Tibet Democracy in Exile

Transfer of power Tibetan style: the 14th Dalai Lama and his political successor.
Transfer of power Tibetan style: the 14th Dalai Lama and his political successor. | Photo: © Courtesy Tibet Museum, Dharamsala

“It isn’t easy to apply the success of the Tibetan refugee community in India to other migrants. Yet crucial features of it are apparent. In 1959, prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru personally made a deal with the Dalai Lama on the conditions for political asylum." 

“Since I was young, I’ve known the urgency to modernize the Tibetan political system… I don’t shy away from responsibility and am certainly not tired of my duty.” With these words, the 14th Dalai Lama, the spiritual and worldly leader of Tibet, declared his resignation from political responsibility in order to focus on his religious leadership from exile in India in 2011. Because a stable democracy must be established during his lifetime, at first for Tibetans in exile, in Tibet proper in the long term, a country that has been occupied by the People’s Republic of China since 1949. The Dalai Lama is one of the very few leaders in world history to voluntarily relinquish his political power in order to allow for an antiquated, theocratic system of government to become a parliamentary democracy.
 
His decision sent exiled Tibetans into a state of intense shock, yet they could have anticipated it. Because shortly after fleeing to India in 1959, the 14th Dalai Lama began introducing political co-determination. He founded the Tibetan Parliament in Exile, had a constitution drafted, initially for exiled Tibetans but seen in the long term for all Tibetans, and incrementally dismantled his own powers, such as appointing a cabinet.  Since 2001, the prime minister has been elected directly by the people.

The secular government

On May 27th, 2016, the prime minister for Tibetans in exile, Dr. Lobsang Sangay, was sworn into office in Dharamsala in northern India. He began his second legislative period after exiled Tibetans worldwide emphatically elected him with 54% of the vote on March 20th, 2016. The 48-year-old Sikyong (leader), his official title, was born in India to Tibetan refugees. He grew up in a Tibetan settlement close to Darjeeling, studied law at the University of Delhi and got his PhD from Harvard University in America after receiving a Fulbright Scholarship. They retained him there as a Senior Fellow at the East Asia Center of Harvard Law School. The first time he was elected prime minister of exiled Tibetans, in 2011, he was even surprised himself.

Political asylum for Tibetans in India

It isn’t easy to apply the success of the Tibetan refugee community to other migrants, yet crucial features of it are apparent. In 1959, prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru personally made a deal with the Dalai Lama on the conditions for political asylum. In doing so, Nehru demonstrated great understanding for the challenges of preserving Tibetan culture, despite the politics of destruction employed by the Chinese communists.
 
Centuries old religious-cultural relations, delete yes, including the emergence of Buddhism in India, contribute to Indians in general not viewing Tibetans as ‘foreigners.’ Nehru and the Dalai Lama first agreed that the Tibetan refugees wouldn’t disperse, but would rather delete would live in settlements, making their livelihood in agriculture. The prime minister wrote to the chief ministers of Indian states asking them to set land aside. The first state to show willingness was Mysore, current day Karnataka, in southern India. About a third of the exiled Tibetans still live there today. Settling down was difficult. First, land needed to be cleared; people fell victim to the hot Indian climate. Every five Tibetans received 2.5 hectars of land and a hut, but the agriculture was totally different than in Tibet – different products, different seasons! Second, Tibetans were allowed to set up their own schools, which would focus on Tibetan culture and history. Today, children are taught in Tibetan up to the 8th grade. However, the exams still meet Indian requirements and their degrees are recognized. The schools are financed by the Indian government. Third, they created their own administration, the Central Tibetan Administration (CTA), at Dharamsala in the foothills of the Himalayas. The CTA coordinates the settlements, schools, hospitals and the reconstructed monasteries. It also maintains the link to the Indian authorities.
 
Tibet’s government in exile isn’t recognized by any other country worldwide, but aid funds still generously flow to it. Because, yes, the Tibetans are the favorites of donor countries and institutions, since the funds actually reach those they’re extended for and Tibetans are hardworking.
 
Without a doubt, the fact that Tibetan refugees had an uncontroversial leading personality in the 14th Dalai Lama, who himself is deeply rooted in Tibetan Buddhism and also receptive to modernity, was decisive. The refugees’ suffering, separated from their homeland and their families, cannot be underestimated. However, compared to other refugees, the Tibetans have very successfully coped with their existence in exile.
 
What about statistics? About a half of the exiled Tibetans in South Asia live in settlements in India, Nepal and Bhutan; others are distributed throughout the Subcontinent and around the world. The CTA’s planning commission estimates that there are about 150,000 Tibetans in exile. An estimated 120,000 of them live in South Asia; 20,000 in North America, meaning America and Canada. There’s a tendency to immigrate there because of better working conditions. About 10,000 Tibetans live in Europe, Japan and Australia, with about 500 in Germany. Around 3,000 live in Switzerland alone, some of them are already third generation. Switzerland was the first country to take in refugees from the Roof of the World, under the motto: Mountain people help mountain people!

Preserving Tibetan culture

Tibetans have made notable achievements in the areas of literacy and education. 95% of Tibetans under 40 can read and write, which is more than the average in the Indian population. A circle of institutions serve to maintain Tibetan culture. Starting from TIPA (Tibetan Institute for Performing Arts), where Tibetan music, dance and theater are taught, to the Central University of Higher Tibetan Studies in Sarnath/Benares, all aspects of Tibetan culture are facilitated in various libraries and centers for artisan craftwork. The reconstructed monasteries, whose political influence has been drastically cut back, have recently started imparting the foundations of modern science to monks and nuns on top of their the religious curriculum.
 
In doing so, the Tibetans have successfully defied the Chinese occupiers of their homeland and their attempts to violently assimilate Tibetan culture into Chinese culture.

Tibet Demokratie im Exil

Machtübergabe auf Tibetisch: der 14. Dalai Lama und sein politischer Nachfolger.
Machtübergabe auf Tibetisch: der 14. Dalai Lama und sein politischer Nachfolger. | Foto: © Courtesy Tibet Museum, Dharamsala

„Der Erfolg der tibetischen Flüchtlingsgemeinschaft in Indien  ist nicht leicht auf andere Migranten zu übertragen, doch zeichnen sich wesentliche Merkmale ab. Premier Minister Jawaharlal Nehru vereinbarte 1959 persönlich mit dem Dalai Lama die Bedingungen des politischen Asyls.“

„Seit meiner Jugend war ich mir der Dringlichkeit bewusst, das tibetische politische System zu modernisieren... Ich scheue mich nicht vor der  Verantwortung und  bin sicherlich nicht meines Amtes müde.“ Mit diesen Worten erklärte der 14. Dalai Lama, das geistliche und weltliche Oberhaupt der Tibeter, 2011 im indischen Exil seinen Rücktritt von der politischen  Verantwortung um sich auf seine religiöse Führung zu beschränken. Denn zu seinen Lebzeiten, so sagte er, müsse eine gefestigte Demokratie   etabliert sein, zunächst für die Tibeter im Exil, auf lange Sicht in Tibet selbst, das seit 1949 von der Chinesischen Volksrepublik besetzt ist. Der Dalai Lama handelte als einer der ganz wenigen Herrscher der Weltgeschichte, der seine politische Macht freiwillig aufgab um ein  antiquiertes theokratisches Regierungssystem in die parlamentarische Demokratie zu überführen.
 
Der Entschluss stürzte die Exil-Tibeter in einen schweren Schock, doch konnten sie es erwarten. Denn schon kurz nach seiner Flucht nach Indien 1959 begann der 14. Dalai Lama politische Mitbestimmung einzuleiten. Er gründete das Tibetische Parlament im Exil, ließ eine Verfassung   ausarbei-ten – zunächst für die Exiltibeter, auf lange Sicht für das ganze Tibet, und baute schrittweise seine eigenen Privilegien ab, wie z.B. die Ernennung des Kabinetts. Seit 2001 wird der Premier-minister direkt  vom Volk gewählt.

Die säkulare Regierung

Am 27. Mai 2016 wurde nun im nordindischen Dharamsala der Premierminister der Tibeter im Exil Dr. Lobsang Sangay, vereidigt. Er tritt seine 2. Legislaturperiode an, nachdem ihn die Exiltibeter weltweit am 20. März 2016 mit 54%  der Stimmen überzeugend gewählt hatten. Der 48-jährige Sikyong (Leader) wie sein Titel heißt, wurde als Sohn von Flüchtlingen in Indien geboren, wuchs in einer Tibeter Siedlung in der Nähe von Darjeeling auf, studierte Jura an der Universität Delhi und promovierte dank eines Fulbright Stipendiums an der Universität Harvard in den USA. Dort behielt man ihn als Senior Fellow am East Asia Centre der Harvard Law School.  Seine erste Wahl als Premierminister der Exiltibeter 2011 kam für ihn selbst als Überraschung.

Politisches Asysl für Tibeter in Indien

Der Erfolg der tibetischen Flüchtlingsgemeinschaft  ist nicht leicht auf andere Migranten zu übertragen, doch zeichnen sich wesentliche Merkmale ab. Der indische Premierminister Jawaharlal Nehru vereinbarte 1959 persönlich mit dem damals 24-jährigen Dalai Lama die Bedingungen des politischen Asyls. Nehru zeigte dabei großes Verständnis für die Herausforderung, die tibetische Kultur zu erhalten, trotz der Zerstörungspolitik  der chinesischen Kommunisten. 
 
Jahrhundertete religiös-kulturelle Beziehungen, die Entstehung des Buddhismus in Indien tragen dazu bei, dass die Tibeter von Indern allgemein nicht als ‚Ausländer’ empfunden werden. Nehru und der Dalai Lama beschlossen erstens, dass die tibetischen Flüchtlinge nicht verstreut, sondern in Siedlungen leben und ihren Unterhalt in der Landwirtschaft finden sollten. Der Premierminister schrieb an die Ministerpräsidenten der indischen Bundesstaaten  und bat sie, Land zur Verfügung zu stellen. Die erste Bereitschaft kam aus Mysore, dem heutigen Karnataka in Südindien. Noch immer siedeln dort ca. ein Drittel der Exiltibeter. Das Eingewöhnen  war schwer, musste das Land doch erst gerodet werden, das heiße indische Klima  forderte Opfer. Jeweils fünf Tibeter bekamen 2,5 ha Land und eine Hütte, doch der Ackerbau  war  völlig anders als in Tibet - andere Produkte, andere Jahreszeiten!  Zweitens durften die Tibeter ihre eigenen Schulen einrichten, in denen tibetische Kultur und Geschichte im Mittelpunkt stehen.

Bis zur Klasse 8 ist die Unterrichtssprache Tibetisch, doch die Examen entsprechen den indischen Anforderungen,  die Abschlüsse werden anerkannt. Diese Schulen sind vom indischen Staat finanziert. Drittens entstand eine eigene Verwaltung, die Central Tibetan Administration (CTA), in Dharamsala im Vorgebirge des Himalaya, von dort werden Siedlungen, Schulen, Krankenhäuser und die wieder aufgebauten Klöster koordiniert und die Verbindung zu den indischen Behörden gepflegt.
 
Die tibetische Exilregierung wird international von keinem anderen Staat  anerkannt, doch Entwicklungsgelder fließen reichlich, ja, die Tibeter sind die Lieblinge der Geberländer und Institutionen, denn die Mittel erreichen tatsächlich ihre Bestimmung und die  Tibeter sind fleißig.  
 
Zweifellos war es  entscheidend, dass die tibetischen Flüchtlinge im 14. Dalai Lama eine unumstrittene Führungs-persönlichkeit hatten, der, selbst tief im tibetischen Buddhis-mus verwurzelt, der Modernität aufgeschlossen ist. Das Leiden als Flüchtlinge, getrennt von ihrer Heimat und ihren Familien, darf nicht unterschätzt werden. Doch im Vergleich zu anderen politischen Flüchtlingen  haben die Tibeter ihr Dasein im Exil sehr erfolgreich gemeistert.
 
Wie sehen die Zahlen aus? Etwa die Hälfte der Exilanten in Südasien lebt in Siedlungen in Indien, Nepal und Bhutan, doch andere sind weitverstreut auf dem Subkontinent, in der Welt. Die Planungskommission der CTA rechnet mit etwa 150.000 Tibetern im Exil. Schätzungsweise wohnen 120.000 Tibeter  in Südasien; 20.000 in Nordamerika, d.h. USA und Canada. Es besteht eine Tendenz zur Auswanderung dorthin wegen günstiger Arbeitsbedingungen. In Europa, Japan und Australien  siedeln weitere ca. 10.000 Tibeter, davon 500 in Deutschland. Allein in der Schweiz leben 3000 Tibeter, z.T. in der dritten Generation. Dieses Land engagierte sich als erstes für die  Flüchtlinge vom Dach der Welt nach der Losung: Bergvolk hilft Bergvolk!

Bewahrung der tibetischen Kultur 

Besonders auf dem Gebiet der Alphabetisierung und Bildung wurde erreicht, dass TibeterInnen unter 40 Jahren zu 95%  lesen und schreiben können, mehr als im indischen Bevölkerungsdurchschnitt. Ein Kranz von Institutionen dient der Pflege der tibetischen Kultur. Angefangen von TIPA (Tibetan Institute for the Performing Arts), wo tibetische Musik, Tanz und Theater gelehrt werden, bis hin zur Central University of Higher Tibetan Studies in  Sarnath/Benares, in mehreren Bibliotheken und Zentren für Kunsthandwerk werden alle Aspekte der Kultur vermittelt. Die wieder erstandenen Klöster, deren politischer Einfluss nun drastisch beschnitten wurde, lehren neuerdings den Mönchen und Nonnen neben dem religiösen Curriculum Grundkenntnisse moderner Wissenschaften.  
So trotzen die Tibeter erfolgreich den chinesischen Besatzern ihres Heimatlandes und deren Versuchen die tibetische Kultur mit aller Gewalt der chinesischen einzuverleiben.