International Comic Salon Comics as protest

Comic Salon Erlangen
Comic Salon Erlangen | Photo: © Bernd Böhner

Today’s comics are political and feminine – this trend showed up at the International Comic Salon in Erlangen, Germany, which took place in May, 2016. The six female German and Indian illustrators, who were invited to the festival by the Goethe Institute, also took sociopolitical stances. In the magazine, SPRING “The Elephant in the Room,” they critically questioned women’s roles. 

Grandfather flushes grandma’s silk scarf down the toilet. He whips her with a belt. He cheats on her. Priya Kuriyan illustrated her grandfather in these acts. “I never met him personally. I also never thought that I would draw him this way,” Priya Kuriyan says. The comic artist lives and works in New Delhi. She contributed to the SPRING magazine, The Elephant in the Room. She travelled to Erlangen for the presentation of the issue at the Comic Salon there, after being invited by the Goethe Institute. The event is the most important comic festival in the German-speaking world. The festival, which takes place every two years, has an average of 500 artists and 25,000 visitors.

Smart man or brutal alcoholic?

Illustrations from The Elephant in the Room are hung on a display wall. One illustration portrays Priya Kuriyan’s grandfather as a smart, young man, smoking a pipe. “I always assumed he was an amazing person. A person, who knew about the nicer things in life. A person everyone looked up to.” Priya Kuriyan realized that this wasn’t the case from her grandmother. Shortly before her death, her grandmother started telling horrible stories about her late husband. “He was the devil.” A brutal, abusive alcoholic. Her grandmother lived in constant fear that he would not only hit her, but also their children.
 
Priya’s story isn’t an isolated case. Women are treated disrespectfully in many Indian households and also face violence. In recent years, you can read these kinds of stories in media reports and on blogs. There are protest movements against rapists forming on India’s streets. SPRING’s The Elephant in the Room also takes up the subject of violence against women. The German magazine has been published each year since 2004 by a group of female, German illustrators. The first bi-national issue of the magazine was released in May, 2016. It contains comic stories, collages and drawings by eight German and eight Indian illustrators. They recount what living as a woman is like in different cultures in India and Germany. It’s about family, partnership, career and cats.

Speaking to people with drawings

“Comics are a modern and uncomplicated means of communication,” explains Ute Reimer of the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi, who also helped initiate The Elephant in the Room. “You reach people better with the images than with objective texts,” she sats. Reimer organized a workshop for female, Indian illustrators in 2014. After a series of rapes that gained wide publicity, the participants posed the question: “How do women see their lives in Indian society?” They answered in the comic collection, Drawing the Line. Indian Women Fight Back. “The collaboration and what came out of it was fantastic back then. We wanted to do something again, just something more free, without the character of a workshop,” Reimer says.
 
For The Elephant in the Room, illustrators Larissa Bertonasco, Ludmilla Nartsch and Priya Kuriyan sought out suitable colleagues. They also made contact with SPRING. The Goethe Institute in New Delhi and themaecenia foundation financially supported the project.

Things that nobody wants to talk about

In February, 2016, the realized the project. Sixteen artists gathered in the writer’s residence, Nrityagram, close to Bangalore in Southern India. “We worked intensively for ten days,” Priya Kuriyan remembers. The participants presented their ideas, discussed then and critiqued them. The working title for the collaboration was “role models.” Over the course of their discussions, the artists realized that many of their role models also had dark sides. That’s why they decided to change the title to The Elephant in the Room, the phrase which describes things that are uncomfortable to talk about.
 
In Priya’s family, the elephant in the room was her grandfather. Almost everyone knew that he was a monster, but nobody managed to explain this to the granddaughter. One of the other illustrators found it hard to say out loud that she never wanted a baby. And another of the participants admitted – quite unusual for a woman, that she likes killing spiders.
 
As different as the stories by the sixteen illustrators may be, they all have something delightful in common: They all get told. And, in doing so, the discourse surrounding questions of gender roles no longer gets swept under the rug, but rather gets published.

Comic Salon Comics als Protest

Comic Salon Erlangen
Comic Salon Erlangen | Foto: © Bernd Böhner

Comics von heute sind politisch und weiblich – dieser Trend zeigte sich auf dem Internationalen Comic Salon Erlangen, der im Mai 2016 stattfand. Auch sechs deutsche und indische Zeichnerinnen, die auf Einladung des Gothe Instituts beim Festival waren, haben gesellschaftspolitisch Stellung genommen: Im Magazin SPRING „The Elephant in the Room“ haben sie die Rolle der Frau kritisch hinterfragt. 

Großvater spült Omas Seidenschal im Klo runter. Er schlägt sie mit dem Gürtel. Und er betrügt sie. In solchen Bildern hat Priya Kuriyan ihren Opa skizziert. „Ich habe ihn nie persönlich kennengelernt. Ich habe aber auch nie gedacht, dass ich ihn jemals so zeichnen werde“, sagt Priya Kuriyan. Die Comic-Künstlerin lebt und arbeitet in New Delhi. Sie hab hat am SPRING Heft The Elephant in the Room mitgearbeitet. Zur Präsentation der Ausgabe ist sie auf Einladung des Goethe Instituts zum Comic Salon nach Erlangen gereist. Die Veranstaltung ist das bedeutendste Comicfestival im deutschsprachigen Raum. Im Schnitt wird das alle zwei Jahre stattfindende Festival von 500 Künstlern und mehr als 25.000 Besuchern besucht.

Smarter Mann oder brutaler Säufer?

Auf einer Schauwand wurden hier Zeichnungen aus The Elephant in the Room ausgestellt. Eine Illustration zeigt Priya Kuriyans Großvater als smarten jungen Mann, der Pfeife raucht. „Ich habe immer angenommen, er wäre ein großartiger Mensch gewesen. Einer, der Sinn hatte fürs Schöne im Leben. Einer, zu dem alle aufschauten.“  Dass es nicht so war, hat Priya von ihrer Großmutter erfahren. Erst kurz vor ihrem Tod hat die Großmutter schreckliche Dinge über ihren bereits verstorbenen Mann erzählt: „Er war der Teufel.“ Ein brutaler Säufer und Schläger. Die Großmutter lebte in ständiger Angst, dass er nicht nur sie, sondern auch die gemeinsamen Kindern misshandelt.

Priyas Familiengeschichte ist kein Einzelfall: In vielen indischen Familien werden Frauen respektlos behandelt und sind Gewalt ausgesetzt. Seit einigen Jahren schon liest man über derartige Schicksale in Medienberichten und Blogs. Auf Indiens Straßen formieren sich Protestbewegungen gegen Vergewaltiger. Auch SPRINGs The Elephant in the Room greift das Thema Gewalt gegen Frauen auf. Das deutsche Magazin wird seit 2004 jedes Jahr von einer Gruppe deutscher Zeichnerinnen herausgegeben. Erstmals im Mai 2016 ist es als binationale Ausgabe erschienen: Es enthält Comic-Geschichten, Collagen und Zeichnungen von acht deutschen und acht indischen Zeichnerinnen. Sie erzählen vom Leben als Frau in unterschiedlichen Kulturen in Indien und Deutschland. Es geht um Familie, Partnerschaft, Karriere und Katzen.

Mit Zeichnungen zu den Menschen sprechen

„Comics sind ein modernes und unkompliziertes Kommunikationsmittel“, erklärt Ute Reimer vom Goethe-Institut /Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi, das The Elephant in the Room mit initiiert hat. „Über die Bilder erreicht man die Menschen besser als mit sachlichen Texten“, sagt sie. Schon 2014 hat Reimer einen Workshop mit indischen  Zeichnerinnen organisiert. Nach einer Reihe von öffentlich bekannt gewordenen Vergewaltigungen stellten sich die Teilnehmerinnen damals der Frage: „Wie sehen Frauen ihr Leben in der indischen Gesellschaft?“  Antworten haben sie in der Comic-SammlungDrawing the Line. Indian Women Fight Back gegeben. „Die Zusammenarbeit und ihre Ergebnisse waren damals schon fantastisch. Wir wollten so etwas nochmal machen. Nur etwas freier, ohne Workshop-Charakter“, sagt Reimer.

Für The Elephant in the Room suchten deshalb die Zeichnerinnen Larissa Bertonasco, Ludmilla Bartscht und Priya Kuriyan, die bei Drawing the Line Workshop-Leiterinnen waren, geeignete Kolleginnen aus.  Außerdem stellten sie den Kontakt zu SPRING her. Das Goethe Institut New Delhi und die Stiftung maecenia haben das Projekt finanziell unterstützt.

Dinge, die keiner gerne anspricht

Im Februar 2016 wurde es umgesetzt: Die 16 Künstlerinnen trafen sich auf einer Schriftstellerresidenz Nrityagram nahe der Stadt Bangalore in Südindien. „Zehn Tage haben wir intensiv gearbeitet“, erinnert sich Priya Kuriyan. Die Teilnehmerinnen stellten ihre Themen vor, diskutierten und kritisierten. Der Arbeitstitel, unter dem das Gemeinschaftswerk erscheinen sollte, lautete „role models“, was übersetzt so viel bedeutet wie „Vorbild“ oder „Rollenmodel“. In Diskussionen stellten die Künstlerinnen fest, dass viele ihrer Vorbilder auch Schattenseiten hatten. Deshalb änderten sie den Titel zu The Elephant in the Room. Diese Redewendung bezeichnet einen offensichtlichen Umstand, den anzusprechen allen unangenehm ist.

Fürs Priyas Verwandtschaft war der „unangenehme Umstand“ der Großvater: Fast alle wussten, dass er ein Monster war. Doch keiner hat es geschafft, das der Enkelin zu erzählen. Einer anderen Zeichnerin fällt es schwer, zuzugeben, dass sie niemals ein Baby möchte. Und wieder eine andere bekundet, dass sie – ganz untypisch für eine Frau – gerne Spinnen tötet.

So verschieden die Geschichten der 16 Zeichnerinnen auch sein mögen, eine erfreuliche Tatsache haben sie gemeinsam: Sie werden erzählt. Und damit wird der Diskurs um Geschlechterfragen nicht mehr unter den Teppich gekehrt, sondern öffentlich gemacht.