Exhibition Facing Life- Facing India

SIX WOMEN
Bharti Kher: SIX WOMEN | © Courtesy of the artist and Perrotin, Foto: Marek Kruszewski

How do Indian artists see the reality of their lives, their freedoms and their borders? What aspects of their lives occupy them so much that they make them the subject of their art? What expressions do they find for their impressions and what messages do they want to convey?
Answers to these questions are currently on display at the Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg. With the exhibition Facing India, visitors in Germany for the first time have the opportunity to experience the works of six Indian contemporary artists. This is a premiere. Vibha Galhotra, Bharti Kher, Prajakta Potnis, Reena Saini Kallat, Mithu Sen and Tejal Shah deal with the reality of India artistically.

Land of Diversity and Borders

The exhibition was officially opened on 28 April 2018. It is the result of a series of courageous decisions. In their opening speeches, Dr. Ralf Beil, Director of the Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg, and the curator of Facing India, Dr. Uta Ruhkamp, presented an Indian society deeply influenced by patriarchy. There are limits and boundaries that are present in many ways and are particularly typical in India. This includes different castes and national borders, as well as the position of women. Although they are equal before the law, in reality - even in times of social change - women continue to be severely disadvantaged. Oppression and violence are commonplace in many areas.

This is India - six female perspectives

Against this backdrop, these women's decision to become artists must be seen from a wider perspective. The relentless artistic examination and focus on environmentally explosive, sociological and socially critical topics is remarkable. Ralf Beil and Uta Ruhkamp pay tribute to this with Facing India and present an image of contemporary India in many facets from a female perspective at the Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg.

Varied Shapes

The six artists, aged between 38 and 49, let us immerse ourselves in the diverse realities of India. As multifaceted as the country is, so are the forms of approach with which they capture, accentuate and artistically represent life in India. A total of 94 pieces make this experience possible.

Pollution - human insanity in the age of reason

Vibha Galhotra approaches topics such as climate change and pollution and focuses on the content. Among other things, she shows photographs of people wearing respiratory masks, which points out the smog-stricken slums of India. She installs an iron bowl filled with motor oil with a brass bowl floating in it. Slowly it fills with the fossil fuel until it sinks irrevocably. Vibha Galhotra had her first solo exhibition, SPACE WITHIN THE SPACE, at the Goethe-Institut in New Delhi in 2002.

Present Femininity

Bharti Kher's work focus on women in India, the backbone of society - depicted as a luminous column of bracelets "Bloodline"-, who are also quite oppressed. "Six women," made of plaster, wood and metal, sit naked and silent on chairs. Knowing that these are one-to-one representations of older sex workers, gives the scenario gets an additional level of meaning, which is moving.

Beyond Physical Borders

Prajakta Potnis makes the kitchen a place of action in digital print works, where she puts elements of it into new contexts. "The cracks and flaking on the walls are one way of documenting the passing of time, as the wrinkles of aging skin do. I regard walls as witnesses to history," Prajakta Potnis says about the wall she designed in an interview with Uta Ruhkamp.

Closely Linked: Separation and Connection

Reena Saini Kallat’s “Woven Chronicle" takes on the issue of borders and constructs an installation made of circuit boards, loudspeakers playing single-channel sound, power cables and fittings to make a world map, with migration paths and  politically explosive flows. Everything is interlinked and yet confined, simultaneously in network communication, which - at least technically - connects the world easily and quickly.

(Un)Unbounded

"I play with the emotional disorientation of other people and lead them teasingly and provocatively to a place where the existing social rules dissolve," Mithu Sen says, explaining her work. For example, she presents a gaping mouth with artificial teeth and dental work that seems to devour everything greedily but still offers a certain aesthetic - a bizarre picture, called "Border unseen."

Recognizing a flexible understanding of gender

Tejal Shah addresses gender issues through a political and feminist lens and combines them with ecological themes and science fiction elements in an indefinable way in the HD video piece, "Between the waves - Landfill Dance.” She also makes the consequences of violence against women visible and tangible in a multimedia installation.

Good art and what it can do

Uta Ruhkamp has many answers to the question of what she aims to achieve with this exhibition. Of course, good art should be shown. The desire to deal with the country of India and the people was also expressed. The detailed reader accompanying the exhibition offers the possibility to going deeper into the subject matter.
 
Facing India is also a prompt to think about what identity means. The question of identity is always connected with questions about demarcation to be able to experience yourself as independent and separate from something else.
 
Finally, the exhibition also moves visitors on a humanitarian level. What do pollution, the different treatment of the sexes and other grievances mean for each individual? And what consequences should be drawn from this?

Between yesterday and tomorrow, between borders and community

What the artists’ expressions show about India's social structure, caught between tradition and modernity, cannot be seen in isolation, because we also deal with the same fundamental issues on a global level. Walling off borders, environmental pollution and inequality are the subject of conversation worldwide. Thus, this focused look at India acts at the same time as a look at the whole world.

Opening borders of the mind

"It would be nice if borders opened up in our heads," wishes curator Uta Ruhkamp. This wish comes true on the first evening: 400 interested people have come to the opening. The audience is mixed. Three friends from Cologne, Berlin and Hanover, all 30, are interested in the exhibition because "it’s not so Eurocentric" and shows a female perspective. An artist from Berlin talks shop with her Indian colleagues, elderly gentlemen take their time to explore new perspectives, middle-aged couples exchange ideas about what they have experienced. A group of young girls also meets. They take in the artworks and dance to music at the party after the exhibition. The artists fall into conversations with guests over and over. They ask, tell and listen, marvel, laugh together and look at art with respect and benevolence. And, in doing so, boundaries are overcome.
 
The exhibition Facing India can be seen in Kunstmuseums Wolfsburg from April 29th until October 7th, 2018.

Ausstellung Angesichts des Lebens - Facing India

SIX WOMEN
Bharti Kher: SIX WOMEN | © Courtesy of the artist and Perrotin, Foto: Marek Kruszewski

Wie sehen indische Künstlerinnen ihre Lebenswirklichkeit, ihre Freiheiten und Grenzen? Welche Aspekte ihres Lebens beschäftigen sie so sehr, dass sie sie zum Gegenstand ihrer Kunst machen? Welche Ausdrücke finden sie für ihre Eindrücke und welche Botschaften möchten sie vermitteln?
Antworten auf diese Fragen zeigt derzeit das Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg. Mit der Ausstellung „Facing India“ haben Besucher*innen erstmals in Deutschland die Möglichkeit, die Werke sechs indischer zeitgenössischer Künstlerinnen zu erleben. Das ist Premiere. Vibha Galhotra, Bharti Kher, Prajakta Potnis, Reena Saini Kallat, Mithu Sen und Tejal Shah setzen sich mit ihrer Realität Indiens künstlerisch auseinander.
 

 

Land der Vielfalt und Grenzen

Am 28. April 2018 wurde die Ausstellung offiziell eröffnet. Sie ist das Ergebnis einer Reihe mutiger Entscheidungen. Dr. Ralf Beil, Direktor des Kunstmuseums Wolfsburg und die Kuratorin von „Facing India“ Dr. Uta Ruhkamp stellten in ihren Eröffnungsreden eine indische Gesellschaft vor, die zutiefst vom Patriachat geprägt ist. Es bestehen Grenzen und Abgrenzungen, die in vielfältiger Weise präsent und für Indien besonders typisch sind: So zählen unterschiedliche Kasten und Ländergrenzen ebenso dazu, wie die Stellung der Frauen. Sie sind zwar vor dem Gesetz gleichgestellt, in der Realität - selbst in Zeit des gesellschaftlichen Umbruchs – werden Frauen nach wie vor stark benachteiligt. Unterdrückung und Gewalt sind vielerorts an der Tagesordnung.

Das ist Indien – sechs weibliche Perspektiven

Vor diesem Hintergrund ist die Entscheidung dieser Frauen, Künstlerin zu werden, noch einmal aus einem erweiterten Blickwinkel zu sehen. Auch die teils schonungslose künstlerische Auseinandersetzung und das Aufzeigen der umweltpolitisch brisanten, gesellschafts- und sozialkritischen Themen ist bemerkenswert. Ralf Beil und Uta Ruhkamp würdigen dies mit „Facing India“ und zeigen im Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg ein Bild des heutigen Indiens in vielen Facetten aus weiblicher Perspektive.

Vielfältige Formen

Die sechs Künstlerinnen im Alter zwischen 38 und 49 lassen uns in die vielfältigen Realitäten Indiens eintauchen. So facettenreich das Land ist, so unterschiedlich sind auch die Formen der Annährung, mit der sie das Leben in Indien erfassen, akzentuieren und künstlerisch umsetzen. Insgesamt 94 Exponate machen das erfahrbar.

Umweltverschmutzung – menschlicher Irrsinn im Zeitalter der Vernunft

Vibha Galhotra nähert sich Themen wie Klimawandel und Umweltverschmutzung und fokussiert auf den Inhalt. Sie zeigt u.a. Fotografien von Menschen mit Atemmasken, die auf die smoggeplagten Ballungsräume Indiens hinweisen. Sie inszeniert eine mit Motoröl gefüllte Eisenschale mit einer darin schwimmenden Messingschüssel. Langsam füllt sich diese mit dem fossilen Brennstoff, bis sie versinkt, unwiderruflich. Ihre erste Einzelausstellung SPACE WITHIN THE SPACE hatte Vibha Galhotra übrigens im Goethe-Institut in Neu-Delhi im Jahre 2002.

Präsente Weiblichkeit

Bharti Khers Exponate stellen die Frau in Indien in den Blickpunkt, als Rückgrat – dargestellt als leuchtende Säule aus Armreifen „Bloodline“ – der Gesellschaft ebenso, wie als Unterdrückte. „Six women“ aus Gips, Holz und Metall sitzen nackt, still und stumm auf Stühlen. Wissend, dass dies 1:1-Abdrücke von älteren Sexarbeiterinnen sind, bekommt das Szenario eine zusätzliche Bedeutungsebene, die betroffen macht.

Über physische Grenzen hinaus

Prajakta Potnis macht die Küche auf Digitaldruckarbeiten zum Ort des Geschehens und setzt Elemente aus ihr in neue Kontexte. „Die Risse und abblätternden Stellen auf den Wänden sind eine Möglichkeit, das Vergehen der Zeit zu dokumentieren, wie es ähnlich die Falten der alternden Haut tun. Ich betrachte Wände als Zeugen der Geschichte“, erläutert Prajakta Potnis die von ihr gestaltete Wand im Interview mit Uta Ruhkamp.

Eng miteinander verknüpft: Trennung und Verbindung

Reena Saini Kallat greift die Grenzproblematik auf und konstruiert eine Installation aus Leiterplatten, Lautsprechern mit Ein-Kanal-Ton, Stromkabeln und Befestigungsmaterial zu einer Weltkarte, mit Migrationspfaden und Bewegungslinien mit politischer Brisanz: „Woven Chronicle“. Alles miteinander verknüpft und doch begrenzt, gleichzeitig in Kommunikation durch ein Netz, was – in jedem Fall technisch – gut und schnell verbindet.

(Un-)Entgrenzt

„Ich spiele mit der emotionalen Desorientiertheit anderer Menschen und führe sie neckend-provokant an einen Ort, an dem sich die bestehenden sozialen Regeln auflösen“, erklärt Mithu Sen ihr Schaffen. So präsentiert sie beispielsweise einen riesigen Schlund aus künstlichen Zähnen und Dentalkunststoff, der alles gierig zu verschlingen scheint und dennoch eine gewisse Ästhetik bietet – ein bizarres Bild „Border unseen“.

Anerkennung eines flexiblen Genderverständnisses

Tejal Shah, politisch und feministisch motiviert, thematisiert Fragen zum Gender und kombiniert diese im HD-Video „Between the waves – Landfill Dance“ mit ökologischen Themen und Science Fiktion Elementen, undefinierbar. Auch die Folgen von Gewalt gegen Frauen lässt sie in einer Multimedia-Installation sichtbar und fühlbar werden.

Gute Kunst und was sie bewirken kann

Auf die Frage, was mit der Ausstellung erreicht werden soll, hat Uta Ruhkamp viele Antworten. Natürlich solle gute Kunst gezeigt werden. Auch werde eine Einladung ausgesprochen, sich mit dem Land Indien und den Menschen zu beschäftigen. Der ausführliche Reader zur Ausstellung bietet die Möglichkeit zur Vertiefung der Thematiken.
 
„Facing India“ ist es auch eine Anregung, darüber nachzudenken, was Identität bedeutet. Denn die Frage der Identität ist immer auch mit der der Abgrenzung verbunden, um sich selbst als eigenständig und von etwas anderem getrennt erfahren zu können.
 
Schließlich trifft die Ausstellung die Besucher*innen auch auf humanitärer Ebene. Was bedeuten Umweltverschmutzung, die unterschiedliche Behandlung von Frauen und Männern und andere Missstände für jeden Einzelnen? Und welche Konsequenzen sind daraus zu ziehen?

Zwischen Gestern und Morgen, zwischen Grenzen und Gemeinschaft

Was sich in der Gesellschaftsstruktur Indiens zwischen Tradition und Moderne und auch im Ausdruck der Künstlerinnen zeigt, ist nicht isoliert zu sehen. Denn auch auf globaler Ebene setzen wir uns mit den grundsätzlich selben Themen auseinander. Abgrenzung, Umweltverschmutzung und Gleichberechtigung sind weltweit Diskussionsstoff. So wird der konzentrierte Blick auf Indien gleichzeitig zum Blick aufs Ganze.

Grenzen im Kopf öffnen

„Es wäre schön, wenn sich im Kopf Grenzen öffnen“, wünscht sich Kuratorin Uta Ruhkamp. Der Wunsch wird schon am ersten Abend Realität: 400 Interessierte sind zur Eröffnung gekommen. Das Publikum ist bunt gemischt. Drei Freundinnen aus Köln, Berlin und Hannover, alle 30, interessieren sich für die Ausstellung, weil „sie nicht so eurozentrisch“ ist und die Sicht der Frauen zeigt. Eine Künstlerin aus Berlin fachsimpelt mit den indischen Kolleginnen, betagtere Herrschaften lassen sich in aller Ruhe auf neue Sichtweisen ein, Paare mittleren Alters tauschen sich angeregt über das Erfahrene aus. Auch eine Gruppe junger Mädchen trifft sich. Sie lassen die Exponate auf sich wirken und tanzen zur Partymusik im Anschluss an die Ausstellung. Immer wieder sind die Künstlerinnen im Gespräch mit Menschen. Es wird gefragt, erzählt und zugehört, gestaunt, gemeinsam gelacht und die Kunst betrachtet, mit Respekt und Wohlwollen. Und dabei werden Grenzen überwunden.
 
Die Ausstellung „Facing India“ ist vom 29. April bis zum 7. Oktober 2018 in der Großen Halle des Kunstmuseums Wolfsburg zu sehen.