Board games Go directly to jail. Do not pass Go!

Games fun
Games fun | Photo: © Colourbox.de

Playing a game is fundamental to human nature and is part of each and every culture. A number of familiar games have their roots in antiquity: Roman temple builders scratched the game plan of Nine Men’s Morris in stone slabs; Indian rulers played Pachisi, the forerunner of Ludo, with live figures; and ball games or those involving catching and hiding have been played on all continents at all times.

Yet games are also a reflection of the culture of a society, they reveal something about life in a country. Playing a game needs time. The societal and social changes in the 20th century initially gave people in Europe more free time, which they also spent on playing games. Some of the classical board and social games date back to this period: Halma (end of the 19th century), Ludo, Monopoly (launched in the North American market in 1904, became popular during the Depression), Scrabble (1931).
 
Germany in the 21st century has no time for play and the many options for leisure activities compete with each other: media consumption in all its facets, sport and music only at specific times, to name but a few, take away time for free play, primarily from children.

Who plays with whom and who plays what

Until 20 years ago, the games played in a family with children above kindergarten-age were primarily tile-based games like Memory, board games like Ludo, or card games like Uno. Chess (a virtue thought worth striving for by knights back in the Middle Ages), Taboo, and the card games Doppelkopf or Mau Mau subsequently became popular. Today, however, in addition to these games, parents and children also occasionally play online role playing games.

When playing with each other, younger children essentially play without guidelines or instructions. Role play helps them practice individual and social skills, it imparts values and attitudes and prepares them for life. Likewise, school children play traditional games, are robbers and cops, or judge each other by the gaming consoles. Young boys spend more time playing outdoors and engage more in sporting activities than girls who tend to pursue creative activities. Consequently, sport-related games, particularly computer games, are at the forefront among adolescents. Adults primarily play board and card games, but are increasingly playing computer and online games as well.

The Game of the Year

Since 1975, an award has been given for the Game of the Year in Germany, which can be a board game or a card game. Since 2001, there has been a separate award for a Children’s Game of the Year. The games come marked with a checker peg (red for adults, blue for children). Well-known winners have been ‘The Settlers of Catan’ (board game,1995), ‘Carcassonne’ (tile-based board game, 2001) or ‘Hanabi’ (card game, 2013).

Outdoor games

While children almost always played outside in the past, this is no longer a given, particularly for city children. There are few playgrounds that are easily and safely accessible. But games can be played even on the pavement in front of the house or in the school yard:
  • Sack race: Each child gets into a sack and races against the others in hopping over a given distance.
  • Double Dutch: Two children tie a knotted rope around their legs; the other children jump over it in a particular sequence. Ankle high, then shin-high, etc.
  • Tag, e.g. What’s the time, Mr Wolf? One child is Mr Wolf while the other children stand at a certain distance and call out: ‘What’s the time, Mr Wolf?’ Mr Wolf can say, for example, ‘5 o’clock’. The group then takes five steps and asks the question again. Mr Wolf may then call ‘Dinner time!’, turn around, and try to catch the other players. If Mr Wolf is successful, the player caught is the next Mr Wolf.

Gesellschaftsspiele Gehe direkt ins Gefängnis. Gehe nicht über Los!

Spielspaß
Spielspaß | Foto: © Colourbox.de

Spielen ist ein grundlegendes Element der menschlichen Natur und Teil jeder Kultur. Etliche Spiele, die wir kennen, haben antike Vorfahren: römische Tempelbauer haben den Spielplan des Mühlespiels in Steinplatten geritzt, indische Herrscher mit lebendigen Figuren Pachisi, den Vorläufer unseres „Mensch ärgere Dich nicht“ gespielt und Ball-, Fang- oder Versteckspiele wurden zu jeder Zeit und auf allen Kontinenten gespielt. 

Gleichzeitig sind Spiele auch ein Spiegel der Kultur einer Gesellschaft, sie verraten etwas über das Leben in einem Land. Spielen braucht Zeit. Die gesellschaftlichen und sozialen Veränderungen des 20. Jahrhunderts führten zunächst dazu, dass viele Menschen in Europa mehr freie Zeit zur Verfügung hatten, die sie auch zum Spielen nutzten. Einige Klassiker unter den Brett- und Gesellschaftsspielen stammen aus der Zeit: Halma (Ende des 19. Jh.), Mensch ärgere Dich nicht, Monopoly (1904 in Nordamerika auf den Markt gebracht und während der Weltwirtschaftskrise populär geworden), Scrabble (1931).
 
Im 21. Jahrhundert fehlt es in Deutschland an Zeit zum Spielen. Eine Vielzahl von alternativen Möglichkeiten der Freizeitgestaltung konkurriert miteinander: Medienkonsum in all seinen Facetten, an feste Zeiten gebundene sportliche und musikalische Aktivitäten u.v.m. nehmen vor allem Kindern Zeit zum freien Spielen.

Wer spielt mit wem und wer spielt was

Während bis vor 20 Jahren innerhalb einer Familie mit Kindern ab dem Kindergartenalter hauptsächlich Legespiele wie Memory, Brettspiele wie Mensch ärgere Dich nicht oder Kartenspiele wie Uno gespielt wurden, später dann Schach (das bereits im Mittelalter zu den erstrebenswerten Tugenden eines Ritters gehörte), Tabu, Doppelkopf oder Mau-Mau angesagt waren, spielen Eltern und Kinder heute neben diesen zum Teil auch gemeinsam online Rollenspiele.

Untereinander spielen jüngere Kinder vor allem ohne Vorgabe oder Spielanleitung. Im Rollenspiel üben sie dabei individuelle und soziale Fähigkeiten, es vermittelt Werte und Haltungen und bereitet sie auf das Leben vor. Schulkinder spielen gleichermaßen traditionelle Spiele, sind Räuber und Gendarm oder messen sich an der Spielkonsole miteinander. Jungen spielen dabei mehr draußen und sind sportlich aktiver als Mädchen, die eher kreativen Aktivitäten nachgehen. Bei Jugendlichen stehen dann sportliche Spiele und vor allem Computerspiele im Vordergrund. Erwachsene spielen hauptsächlich Brett- und Kartenspiele, zunehmend aber auch Computer- und Online-Spiele.

Das Spiel des Jahres

In Deutschland wird seit 1979 das „Spiel des Jahres“ ausgezeichnet. Das kann sowohl ein Brett- als auch ein Kartenspiel sein, seit 2001 wird gesondert auch das „Kinderspiel des Jahres“ gewürdigt. Die Spiele sind mit einem Halmakegel-Logo (rot für Erwachsenenspiel, blau für Kinderspiel) markiert. Bekannte Preisträger sind „Die Siedler von Catan“ (1995), „Carcassonne“ (2001) oder „Hanabi“ (2013).

Draußen-Spiele

Während in vergangenen Jahrhunderten Kinder fast immer draußen spielten, ist das heute gerade für Stadtkinder nicht mehr selbstverständlich. Es fehlt an Spielorten, die leicht und sicher zu erreichen sind. Aber selbst auf dem Bürgersteig vor dem Haus oder auf dem Schulhof lässt sich Einiges spielen:
  • Sackhüpfen: Jedes Kind steigt in einen Sack und sie hüpfen auf einer bestimmten Strecke um die Wette.
  • Gummitwist: Zwei Kinder spannen ein zusammengeknotetes Gummiband um ihre Beine, andere Kinder hüpfen in einem bestimmten Sprung-Muster darüber. Erst in Knöchelhöhe, dann in Wadenhöhe etc.
  • Fangspiele, wie z.B. Fischer: Ein Kind ist der Fischer, die anderen Kinder stehen in einiger Entfernung und rufen „Fischer, Fischer, wie tief ist das Wasser?“ Der Fischer antwortet eine beliebige Tiefe, z.B. „20 Meter.“ Die Gruppe fragt „Wie kommen wir hinüber?“ Jetzt kann der Fischer verschiedene Fortbewegungsarten nennen, z.B. „Auf einem Bein hüpfen!“ Alle Kinder müssen so versuchen, das andere Ufer hinter dem Fischer zu erreichen, ohne von ihm gefangen zu werden.