Goethe Medal 2017 Award for the Indian publisher Urvashi Butalia

Indian publisher Urvashi Butalia
© Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

Once a year, the Goethe-Institute awards the Goethe Medal, an official distinction from the German Federal Republic. This medal honors individuals who have displayed exceptional competence of the German language as well as in international cultural exchange. This year, three women are being distinguished with the award: Lebanese author, Emily Nasrallah; Russian journalist, translator and historian, Dr. Irina Lasarewna Scherbakowa; and Urvashi Butalia, who is from India.

Urvashi Butalia is a writer and publisher. She lives in New Delhi, where she’s taught at the university there for over twenty years. In 1984, she cofounded India’s first feminist publishing house, Kali for Women. Today she runs Zubaan Books, one of the most ambitious publishing houses in India, which focuses on the social sciences, especially feminist issues. She is particularly engaged with marginalized social groups. The texts Urvashi Butalia writes and her publications at Zubaan Books are aimed at raising awareness about their standards of living through literature and non-fiction documentation. Additionally, Urvashi Butalia publishes books for children and adolescents under the imprint Young Zubaan. These youth publications deal with topics that are still widely taboo in India and specifically aim to question common, gender-specific clichés.
 



Without being directly politically active herself, Urvashi Butalia is known throughout India for demanding rights for minorities and investigating India’s recent history –especially India’s partition, which is having its 70th anniversary in 2017 – from new perspectives. Her book, The Other Side of Silence, is one of the most influential books in South Asian studies to be published in recent decades. It’s the result of over 70 interviews that Butalia conducted with survivors of India’s partition. It emphasizes the role of violence against women in the collective experience of tragedy.

Since 1997, she regularly publishes articles in Lettre International on the state of women, on the socio-political developments in India and on the culture of remembrance on the Subcontinent after the partition of India in 1947.

Urvashi Butalia has participated in both the Indian and global women’s movement, including with the organization Samta, which advocates to change Indian law regarding violence against women, dowries and rape. She’s engaged as an advisor for various national and international organizations.

Urvashi Butalia’s association with the Goethe-Institutes in India, especially the Goethe-Institute in New Delhi, stretches back to the 1980s. She is a key person to turn to when it comes to gaining insight on the situation of women on the the Subcontinent, on human rights and on contemporary history, as well as on the literature and publishing scene in India and neighboring countries. On top of that, Urvashi Butalia is considered an inexhaustible source of inspiration and advice when planning relevant projects.

The Goethe Medal will be awarded to Urvashi Butalia  on August 28th, 2017 in Weimar, Germany and we warm-heartedly congratulate her today in the name of the Goethe-Institut India for this well-earned distinction.

Goethe-Medaille 2017 Auszeichnung für die indische Verlegerin Urvashi Butalia

Die indische Verlegerin Urvashi Butalia
© Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

Einmal jährlich verleiht das Goethe-Institut die Goethe-Medaille, eine offizielle Auszeichnung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Mit dieser Medaille werden Persönlichkeiten geehrt, die sich in besonderer Weise um die Vermittlung der deutschen Sprache sowie den internationalen Kulturaustausch verdient gemacht haben.
In diesem Jahr werden drei Frauen ausgezeichnet: die libanesische Schriftstellerin Emily Nasrallah, die russische Journalistin, Übersetzerin und Historikerin Dr. Irina Lasarewna Scherbakowa und Urvashi Butalia aus Indien.

Urvashi Butalia ist Autorin und Verlegerin. Sie lebt in New Delhi, wo sie über zwanzig Jahre lang an der Universität gelehrt hat. 1984 war sie Mitbegründerin des ersten feministischen indischen Verlags Kali for Women. Heute leitet sie den Verlag Zubaan Books, eines der ambitioniertesten Verlagshäuser in Indien mit Schwerpunkt auf sozialwissenschaftlichen, insbesondere feministischen Themen. Ihr Engagement gilt vor allem marginalisierten Gesellschaftsgruppen. Urvashi Butalias Texte und die Publikationen von Zubaan Books zielen darauf, mit den Mitteln der Literatur und der Dokumentation auf deren Lebensumstände aufmerksam zu machen. In der Reihe Young Zubaan publiziert Urvashi Butalia außerdem Kinder- und Jugendbücher, die sich mit Themen auseinandersetzen, die in Indien weitgehend tabuisiert werden und vor allem darauf abzielen, gängige geschlechtsspezifische Klischees zu hinterfragen.
 



Ohne direkt politisch aktiv zu sein, ist Urvashi Butalia landesweit dafür bekannt, die Rechte von Minderheiten einzufordern und die jüngere indische Vergangenheit, insbesondere die Teilung Indiens, die sich 2017 zum 70. Mal jährt, unter neuen Gesichtspunkten aufzuarbeiten. Ihr Buch The Other Side of Silence ist eines der einflussreichsten Bücher des vergangenen Jahrzehnts im Bereich Südasienstudien. Es ist das Ergebnis von mehr als 70 Interviews, die Butalia mit Überlebenden der Teilung Indiens durchgeführt hat, und betont insbesondere die Rolle der Gewalt gegen Frauen in der kollektiven Erfahrung der Tragödie.
 
Seit 1997 veröffentlicht sie regelmäßig Artikel in Lettre International zur Lage der Frauen und zu sozio-politischen Entwicklungen in Indien sowie zur Erinnerungskultur auf dem Subkontinent nach der Teilung Indiens im Jahr 1947.
 
Urvashi Butalia hat in indischen und globalen Frauenbewegungen aktiv teilgenommen, unter anderem mit Samta, einer Organisation, die für einen Wandel der indischen Gesetze über Gewalt gegen Frauen, Mitgift und Vergewaltigung eintritt. Sie ist als Beraterin für verschiedene nationale und internationale Organisationen tätig.
 
Die Verbindung der Goethe-Institute in Indien, insbesondere des Goethe-Instituts New Delhi, zu Urvashi Butalia reicht zurück bis in die 1980er Jahre. Sie ist eine zentrale Ansprechpartnerin, wenn es darum geht, Erkenntnisse über die Situation von Frauen auf dem Subkontinent, über Menschenrechts- und zeithistorische Fragen sowie über die Literatur- und Verlagsszenen in Indien und den Nachbarländern zu gewinnen. Darüber hinaus wird Urvashi Butalia als unerschöpfliche Quelle für Inspiration und Rat bei der Planung von einschlägigen Projekten hoch geschätzt.
 
Die Goethe-Medaille wird am 28. August 2017 in Weimar an Urvashi Butalia verliehen und wir gratulieren ihr im Namen des Goethe-Instituts Indien bereits jetzt ganz herzlich zu dieser verdienten Auszeichnung!