Documentary About Docedge

Docedge.
Docedge. | Photo: © Docedge

DocedgeKolkata, Asian Forum for Documentary is an international incubation and pitching of documentary event attended by some of the most noted documentary makers from across the globe along with foundations and broadcasters. 

DocedgeKolkata ASD is the most successful documentary platform in India to create co-production opportunities to independent filmmakers passionate to create socially relevant intriguing stories from real life. The forum is an intensive training cum pitching initiative where filmmakers are rigorously mentored on their current creative projects before pitching them to a panel of international broadcasters and foundations. The forum also includes screenings, seminars and high quality Master Classes conducted by renowned filmmakers.

DocedgeKolkata actively supports the storytellers with alternative voices by providing them with training, invaluable exposure and initiating tangible dialogue. We support visual storytellers who dare to risk, innovate and take up challenges for bringing untold truth for public discourses free of commercial or political pressure.  We encourage independence of an artist who tackles complex issues and sensitizes others with unique point of view.

DRI in its year round emdeavour, bring many such filmmakers of diverse culture and geography in a platform for mutual enrichment. We keep on discovering new talents, nurture & empower them by providing factual and artistic knowledge, help develop skill, advance the production, creation and distribution of creative content through support of local and global institutions and agencies.

In 2015 we focused on extensive Asian presence and three of the major producers are attending from Japan and Korea apart from European distributors. The underlying intention is to create a further opportunity for filmmakers who can find additional collaborators. In addition to this, we have IDFA-Bertha Fund, Sundance institute DFP, Israel Film Foundation.

For this edition we worked the synergic field building initiative by inviting five major world renowned pitching forums that widen the scope for projects travelling around for finding decision makers in other regions. Co-pro Telaviv, Tokyo Docs, Docs Port , Korea and Sunny Side of the Docs among those attending Docedge.

For the first time, we have highest number of Asian filmmakers coming from Korea, Japan, China and Philippines and other countries. Out 25 selected projects, 9 international projects will part of mentoring and pitching. This talks about the essential impact of the forum known for its high quality of mentoring and transformational effect on filmmaker.

The pitching although is the important component of Docedge, the emphasis is given to all round mentoring and exposure to filmmakers who go through an intense input on recently emerging storytelling styles and practices; creative solutions for issues and subject being talked about and funding possibilities. That is why talks on foundation, future direction of opportunities to independent documentary, co-production scenario and other panel discussion are designed.  It is primarily focused deeply on intensive mentoring towards original story telling skill.

2015 Forum will have the Masterclass of senior Korean Documentary filmmaker Kim Dong-Won
 
The forum in its decade-long endeavour, has created more than 70 independent documentaries through international co-production. Docedge is now one of the internationally renowned platforms where filmmakers attend from major Asian counties along with international mentors, filmmakers of repute, global broadcasters and foundations for intensive discussion on independent creative documentaries.

DocedgeKolkata is organized by the Documentary Resource Initiative (a not-for-profit institution) will celebrate its 12th edition in association with the Goethe Institut, Kolkata.

What the forum intend to do?

The forum serves as a platform for established and new documentary makers (selected from India and other Asian countries) to get trained and pitch their ongoing films for funding and co-production collaborations. It also features intensive training and mentoring sessions for all attending filmmakers working on new projects by vastly experienced globally acknowledged tutors for artistic guidance for garnering international support.       

This gathering of such talent, naturally, also acts as a forum for discussion on contemporary styles, storytelling techniques and social realities of  diverse cultural regions.

Asian Forum for Documentary

  • An important platform for creative documentary and independent filmmakers. 
  • Indian, Asian filmmakers work together and do exchange on their current projects.
  • Filmmakers are mentored by world renowned experts/tutors.
  • Supporting the new generation storytellers through skill, capacity and field-building
  • Networking opportunities with most important decision makers of documentary world
  • Empowering filmmakers with support from international professionals, broadcasters and foundations
  • A storytelling lab with best of the creative and stylistic input.
  • A platform of artistic and professional exchange between young and highly experienced filmmakers.
  • Local stories find global support and audiences
  • Confluence of divergent cultural and social milieu

Filmmakers attending as participants from:

  • India, Bangladesh, Vietnam, Korea, China, Japan, Indonesia, Philipines, Iraq, Italy and Canada.

ProgrammE

Over a span of 7 days, DocedgeKolkata also conducts Masterclasses by internationally acclaimed documentary filmmakers and a series of Film Screenings created by globally renowned documentary makers.

2 days are dedicated for Pitching Sessions to an international panel consisting of broadcasters, producers and foundations.

Masterclasses conducted by filmmakers in last three editions:

Victor Kossakovsky -  Russia
Leonard Retell Helmrich – The Netherlands/Indonesia
Nati Baratz – Israel
Pawel Lozinski – Poland
Maercel Lozinski, Poland
Sergei Loznitsa, Germany

DAILY WORKSHOP/ SEMINARS

  • by eminent speakers with students, international and national filmmakers as the audience.
  • Two days of MASTERCLASSES
  • Three seminars/talk
  • Special Screening
  • German films
  • MIFF award winning selection

BROADCASTERS/FOUNDATIONS ATTENDING

Korean Broadcasting Corporation, BBC UK, NHK Japan, Sundance Institute USA, Asia Cinema Fund Korea, ARD/MRD Germany, Ford Foundation USA, Film Division India, IDFA-Bertha Fund.
 
Love in India - Dir. Q
Bilal - Dir. Sourav Sarangi
The Hope Dies last - Dir. Supriyo Sen
Bishar Blues - Dir. Amitabh Chacravourty
Forever Young - Dir. Ranjan Palit
Laxmi and Me - Dir. Nistha Jain
Bom - Dir. Amlan Datta
Dot in for Motion - Dir. Anirban Datta
Raja Hindustani - Dir. Arvind Sinha

Recent Docedge films internationally acknowledged - past two editions of Docedge

Char - Dir. Sourav Sarangi
Powerless - Dir. Fahad Mustafa & Deepti Kakkar
Who will be a Gurkha - Dir. Kesang Tseten
Like ants for Sugar - Dir. Shirley Abraham  (Under production)
West Band - Dir. Supriyo Sen do                   
Cities of Sleep - Dir. Saunak Sen do
Kapila - Dir. Sanju Surendran do

Dokumentarfilm Über Docedge

Docedge.
Docedge. | Foto: © Docedge

DocedgeKolkata, Asian Forum for Documentary ist eine Veranstaltung für internationalen Dokumentarfilm. Teilnehmende sind neben Förderern und Fernsehsendern weltbekannte Dokumentarfilmschaffende. 

DocedgeKolkata ASD ist die erfolgreichste Plattform für Dokumentarfilm in Indien und bietet unabhängigen Filmschaffenden Möglichkeiten zur Kooperation und Realisierung von Filmprojekten. Im Zentrum des Interesses stehen packende, sozial relevante Geschichten aus dem realen Leben. Das Forum bietet intensives Training mit Pitching-Initiative, d.h. Mentoren geben Filmschaffenden konstruktive Kritik zu ihren aktuellen Kreativprojekten, bevor sie den Film einer Jury - mit Vertretern aus der Filmförderung und Sendeanstalten - vorstellen. Darüber hinaus finden Filmvorführungen, Seminare und qualitativ hochwertige Meisterklassen statt, die von weltbekannten Regisseuren geleitet werden.

DocedgeKolkata unterstützt alternative Stimmen und Geschichten mittels Training, wertvoller Öffentlichkeit und handfesten Dialogen. Wir fördern filmische Erzählungen mit Mut zum Risiko, die innovativ sind und sich der Herausforderung stellen, bislang unausgesprochene Wahrheiten jenseits von kommerziellem und politischem Druck in den öffentlichen Diskurs einzubringen. Wir unterstützen unabhängige KünstlerInnen, die sich mit komplexen Sachverhalten auseinandersetzen und es verstehen, ihre Mitmenschen für ihren individuellen Standpunkt zu sensibilisieren.

Das ganze Jahr über bemüht sich DRI, Filmemacher aus verschiedenen Kulturen und Ländern zusammenzubringen und damit eine Plattform zur gegenseitigen Bereicherung zu schaffen. Wir entdecken fortlaufend neue Talente, fördern und stärken sie mit praktischem und künstlerischem Know-How, und helfen ihnen bei der Produktion, Entwicklung und Verbreitung von kreativen Inhalten. Wir können dabei auf ein Netzwerk von Institutionen und Agenturen vor Ort und weltweit zurückgreifen.

2015 liegt der Fokus auf Asien. Neben europäischen Vertriebshäusern werden drei der gröβten Produzenten aus Japan und Korea vor Ort sein. Damit werden Filmemachern neue Türen geöffnet und neue Kooperationspartner kommen ins Spiel. Zudem werden der IDFA-Bertha Fund, das Sundance Institute DFP und die Israel Film Foundation anwesend sein.

Für die diesjährige Veranstaltung haben wir ein synergetisches Feld geschaffen, indem wir fünf gröβere weltbekannte Pitching-Foren eingeladen haben. Damit erweitert sich der regionale Spielraum und die Zugriffsmöglichkeit auf eine gröβere Zahl von relevanten Entscheidungsträgern. Co-pro TelAviv, Tokyo Docs, Docs Port, Korea und Sunny Side of the Docs werden in diesem Jahr an Docedge teilnehmen.

Zum ersten Mal stammt die Mehrheit der Filmemacher aus Asien – u.a. aus Korea, Japan, China und den Philippinen. Von 25 ausgewählten Projekten werden neun internationale Projekte von einem Mentor betreut und als Pitch präsentiert. Docedge ist für die hohe Qualität seines Mentorenprogramms und für seine transformative Wirkung auf Filmemacher bekannt.

Obwohl der Pitch ein wichtiger Bestandteil von Docedge ist liegt die Betonung auf umfassender Mentorschaft und der Begegnung mit Filmemachern, die den TeilnehmerInnen neue Erzähltechniken und Praktiken beibringen und ihnen mit kreativen Lösungsansätzen und Rat zur Finanzierung zur Seite stehen. Vorträge zur Finanzierung, zur Zukunft des unabhängigen Dokumentarfilms, Szenarien der Koproduktion und Paneldiskussionen runden das Programm ab. Der primäre Fokus liegt dabei jedoch auf intensiver Mentorschaft und originellem Erzählen.

2015 Forum wird der koreanische Dokumentarfilmer Kim Dong-Won die Meisterklasse leiten.

Im Laufe seines über zehnjährigen Bestehens hat das Forum mehr als 70 unabhängige Dokumentarfilme und internationale Co-produktionen hervorgebracht. Docedge ist heute eine der international renommiertesten Plattformen für Filmemacher aus den gröβten asiatischen Ländern. International renommierte Filmemacher fungieren als Mentoren und treffen auf Sendeanstalten und Stiftungen aus der ganzen Welt, um intensiv über unabhängige, kreative Dokumentarfilme zu diskutieren.

DocedgeKolkata wird von der Documentary Resource Initiative (eine nicht-kommerzielle Institution) in Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut in Kolkata veranstaltet und feiert in diesem Jahr sein 12-jähriges Bestehen.

Was ist das Ziel des Forums?

Das Forum dient als Plattform für etablierte und junge Dokumentarfilmer (aus Indien und anderen asiatischen Ländern) und bietet sowohl Training als auch Gelegenheiten zum Pitch und zur Finanzierung, zur Koproduktion und Kollaboration. Alle Teilnehmer, die an neuen Projekten arbeiten, erhalten intensives Training und werden von Mentoren begleitet. Erfahrene Filmemacher aus der ganzen Welt fungieren als Tutoren, geben künstlerischen Rat und helfen dabei, internationale Unterstützung zu finden.          

Aktuelle Stilfragen, Erzähltechniken und die soziale Wirklichkeit unterschiedlicher Kulturregionen kommen ebenfalls zur Sprache.

Asiatisches Forum für Dokumentarfilm

  • Eine wichtige Plattform für kreative Dokumentarfilmer und unabhängige Filmemacher.
  • Filmemacher aus Indien und anderen Teilen Asiens arbeiten zusammen und tauschen sich über aktuelle Projekte aus.
  • Weltbekannte Experten/Tutoren fungieren als Mentoren für jüngere Filmemacher.
  • Es entsteht eine neue Generation von Geschichtenerzählern durch Förderung von Talent, Kapazitäten und Feldaufbau.
  • Netzwerken mit den wichtigsten Entscheidungsträgern aus der Welt des Dokumentarfilms.
  • Filmemacher erhalten Unterstützung von Filmschaffenden, Sendeanstalten und Stiftungen aus der ganzen Welt.
  • Ein Storytelling-Lab, das hohen kreativen und stilistischen Input bietet.
  • Eine Plattform für künstlerischen und professionellen Austausch zwischen jungen und älteren, erfahrenen Filmemachern.
  • Regionale Geschichten finden Unterstützung und werden von einem weltweiten Publikum wahrgenommen.
  • Unterschiedliche kulturelle und soziale Milieus treffen aufeinander. 

Filmemacher aus folgenden Ländern nehmen teil:

  • Indien, Bangladesch, Vietnam, Korea, China, Japan, Indonesien, Philippinen, Irak, Italien und Kanada.

Programm

Über einen Zeitraum von sieben Tagen gibt es bei DocedgeKolkata Meisterklassen mit international anerkannten Dokumentarfilmern. Darüber hinaus werden Werke weltbekannter Regisseure zu sehen sein.

Zwei Tage sind für Pitchings reserviert, bei denen eine internationale Jury, bestehend aus Produzenten und Vertretern von Sendeanstalten und Stiftungen, zugegen sein wird.

Die Meisterklassen der letzten drei Jahre wurden von folgenden Regisseuren geleitet:

Victor Kossakovsky -  Russland
Leonard Retell Helmrich – Niederlande/Indonesien
Nati Baratz – Israel
Pawel Lozinski – Polen
Maercel Lozinski, Polen
Sergei Loznitsa, Deutschland

TÄGLICHE WORKSHOPS/ SEMINARE

  • Profis aus der Filmbranche halten Vorträge vor einem Publikum aus Studenten, internationalen und indischen Regisseuren.
  • MEISTERKLASSEN (insgesamt 2 Tage)
  • Drei Seminare/Vorträge
  • Ausgewählte Filmvorführungen
  • Deutsche Filme
  • MIFF Award Selektion 

FÖRDERER UND SENDEANSTALTEN

Korean Broadcasting Corporation, BBC UK, NHK Japan, Sundance Institute USA, Asia Cinema Fund Korea, ARD/MRD, Ford Foundation USA, Films Division India, IDFA-Bertha Fund.
 
Love in India - Dir. Q
Bilal - Dir. Sourav Sarangi
The Hope Dies last - Dir. Supriyo Sen
Bishar Blues - Dir. Amitabh Chacravourty
Forever Young - Dir. Ranjan Palit
Laxmi and Me - Dir. Nistha Jain
Bom - Dir. Amlan Datta
Dot in for Motion - Dir. Anirban Datta
Raja Hindustani - Dir. Arvind Sinha

Neue Docedge-Filme aus den vergangenen beiden Docedge-Jahrgängen, die international Anerkennung fanden:

Char - Dir. Sourav Sarangi
Powerless - Dir. Fahad Mustafa & Deepti Kakkar
Who will be a Gurkha - Dir. Kesang Tseten
Like ants for Sugar - Dir. Shirley Abraham  (Under production)
West Band - Dir. Supriyo Sen do                   
Cities of Sleep - Dir. Saunak Sen do
Kapila - Dir. Sanju Surendran do
Nilotpal Majumda