Heavy Metal Bang Galore!!! Heavy Metal as a break from daily life in India

Bang Galore!!!
Bang Galore!!! | Photo: © Patrick Hain

What does heavy metal in India have to do with Germany? How is the scene organised on the sub-continent? And how can attendance at a concert in Bangalore soon become a family outing? A review. 

Heavy Metal: This sub-culture has been continuously developing into a global phenomenon since the 1980s. At first glance, India still seems like a small island on the world map, but an in-depth look at the scene reveals a world full of fanatical, enthusiastic aficionados, musicians and fans, who, dressed in black (of course), make a pilgrimage to the many small events throughout the country.

Whereas concerts in Delhi tend to take place at the club level and only individual international bands have performed here, Bangalore has become the Mecca of the Indian metal scene. Prominent performers such as Slayer, Metallica and Iron Maiden have already taken to the stage here. A large number of Indian bands make up the Indian scene and are celebrated frenetically at concerts. Bands such as Kryptos enjoy considerable success in the international arena. They do not, however, emulate their role models from the early European metal scene, but develop their very own, Indian influenced way of playing this type of music. Yet for fans and musicians alike, it is more than just the music. It has become an attitude to life that relieves the pressure imposed by Indian society.

University graduates with well paid jobs

Unlike the European fans and musicians of the early 1980s, who were often from the working class, a majority of the Indian musicians and fans come from the upper middle class of the country. They are university graduates with well paid jobs.  When talking to them they constantly reiterate that it is not about the aggressive content of the lyrics, but more about releasing tension and frustration, a kind of break from daily life in India. Speaking for many fans, Nolan Lewis, singer of the band Kryptos says, “If I hadn’t discovered metal, I would probably have become a criminal or something like that.”

The scene sticks together and organises concerts. Concert organisers are often fans who try to put up festivals with a minimum amount of funds or through crowdfunding. Thanks to the idealism of individuals, there has been a festival in Bangalore for the past couple of years, attracting bands from Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Singapore and other countries. The Internet plays an important role here. Concert dates are announced on Facebook, fans can purchase music and fan items that are difficult or impossible to obtain on the Indian market on online shops such as Metal Masala.

Metal as a family outing

The mood at festivals or concerts is absolutely positively charged, people talk to each other, information on bands and concerts is exchanged and there is wild, wild partying. Contact between fans and musicians at these events is by far much closer than in Europe, for example. Almost all band members mingle with the public before and after performances. CDs are sold, autographs given, contacts made and heads banged.
Teenage fans are often accompanied by their parents. While sons and daughters rattle their heads in front of the stage, cups of chai are being savoured in the cosy far end of the location. Metal as a family outing.

Support from Wacken

What does all this have to do with Germany? Many young Indian musicians claim to have been heavily influenced by the German metal bands of the 1980s. The names Kreator, Sodom, Destruction appear on tunics and shirts. The Bangalore festival is sponsored by the organisers of the world renowned Wacken Open Air. The Wacken Road Show helps Indian bands perform in Germany. The Goethe Institute in Bangalore also keeps organising metal concerts and brings well known German bands such as Kreator to India.
 
And then there are the fans. A group of German metal fans from Delhi has been regularly flying to Bangalore for a couple of years to experience their favourite music there. They have developed good contacts and friendship with local musicians. This is also about the famous "break from Delhi." And it is not just the clean air of the city that contributes to the good mood....after the Bangalore Open Air 2015 at the beginning of June; people are already thinking ahead to 2016.

Heavy Metal Bang Galore!!! Heavy Metal als Urlaub vom indischen Alltag

Bang Galore!!!
Bang Galore!!! | Foto: © Patrick Hain

Was hat Heavy Metal in Indien mit Deutschland zu tun? Wie ist die Szene auf dem Subkontinent organisiert? Und warum kann ein Konzertbesuch in Bangalore schnell zum Familienausflug geraten? Ein Überblick.  

Heavy Metal: Seit den frühen 1980er-Jahren entwickelt sich diese Subkultur immer weiter zu einem globalen Phänomen. Auf den ersten Blick scheint Indien auf der Weltkarte des Metal noch eine kleine Insel zu sein, doch schaut man tiefer in diese Szene hinein, eröffnet sich eine Welt voller fanatischer, fröhlicher Anhänger, Musiker und Fans, die (natürlich) schwarz gekleidet zu den vielen kleinen Events im ganzen Land pilgern.
 
Während sich die Konzerte in Delhi noch eher auf der Clubebene abspielen und nur vereinzelt internationale Bands hier aufgetreten sind, hat sich Bangalore zum Mekka der indischen Metalszene entwickelt. Hier sind auch schon große Acts wie Slayer, Metallica und Iron Maiden aufgetreten. Eine Vielzahl an indischen Bands bilden die indische Szene und werden auf Konzerten frenetisch gefeiert. Auf der internationalen Bühne genießen Bands wie Kryptos beachtliche Erfolge. Hierbei eifern sie nicht ihren Vorbildern aus der Frühzeit des europäischen Metals nach, sondern entwickeln ihre ganz eigene, indisch beeinflusste Spielart dieser Musik. Doch für die Fans und Musiker ist es mehr als nur die Musik: Es ist ein Lebensgefühl, das ein Ablassventil für den Druck der indischen Gesellschaft geworden ist.

Mit Uniabschluss und gut bezahltem Job

Im Gegensatz zu den europäischen Fans und Musikern der frühen 1980er-Jahre, die oft aus der Arbeiterschicht kamen, stammt eine Vielzahl der indischen Musiker und Fans aus der gehobenen Mittelschicht des Landes. Sie haben Universitätsabschlüsse und gut bezahlte Jobs. In Gesprächen machen sie immer wieder deutlich, dass es nicht um die aggressiven Inhalte der Texte geht, sondern vielmehr um den befreienden Frustabbau, eine Art Urlaub vom Alltag Indiens. Stellvertretend für viele Fans sagt Nolan Lewis, Sänger der Band Kryptos „Wenn ich nicht Metal entdeckt hätte, wäre ich wahrscheinlich kriminell geworden, oder so was“.

Die Szene hält zusammen und organisiert Konzerte. Konzertveranstalter sind oft Fans, die versuchen mit geringen finanziellen Mitteln oder durch Crowdfunding Festivals auf die Beine zu stellen. Dem Idealismus Einzelner ist es zu verdanken, dass es in Bangalore seit ein paar Jahren ein Festival gibt, zu dem Bands aus Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Singapore und weiteren Ländern anreisen können. Das Internet spielt hierbei eine wichtige Rolle. Über Facebook werden Konzerttermine verbreitet, in Online Shops wie „Metal-Masala“ können die Fans Musik und Fanartikel kaufen, die auf dem indischen Markt nur schwer oder gar nicht zu bekommen sind.

Metal als Familienausflug

Die Stimmung auf den Festivals oder Konzerten ist absolut positiv aufgeladen, die Menschen kommen ins Gespräch, Informationen zu Bands und Konzerten werden weitergegeben und es wild, wild gefeiert. Auch der Kontakt zwischen Fans und Musikern ist bei diesen Events weitaus enger als beispielsweise in Europa. Vor und nach den Auftritten der einzelnen Bands findet man fast immer alle Mitglieder im Publikum. Es werden CD verkauft, Autogramme gegeben, Kontakte geknüpft und zusammen gebangt.
Fans im Teenageralter werden oft von ihren Eltern begleitet: Während der Sohn oder die Tochter vor der Bühne den Kopf schüttelt, wird im hinteren Teil der Location gemütlich Chai getrunken. Metal als Familien Ausflug.

Unterstützung aus Wacken

Was hat das mit Deutschland zu tun? Viele junge indische Musiker geben an, dass sie sehr von den deutschen Metalbands der 1980er-Jahre beeinflusst wurden. Auf den Kutten und Shirts liest man die Namen Kreator, Sodom, Destruction. Das Bangalore Festival wird von den Organisatoren des weltweit berühmten Wacken Open Air gesponsert. Die Wacken Road Show verhilft indischen Bands zu Auftritten in Deutschland. Auch das Goethe Institut in Bangalore veranstaltet immer wieder Metal Konzerte und  bringt bekannte deutsche Bands wie zum Beispiel Kreator nach Indien.
 
Und dann sind da auch noch die Fans. Eine Gruppe von deutschen Metal Fans aus Delhi fliegt seit ein paar Jahren regelmäßig nach Bangalore, um dort ihre Lieblingsmusik zu erleben. Es haben sich gute Kontakte und Freundschaften zu den Musikern vor Ort entwickelt. Auch hier geht es um den berühmten „Break from Delhi“. Für die gute Stimmung sorgt hierbei nicht nur die gute Luft der Stadt... Nachdem Bangalore Open Air 2015 Anfang Juni richten sich die Gedanken jetzt bereits auf 2016.