German Christmas customs From A as in “Advent” to Z as in “Zimtstern”

Christmas ambiance at the Gendarmenmarkt, a Christmas market in Berlin
Christmas ambiance at the Gendarmenmarkt, a Christmas market in Berlin | Photo (detail): Anne Fromm

No other time of year is as heavily laden with traditions and rituals in Germany as Christmas. And not every region cultivates the same yuletide customs. Here’s a brief overview.

“Advent, Advent, ein Lichtlein brennt” (“Advent, Advent, a little candle is burning”)

Christmastime in Germany starts with the Advent season. Advent is celebrated on the four Sundays before Christmas Eve: many families buy or make Advent wreaths out of fir branches trimmed with Christmas ornaments, cinnamon sticks, dried orange peels and four big candles. On every Sunday during Advent another candle is lit until in the end all four are burning. “Advent, Advent, ein Lichtlein brennt,” goes one children’s rhyme. “Erst eins, dann zwei, dann drei, dann vier, dann steht das Christkind vor der Tür.” “Advent, Advent, a little candle’s burning. First one, then two, then three, then four. Then the Christ Child’s at the door.”

The Advent season is counted down to Christmas on Advent calendars, which children adore. On the 1st of December they get to open the first little door, behind which they find a chocolate or some other little treat. On the 2nd of December they get to open the 2nd door, and so on and so forth up to 24 December. In German supermarkets you can usually buy an Advent calendar even as early as October. They now come in a wide range of different getups: lavish or on the austere side, big or small, filled with sweets or other little treats. But many families make their own calendars, e.g. out of 24 matchboxes, toilet paper rolls, socks or bags.

St. Nicholas

Nikolaustag commemorates Saint Nicholas of Myra, a Greek bishop in what is now Turkey, who gave away all he owned. He is remembered on St. Nicholas’ day, the 6th of December. On the evening of the 5th, children all over Germany clean their boots and place them in front of the door. And in the morning they open the door to find them filled with sweets, nuts and fruit – by St. Nicholas, of course!

Christmas market

Some people look forward to it all year, others curse the season in which the stalls clutter up the centre of town. Christmas markets mostly sell food and drink, but also Christmas presents. The scent of Glühwein (mulled wine) and roasted almonds hangs in the air. Some towns are famed for their Christmas markets, for example Dresden’s Striezelmarkt (named after a type of cake – now known as Stollen – traditionally sold there) and Nuremberg’s Christkindlesmarkt (“Christ Child Market”).

Christmas tree

It’s a must in every German home on Christmas Eve. How and when it is decorated is in many a family subject to strict house rules. Most wait till shortly before or the morning of 24 December to trim the tree. Deciding on the trimmings can sometimes prove a bone of contention: Real candles or electric fairy lights? Tinsel or not? Simple straw stars or loads of glossy ornaments and glitter? The tree is usually kept standing in living rooms till 6 January (Epiphany) and then disposed of.

Christmas Eve

Many families have established their own special rituals for their annual Christmas Eve programme. The 24th of December is the one day of the year on which most Germans go to church, and the Christmas services and nativity plays commemorating the birth of Jesus are well attended in every German town.

Presents are traditionally wrapped and placed under the Christmas tree, where they are then handed out and opened. The Weihnachtsmann (Father Christmas/Santa Claus) sometimes comes to small children and asks, “Have you been a good boy/girl?” The custom is for children to sing a song or recite a rhyme for Santa, a custom still observed in plenty of families, where children still sing, make music or read aloud even though they’ve long since become teenagers.

Typical food

Advent is a sweet season. In the course of December, it’s a tradition to bake Plätzchen, a sort of biscuit or cookie that’s only supposed to be made for Christmas. The standard varieties are Zimtsterne (cinnamon stars), Vanillekipferl (vanilla crescents), Butterplätzchen (butter cookies) and Spekulatius (spiced biscuits). Stollen, a mix of cake and sweet bread with raisins, almonds and dried fruits, is also popular, especially in Eastern Germany. Dresden is known for its Christstollen, while in Thuringia it’s called Schittchen. Other regions favour quark (a kind of fromage blanc)-based Stollen. Lebkuchen, a kind of gingerbread, is another favourite on the Advent platter. The most famous Lebkuchen is from Nuremberg, though Aachen is also known nationwide for its Printen.

Germans generally relish big hearty meals over the Christmas holidays. It’s a widespread custom to eat potato salad and small sausages on Christmas Eve, because people used to (and some still do) work on the morning of 24 December, so that evening they wanted a meal that could be prepared quickly and easily. The meals cooked for the first and second days of Christmas, on the other hand, are all the more elaborate: roast goose or duck is served in many homes with red cabbage and Knödel (dumplings) on the side. And the foremost beverage at Christmastime in Germany is Glühwein, hot red wine spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Weihnachtsbräuche Von A wie Adventskranz bis Z wie Zimtstern

Weihnachtsstimmung am Gendarmenmarkt in Berlin
Weihnachtsstimmung am Gendarmenmarkt in Berlin | Foto (Ausschnitt): Anne Fromm

Keine andere Zeit des Jahres ist in Deutschland so aufgeladen mit Traditionen und Ritualen wie Weihnachten. Dabei pflegt nicht jede Region die gleichen Bräuche. Eine kleine Übersicht.

Advent, Advent, ein Lichtlein brennt

Die Weihnachtsstimmung beginnt mit der Adventszeit. An den vier Sonntagen vor Heiligabend wird Advent gefeiert: In vielen Haushalten gibt es Adventskränze, sie sind entweder gekauft oder selbst geflochten aus Tannenzweigen, verziert mit Weihnachtsschmuck, Zimtstangen, getrockneten Orangenschalen und vier großen Kerzen. An jedem Adventssonntag wird eine Kerze angezündet, bis schließlich alle vier brennen. „Advent, Advent, ein Lichtlein brennt. Erst eins, dann zwei, dann drei, dann vier, dann steht das Christkind vor der Tür“, lautet ein Kinderreim.

Durch die Adventszeit führen die Adventskalender, die vor allem bei Kindern beliebt sind. Am ersten Dezember dürfen sie das erste Türchen des Kalenders öffnen, hinter dem sich Schokolade oder eine andere kleine Süßigkeit verbirgt. Am zweiten Dezember das zweite Türchen und so weiter bis zum 24. Dezember. In deutschen Supermärkten kann man meist ab Oktober Adventskalender kaufen, es gibt sie mittlerweile in allen Varianten, üppig und eher spartanisch, groß, klein, gefüllt mit Süßem oder anderen Geschenken. Viele Familien basteln aber auch ihre eigenen Kalender, zum Beispiel aus 24 Streichholzschachteln, Klopapierrollen, Socken oder Säckchen.

Nikolaus

Der Nikolaustag erinnert an den Heiligen Nikolaus von Myra, einen Bischof in der Türkei, der all sein Hab und Gut verschenkte. Am 6. Dezember wird seiner gedacht mit dem Nikolaustag. Am Abend des 5. Dezember putzen Kinder in ganz Deutschland ihre Stiefel und stellen sie vor die Tür. Am Morgen stecken Süßigkeiten, Nüsse und Obst in den Schuhen – der Nikolaus hat sie gefüllt.

Weihnachtsmarkt

Manche freuen sich das ganze Jahr auf ihn, andere verfluchen die Zeit, in der die Buden die Innenstädte verstopfen. Auf Weihnachtsmärkten gibt es vor allem zu essen und zu trinken, aber auch Weihnachtsgeschenke werden zum Verkauf angeboten. Über den Märkten hängt der Duft von Glühwein und gerösteten Mandeln. Einige Städte sind berühmt für ihre Märkte, zum Beispiel der Dresden für seinen Striezelmarkt oder Nürnberg für seinen Christkindlesmarkt.

Weihnachtsbaum

Er darf am Heiligen Abend in keinem Haushalt fehlen. Wie und wann er geschmückt wird, unterliegt in vielen Familien strengen Regularien. Die meisten schmücken ihren Weihnachtsbaum erst kurz vor oder am Morgen des 24. Dezember. Die Auswahl des Schmucks kann durchaus mal zum Streit führen: echte Kerzen oder elektrische Lichterkette? Lametta oder nicht? Schlichte Strohsterne oder viel Glanz und Glitzer? Meist bleibt der Baum bis zum 6. Januar in den Wohnzimmern stehen und wird danach entsorgt.

Der Heilige Abend

Viele Familien haben ganz eigene Rituale für den Ablauf des Heiligen Abends etabliert. Der Heilige Abend am 24. Dezember ist der Tag des Jahres, an dem die meisten Menschen in die Kirche gehen – die Weihnachtsandachten und Krippenspiele, die an die Geburt Jesu erinnern, sind in allen Städten gut besucht.

Die Bescherung findet traditionell unter dem Weihnachtsbaum statt. Dort sind die Geschenke drapiert. Bei kleinen Kindern kommt auch mal der Weihnachtsmann vorbei und fragt: „Warst du auch immer schön artig?“ Der Brauch besagt, dass die Kinder dem Weihnachtsmann ein Lied vorsingen oder ein Gedicht aufsagen. Das hat sich in vielen Familien gehalten, sie singen, musizieren oder lesen auch noch, wenn die Kinder längst groß sind.

Typisches Essen

Die Adventszeit ist eine süße Zeit. Traditionell werden im Laufe des Dezember Plätzchen gebacken, eine Art Keks, die man aber nur zu Weihnachten backt. Standardsorten sind Zimtsterne, Vanillekipferl, Butterplätzchen und Spekulatius. Vor allem im Osten des Landes isst man außerdem Stollen, eine Mischung aus Kuchen und süßem Brot mit Rosinen, Mandeln und Trockenfrüchten. Dresden ist für seinen Christstollen bekannt. In Thüringen nennt man das Gebäck Schittchen. In anderen Regionen isst man eher Quarkstollen. Auch ganz wichtig auf dem Adventsteller sind Lebkuchen. Die berühmtesten kommen aus Nürnberg. Aber auch die Aachener Printen sind überregional bekannt.

An den Weihnachtsfeiertagen isst man deftig in Deutschland. Verbreitet ist der Brauch, am Heiligabend Kartoffelsalat und Würstchen zu essen. Das kommt daher, dass am 24. Dezember früher und auch zum Teil heute noch vormittags gearbeitet wurde. Am Abend wollte man also ein Essen, dass schnell und einfach zubereitet wird. Umso aufwendiger wird dafür am ersten und zweiten Weihnachtstag gekocht: In vielen Haushalten gibt es Gänse- oder Entenbraten, dazu Rotkohl und Knödel. Das wichtigste Getränk der Weihnachtszeit ist Glühwein, heißer, mit Zimt und Nelken gewürzter Rotwein.