Hornbill Festival Chasing hornbills, headhunters and the spiciest chili in the world

From Galdan Namchot in northern India to Cochin Carnival in the south. From Rann Utsav in the west to Wangala in the northeast. The diversity of festivals on the Indian Subcontinent is just as colorful as the festivals themselves. Today we present a highlight from Nagaland: The Hornbill Festival. Sixteen ethnic groups from the small state plus neighboring clans travel to the huge event and present traditional costumes, rituals and dances.

Tribal Warriors
Tribal Warriors | © Erdmuthe Hacken

The hornbill is calling. To distant Nagaland. The majestic animal is not only worshipped here in northeastern India, it’s also the namesake of the festival, which focuses every year in December on folklore, traditions and the cultural heritage of the small Indian union state. The ethnic group, which is very close to the Mongols and was Christianized by Baptists in about 1870, is known for its immense hunger for education (the rate of illiteracy is astonishingly low), amazing equal rights for women for India and for its decades of isolation, the consequences of which the Nagas are now eagerly seeking to overcome.

Independence efforts, however, are hardly an issue today. On the contrary. With a national consciousness across ethnic groups, healthy pragmatism and a positive view of the future, the Nagas are trying to make the best of their situation on the fringes of India and to capitalize on their remote and inaccessible world. The Hornbill Festival is the culmination of these endeavors, especially with regard to tourism.
 

  • The stage © Kehm/Hacken
    The stage
  • Hornbills © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Hornbills
  • The Arena © Kehm/Hacken
    The Arena
  • Curious © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Curious
  • Curious too © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Curious too
  • Proud entering © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Proud entering
  • Move in with instruments © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Move in with instruments
  • Dancing with sticks © Kehm/Hacken
    Dancing with sticks
  • Moves with grace © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Moves with grace
  • Break © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Break
It is the annual highlight in the Naga calendar. Perfectly organized by the National Tourism Board and the Art & Culture Department of Nagaland, the lively atmosphere attracts thousands of spectators. These include not only locals, but increasingly also guests from Central India and abroad. That's why they had to beef it up. Up until 2012, the Hornbill always took place from 1 to 7 December. Since 2013, it has taken a few more days, from 1 to 10 December.
 
  • Tribal Warriors © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Tribal Warriors
  • Tribal Warriors © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Tribal Warriors
  • Tribal Warriors © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Tribal Warriors
  • Tribal Warriors © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Tribal Warriors
  • Tribal Warriors © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Tribal Warriors
  • Tribal Warriors © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Tribal Warriors

War dances and mating songs

Beyond the high plains of northeast India, between snow-covered mountain peaks and the green valley of Brahmaputra, far away from historical and modern trade routes, the indigenous tribes bear such sonorous names as Angami, Konyak or Yimchungrü. They present their traditional art and traditional dances, songs and competitions in the Kisama Heritage Village, about ten kilometers north of Kohima. Wild battle cries, energetic drums and sweet songs resound from the huge amphitheater. The arena is surrounded by traditional huts, the so-called Morungs, which are decorated with all kinds of wood carvings.
 
  • War dance © Erdmuthe Hacken
    War dance
  • In Action: The war dances are wild and divers © Erdmuthe Hacken
    In Action: The war dances are wild and divers
  • Dancing between the Morungs © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Dancing between the Morungs
  • Morungs © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Morungs
  • Morungs © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Morungs
  • Feathered headdress on standby © Kehm/Hacken
    Feathered headdress on standby
  • Infront of a Morung © Kehm/Hacken
    Infront of a Morung
  • Carving © Kehm/Hacken
    Carving
  • Chai in a Morung © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Chai in a Morung
You quickly find yourself inside again and come into conversation with the proud Nagas over the open fire with steaming tea from reed cups. The descendants of the dreaded headhunters gladly take tourists into their midst and smile friendly and patiently in high-tech cameras and smartphones today. Thanks to the Hornbill-Wifi, countless selfies of half-naked, tattooed warriors adorned with boar teeth and rhinoceros bird feathers find their way around the world in real time.

The local rice beer is served in the next hut, a brew whose harmless taste should not be underestimated. Nor should the King Chili, which was recognized by the Guinness Book of Records as the spiciest chili pepper. For the very obstinate, this is rather an incentive: At the hottest competition of the Hornbill Festival they stuff the big red pods into each other's mouths one by one. Even when you're watching, it takes your breath away.

Homestay with family connection

Insiders and avid fans are convinced that the first three days of the festival are those most worth seeing. Therefore, early planning is recommended. Flights are quickly full, hotels are booked out. This year, hostess Cathrine is opening two rooms of her house for the first time to guests. On the fly. After an urgent call from the tourist office. Accommodation was scarce so they asked whether she could help out. She could.
 
  • Local women © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Local women
  • On the way to the performance © Kehm/Hacken
    On the way to the performance
  • Dressed to impress © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Dressed to impress
  • Male choir © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Male choir
  • Female choir accompanied © Kehm/Hacken
    Female choir accompanied
  • Relaxed © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Relaxed
  • Interested audience © Kehm/Hacken
    Interested audience
  • Observers © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Observers
  • Creative headdress © Kehm/Hacken
    Creative headdress
  • Saber-rattling © Kehm/Hacken
    Saber-rattling
  • Ready for dancing © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Ready for dancing
  • Thoughtful © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Thoughtful
  • Unwatched © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Unwatched
  • Highly concentrated © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Highly concentrated
The homestays in Kohima, which only boasts a handful of hotels, are rapidly gaining ground. Simple, clean rooms, with breathtaking views of the foothills of the Himalayas and surprisingly warm hospitality. What’s not around is made possible. Without much attention. But with all the more heart and soul.

The wonderful madness of Naganess

Lovely, good-natured, sociable, open-minded, hospitable and pleasantly curious: these are the keywords that keep falling if you want to get to the bottom of the "Naganess" beyond the Hornbill. Caused by an irrepressible pride, a status-conscious culture and a connection with the homeland that’s rarely so deeply felt. This becomes clear on the first evening of the festival. After many speeches and the first dances in the festival village, the tourism minister invited Naga artists to a musical evening at the Oriental Grand, the first hotel on site. By the way, this is just one of the numerous events in the cultural program.

Under the motto "Expressions,” we will experience a concert with local talents that could not have expressed the essence of the Naga soul better. Nise Meruno, a pianist and baritone, has not only gathered an astonishing variety of musicians, he also lends the whole thing an emotional frame, whose spark immediately leaps over to the outsider.

The language of music

The energetic all-around-talent, Meruno, who claims to have classical music in his blood, has no lesser goal than promoting Naga folk and classical music beyond Kohima's borders. This evening will be a success: Young singers and pianists, actors, Miss Nagaland 2010 and an award-winning choir will bring traditional songs into the cold night and a feeling of the “wonderful madness of Naganess” to the stage.
 
  • Nise Menuro © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Nise Menuro
  • C. Apok Jamir, parliamentary secretary for tourism, his wife Amenla and Nise Meruno © Erdmuthe Hacken
    C. Apok Jamir, parliamentary secretary for tourism, his wife Amenla and Nise Meruno
  • "Expressions": All artists © Kehm/Hacken
    "Expressions": All artists
In addition to folk and classical music, the Nagas (in contrast to Northern India) have a special preference for rock music. A few years ago, for example, the German rock band Helloween as well as Chris Norman with Smokie were guests in Kohima. Due to its popularity, the Hornbill International Rock Contest, which is also an integral part of the Hornbill Festival, is now taking place in Dimapur. Boney M was engaged for the final concert in 2017.

On the road and in the air

Nagaland, which is the corner of India, is best known as one of the seven sisters in the extreme northeast of India. C. Apok Jamir, parliamentary secretary for tourism, also confirms that there is still a lot to be done for the notoriety of his homeland. More than just printing glossy brochures and creating colorful festivals. The infrastructure alone is already reaching its limits. The National Highway connecting Dimapur Airport with Kohima, the capital city, is in such a desolate state that one is inclined to consider whether the helicopter would not have been the better choice. It takes three hours until you've tormented yourself over the 75 kilometres of dusty and pothole fringed piste.
 
  • Nagaland © Kehm/Hacken
    Nagaland
  • Beautiful surrounding © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Beautiful surrounding
  • Back Country © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Back Country
  • The capital Kohima © Erdmuthe Hacken
    The capital Kohima
  • Atmospheric Kohima at sun set © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Atmospheric Kohima at sun set
  • At night in the capital © Erdmuthe Hacken
    At night in the capital
  • One of the many villages in Kohima district © Erdmuthe Hacken
    One of the many villages in Kohima district
  • Naga Heritage Village © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Naga Heritage Village
  • Nagaland - unexplored horizons © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Nagaland - unexplored horizons
  • Natural beauty © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Natural beauty

Shaken and inspired

Apok Jamir draws attention to the competence of the central government. Similar to German federal highways, the responsibility, especially the financial responsibility, would lie in Delhi. You can see excavators and workers at the roadside in all places. But only the stars know when the highway will be completely renewed. For the time being, quick repairs are needed. After three days, however, this surface cosmetics will crumble to such an extent that the way back to the airport is even more strenuous.

Flights are the other issue surrounding the regional government. There are only two airlines, each offering a direct connection from Kolkata, not even once a day. That's not enough. Chief Minister T. R. Zeliang also makes an urgent appeal to local airlines in his opening speech on the first day of the festival.

At the moment, all this does not detract from the rush. The grandstands are filled to the last seat. The few European guests, who combine the Hornbill Festival with a tour through the less developed northeast, are especially enthusiastic.
 
  • Outlook © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Outlook
  • Dangerous? © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Dangerous?
  • Peaceful © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Peaceful
  • Kind © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Kind
  • Colourful © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Colourful
  • Proud © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Proud
  • strong-willed © Erdmuthe Hacken
    strong-willed
  • Familial © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Familial
  • Confused © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Confused
  • Funny © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Funny
  • Tired © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Tired

Hornbill Festival Auf den Spuren von Nashornvögeln, Kopfjägern und der schärfsten Chili der Welt

Vom Galdan Namchot im Norden Indiens zum Cochin Carnival im Süden. Vom Rann Utsav im Westen zum Wangala im Nordosten. Die Vielfalt der Festivals auf dem indischen Subkontinent ist genauso bunt wie die Feste selbst. Heute stellen wir ein Highlight aus Nagaland vor: das Hornbill Festival. Zu diesem Großereignis reisen alle 16 Volksstämme des kleinen Bundesstaates plus Anrainer-Clans an und präsentieren traditionelle Trachten, Rituale und Tänze.

Ein Stammeskrieger
Ein Stammeskrieger | © Erdmuthe Hacken

Der Nashornvogel ruft. Ins entfernte Nagaland. Das majestätische Tier, das auf Englisch „Hornbill“ heißt, wird hier im Nordosten Indiens nicht nur verehrt, es ist auch Namensgeber jenes Festivals, das jedes Jahr im Dezember Folklore, Traditionen und das kulturelle Erbe des kleinen indischen Unionsstaates in den Mittelpunkt rückt. Bekannt ist das Völkchen, das den Mongolen sehr nahe ist und durch Baptisten seit ca. 1870 christianisiert wurde, vor allem für seinen immensen Bildungshunger (die Analphabetenrate ist erstaunlich niedrig), die für Indien ebenso erstaunliche Gleichberechtigung der Frauen sowie für seine jahrzehnte­lange Iso­lation, deren Folgen die Nagas jetzt mit großem Eifer zu überwinden suchen.
 
Unabhängigkeitsbestrebungen dagegen sind heute kaum noch Thema. Im Gegenteil. Mit stammesübergreifendem Nationalbewusstsein, gesundem Pragmatismus und positivem Blick nach vorn versuchen die Nagas, das Beste aus ihrer Lage am Rande Indiens zu machen. Und Kapital aus ihrer entrückten und unzugänglich gelegenen Lebenswelt zu schlagen. Diese Bemühungen, vor allem auch um touristischen Anschluss, gipfeln im Hornbill Festival.
 

  • Die Bühne © Kehm/Hacken
    Die Bühne
  • Hornbills © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Hornbills
  • Die Arena © Kehm/Hacken
    Die Arena
  • Neugierig © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Neugierig
  • Ebenfalls neugierig © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Ebenfalls neugierig
  • Stolzer Einmarsch © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Stolzer Einmarsch
  • Aufmarsch mit Instrumenten © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Aufmarsch mit Instrumenten
  • Tanz mit Stöcken © Kehm/Hacken
    Tanz mit Stöcken
  • Bewegung mit Grazie © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Bewegung mit Grazie
  • Pause © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Pause
Es ist der jährliche Höhepunkt im Kalender der Nagas. Perfekt durchorganisiert vom staatlichen Tourismusamt und dem Art & Culture Department of Nagaland lockt das quirlige Treiben Tausende von Zuschauern. Darunter nicht nur Einheimische, sondern zunehmend auch Gäste aus Zentral-Indien und dem Ausland. Deshalb musste man aufstocken. Bis 2012 fand das Hornbill immer vom 1. bis zum 7. Dezember statt. Seit 2013 dauert es einige Tage länger, vom 1. bis zum 10. Dezember.
 
  • Stammeskrieger © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Stammeskrieger
  • Stammeskrieger © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Stammeskrieger
  • Stammeskrieger © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Stammeskrieger
  • Stammeskrieger © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Stammeskrieger
  • Stammeskrieger © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Stammeskrieger
  • Stammeskrieger © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Stammeskrieger

Kriegstänze und Balzgesänge

Jenseits der Hochebenen Nordostindiens, zwischen verschneiten Berggipfeln und dem grünen Tal des Brahmaputra, fernab von historischen und modernen Handelsrouten tragen die einheimischen Volksstämme so klangvolle Namen wie Angami, Konyak oder Yimchungrü. Ihre traditionelle Kunst und ihre überlieferten Tänze, Gesänge und Wettkämpfe präsentieren sie im Kisama Heritage Village, etwa zehn Kilometer nördlich der Hauptstadt Kohima. Wilde Schlachtrufe, energetisches Trommeln und liebliche Gesänge schallen aus dem riesigen Amphitheater. Die Arena ist umgeben von traditionellen Hütten, den so genannten Morungs, die mit allerlei Holzschnitzereien verziert sind.
 
  • Kriegstanz © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Kriegstanz
  • In Aktion: Die Kriegstänze sind wild und vielfältig © Erdmuthe Hacken
    In Aktion: Die Kriegstänze sind wild und vielfältig
  • Vor den Morungs wird getanzt © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Vor den Morungs wird getanzt
  • Morungs © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Morungs
  • Morungs © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Morungs
  • Federhaarschmuck bereit zum Einsatz © Kehm/Hacken
    Federhaarschmuck bereit zum Einsatz
  • Vor einem Morung © Kehm/Hacken
    Vor einem Morung
  • Schnitzereien © Kehm/Hacken
    Schnitzereien
  • Chai im Morung © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Chai im Morung
Schnell findet man sich im Inneren wieder und kommt am offenen Feuer bei dampfendem Tee aus Schilfrohrbechern mit den stolzen Nagas ins Gespräch. Die Nachfahren der gefürchteten Kopfjäger nehmen heute Touristen gerne in ihre Mitte und lächeln freundlich und geduldig in High-Tech-Kameras und Smartphones. Dank des Hornbill-Wifis finden ungezählte Selfies von halbnackten, tätowierten sowie mit Eberzähnen und Nashornvogelfedern geschmückten Kriegern in real-time den Weg in alle Welt.
 
Schon in der nächsten Hütte wird das lokale Reisbier serviert, ein Gebräu, dessen harmlosen Geschmack man keineswegs unterschätzen sollte. Ebenso wenig wie den King Chili, der vom Guinness Buch der Rekorde als schärfster Chilipfeffer der Welt anerkannt wurde. Für die ganz Hartgesottenen ist das eher Ansporn: Beim heißesten Wettbewerb des Hornbill Festivals stopfen sie sich die großen roten Schoten eine nach der anderen um die Wette in den Mund. Schon beim Zusehen verschlägt es einem den Atem.

Homestay mit Familienanschluss

Insider und eingefleischte Fans sind überzeugt, dass die ersten drei Tage des Festivals die sehenswertesten sind. Deshalb empfiehlt sich eine frühzeitige Planung. Flüge sind schnell voll, Hotels ausgebucht. Gastgeberin Cathrine öffnet in diesem Jahr zwei Zimmer ihres Hauses zum ersten Mal für Gäste. Ganz spontan. Nach einem dringenden Anruf des Tourismusbüros. Die Unterkünfte würden knapp, ob sie nicht aushelfen könne. Sie konnte.
 
  • Einheimische Frauen © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Einheimische Frauen
  • Auf dem Weg zur Aufführung © Kehm/Hacken
    Auf dem Weg zur Aufführung
  • Herausgeputzt © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Herausgeputzt
  • Männerchor © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Männerchor
  • Frauenchor mit Begleitung © Kehm/Hacken
    Frauenchor mit Begleitung
  • Entspannt © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Entspannt
  • Interessierte Zuschauer © Kehm/Hacken
    Interessierte Zuschauer
  • Beobachterinnen © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Beobachterinnen
  • Kreativer Kopfschmuck © Kehm/Hacken
    Kreativer Kopfschmuck
  • Säbelrasseln © Kehm/Hacken
    Säbelrasseln
  • Bereit zum Tanz © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Bereit zum Tanz
  • Nachdenklich © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Nachdenklich
  • Unbeobachtet © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Unbeobachtet
  • Hochkonzentriert © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Hochkonzentriert
Überhaupt sind die Homestays in Kohima, das lediglich mit einer Handvoll Hotels aufwarten kann, rasant auf dem Vormarsch. Einfache, saubere Zimmer, mit teils atemberaubenden Blicken auf die vorgebirgliche Landschaft des Himalaya und einer überraschend warmherzigen Gastfreundschaft. Was nicht ist, wird möglich gemacht. Ohne großes Aufsehen. Dafür mit umso mehr Herz und Seele.

The wonderful madness of Naganess

Liebenswürdig, gutmütig, gesellig, aufgeschlossen, gastlich und angenehm neugierig: Das sind die Stichwörter, die immer wieder fallen, wenn man der „Naganess“ jenseits des Hornbills auf den Grund gehen will. Hervorgerufen von einem unbändigen Stolz, einer statusbewussten Kultur und einer selten so tief empfundenen Verbundenheit mit der Heimat. Deutlich wird dies am ersten Abend des Festivals. Nach vielen Reden und ersten Tänzen im Festivaldorf hat der Tourismusminister zum musikalischen Abend mit Naga Künstlern ins Oriental Grand, erstes Hotel am Platze, geladen. Übrigens nur eine von zahlreichen Veranstaltungen des kulturellen Rahmenprogrammes.
 
Unter dem Motto „Expressions“ erleben wir ein Konzert mit einheimischen Talenten, das das Wesen der Naga-Seele nicht besser hätte zum Ausdruck bringen können. Nise Meruno, seines Zeichens Pianist und Barriton, hat nicht nur eine erstaunliche Vielfalt an Musikern versammelt, er verleiht dem Ganzen auch einen emotionalen Rahmen, dessen Funke sofort auf den Außenstehenden überspringt.

Die Sprache der Musik

Das umtriebige Allroundtalent Meruno, das eigenen Angaben zufolge die klassische Musik im Blut hat, verfolgt keine geringeres Ziel, als Naga-Folk und -Klassik über Kohimas Grenzen hinaus zu promoten. An diesem Abend gelingt es: Junge Nachwuchssänger und Pianisten, Schauspieler, Miss Nagaland 2010 und ein prämierter Chor bringen traditionelle Lieder in die kalte Nacht und ein Gefühl der „wonderful madness of Naganess“ auf die Bühne.
 
  • Nise Menuro © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Nise Menuro
  • C. Apok Jamir, parlamentarischer Sekretär für Tourismus, mit seiner Frau Amenla und Nise Meruno © Erdmuthe Hacken
    C. Apok Jamir, parlamentarischer Sekretär für Tourismus, mit seiner Frau Amenla und Nise Meruno
  • "Expressions": Alle Künstler © Kehm/Hacken
    "Expressions": Alle Künstler
Neben Volks- und klassischer Musik haben die Nagas (etwa im Gegensatz zu Nordindern) eine besondere Vorliebe für Rockmusik. Vor einigen Jahren waren beispielsweise die deutsche Rockband Helloween sowie Chris Norman mit Smokie zu Gast in Kohima. Aufgrund der großen Beliebtheit findet der Hornbill International Rock Contest, ebenfalls fester Bestandteil des Hornbill Festivals, mittlerweile in Dimapur statt. Zum Abschlusskonzert 2017 wurde Boney M verpflichtet.

Auf der Straße und in der Luft

Nagaland, das ist ein Zipfel in Indien, den viele allenfalls als eine der sieben Schwestern im äußersten Nordosten Indiens kennen. Auch C. Apok Jamir, parlamentarischer Sekretär für Tourismus, bestätigt, dass für die Bekanntheit seiner Heimat noch einiges getan werden müsse. Und zwar mehr, als Hochglanzbroschüren zu drucken und bunte Festivals auf die Beine zu stellen. Allein die Infrastruktur stößt bereits an ihre Grenzen. Der National Highway, der den Flughafen in Dimapur mit der Hauptstadt Kohima verbindet, ist in einem derart desolaten Zustand, dass man kurz geneigt ist zu überlegen, ob der Hubschrauber nicht doch die bessere Wahl gewesen wäre. Drei Stunden dauert es, bis man sich über die 75 Kilometer staubige und schlaglochgesäumte Buckelpiste gequält hat.

 
  • Nagaland © Kehm/Hacken
    Nagaland
  • Traumhafte Umgebung © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Traumhafte Umgebung
  • Das Hinterland © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Das Hinterland
  • Die Hauptstadt Kohima © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Die Hauptstadt Kohima
  • Abendstimmung in der Hauptstadt Kohima © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Abendstimmung in der Hauptstadt Kohima
  • Nachts in der Hauptstadt © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Nachts in der Hauptstadt
  • Ein Dorf im Kohima district © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Ein Dorf im Kohima district
  • Naga Heritage Village © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Naga Heritage Village
  • Nagaland - bis zum Horizont © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Nagaland - bis zum Horizont
  • Natürliche Schönheit © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Natürliche Schönheit

Durchgeschüttelt und begeistert

Apok Jamir verweist hier auf die Zuständigkeit der Zentralregierung. Vergleichbar mit deutschen Bundesfernstraßen läge die Verantwortung, vor allem die finanzielle, in Delhi. Zwar sieht man aller Orten Bagger und Arbeiter am Straßenrand; bis wann der Highway jedoch rundum erneuert ist, steht in den Sternen. Fürs Erste behilft man sich mit schnellen Ausbesserungen. Nach drei Tagen bröckelt diese Oberflächenkosmetik allerdings schon wieder so massiv, dass der Rückweg zum Flughafen noch anstrengender ausfällt.
 
Flüge sind das andere Thema, das die Regionalregierung umtreibt. Nur zwei Airlines, die jeweils eine Direktverbindung von Kolkata anbieten, und das noch nicht einmal täglich. Das sei nicht genug. Befindet auch Chief Minister T. R. Zeliang und appelliert in seiner Eröffnungsrede am ersten Festivaltag eindringlich an die lokalen Fluggesellschaften.
 
Im Moment tut all dies dem Andrang keinen Abbruch. Die Tribünen sind bis auf den letzten Platz gefüllt. Besonders die wenigen europäischen Gäste, die das Hornbill Festival mit einer Rundreise durch den touristisch wenig erschlosseneren Nordosten verbinden, sind begeistert.
 
  • Ausblick © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Ausblick
  • Gefährlich? © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Gefährlich?
  • Friedlich © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Friedlich
  • Freundlich © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Freundlich
  • Bunt © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Bunt
  • Stolz © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Stolz
  • Entschlossen © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Entschlossen
  • Familiär © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Familiär
  • Verwirrt © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Verwirrt
  • Lustig © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Lustig
  • Müde © Erdmuthe Hacken
    Müde