The Kochi-Muziris Biennale In the eye of the beholder

Aleš Šteger, “The Pyramid of Exiled Poets”
Aleš Šteger, “The Pyramid of Exiled Poets” | © Katerina Valdivia Bruch

The third edition of the Kochi-Muziris Biennale opened its doors on December 12th, 2016. Brought into being by the artists Bose Krishnamachari and Riyas Komu, the exhibition is being curated once again by a local artist, Sudarshan Shetty from Mangalore. It combines literature, performance, dance, theatre and music with fine arts.

“It’s my biennale!”

“Are you here for the binal?” (sic) is the question most rickshaw drivers first ask. Since its first incarnation in 2012, the Kochi-Muziris Biennale has made a name for itself as the “People’s Biennale". Riyas Komu, co-founder and Director of Programmes, describes it as an “active social force.” He emphasizes its focus on works relating to practice and site-specific projects, where you can see the artists with their works on site. Komu would like to point out that art should also be understood as a creative process.

A new way of art mediation

The extensive program, which unfolds over the course of an entire year, concentrates on initiatives for art education and mediation, for example ABC (Art By Children). The children’s programme is meant to encourage creative thought and art appreciation in school children and it is being offered in 100 schools in 14 districts in the state of Kerala.
 
Another initiative is the “Student’s Biennale,” which presents selected works from 55 art universities nationwide. The background: In 2015 and 2016 there were student protests and strikes happening at various art universities in India, an expression of a crisis in educational institutions. The installation “80 Days of Strike” by students from the College of Arts and Crafts Patna is a response to this. It consists of a bamboo structure in the form of a canopy adorned with newspaper articles, images and colourful straw fans. The work recounts the 80-day strike at the art school, which ended with its director's resignation.

On site residencies

The Pepper House Residency is also part of the programme. Supported by the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan, among other institutions, it invites both local and international artists. The exhibition at Mandalay Hall includes works by former bangaloREsidents Peter Bialobrzeski, Anja Kempe, Hans-Christian Schink and Sabine Schründer.
 
Anja Kempe’s installation “Inner Grid”, made of a bamboo structure and three videos with hammocks that hang in different places in Fort Kochi, allegorically depicts what it feels like to be in a foreign country. According to the artist “It’s an ambivalence between physical presence and withdrawal. An approach to a foreign place, a different culture, a different view of the body” .
 
“The Current. Convening #2” by the Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Academy also took place during opening week. A variety of artists, curators and art experts gathered in the Cochin Club and discussed the meaning of oceans, as places of migration, of exchange and of international law. To this end, the legendary, American artist, Joan Jonas, gave a multimedia lecture-performance – a sensitive homage to the sea and life in the oceans – at Vasco da Gama Square.

Poetry amidst human misery

Chilean poet Raúl Zurita was also inspired by the sea. He created the comprehensive installation “The Sea of Pain” out of sea water and poems. The work is dedicated to Galip Kurdi. He is the brother of the  young boy Aylan Kurdi, a refugee from Syria, who drowned off the shores of Bodrum in Turkey, while trying to reach Europe. Whilst visitors casually step into the water and contemplate the writing on the walls, the work revolves around the idea of a life-threatening journey at sea.

Poetic and inspiring is the kinetic installation “Calls” by Japanese artist Yuko Mohri. Electrical circuits, but also Japanese folktales about deceased people and their spiritual presence, are the sources of the delicate work comprised by found materials, magnets and filaments, which create sounds in the blowing breeze. Here, a connection between the physical world and the spiritual world is suggested.

The role of art in society has been the leitmotiv of the Biennale since its founding. The book “India’s Biennale Effect: The Politics of Contemporary Art” gives a hint  on the Kochi-Muziris Biennale’s impact on India's and the global art scene. Its interest in putting different communities in contact, including a wide-ranging audience and engagement across the country, makes this biennale original and worth watching.

Die Kochi-Muziris Biennale Im Auge des Betrachters

Aleš Šteger, “The Pyramid of Exiled Poets”
Aleš Šteger, “The Pyramid of Exiled Poets” | © Katerina Valdivia Bruch

Die dritte Ausgabe der Kochi-Muziris Biennale öffnete am 12. Dezember 2016 ihre Pforten. Von  den Künstlern Bose Krishnamachari und Riyas Komu ins Leben gerufen, wird die Kunstschau einmal mehr von einem lokalen Künstler – Sudarshan Shetty aus Mangalore – kuratiert. Sie verbindet Literatur, Performance, Tanz, Theater und Musik mit Bildender Kunst.

„It's my Biennale!“

„Are you here for the binal?“ (sic) ist die Frage, die viele Rikscha-Fahrer als erstes stellen. Seit ihrer ersten Ausgabe im Jahr 2012 hat sich die Kochi-Muziris Biennale einen Namen als „People's Biennale“ (Volksbiennale) gemacht. Riyas Komu, Mitbegründer der Biennale und Leiter der Programme, beschreibt sie als eine „aktive soziale Kraft“. Er setzt den Schwerpunkt auf praxisbezogene Arbeiten und ortsspezifische Projekte, bei denen man die Künstler bei ihrer Arbeit vor Ort begleiten kann. Komu möchte darauf hinweisen, dass Kunst auch als kreativer Prozess zu verstehen ist.

Eine neue Art der Kunstvermittlung

Das umfangreiche Programm, das sich über das ganze Jahr hinaus entfaltet, konzentriert sich auf Initiativen zur Kunstbildung und -vermittlung, wie zum Beispiel ABC (Art By Children). Das Kinderprogramm soll das kreative Denken und das Kunstverständnis bei Schulkindern fördern und wird in 100 Schulen in 14 Bezirken im Bundesstaat Kerala angeboten.
 
Eine andere Initiative ist die „Student's Biennale“, die ausgewählte Arbeiten von 55 Kunstuniversitäten landesweit präsentiert. Hintergrund: In den Jahren 2015 und 2016 kam es in verschiedenen Kunsthochschulen Indiens zu Studentenprotesten und -streiks. Sie waren Ausdruck einer Krise in den Bildungsinstitutionen. Die Installation „80 Days of Strike“ von Studenten des College of Arts and Crafts Patna geht darauf ein.  Sie besteht aus einem mit Zeitungsartikeln, Bildern und bunten Strohfächern verzierten Bambusgerüst in Form eines Schutzdachs. Und berichtet vom 80-tägigen Streik an der Kunsthochschule, der schließlich mit der Kündigung ihres Rektors endete.

Residenten vor Ort

Zum Teil des Programms gehört auch die Pepper House Residency, die unter anderem vom Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan unterstützt wird und sowohl lokale als auch internationale Künstler einlädt. Die Räumlichkeiten der Mandalay Halls werden mit Werken der ehemaligenbangaloREsidentsPeter Bialobrzeski, Anja Kempe, Hans-Christian Schink und Sabine Schründer bespielt.
 
Anja Kempes Installation „Inner Grid“, bestehend aus einer Bambusstruktur und drei Videos mit Hängematten, die an verschiedenen Orten in Fort Kochi hängen, zeigt sinnbildlich, was man in einem fremden Land spüren kann: „Eine Ambivalenz zwischen physischer Präsenz und Rückzug. Eine Annäherung an einen fremden Ort, an eine andere Kultur, an eine andere Sicht auf Körper“, so die Künstlerin.
 
In der Eröffnungswoche hat auch „The Current. Convening #2“ der Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Academy stattgefunden. Eine Vielzahl von Künstlern, Kuratoren und Kunstexperten hat sich im Cochin Club versammelt und über die Bedeutung der Ozeane, als Orte der Migration, des Austauschs und des internationalen Rechts, gesprochen. Dazu hat die legendäre US-amerikanische Künstlerin Joan Jonas eine multimediale Lecture-Performance, eine feinfühlige Hommage an das Meer und das Leben in den Ozeanen, am Vasco-da-Gama-Platz gegeben.

Poesie mitten im menschlichen Elend

Auch den chilenischen Dichter Raúl Zurita hat das Meer inspiriert: Er schuf die umfassende Installation „The Sea of Pain“ aus Meereswasser und Gedichten. Das Werk ist Galip Kurdi gewidmet. Er ist der Bruder des kleinen Jungen Aylan Kurdi, der auf seiner Flucht aus Syrien an der türkischen Küste Bodrums ums Leben gekommen ist. Während Besucher das Wasser sorglos betreten und sich Gedanken über die Wandschriften machen, kreist die Arbeit um die Vorstellung einer lebensgefährlichen Seereise.
 
Poetisch und inspirierend ist die kinetische Installation „Calls“ der japanischen Künstlerin Yuko Mohri. Stromkreise, aber auch japanische Volkserzählungen über verstorbene Menschen und deren spirituelle Präsenz, sind die Quellen der filigranen Arbeit aus vorgefundenen Materialien, Magneten und Fäden, die durch das Wehen des Windes Klänge erzeugen. Dabei suggeriert sie die Verbindung zwischen der physischen und spirituellen Welt.
 
Die Rolle der Kunst in der Gesellschaft ist das Leitmotiv der Biennale seit ihrer Gründung. Das Buch „India's Biennale Effect: A Politics of Contemporary Art“ soll einen Hinweis über die Auswirkung der Kochi-Muziris Biennale in Indien und in der globalen Kunstszene geben. Der Anspruch mit verschiedenen Gemeinschaften in Kontakt zu treten, ein breiteres Publikum miteinzubeziehen und landesweit zu agieren, macht sie einzigartig und sehenswert.