Transgender The power of fashion

Sadak | Berlin Fashion Week | spring/summer 2016
Sadak | Berlin Fashion Week | spring/summer 2016 | Photo | Soeren Stache, © dpa / picture alliance

Fashion exercises an avant-garde function for socially relevant discourse. It reflects the issue of transgender and ensures that the boundary between male and female becomes more permeable.

When William Fan designs a collection, he thinks in terms of material and silhouettes. Of a combination of fine materials such as silk and wool and of the cuts of functional workwear. What he does not think about are men and women. Because Fan’s style knows no gender –he designs classic shirts, casual trousers, jackets and coats. The single concession he makes: all his clothing comes in the sizes XS to XL, because people’s bodies after all have different heights and widths.

William Fan | Autumn/Winter 2017/18 William Fan | Autumn/Winter 2017/18 | © William Fan When a garment can be worn by men and women alike, it is called “unisex”. The term has long been a synonym for unsexy and for fashion that is so shapeless it fits virtually each and every body. But the term is becoming again interesting in a time which recognizes that the contrast between man and woman is not so natural. People born with male biological characteristics can feel feminine and vice versa. The dichotomy male-female does not reflect reality, but is rather a cultural construct.

Playing with identities

“I don’t put a ‘for men’ or ‘for women’ label on my fashion; that’s no longer the spirit of the times”, says Fan, who lives and works in Berlin and Hong Kong. He is regarded as one of the best young fashion designers in Germany.
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18

When the likewise Berlin-based designer Esther Perbandt is asked whether her fashion is androgynous, she talks of “gender bending models”. It is about being “in-between”. For Perbandt, fashion is a play of identities. “It’s a game and no one demands a clear affiliation.” In a legendary show for her Berlin label Sadak, the designer Saša Kovačević sent men in colourful burkas onto the catwalk. It was the most acclaimed show of the Berlin Summer Fashion Week 2015.

William Fan | Autumn/Winter 2017/18 William Fan | Autumn/Winter 2017/18 | © William Fan In fashion shows the antithesis of man/woman has become more and more blurred. Transgender models are as much in evidence in the campaigns of major fashion houses and chains as on the front pages of leading fashion magazines – an important step in the broad acceptance of transgender. In November 2016 Aydan Dowling was the first trans man to be seen on the cover of the American edition of Men's Health. A few months later the German edition followed suit and put the trans man Benjamin Melzer on the front page. The trans woman Andreja Pejic is a supermodel. In February 2017, the French Vogue put the Brazilian trans woman Valentina Sampaio on its cover under the title: “La beaute transgenre” – the beauty of transgender.
 
There have been transgender models before, but the transgender aspect was not broached. Nor is the question of gender identity new. David Bowie already played with ambiguity in the 1970s as Ziggy Stardust, as did Amanda Lear and Grace Jones, and more recently Conchita Wurst. The blurring of gender identities has a long history – for example, in the tradition of travesty and drag queens.

Dissolution of gender boundaries

In this, fashion has a very decisive role; it is fashion after all that furnishes the codes according to which we know whether clothed people are to be recognized as men or women and that help us to present ourselves as representatives of the other gender. Disguise and mistaken identity are a popular theme of comedies, whether in Shakespeare’s As You Like It or Billy Wilder’s Some Like It Hot.

William Fan | Summer 2017 William Fan | Summer 2017 | © William Fan Thus fashion has the power to redefine gender. And it has a pioneering role when it comes to the dissolution of gender boundaries. At the end of 2016, Gertrud Lehnert, Professor of Comparative Literature at the University of Potsdam, published together with Maria Weilandt the book Ist Mode queer? Neue Perspektiven der Modeforschung (Is Fashion Queer? New perspectives in fashion research). She has been studying fashion and gender boundaries for a long time. “Queerness is the deliberate and conscious subversion of norms and appearances”, she says. And adds: “Queerness originates in the lesbian-gay community and means living outside heteronormativity, feeling yourself to be different and also staging yourself differently, generating different images of yourself. In essence, we can say that queerness is the destabilizing of meanings, of attributions, of the seemingly self-evident.”
 
Fashion treats the issue of gender identity in a variety of ways. It does so in its own playful, transitory and also a bit superficial way. And yet precisely because fashion, with its avant-garde function, attracts so much attention, it becomes an important factor in gaining recognition for the issue of transgender and so for achieving its social acceptance.

Transgender Die Kraft der Mode

Sadak | Berlin Fashion Week | Kollektionen Frühjahr/Sommer 2016
Sadak | Berlin Fashion Week | Kollektionen Frühjahr/Sommer 2016 | Foto | Soeren Stache, © dpa / picture alliance

Mode hat eine Avantgarde-Funktion für gesellschaftlich relevante Diskurse. Sie reflektiert das Thema Transgender und sorgt dafür, dass die Grenze zwischen männlich und weiblich durchlässiger wird.

Wenn William Fan eine Kollektion entwirft, denkt er an Stoffe und Silhouetten. An eine Kombination aus edlen Materialien wie Seide und Wolle und den Schnitten funktioneller Arbeitskleidung. Woran er nicht denkt, sind Männer und Frauen. Denn Fans Stil hat kein Geschlecht – er entwirft klassische Hemden, lässig sitzenden Hosen, Jacken und Mäntel. Das einzige Zugeständnis das er macht: Es gibt alle Teile in den Größen XS bis XL, denn die Körper der Menschen haben nun mal verschiedene Höhen und Breiten.

William Fan | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 William Fan | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 | © William Fan Unisex nennt man es, wenn ein Kleidungsstück von Männern und Frauen gleichermaßen getragen werden kann. Doch der Begriff war lange ein Synonym für unsexy und für eine Mode, die so unförmig ist, dass quasi jeder Körper hineinpasst. Doch er wird wieder interessant in einer Zeit, die erkennt, dass der Gegensatz zwischen Mann und Frau gar nicht so natürlich ist. Menschen, die mit biologischen männlichen Geschlechtsmerkmalen geboren wurden, können sich weiblich fühlen und umgekehrt. Die Dichotomie männlich-weiblich bildet nicht die Realität ab, sondern ist eine kulturelles Konstrukt.

Spiel mit den Identitäten

„Ich gebe meiner Mode keinen Stempel ‚für Männer‘ oder ‚für Frauen‘, das entspricht nicht mehr dem Zeitgeist“, sagt William Fan, der in Berlin und Hongkong lebt und arbeitet. Er zählt zu den besten jungen Modedesignern in Deutschland.
 
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18
  • Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss
    Esther Perbandt | Herbst/Winter 2017/18

Wenn sie gefragt wird, ob ihre Mode androgyn sei, spricht die ebenfalls in Berlin lebende Designerin Esther Perbandt von „Gender-Bender Models“. Es geht eben um genau das „Dazwischen-Sein“. Für sie ist Mode ein Wechsel von Identitäten. „Es ist ein Spiel und keiner verlangt eine klare Zugehörigkeit.“ Designer Saša Kovačević schickte für sein Berliner Label Sadak zu einer legendären Vorstellung Männer in farbenfrohen Burkas auf den Laufsteg. Es wurde zur meistbeachteten Show der Berliner Sommer-Fashionweek 2015.

William Fan | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 William Fan | Herbst/Winter 2017/18 | © William Fan Auch bei der Präsentation von Mode wird der Gegensatz Mann-Frau immer fließender. Transgender-Models treten bei den Kampagnen der großen Modehäuser und -ketten ebenso in Erscheinung, wie auf den Titelblättern der führenden Modezeitschriften – ein wichtiger Moment für die breite Akzeptanz von Transgender. Im November 2016 war dann mit Aydan Dowling erstmals ein Transmann auf der US-Ausgabe von Men's Health zu sehen. Ein paar Monate später zog die deutsche Ausgabe nach und hatte Transmann Benjamin Melzer auf dem Titel. Die Transfrau Andreja Pejic ist ein Supermodel. Im Februar 2017 nahm die französische Vogue die brasilianische Transfrau Valentina Sampaio aufs Cover und titelte: „La beaute transgenre“ – die Schönheit des Transgender.
 
Zwar gab es Transgendermodels  auch schon vorher , es wurde nur nicht thematisiert. Und auch die Frage nach der Geschlechtsidentität ist nicht neu. David Bowie hat als Ziggy Stardust schon in den 1970er-Jahren mit Ambiguität gespielt, ebenso wie Amanda Lear und Grace Jones und in jüngerer Zeit Conchita Wurst. Das Verwischen der Geschlechtsidentitäten hat eine lange Geschichte, beispielsweise in der Tradition der Travestie und der Drag Queens.

Auflösung der Geschlechtergrenzen

Der Mode kommt dabei eine ganz entscheidende Rolle zu, ist sie es doch, die uns beim bekleideten Menschen die Codes gibt, ob wir einen Mann oder eine Frau erkennen und die uns hilft, uns als Vertreter des anderen Geschlechts auszugeben. Verkleiden und Verwechseln – ein beliebter Stoff für Komödien, ob in Shakespeares Was ihr wollt oder in Billy Wilders Some like it Hot.

William Fan | Sommer 2017 William Fan | Sommer 2017 | © William Fan Die Mode hat also die Kraft, Geschlechter zu definieren. Und sie hat eine Vorreiterrolle, wenn es um die Auflösung der Geschlechtergrenzen geht. Gertrud Lehnert, Professorin an der Universität Potsdam, hat Ende 2016 gemeinsam mit Maria Weilandt das Buch Ist Mode queer? Neue Perspektiven der Modeforschung herausgegeben. Sie forscht schon lange zum Thema Mode und Geschlechtergrenzen. „Queerness ist das absichtliche und bewusste Unterlaufen von Normen und Erscheinungsbildern“, sagt sie. Und ergänzt: „Queerness kommt aus der lesbisch-schwulen Community, und bedeutet, außerhalb der Heteronormativität zu leben, sich anders zu fühlen und auch sich anders zu inszenieren, andere Bilder von sich zu erzeugen. Im Kern kann man sagen: Queerness ist das Instabilmachen von Bedeutungen, von Zuschreibungen, von scheinbar Selbstverständlichem.“
 
Mode behandelt das Thema der Geschlechtsidentität auf vielfältige Weise. Sie tut das auf ihre eigene spielerische, transitorisch und auch ein bisschen oberflächliche Weise. Und trotzdem: Gerade weil Mode mit ihrer Avantgardefunktion so viel Aufmerksamkeit auf sich zieht, wird sie zu einem wichtigen Faktor, um dem Thema Transgender eine breite Aufmerksamkeit zu bescheren und damit die Akzeptanz in der Gesellschaft zu erreichen.