Series: German filmmaker in India (3) The Empathetic Frame: On Paul Zils and his films

The Vanishing Tribe
The Vanishing Tribe | © Films Division, India

In this present series we examine a series of films produced by German authors in India. The series identifies these as being useful examples of a ‘visitor-film’. The third article examines Paul Zils - a mythical figure. Despite his extensive filmography Zils registers in the narrative of Indian cinema as an enigmatic figure, who witnessed India transition from a British colony to an independent sovereign state and unlike many of his contemporaries, chose to actively engage with its chief events, both as a participant, and as an observer.

Paul Zils is a mythical figure, despite his extensive filmography; not much is available to the present day libraries of national repute. The Films Division has only four of his documentaries of which, New Life of a Displaced Person (1957) is not in a good condition, and it feels a certain section of the film has gone missing. And if the absent films were not enough to enhance his myth, there are varied opinions among film historians and his contemporaries about the man, his appearance in India, his ideological leanings and his prolific methods of production. An interesting conclusion that Denis Vidal arrives at after much searching is that the source of every bit of information about ‘Zils is Paul Zils himself.’[1] To state an indisputable fact, however, Zils registers in the narrative of Indian cinema as an enigmatic figure, who witnessed India transition from a British colony to an independent sovereign state and unlike many of his contemporaries, chose to actively engage with its chief events, both as a participant, and as an observer.
 
After a little logistical difficulty I was able to acquire DVD copies of four films by him namely, The Ripening Seed (1956), New Life of a Displaced Person (1957), Maa: The Story of an Unmarried Mother (1957) and The Vanishing Tribe (1963). All of these films were exceptionally well produced and fulfilled cinema’s mandate as a nation-building tool in a freshly independent country - the likes where the narrative is to inform the people about the ‘right’ way to do things, the correct social and moral conduct, state-devised economic and social plans and programmes— the tenets of the Nehruvian idea of India. What stands out however is the empathy with which Zils portrays the central figures in his documentaries. Even the anti-social, the non-believer or the critic in Zils’ documentaries are treated with dignity and allowed their opinions, and in those days of expensive film, a few extra feet.

Scene from Maa - The Story of an Unmarried Mother Scene from Maa - The Story of an Unmarried Mother | © Films Division, India In his films that have been preserved, Maa: The Story of an Unmarried Mother stands out. It was produced in the same year as Mother India—the epic drama regarded as a classical Indian film that was also nominated for Oscars. Paul Zils presented a very different, much nuanced Maa (mother) in his film. One that is not necessarily so ideologically terse or willing to lead a crusade and, perhaps, one that lives within the realities of the world. She is an individual who is rejected and subjugated by the society and even when going through immense personal crisis and turmoil, does not lose hope in life, but is happy to have made it through. She is also someone who is introspecting and lives in the constant realisation of her true self with no grand assumptions. It would have been extremely enriching for the audiences in 1957 to have seen both these films and most effective if they were seen consecutively.
 
Paul Zils does not idealise or idolise the figure of the mother. This is demonstrated by the fact that the concern of the film: single motherhood – a subject of much ridicule and social exclusion even in the modern urban societies in India, is treated with such matter-of-factness that it helps effectively destigmatise it for the on-lookers.
 
Zils makes another very important decision for Maa. He opts for a female narrator for the film, and the narrator’s voice is also the actor’s voice playing the character of the unwed mother. The male voice was the most recognised for film commentary/voice-over and mostly the characters’ own voices may not be heard, but this was an important moment because we also hear the woman speaking in the visual and the same voice becomes the narrator too, thereby compounding the ‘reality’ of the film.
 
The film opens with a brief scene of the woman working in a child care centre trying to solve petty disputes between children, nonchalantly going about her day. As a viewer you recognise her and you are comforted by the image of a caregiver. In a few seconds, while responding to this child, she slips into narrating her story. For the viewer this is an effortless and quick transition that does not let the relationship which was just developed with the character be broken and therefore prevents the viewer from becoming judgmental immediately—an incredible deftness of handling such a complex manoeuvre—and a gradual landing into the younger life of this woman.

Still from New Life of a Displaced Person Still from New Life of a Displaced Person | © Films Division, India Zils also shows a similar regard for his characters in his earlier films The Ripening Seed (1956) and New Life of a Displaced Person (1957). The former is an intelligently crafted film on parenting and the psychological understanding parents require to bring up healthy, happy children. The latter narrates the story of an immigrant family from Pakistan, a few years after the Partition, who are being settled in a new village created by the government—a more direct, informational film about the initiatives of the government and institutions that were established, such as the Soil Research Institute, that would help the farmers who were still trying to grapple with the new climate and soil in their new land. In this, too, Zils manages to infuse his nuanced approach and allows the protagonist to have a few moments of reflection intermittently.
 
Similar nuance and slightly slower rhythms can be observed in The Vanishing Tribe, which proceeds to document the Toda tribe, with the rhythm of the film informed both by the curiosity of a child and the fragility of the elderly. The film ends with the demise of the grandmother and the ritual of her cremation; the child is yet to discover so much about the ceremonies and history of the tribe though an unsure future looms large. The film does not adopt the modus operandi adopted by most ethnographic documentaries, which portray the tribes as primitive and in need of emancipation. Instead it presents everyone with dignity and empathy and begins with the mythology of the tribe. Zils’ films are not sophisticated on the surface with visible aesthetics. However, they are much more sophisticated within, something that is difficult to find in most documentaries made even the present times.
 
The time that Zils spent in India, including the time he spent as a POW, must have helped him come across the many facets of Indian life and culture, in the course of his filmmaking career. He worked on multiple subjects including films that were later recognised as corporate films. His interests were not just restricted to documentary, of which he had established himself as a prolific champion, but also to fictional films and he worked with some of the biggest names of the time in his feature films Hindustan Humara (1950), Zalzala (1952) and Shabash (1952). Alas, none of these films have survived, however one can listen to an audio of one of the songs from Hindustan Humara on YouTube. The song extols God to provide housing for everyone if he is really the almighty – in this, it almost reveals the plot of the film and perhaps also the tonality. Perhaps, someday a print of Hindustan Humara may surface.

[1] Denis Vidal. The uncertainties of patronage about the origins of documentary cinema in India and in the British Empire. Amrit, Gangar. Paul Zils and the Indian documentary, Goethe Institute, 2003
 

The history of cinema features a considerable tradition of films produced by individuals who travel to a land not their own – an ‘alien’ country, a ‘foreign’ landscape – to record local ‘reality’. Over the years, however, this tradition has been subjected to immense scrutiny by commentators, who have identified it in strains that mimic imperialism, exoticism, primitivism and also, pure fantasy. ‘How’, the critics of these films ask, ‘can an individual not acquainted with a land be entrusted with the task of translating its basic truths?’

In this present series, entitled, ‘A Procession of Masks’, writers from Lightcube, a film collective based out of New Delhi, examine a series of films produced by German authors in India. The series identifies these as being useful examples of a ‘visitor-film’ that perceives the subject of its study through a system of dignity, empathy and curiosity. The four articles contained in the series explore different mechanisms by which to locate value and merit in the films produced by ‘outsiders’ – as also, to look for new ways in which to talk of these titles. The series includes discussions of three primary examples: Werner Herzog’s Jag Mandir (1991), Franz Osten’s Shiraz (1928) and the films of Paul Zils

Serie: Deutsche Filmemacher in Indien (3) Der mitfühlende Rahmen: Über Paul Zils und seine Filme

The Vanishing Tribe
The Vanishing Tribe | © Films Division, India

In unserer Film-Serie stellen wir Arbeiten deutscher Filmemacher vor, die in Indien entstanden sind. Die ausgewählten Filme werden als gelungene Beispiele für „Gäste-Filme“ betrachtet. Der dritte Beitrag nähert sich der mythenumwitterten Figur Paul Zils, der trotz seiner ausgiebigen Filmographie als rätselhaft gilt.

Paul Zils ist trotz seiner ausgiebigen Filmographie eine mythenumwitterte Figur. In den wichtigen Bibliotheken des Landes findet sich nicht viel von ihm. In der Films Division sind es nur vier Dokumentationen, darunter New Life of a Displaced Person (1957), der sich in einem schlechten Zustand befindet und von dem ein Teil zu fehlen scheint. Und als wären die verloren gegangenen Filme nicht genug, auch die Figur selbst umgibt ein Mythos. Filmhistoriker und Zeitgenossen waren in ihren Ansichten über ihn, über seine ideologischen Einstellungen und seine große Produktivität gespalten. Denis Vidal kommt nach einigen Nachforschungen zu der interessanten Schlussfolgerung, dass die Quelle aller Informationen über "Zils Paul Zils selbst ist."[1] Ganz zweifellos firmiert Zils in der Geschichte des indischen Kinos jedenfalls als eine rätselhafte Figur; als jemand, der die Verwandlung Indiens von einer britischen Kolonie in einen unabhängigen souveränen Staat erlebte und anders als viele seiner Zeitgenossen an den entscheidenden Ereignisse seiner Zeit beteiligt war – als Handelnder wie als Beobachter.

Nach einigen Problemen bei der Beschaffung konnte ich eine DVD mit vier seiner Filme erwerben: The Ripening Seed (1956), New Life of a Displaced Person (1957), Maa: The Story of an Unmarried Mother (1957) und The Vanishing Tribe (1963). Die Produktion dieser Filme ist außergewöhnlich und sie sind Beispiele dafür, wie das Kino ein Werkzeug zur Nation-Werdung in einem gerade entstandenen Land sein kann – indem sie die Menschen über die “richtige” Art Dinge zu tun aufklären, zu korrektem sozialen und moralischen Verhalten anhalten und über staatlich verordnete wirtschaftliche und soziale Pläne und Programme informieren – die von Nehru propagierten Grundsätze einer Vorstellung von Indien. Auffällig ist besonders das Mitgefühl, mit dem Zils die zentralen Figuren in seinen Dokumentationen porträtiert. Selbst der Asoziale, der Ungläubige oder der Kritiker werden in Zils Dokumentationen mit Respekt behandelt und mit ihren Ansichten ernst genommen. Sie erhalten in jenen Tagen teuren Filmmaterials ein paar weitere Meter.

Szene aus Maa - The Story of an Unmarried Mother Szene aus Maa - The Story of an Unmarried Mother | © Films Division, India Unter den erhaltenen Filmen sticht Maa: The Story of an Unmarried Mother heraus. Er wurde im gleichen Jahr wie Mother India produziert — jenes epische Drama, das als klassischer indischer Film gilt und sogar Oscar-norminiert war. Paul Zils zeigt in seinem Film eine ganz andere, viel nuanciertere Maa (Mutter). Diese ist nicht so geboten ideologisch gleichgültig oder daran interessiert, einen moralischen Kreuzzug zu führen, und dabei eine, die vielleicht in den Wirklichkeiten der Welt lebt. Sie ist ein Individuum, das Ablehnung erfährt und von der Gesellschaft unterdrückt wird und selbst noch in Momenten unermesslichen persönlichen Leids und Verunsicherung nicht die Hoffnung verliert, sich stattdessen am glücklichen Ausgang erfreut. Sie zeigt sich fähig zu Innenansichten und lebt ihr wahres Ich ohne falschen Schein. Für das Kinopublikum muss es im Jahr 1957 unglaublich bereichernd gewesen sein, beide Filme gesehen zu haben, möglichst sogar direkt hintereinander.
 
Weder idealisiert Paul Zils die Mutterfigur noch macht er sie zum Idol. Das zeigt sich im Thema des Films: das Leben einer Alleinerziehenden – sonst ein Gegenstand für viel Spott und sozialer Ausgrenzung noch im heutigen modernen Indien – wird hier ganz faktisch gezeigt, so dass es in den Augen der Betrachter all seinen Makel verliert.
 
Zils trifft für Maa eine weitere wichtige Entscheidung. Er lässt den Film von einer Frauenstimme erzählen, und diese Erzählerinnenstimme ist die der Schauspielerin, die die Figur der unverheirateten Frau spielt. Fast immer war es sonst eine männliche Stimme, die den Kommentar einsprach, und die Stimmen der Figuren waren dagegen fast nie zu vernehmen. Hier nun hören wir eine Frau im Handlungsgeschehen und die selbe Frau liefert auch den Filmkommentar, wodurch sich die ‘Wirklichkeit’ des Films verdichtet. 
 
Der Film beginnt mit einer kurzen Szene, die eine Frau in einem Kindergarten zeigt, die kleinere Streitigkeiten unter den Kindern schlichtet und sich ganz ungezwungen durch ihren Tag bewegt. Als Betrachter ist sie einem gleich vertraut und man freut sich, sie als jemand zu erleben, der sich um andere bemüht. Nach ein paar Sekunden, während sie sich um dieses Kind kümmert, beginnt sie ihre Geschichte zu erzählen. Dem Zuschauer kommt dies wie eine ganz unverstellte und schnelle Verwandlung vor, durch die die vorher gestiftete Beziehung zur Figur nicht wieder gebrochen wird, der Zuschauer aber sogleich zu Vorurteilen verführt wird – ein erstaunlich geschicktes Manöver –, um so zur Erzählung des früheren Lebens der Frau zu kommen.

Szene aus New Life of a Displaced Person Szene aus New Life of a Displaced Person | © Films Division, India Ein ähnliches Einfühlungsvermögen gegenüber seinen Figuren beweist Zils in seinen früheren Filmen The Ripening Seed (1956) und New Life of a Displaced Person (1957). Der erste ist ein intelligent gemachter Film über das Elternsein und über das psychologische Verständnis, das Eltern besitzen müssen, um gesunde und glückliche Kinder heranzuziehen. Der zweite erzählt die Geschichte eine Migrantenfamilie aus Pakistan in der Zeit nach der Teilung, die in einem neuen, von der Regierung errichteten Dorf angesiedelt wird – ein unmittelbarerer, Information vermittelnder Film über Initiativen der Regierung und von Institutionen wie das Soil Institute, die eingerichtet wurden, um den Bauern zu helfen, mit dem neuen Klima und dem Bodenverhältnissen auf ihrem neuen Land zurecht zu kommen. Auch hier setzt Zils seinen nuancierten Ansatz um und schenkt den Figuren Momente für unmittelbare Reflexionen.
 
Ähnliche Zwischentöne und etwas langsamere Rhythmen bekommt man in The Vanishing Tribe zu sehen, der den Stamm der Toda dokumentiert, wobei der Rhythmus des Films von der Neugier eines Kindes und der Gebrechlichkeit der Älteren vorgegeben wird. Der Film endet mit dem Hinscheiden der Großmutter und ihrer rituellen Einäscherung. Das Kind hat noch so viele der Zeremonien und so vieles aus der Stammesgeschichte zu entdecken, während eine ungewisse Zukunft droht. Der Film adoptiert nicht wie so viele ethnographische Dokumentarfilme eine Sichtweise, durch die die Stämme als primitiv porträtiert werden und als solche der Befreiung bedürfen. Stattdessen werden alle Handelnden in Würde und mit viel Einfühlvermögen gezeigt, was bei der Mythologie des Stammes beginnt. Aufgrund ihrer visuellen Sprache wirken Zils Filme auf den ersten Blick nicht besonders komplex. Doch innerlich sind sie sehr viel komplexer – etwas, was sich bis heute nur selten in Dokumentarfilmen findet.
 
Die lange Zeit, die Zils in Indien verbrachte (darunter auch die Zeit als Kriegsgefangener), wird ihn auch während seines Schaffens als Filmemacher mit den vielfältigen Aspekten des Lebens und der Kultur in Indien vertraut gemacht haben. Er war an unterschiedlichsten Filmen beteiligt, darunter auch Filmen, die später als Unternehmensfilme klassifiziert wurden. Er interessierte sich nicht nur für Dokumentarformate, in denen er es zur Meisterschaft brachte, sondern auch für Spielfilme. Er arbeitete mit einigen der größten Namen seiner Zeit an Langfilmen wie Hindustan Humara (1950), Zalzala (1952) and Shabash (1952). Auch wenn diese Filme alle verschollen sind, kann man eines der Lieder aus Hindustan Humara auf YouTube finden. Das Lied preist Gott dafür, jedermann mit einem Dach über dem Kopf zu versehen, wenn er denn wirklich der Allmächtige ist – und damit ist auch schon fast die Handlung des Films erzählt und vielleicht auch dessen Tonlage wiedergegeben. Eines Tages werden die Filmrollen von Hindustan Humara doch noch wieder auftauchen.
 
[1] Denis Vidal. The Uncertainties of Patronage about the Origins of Documentary Cinema in India and in the British Empire. Amrit, Gangar, Paul Zils and the Indian Documentary, Goethe Institut, 2003
 

In der Filmgeschichte gibt es eine lange Tradition, in der Filmemacher in ein ihnen fremdes Land reisen – ins Ausland oder in ihnen unbekannte Landschaften –, um dort vor Ort die lokale „Wirklichkeit“ aufzunehmen. Über die Jahre aber ist diese Tradition einer immer kritischeren Betrachtung ausgesetzt worden – da Kommentatoren in ihr Züge entdeckten, in denen sich ein Imperialismus, Exotismus, Primitivismus und auch reinste Phantasie abbildeten. Wie, fragten diese Kritiker, kann denn jemandem, der sich in dem Land gar nicht auskennt, überhaupt die Aufgabe übertragen werden, dessen grundlegende Wahrheiten zu vermitteln?

In der aktuellen Serie mit dem Titel ‘A Procession of Masks’ stellen Autoren von Lightcube, einem Filmkollektiv in New Delhi, Arbeiten deutscher Filmemacher vor, die in Indien entstanden. In der Reihe werden die ausgewählten Filme als gelungene Beispiele für „Gäste-Filme“ betrachtet, in denen sich den Gegenständen ihres Interesses mit Würde, Einfühlungsvermögen und Neugierde genähert wird. Die vier Beiträge in dieser Reihe untersuchen die unterschiedlichen Mechanismen, mit deren Hilfe man Wert und Bedeutung dieser von „Außenstehenden“ produzierten Filme bestimmen kann – und sie suchen auch neue Wege, über diese zu sprechen. In der Serie finden sich drei herausragende Beispiele: Werner Herzogs Jag Mandir (1991), Franz Ostens Shiraz (1928) und die Filme von Paul Zils.