Festival Magnetic Fields Electronic sounds amongst a desert palace and its outskirts

The ‘Magnetic Fields’ music festival invited visitors from all over the world to India’s Rajasthan to plunge in and immerse themselves amongst a palace in the desert for three days.

Willow performs on the main stage
Willow performs on the main stage | © Natalie Mayroth

The Mahal Alsisar lies at 28.3036 degrees north, 75.2853 degrees east in Rajasthan’s historic desert region, Shekhawati. For a weekend in December, the palace behind the elephant-high gates made of light sandstone transforms into an electronic music festival, which primarily draws visitors from big cities.

Winter has begun in the country’s north – and the air quality in cities is rarely as bad as it is this time of year. It’s a time when 3,000 people – music lovers from Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore, Kolkata and a few hundred from the rest of the world – head to Alsisar. They’re fleeing the smog, noise and hustle bustle of the metropolises.

Hypnotic visuals move over the almost 400-year-old walls. Bass blasts through the Rajput arches.  The ornate palace halls and stuffy air are exchanged  for techno, EDM and ambient music for 72 hours. People follow their own rules over the next days in the world of Magnetic Fields, over which the patron, Abhimanyu Singh Alsisar, owner of the Mahal, presides.

Musical Commitment

The idea for Magnetic Fields came up over five years ago and it’s been growing since then. “We looked for a place far outside of the city (Delhi), because we only wanted people to come who are committed to music. A place that’s four hours from the next airport and lasts for three days,” explains Munbir Chawla, who moved to India, his parents’ homeland, from London six years ago with this wife, Sarah. Since then, the couple have been running the music blog and label, ‘Wild City.’ They brought the music festival to life in a luxury hotel, together with the ‘Prinz von Alsisar,’ the designer of WeThePPL and two other partners.

You can hear Indian and international acts on various stages: In palace halls, on the roof terrace for sundown, in the hip-hop garden, on the festival grounds atop sand, in the jazz club or in some tents that turn into private parties.
If you still have energy after dancing in the afternoon, you can participate in yoga workshops and treasure hunts, or you can discover the town of Alsisar, with a population of 5,000. You sleep in the suites of the Alsisar Mahalm in bedouin tents outside the palace walls or in an inexpensive room in a fresco-adorned villas along the town streets called ‘Havelis.’
  • Amongst a palace in the desert: ‚Magnetic Fields’ © Natalie Mayroth
    Amongst a palace in the desert: ‚Magnetic Fields’
  • Haveli close to the Alsisar Mahal © Natalie Mayroth
    Haveli close to the Alsisar Mahal
  • Bedouin tents on the campgrounds © Natalie Mayroth
    Bedouin tents on the campgrounds
  • Alsisar Mahal at night © Natalie Mayroth
    Alsisar Mahal at night

Indian-international Lineup

There’s a divers mix of Indian and international artists. The band, Say Yes Dog, and She’s Drunk aka David Monnin, have come from Berlin. Four Tet, Ben UFO, Special Request and Willow are the UK headliners. But what’s especially strong, besides for the Willow set, is the disco-house sound by the producer Jayda G, who splits time between Vancouver and Berlin, and the sound of the Indian live-act Sandunes on the keyboard, Madame Gandhi, with a mix of pop and rap and the producer, Tarana Marwah aka Komorebi, who performs twice. “It’s important to contribute to a movement,” she says. India is begging for a music culture, an identity beyond Bollywood – and I have the feeling of contributing to the future of this scene.”

Indian producer, Komorebi, on stage Indian producer, Komorebi, on stage | © Natalie Mayroth The British-Indian music video project, ‘Different Trains 1947,’  audio-visualizes India’s partition 70-years-ago, is political without being directly critical. British colonial rule was over, but over the course of its end, 20 million people were expelled and deported. The ‘different train’ decided what country they would live in in the future. It’s a moving topic which was realized by Actress, Jack Barnett, Jivraj Singh, Sandunes (Sanaya Ardeshir) and the singer Priya Purushothaman.

Different Trains 1947 Artist Sandunes, alias Sanaya Ardeshir Different Trains 1947 Artist Sandunes, alias Sanaya Ardeshir | © Natalie Mayroth The royal Rajput atmosphere gives life to the sounds of rural, northern India, which you can year on the Puqaar terrace with musicians from Rajasthan and Gujarat. They play loud and sharp tones on the double-reed instrument ‘shehnai.’ They drum, strum string instruments and sing along plaintively.
 
 
The stage, audience and palace walls are immersed in blue light for the round and peaceful headliner live set by Kieran Hebden, known as Four Tet and the sirenesque music wafts over the palace with a live version of ‘Two Thousand and Sventeen.’ During his Dj set, he plays songs by the Indian singer,  Lata Mangeshkar, to great enthusiasm.  And his audience never tires of seeing him, even during his fourth appearance at an afterparty in Delhi.

People don’t just dance to the sounds of Magnetic Fields in the palace. Locals listen in too, from their rooftops and in front of the palace gates. Life suddenly comes back to the former merchant settlement. Relatives come back. They help out with homesteads and temporary kiosks.

And the electromagnetic interactions – forces of attraction and repulsion – promised in the name, can be felt all over the place: between those partying and those working; between live bands and techno sets; between the desert oasis at sunrise and leaving the basement bar. Although it’s been around for five years, it remains a clash of subcultures.

Festival Magnetic Fields Elektronische Klänge zwischen Wüstenpalast und Peripherie

Ende Dezember lud das Musikfestival ‚Magnetic Fields’ Besucher aus aller Welt ein, um im indischen Rajasthan drei Tage zwischen Wüste und Palast in Techno, EDM und Ambient ein- und abzutauchen.

Willow performt auf der Hauptbühne
Willow performt auf der Hauptbühne | © Natalie Mayroth

28.3036 Grad Nord, 75.2853 Grad Ost liegt das Mahal Alsisar in Rajasthans historischer Wüstenregion Shekhawati. Hinter dem elefantenhohen Eingangstor verwandelt sich das Herrenhaus, gebaut aus hellem Sandstein, an einem Wochenende im Dezember in ein elektrisierendes Musikfestival, das vor allem Großstädter in seinen Bann zieht.
 
Der Winter ist im Norden des Landes angebrochen – und die Luftqualität in den Städten so schlecht wie selten im Jahr – es ist die Zeit, in der knapp 3000 Menschen – Musikliebhaber aus Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore, Kolkata und ein paar Hundert von überall aus der Welt – nach Alsisar kommen. Sie entfliehen Smog, Lärm und dem Trubel der Millionenstädte.
 
Hypnotischen Visuals bewegen sich über knapp 400 Jahre altes Gemäuer, Bässe schwingen in den mit Rajput-Bögen verzierten Palastinnenhöfen und die stickige Luft wird für 72 Stunden gegen Techno, EDM und Ambient getauscht. In den nächsten Tagen folgen sie ihren eigenen Regeln, in der Welt von Magnetic Fields, über die der Schirmherr Abhimanyu Singh Alsisar, Besitzer des Mahals, wacht.

Musikalisches Commitment

Vor gut fünf Jahren entstand die Idee zu Magnetic Fields und ist seitdem gewachsen. „Wir haben uns einen Ort weit außerhalb der Stadt (Delhi) gesucht, weil wir wollten, dass nur die Leute kommen, die der Musik gegenüber ein Commitment haben. Eines, das vier Stunden vom nächsten Flughafen entfernt ist und drei Tage lang andauert“, erklärt Munbir Chawla, der vor sechs Jahren mit seiner Frau Sarah von London nach Indien, der Heimat seiner Eltern, zog. Seitdem betreibt das Paar den Musikblog und das Label ‚Wild City’. Zusammen mit dem ‚Prinz von Alsisar’, den Designern von WeThePPL und zwei weiteren Partnern riefen sie das Festival im Luxushotel ins Leben.
 
Musik von indischen wie internationalen Acts ist auf verschiedenen Bühnen zu hören: in Palastkulisse, auf der Dachterrasse zum Sonnenuntergang, im Hip Hop-Garten, auf dem Festivalgelände unter Sandboden, im Jazz Club oder in manchen Zelten, die sich in Privatpartys verwandeln.
Wer nach dem Tanzen noch genügend Energie hat, kann am Nachmittag an einem der Yoga-Workshops teilnehmen, auf Schatzsuche gehen oder das 5.000-Einwohner-Dorf Alsisar erkunden. Geschlafen wird in den Suiten des Alsisar Mahals, außerhalb der Palastmauern in Festival-Beduinenzelten oder in etwas preiswerteren Zimmern in einem an der Dorfstraße gelegenen alten, mit Fresken verzierten Villen namens ‚Havelis’.
 
  • Zwischen Wüste und Palast: ‚Magnetic Fields’ © Natalie Mayroth
    Zwischen Wüste und Palast: ‚Magnetic Fields’
  • Haveli in der Nähe des Alsisar Mahals © Natalie Mayroth
    Haveli in der Nähe des Alsisar Mahals
  • Beduinen-Zelte auf dem Campingplatz © Natalie Mayroth
    Beduinen-Zelte auf dem Campingplatz
  • Alsisar Mahal in der Nacht © Natalie Mayroth
    Alsisar Mahal in der Nacht

Indisch-internationales Line-up

Die Mischung aus indischen und internationalen KünstlerInnen ist vielseitig. Aus Berlin kommt die Band Say Yes Dog und She’s Drunk alias David Monnin angereist; die Headliner aus UK: Four Tet, Ben UFO, Special Request und Willow. Doch besonders stark sind neben dem Willow-SET, der Disko-House-Sound der Produzentin Jayda G, die zwischen Vancouver und Berlin pendelt und der Sound, der indisch-stämmigen Live-Acts Sandunes am Keybord, Madame Gandhi mit einer Mischung aus Pop und Rap und der Produzentin Tarana Marwah alias Komorebi, die zwei Mal auf der Bühne steht. „Es ist wichtig zu einer Bewegung beizutragen“, sagt sie. „Indien bittet um eine Musikkultur, eine Identität, außerhalb Bollywoods – und ich habe das Gefühl zu einer Zukunft dieser Szene beizutragen.“
  Die indische Produzentin Komorebi auf der Bühne Die indische Produzentin Komorebi auf der Bühne | © Natalie Mayroth Politisch, ohne direkt Kritik zu äußern, ist der Beitrag des britisch-indischen Musik-Videoprojekts ‚Different Trains 1947’, das die Teilung Indiens vor 70 Jahren audiovisualisiert. Die britische Kolonialherrschaft war beendet, doch im Zuge dessen wurden etwa 20 Millionen Menschen vertrieben und deportiert – der entsprechende Zug ‚different train’ entschied, in welchem Land sie künftig leben sollten. Ein bewegendes Thema, das von Actress, Jack Barnett, Jivraj Singh, Sandunes (Sanaya Ardeshir) und der Sängerin Priya Purushothaman bewegend umgesetzt wurde.

Different Trains 1947-Artist Sandunes alias Sanaya Ardeshir Different Trains 1947-Artist Sandunes alias Sanaya Ardeshir | © Natalie Mayroth Die königliche Rajput-Atomsphäre lassen Klänge aus dem ländlichen Nordindien, die auf der Puqaar-Terrasse mit Musikern aus Rajasthan und Gujarat zu hören sind, aufleben. Sie spielen laute und scharfe Töne auf der Doppelrohrblattflötte ‚Shehnai’, trommeln, streichen Saiten und singen klagend dazu.

Zum sphärisch-ruhigen Live-Set des Headliners Kieran Hebden, bekannt als Four Tet, ist von der Bühne bis zum Publikum über die Palastwände alles in blaues Licht getaucht und sirenenartige Musik schwebt mit der Live-Version von ‘Two Thousand and Sventeen’ über dem Palast. Bei seinem DJ-Set spielt er Songs von der indischen Sängerin Lata Mangeshkar, die Begeisterung auslösen. Und auch bei seinem vierten Auftritt auf der Afterparty in Delhi wird das Publikum nicht müde, ihn zu sehen.
 
Zu den Klängen von Magnetic Fields wird nicht nur im Palast getanzt. Auch die Einheimischen lauschen auf ihren Dächern und vor den Toren des Palastes. Plötzlich ist Leben in die einstige Kaufmannssiedlung zurückgekehrt, Verwandtschaft angereist. Sie helfen mit Privatunterkünften oder temporären Kiosken aus.

Und die elektromagnetischen Wechselwirkungen – Anziehungs- und Abstoßungskräfte – die der Name verspricht, sind allerorten zu spüren: zwischen Feiernden und Arbeitenden; zwischen Bands und Techno-Acts; zwischen der Wüsten-Oase zum Sonnenaufgang und der Verließ-Kellerbar nachts. Trotz des fünfjährigen Bestehens bleibt es ein Clash der Subkulturen.