JLF 2018 Who Holds The Microphone at The Pink City's Literary Festival?

JLf
JLF | (Collage): © jaipureliteraturefestival.org

The month of January is an exciting time for members of India’s elite intellectual circuit, when multilingual poets, reputed authors, Indian and foreign academics, human rights activists, musicians, journalists and more all come together on one platform.

From book readings to heated debates, the events rage on for 5 straight days at a Royal Palace-turned-Heritage Hotel, discussing diverse topics from the politics of women in the North East of India, to refugee crises, to the 'Indian' identity, to the art of biography writing. While literature remains the central focus of the Festival, themes of science, environment, gender, war and conflict, technology and more are also on the menu, usually served with a side of controversy, contradiction or ideological conflict. We're on the brink of the Jaipur Literature Festival 2018, let's dive in.

What is the Jaipur Literature Festival?

“This is a vintage year for the ZEE Jaipur Literature Festival, with an amazing line up of international and Indian writers and multiple strands of thoughtfully curated sessions. A space to interrogate our changing times and to encounter poetry and the dreaming mind, the festival returns with its unique brand of magic, whimsy and intellectual rigour,” says Namita Gokhale, writer, publisher and co-director of the Festival.

Put together by authors and Festival Directors Namitha Gokhale and William Dalrymple, this decade-old Festival describes itself as 'the greatest literary show on earth’. Over 200 speakers hailing from over 35 different countries will gather at the 11th edition of this Festival, which claims to 'serve as a democratic, non-aligned platform'. The organisers also speak to the diversity they hope to produce through the speaker line-up, "in its 11th edition, the ZEE Jaipur Literature Festival lives up to its promise of being the grand dame of diversity, magnitude and sheer range in programming. There is something here for everyone, much to explore and to suit every literary palate."

Who holds the microphone at JLF 2018?

The usual suspects of "India's intellectuals" will feature at the 2018 edition of the Festival: the likes of author and founder of the organisation PARI P. Sainath, novelist Ashwin Sanghi, Indian-American filmmaker Mira Nair, actress and director Nandita Das, journalist and writer Manu Joseph – all of whom are frequent faces in academic and literary circles.

The stage will also play host to other eye-catching 'star names' such as filmmaker Anurag Kashyap, Lok Sabha Member of Parliament Shashi Tharoor, theatre and film actress Shabana Azmi, writer and this year's opening Keynote Speaker Pico Iyer, poet Javed Akhtar, economist and politician Jairam Ramesh, and columnist Shobha De. These, accompanied by a range of non-Indian contributors such as playwright and screenwriter Tom Stoppard, authors Amy Tan, Helen Fielding and Philip Norman.

While these names are regular features amongst literary events across North India, and don't take much creativity to add to the agenda (not to disregard the blood and sweat of the organising team that goes into procuring these speakers), there's a few curated on this year's list that stand out.

The stand-out list: Poets, women-centric voices, and emerging Indian voices

The art of poetry has been given a special focus in this year's festival, with renowned Hindi, Rajasthani and Urdu poet Ikraam Rajasthani, self-taught painter and poet Era Tak who explores themes of women and nature, author and poet Akhil Katyal who narrates on identity, sex and queer politics, Nigerian-born Bangladeshi-American poet Abeer Hoque, and renowned Marathi poet Hemant Divate  leading the charge, amongst others. One can expect a good mix of love, loss, identity, gender, personal location and humanity represented in a range of conventional and vernacular languages at these sessions.

For the uninitiated, a regular feature at India's literary events, like most in the world, is all-male panel discussions. That's not to say that these panelists have no value, but it's safe to assume a lack of diversity in perspectives, experiences and personal agendas. While JLF 2018 hasn't successfully broken this trend, there's an interesting mix of diverse gender voices to give male privilege a run for its privilege.

A few such speakers stand out with interesting experiences to share: investigative journalist Suki Kim, who spent a significant time of her career undercover in North Korea, co-founder of India's first exclusively feminist publishing house Urvashi Butalia, Cameroonian author Leonora Miano, Burmese doctor, writer and human rights activist Ma Thida  and Somali-British author Nadifa Mohamed.

Another interesting addition to this year's agenda is a few new voices from India with fresh perspectives. To name a few, the sole Dalit speaker at the event Manoranjan Byapari who has authored nine novels and several short stories, reputed writer Hansda Sowvendra Shekhar, archiver and author Mrinalini Venkateswaran, and poet, dancer and author Tishani Doshi.

Not Without Controversy

While this Festival, for the last decade, has claimed to stand for the right to free expression and dissent, it has had its fair share of controversy. Opponents within India have time and again accused the event for limiting their speaker list to elite professionals, muzzling free speech and abetting anti-minority sentiments.

In 2012, conflict surrounding a fatwa by Iran’s Ayatollah Khomeini against author Salman Rushdie for his book The Satanic Verses found its way to this Festival. The author, although slated to be a speaker, was a last minute no-show as he feared for his safety in the state of Rajasthan. As a result, four other speakers of the event read pages of the disputed book, causing quite a stir.

In 2013, the Festival ended with furious demands for action against sociologist Ashis Nandy who made derogatory remarks against marginalised groups such as Dalits, tribals and OBCs during his discussion at the event. Professor Nandy stated, “It is a fact that most of the corrupt come from the OBCs and the Scheduled Castes and now increasingly Scheduled Tribes…”

However reputed Dalit-Bahujan author Kancha Illaiah called for a dissolution of the outrage stating it was a “bad statement with good intentions.” He stated, “While referring to Dalits as corrupt, Professor Nandy probably missed out saying that upper castes have always been corrupt.” He further said, “As far as I know, he was never against reservation. The controversy should end here.”

In 2016, the 10th anniversary of this Festival saw the inclusion of Manmohan Vaidya and Dattatreya Hosabale in the speaker list--both of whom belong to the right-wing Hindutva RSS political body which is linked to the ruling BJP party. Critics questioned the validity and qualifications of these speakers at the event.

In 2017, a reflection of the 2012 Salman Rushdie controversy reared its head again with Bangladeshi author Taslima Nasreen, who has lived in exile since 1994 due to her disputed novels Lajja and Dwikahndito. During her session at JLF, she stated that criticism of Islam was the only way to establish secularism in Islamic countries--a remark that spurred Muslim organisations to protest outside the venue and even resulted in the event organisers assuring she would never be invited as a speaker again.

In Anticipation of JLF 2018

In keeping with this trend, this year’s controversy has kicked off before the actual event. The last month has seen the Karni Sena--a nationalist Rajput outfit-- demanding a ban on the upcoming film ‘Padmaavat’, which they claim hurts the sentiments of their community. While the apex Supreme Court has ruled that this ban isn’t permissible, the Karni Sena has now sought to disallow Film Censor Board Chief Prasoon Joshi (a regular face at JLF) from attending this year’s event.

While conflict is stirring ahead of the Literary Festival, attendees are already gearing up: reserving rooms in the historic Pink City, marking their 5-day schedules, and counting down the days until January 25th.

JLF 2018
Wer kommt beim LitFest in der Pink City zu Wort?

JLF
JLF | (Collage): © jaipureliteraturefestival.org

Januar ist ein aufregender Monat für die führenden Intellektuellenkreise Indiens – markiert der Januar doch jene Zeit im Jahr, in der vielsprachige Dichter, angesehene Autoren, indische und ausländische Akademiker, Menschenrechtsaktivisten, Musiker, Journalisten und viele weitere gemeinsam an einem Ort zusammenkommen.

Von Buchvorstellungen bis zu erregt geführten Debatten reicht das Spektrum an mitreißenden Veranstaltungen während dieser fünf aufeinanderfolgender Tage im Royal Palace-turned-Heritage Hotel, an denen die vielfältigsten Themen behandelt werden – von Frauenpolitik im Nordosten Indiens über die Flüchtlingskrise, die „indische“ Identität bis zur Kunst der Biographie. Die Literatur steht im Mittelpunkt, doch Themenfelder wie Wissenschaft, Umwelt, Gender, Krieg und Konflikte, Technologie werden ebenso diskutiert werden – oftmals kontrovers, mit vielen Widersprüchen und in ideologisch geführten Auseinandersetzungen. Es ist Zeit für das Jaipur Literature Festival 2018 – freuen wir uns auf das, was kommt!

Was ist das Jaipur Literature Festival?

“Es ist ein klassisches Jahr für das ZEE Jaipur Literature Festival – mit einer großartigen Schar von internationalen und indischen Schriftstellern und einer Vielzahl von intelligent kuratierten Sessions. Als ein Ort, um unsere im Wandel begriffene Zeit kritisch zu betrachten und um Dichtung wie die Träume des Geistes zu erleben, bietet das Festival ein weiteres Mal jene einmalige Mischung aus Magischem, Schrulligem und scharfsinnigem Intellekt,” verspricht Namita Gokhale, Schriftstellerin, Verlegerin und Ko-Direktorin des Festivals.

Ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt der beiden Autoren und Festivaldirektoren Namitha Gokhale und William Dalrymple nennt sich dieses Festival mit seiner nunmehr zehnjährigen Tradition „die größte Literaturveranstaltung der Welt“. Mehr als 200 Teilnehmer aus über 35 Ländern kommen bei dieser 11. Ausgabe des Festivals zusammen, das sich als “demokratische und blockfreie Veranstaltung” sieht. Die Organisatoren bilden mit ihrem Programm jene Vielfalt ab, um dies es ihnen geht: „Die 11. Ausgabe des Festivals ZEE Jaipur Literature Festival verspricht jene zu erwartende Vielfalt, die bekannte Größe und ein bemerkenswert breites Programm. Es bietet für jeden etwas, wie immer neue Entdeckungen und Leckerbissen für alle literarischen Geschmäcker.”

Wer tritt auf beim JLF 2018?

Es sind die üblichen Verdächtigen unter “Indiens Intellektuellen”, die sich bei der diesjährigen Ausgabe des Festivals präsentieren: unter ihnen der Autor und Gründer von PARI P. Sainath, der Romancier Ashwin Sanghi, die indisch-amerikanische Filmemacherin Mira Nair, die Schauspielerin und Regisseurin Nandita Das, der Journalist und Autor Manu Joseph – alles oft gesehene Gesichter in akademischen und literarischen Kreisen.

Auch weitere Namen mit Star-Appeal werden präsentiert: Filmemacher Anurag Kashyap, der Parlamentsabgeordnete Shashi Tharoor, die Theater- und Filmschauspielerin Shabana Azmi, der Autor und diesjährige Keynote-Redner Pico Iyer, der Dichter Javed Akhtar, der Ökonom und Politiker Jairam Ramesh und die Kolumnistin Shobha De. Neben diesen gibt es auch eine Reihe von ausländischen Teilnehmern wie den Dramatiker und Drehbuchautor Tom Stoppard, die Autorinnen Amy Tan, Helen Fielding und den Autor Philip Norman.

Diese Namen sind oft gesehene Gäste bei literarischen Veranstaltungen in Nord-Indien und es braucht nicht viel Einfallsreichtum, um auf sie zu kommen (was keineswegs die Arbeit und Mühe der Organisatoren geringschätzen soll, die sie investieren mussten, um diese für die Veranstaltung zu gewinnen). Unter den diesjährigen Teilnehmern und Teilnehmerinnen gibt es hingegen auch einige, die wirklich herausstechen.

Herausragend anders: Dichter, Frauenstimmen und aufstrebende Stimmen

Dichtungskunst steht in diesem Jahr im besonderen Zentrum des Interesses. Eingeladen sind der bekannte, in Hindi, Rajasthani und Urdu schreibende Dichter Ikraam Rajasthani, die autodidaktische Malerin und Dichterin Era Tak, die Frauen und Natur als Themen bearbeitet, der Autor und Dichter Akhil Katyal, der von Identität, Sex und queerer Politik erzählt, die in Nigeria geborene, bangladesch-amerikanische Lyrikerin Abeer Hoque und der bekannte Marathi-Dichter Hemant Divate, die die Reihe von vielen Weiteren anführen. Zu erwarten ist eine gelungene Mischung von Beiträgen, in denen es um Liebe, Verlust, Identität, Gender, Selbstverortung und Menschlichkeit geht, die in einer Reihe von Hochsprachen und regionalen Dialekten zum Ausdruck gebracht werden.

Allen Ahnungslosen sei gesagt, dass ein Kennzeichen der Literaturveranstaltungen in Indien – wie übrigens weltweit – die rein mit Männern besetzten Podien sind. Darauf hinzuweisen, soll nicht heißen, dass die männlichen Beteiligten nicht gern gesehene Gäste wären und nicht Interessantes zu sagen hätten, doch fehlt es an unterschiedlichen Perspektiven, Erfahrungen und persönlichen Haltungen. Auch wenn das JLF 2018 noch nicht mit dieser Entwicklung gebrochen hat, so ist ein interessanter Mix aus Gender-Stimmen präsent, die die männliche Dominanz in Frage stellen.

Einige Teilnehmerinnen gilt es dabei hervorzuheben, von denen interessante Beiträge zu erwarten sind: die investigative Journalistin Suki Kim, die einen Gutteil ihrer Karriere undercover in Nordkorea verbrachte, die Mitbegründerin des ersten indischen Frauenverlags Urvashi Butalia, die Autorin Leonora Miano aus dem Kamerun, die burmesische Ärztin, Autorin und Menschenrechtsaktivistin Ma Thida  und die somalisch-britische Autorin Nadifa Mohamed.

Ebenfalls bemerkenswert sind die neuen Stimmen aus Indien, die bei der diesjährigen Ausgabe des Festivals präsentiert werden und eine frische Sichtweise versprechen. Darunter Manoranjan Byapari, als Autor von neun Romanen und vielen Kurzgeschichten der einzige Gast des Festivals, der ausschließlich in Dalit schreibt, der angesehene Schriftsteller Hansda Sowvendra Shekhar, die Archivistin und Autorin Mrinalini Venkateswaran und die Lyrikerin, Tänzerin und Autorin Tishani Doshi.

Nicht ohne Kontroversen

Das Festival, das sich im Verlauf seines zehnjährigen Bestehens immer als ein Ort für die freie Meinungsäußerung und des Widerspruchs verstand, sorgte durchaus auch für Kontroversen. Indische Kritiker haben immer wieder den Vorwurf geäußert, auf der Teilnehmerliste der Veranstaltung fänden sich nur etablierte Namen, das Festivals knebele die freie Meinungsäußerung und begünstige eine negative Stimmung gegenüber Minderheiten.

2012 fand der Skandal um die Fatwa des iranischen Ayatollah Khomeini gegenüber dem Autor Salman Rushdie für sein Buch Die satanischen Verse einen Widerhall auf dem Festival. Der eingeladene Autor verzichtete im letzten Moment auf seine Teilnahme, da er im Bundestaat Rajasthan um seine Sicherheit fürchtete. Vier andere Teilnehmer lasen daraufhin Teile des Buches, was einigen Wirbel erzeugte.

2013 endete das Festival mit der wütenden Forderung, etwas gegen den Soziologen Ashis Nandy zu unternehmen, der während einer Veranstaltung auf dem Festival abschätzige Bemerkungen gegenüber Minderheiten wie den Dalits, Stammesgruppen und so genannten zurückgebliebenen Gruppen gemacht hatte. Professor Nandy führte aus: “Es ist eine Tatsache, dass die Korruption in den zurückgebliebenen Minderheiten dominiert, den gelisteten Kasten und zunehmend den gelisteten Stammesgruppen…“ Das Dalit-Bahujan-Autor Kancha Illaiah verlangte daraufhin vorgeblich nach einem Ende der Empörung mit dem Hinweis, es habe sich um „eine gut gemeinte schlechte Aussage“ gehandelt. „Als er die Dalit als korrupt bezeichnete, vergaß Professor Nandy vielleicht zu erwähnen, dass die höheren Kasten seit jeher korrupt waren.“ Und fügte hinzu: “Meines Wissens war er nie gegen Einschränkungen. Die Kontroverse sollte hier enden.“

2016 fanden sich bei der 10. Ausgabe des Festivals Manmohan Vaidya und Dattatreya Hosabale auf der Teilnehmerliste: beide Frauen gehören zur rechtsgerichteten Hindutva RSS Parteigruppierung, die mit der herrschenden BJP Partei verbunden ist. Kritiker stellten in Frage, ob die beiden als Beiträgerinnen überhaupt qualifiziert seien.

2017 erinnerte ein Ereignis an die Kontroverse um den Auftritt von Salman Rushdie fünf Jahre zuvor. Die aus Bangladesch stammende Autorin Taslima Nasreen, die nach der Veröffentlichung ihrer Romane Lajja und Dwikahndito seit 1994 im Exil lebt, äußerte während ihres Auftritts beim JLF die Überzeugung, Kritik am Islam sei der einzige Weg, um in islamischen Ländern die Säkularisierung voranzubringen – eine Aussage, die zu Protesten von muslimischen Organisationen vor dem Veranstaltungsort führte und so den Veranstaltern die Versicherung abrang, die Autorin werde niemals wieder zum Festival eingeladen.

Erwartungen für das JLF 2018

Traditionsgemäß zeigte sich die diesjährige Kontroverse schon vor dem Beginn des eigentlichen Festivals. Vor einem Monat forderte Karni Sena – eine nationalistische Rajput-Gruppe –, den angekündigten Film ‘Padmaavat’ nicht zu zeigen, da er die Gefühle ihrer Gemeinschaft verletze. Nachdem das höchste Verfassungsgericht die Zensur des Filmes für unrechtmäßig erklärt hat, fordert Karni Sena nun, der Vorsitzende der Zensurbehörde Prasoon Joshi (ein regelmäßiger Teilnehmer am JLF) solle in diesem Jahr nicht am Festival teilnehmen dürfen.

Während der Konflikt schwelt, sehen die Teilnehmer dem Festival gespannt entgegen: haben ihre Hotelzimmer in der historischen Pink City bezogen, machen ihre Pläne für die fünf Tage und zählen die Tage bis zum 25. Januar.