Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)


Immersive Inversion - Four Perspectives on Surrogacy and Performance Theatre

AshramMommies
AshramMommies | © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Bangalore

Yana Thönnes and Magdalena Emmerig, part of the German performance collective THE AGENCY, came to India as bangaloREsidents to explore surrogacy and Western spiritual tourism in India. For two months they researched, read, travelled to different places and talked to people to get to know, question and learn more about these topics.

They were supported by Bangalore-based curators and theatre producers Shiva Pathak and Nimi Ravindran of Sandbox Collective, longstanding partners of the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan. As bangaloREsidency 2019 Season II hosts, they coordinated Yana’s and Magdalena's stay in Bangalore, on both artistic and personal fronts, also connecting them with the local theatre and performance scene.

But what is Sandbox Collective’s role in the cultural landscape of Bangalore and how did they become a bangaloREsidency host? What aroused Yana and Magdalena's interest in surrogacy and what does it mean to work immersively in their performances?

In our podcasts, we talk to the performance artists and curators about their work, their roles in the bangaloREsidency, and their ideas and visions for the future.

Podcast with the Agency:

Audio wird geladen

Podcast with Sandbox Collective:

Audio wird geladen

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)


Immersive Inversion – vier Perspektiven auf Leihmutterschaft und Performance-Theater

AshramMommies
AshramMommies | © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Bangalore

Yana Thönnes und Magdalena Emmerig, Teil des Performance-Kollektivs THE AGENCY, kamen im Rahmen ihrer bangaloREsidency mit dem Vorhaben aus Deutschland nach Indien, um mehr über die Themen Leihmutterschaft und spiritueller westlicher Tourismus vor Ort zu erfahren. Zwei Monate recherchierten sie zu diesen Themen, lasen sich ein und reisten zu verschiedenen Orten und Personen, um insbesondere das Thema Leihmutterschaft in Indien näher zu erkunden, zu befragen und sich ein Bild zu machen.

Begleitet wurde ihr Projekt von den Kuratorinnen und Theaterproduzentinnen Shiva Pathak und Nimi Ravindran von Sandbox Collective, die langjährige Partnerinnen des Goethe-Institutes / Max Mueller Bhavan sind. Im Rahmen der bangaloREsidency 2019 Season II betreuten sie Yanas und Magdalenas Aufenthalt in Bangalore als Gastgeberinnen sowohl künstlerisch als auch persönlich und verknüpften sie mit der Theater- und Performance-Szene vor Ort.

Doch was ist die Rolle von Sandbox Collective selbst in der Kulturlandschaft Bangalores und wie sind sie zu Gastgeberinnen der bangaloREsidency geworden? Woher kommt das Interesse von Yana und Magdalena an dem Thema „Leihmutterschaft“ und was bedeutet es für sie, immersiv in ihren Performances zu arbeiten?

In unseren Podcasts sprechen wir mit den Performance-Künstlerinnen und Kuratorinnen von THE AGENCY und Sandbox Collective über ihre Arbeit, ihren Bezug zur bangaloREsidency und ihre Ideen und Visionen für die Zukunft.

Podcast mit the Agency:

Audio wird geladen

Podcast mit Sandbox Collective:

Audio wird geladen

Top