportunity.’
 
Shuddhabrata Sengupta, artist, author, curator and co-founder of the Raqs Media Collective in Delhi, has been to Schloss Solitude three times – not as resident but as jury member, which gave him an insight into the experiences of several artists who have worked there. ‘A residency really does influence your life,’ says Sengupta. ‘Gifted time,’ he says, and as juror he therefore looks for people who ‘understand what it means to spend time.’
 
‘I don’t want any standard proposals that are simultaneously submitted to other institutions. In a residency, artists should do something they have never done before, something that transforms their lives.’ For Sengupta, the experience of an artist residency is summed up by the lines of the Turkish poet, Nazim Hikmet:

To live! Like a tree alone and free Like a forest in brotherhood This yearning is ours!"


 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Diskussion
Eine Zeit ohne Qualität

Akademie Schloss Solitude:
Akademie Schloss Solitude: | © Akademie Schloss Solitude

Was ist eigentlich eine Künstlerresidenz und wofür ist sie gut? Wer sich immer schon einmal diese Frage gestellt hat, konnte im Februar 2019 im Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan in Delhi auf Antwort hoffen. Jean-Baptiste Joly, der ehemalige Leiter der „Akademie Schloss Solitude“ in Stuttgart, war zu Gast und diskutierte mit drei indischen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern über den Zweck von und Erfahrungen mit Residenzen.

Von Britta Petersen

Joly führte präzise und elegant in das Thema ein, für das es kaum einen besseren Experten gibt als den französischen Germanisten, Kurator und Kulturmanager, der 30 Jahre lang Künstlerresidenzen betreut hat. Dennoch meint Joly, dass Residenzen besser ex negativo zu beschreiben sind: „Eine Residenz ist kein Museum, keine Bibliothek, kein Theater, keine Schule“ sondern „eine Institution ohne Lehrer, ein Rückzugsort außerhalb des täglichen Lebens, ein Labor, eine Networking-Maschine“.
 
Der Ursprung der Künstlerresidenz geht auf das 17. Jahrhundert zurück, genauer gesagt auf das Jahr 1666 als Frankreichs Sonnenkönig Ludwig XIV. die „Academie de France“ in Rom gründete. Die Aufenthalte dort hatten – anders als die heutigen Residenzen – ein spezifisches Ziel, so Joly: Französische Künstler sollten lernen, die meisterhaften römischen Skulpturen zu kopieren. Die Besten unter ihnen wurden dann zu Hofkünstlern berufen.

Im Gegensatz dazu stehe heute der Freiraum im Vordergrund, den eine Künstler-Residenz biete. Näher als die „Academie de France“ in Rom ist uns daher das „Sezessions-Modell“ aus dem späten 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhundert, als Künstlerinnen und Künstler in Europa der Akademie-Kunst und den großen Städten den Rücken kehrten.
 
Aus dieser Bewegung entstanden in Deutschland 1889 die Künstlerkolonie Worpswede bei Bremen und die Gartenstadt Hellerau in Sachsen. Dort wurde 1911 Adolphe Appias legendärer „Theaterraum“ eröffnet, dessen Lichtkonzept das Theater revolutionierte.

In den USA gibt es seit 1907 im Bundesstaat New Hampshire die „MacDowell Colony“, in der seitdem rund 8000 Künstler in residence gearbeitet haben. Ihr Motto lautet: „MacDowell makes a place in the world for artists because art makes the world a better place.“

Weltweit etabliert

Der Großteil der Künstlerresidenzen wendet sich an visuelle Künstler, denen sie Raum und Zeit für ihre Arbeit offerieren. Zwar sind Künstlerresidenzen laut Joly eine „europäische Erfindung“, aber sie haben sich inzwischen auf der ganzen Welt etabliert, mit einer wachsenden Zahl in Afrika und Ozeanien. „Von den weltweit 1525 Künstlerresidenzen sind 56 Prozent in Europa angesiedelt, 24 Prozent in Nord-Amerika, 11 Prozent in Asien, 4,5 Prozent in Süd-Amerika, 2,5 Prozent in Afrika und 2 Prozent in Ozeanien.“
 
Die meisten sind, wie Jolys früherer Wirkungsort, die „Akademie Schloss Solitude“ in Stuttgart, mit einem Ort identifiziert, einer Stadt, einem Gebäude oder einer Landschaft, wie etwa das „Künstlerhaus Bethanien“ in Berlin, die „Cite Internationale des Arts“ auf der Ile-de-France in Paris oder verschiedene Formate in der Wüste von Texas. Inzwischen biete „Schloss Solitude“ aber auch Online-Residenzen an, denn „Kunstpraktiken im Internet brauchen auch Sichtbarkeit“. Relativ neu seien „Mikro-Residenzen“, die meist in Südost- und Ost-Asien auf private Initiativen zurückgingen und unterhalb des Radars der breiten Öffentlichkeit blieben. Sie „tauchen auf und verschwinden wieder.“

Jean Baptist Joly Jean Baptist Joly | © Jean-Baptiste Joly Residenzen, so Joly, sind Orte, an denen Künstlerinnen Zeit und Energie für ihre Arbeit haben. Sie müssten allerdings – und das ist ein wichtiger Aspekt – ihre finanziellen Angelegenheiten geklärt haben, bevor sie „in Residenz“ gingen. „Nur zehn Prozent der Residenzen bieten Fellowships oder Stipendien an.“ Dafür versprechen sie neben Zeit und Raum auch den Austausch mit Gleichgesinnten, Anerkennung „als ernstzunehmende Künstler“ sowie Unterstützung bei der Organisation von Ausstellungen und öffentlichen Veranstaltungen.
 
Der leere Rahmen oder die „Zeit ohne Qualität“ ist jedoch kein Garant für erfolgreiche Kunstproduktion. Im Gegenteil. Aus eigener Erfahrung berichtete Joly, dass eine Residenz auch „Angst vor dem Unbekannten“ auslösen könne. Einmal aus dem geschäftigen Alltag herausgerissen, müsse man „mit sich selbst klarkommen“ Doch das Gute sei, dass man sich auch „über das Scheitern freuen“ könne. „Am Ende der Residenz kennt man sich selbst besser“, so Joly.

„Angst vor dem Unbekannten“

Das konnten die indischen KünstlerInnen bestätigen, die im Max Mueller Bhavan  Delhi von Programmdirektor Dr. Leonhard Emmerling moderiert über ihre persönlichen Erfahrungen mit Residenzen berichteten.
 
„Die Residenz auf ‚Schloss Solitude‘ hat mein Leben verändert“, so Jasmeen Patheja, Künstlerin und Aktivistin aus Bangalore. Die Gründerin des Projekts „Blank Noise“, das mit Straßenaktionen gegen sexuelle und Gender-basierte Gewalt mobil macht, hat über drei Jahre hinweg insgesamt 14 Monate auf „Schoss Solitude“ verbracht. „Ich arbeite viel auf der Straße, dort ist alles dringend. Die Residenzen in Deutschland haben mir geholfen, das Tempo zu ändern“, so Patheja.  Dies habe ihr geholfen, ihren Film produzieren. „Ich hatte die Zeit dazu!“
 
Prashant Prakash, Schauspieler und Schriftsteller aus Neu-Delhi, ist bekannt dafür, mit seiner Theatergruppe „Crow“ an Grenzen zu gehen – an Persönliche und die des Theaters gleichermaßen. Er gestand, dass er zu denen gehört, die „sich am Scheitern erfreuen“ mussten. „Wir konnten nach einem Jahr auf ‚Schloss Solitude‘ unser Projekt nicht rechtzeitig abschließen“, berichtete er. „Aber es war eine extrem wertvolle Gelegenheit, diesen fördernden Raum zu haben.“
 
Shuddhabrata Sengupta, Künstler, Schriftsteller, Kurator und Mitbegründer des „Raqs Media Collective“ in Delhi war drei Mal auf „Schloss Solitude“, aber nicht als Resident sondern als Mitglied der Jury, was ihm Einblick in die Erfahrungen vieler Künstlerinnen und Künstler verschafft hat, die dort gearbeitet haben. „Eine Residenz hat wirklich Einfluss auf das Leben“, sagt Sengupta. Sie sei eine „geschenkte Zeit“ und als Juror suche er daher nach Personen, die „verstehen, was es bedeutet, Zeit zu verbringen“.
 
„Ich will keine Standard-Proposals, die zugleich bei anderen Institutionen eingereicht werden. In einer Residenz sollen die KünstlerInnen etwas tun, was sie noch nie getan haben, etwas was ihr Leben transformiert“, sagt er. Die Erfahrung der Künstlerresidenz bringt für Sengupta eine Zeile des türkischen Dichters Nazim Hikmet auf den Punkt:

Leben wie ein Baum, einzeln und frei, doch brüderlich wie ein Wald, das ist unsere Sehnsucht."

Top