Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Hot and spicy
Fast food, Indian style: Hell, hell, hell

Indian Fast Food
Indian Fast Food | © Ulrike Putz


McDonalds, Kentucky Fried Chicken, Pizza Hut: International fast food chains are taking over the Indian market. However, people traveling to India who think they may get something familiar, rather than more curry and chicken tikka, should beware: The menus at fast food restaurants in India are … dangerous.

By Ulrike Putz

If you want to see seasoned Indian men crying, you should head to the Kentucky Fried Chicken on Connaught Place in New Delhi. Outside, the big-city traffic is raging around the giant roundabout, which the British colonial rulers left behind for the Indians. Inside, Vicky, a driver, is fighting back tears. Vicky is a burly man, 34-years-old, a proud Sikh from Punjab, a family father and a body building fan. His hands are about as big as the trey in front of him, which already has two of his teardrops on it.

What happened? Vicky just bit into a “Flaming Crunch” drumstick. This instrument of torture is administered at the counter in pairs for 155 rupees  (2.50 euros). “Made with the world’s spiciest chili” is written in flaming red letters on the menu above the register.

“Very spicy, very good”

You could recognize this as a warning, but Indians like Vicky seem to be downright enticed by the promise of terribly agony. According to representatives from KFC India, “Flaming Crunch” is one of the chain’s bestselling dishes. Accordingly, the sale of fried chicken wings tripled after “Flaming Crunch” was introduced. Even Vicky finishes eating his drumstick dusted with poisonous, orange chili powder. “Very spicy, very good,” he praises; his eyes are slightly puffy from the tears.

The fact that Indians like spicy food, is well-known. But it was still painstaking for Western fast food chains, which are crowding India’s 1.2 billion person market, to find out how spicy they like to eat. in 1996, the first McDonalds, Dominos, Kentucky Fried Chicken and Pizza Hut chains opened in India – to no great success. The Indians weren’t getting anything out of the grub, even if they were curious about the international menu.

vegetables instead of meat

What also made things difficult, is the fact that consuming beef is strictly forbidden in the land of the holy cow. This obviously makes life hard primarily for burger joints. At best, you can find a burger in India with buffalo meat that can be somewhat tough. The next problem: More than half of Indians are vegetarians. Burger joints and fried chicken places need to expand their meat-heavy menus to include lots and lots of vegetables to be able to reach this clientele.

“Obviously we’ve kept the core items on our menu,” the head of quality control told me at the McDonalds on Connaught Place. French fried and chicken nuggets are offered in every McDonalds around the globe. Foreigners appreciate that. “We always have a lot of tourists here that go for the stuff they know from home like they’re starving,” the manager says, who doesn’t want to give his name, since he isn’t an authorized spokesperson.

sick of all the spices

The McDonalds guy says, that when he talks to foreigners, many say that after traveling for weeks on an exclusively Indian diet, they’re sick of all the spices. “Many of them also have stomach issues.” The fact that his establishment has a squeaky clean bathroom, for Indian standards, is also a magnet for foreign patrons. Westerners are also happy to be able to sit down and eat their fast food: On India’s streets, people usually eat standing up.

Even McDonalds, a hamburger restaurant, makes 70% of it’s revenue in India from meatless products. The McSpicy with “100% paneer passion” is a big hit. Paneer is firm, fresh cheese that Indians love. Stuck between two halves of a bun and fried with extremely spicy breading, it a unites South Asian taste with Western food conventions.

extreme potential for growth

The strange iterations in international fast food chains may be worth it. The fast food industry in India is considered to be an industry with extreme potential for growth. The Indian consulting firm, Technopak, estimates that the current market volume of about a billion euros annually could grow to up to 3.5 billion over the next five years.

The attempt at fitting into local habits can also produce strange results. Pizza Hut in India has been offering “Birizza” for a year, which is a fusion of the common rice stew, Biryani and pizza. A bowl of the rice stew is covered with a top made of pizza dough and then it gets baked. The guest pokes into the edible top and then spoons out its contents, which are obviously insanely spicy. The drinks at Pizza Hut are also somewhat experimental. Lemonade is seasoned with masala, an indian mixture of spices. And what’s swimming in the mango juice? A chili pepper of course.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Hot and spicy
Fast Food auf Indisch: Hölle, Hölle, Hölle!

Indian Fast Food
Indian Fast Food | © Ulrike Putz

McDonalds, Kentucky Fried Chicken, Pizza Hut: Internationale Fast Food-Ketten erobern den indischen Markt. Doch Indien-Reisende, die glauben, dort bekämen sie statt Curry und Chicken Tikka endlich mal wieder vertraute Kost, sollten aufpassen: Die Angebote der Schnellrestaurants sind ... gefährlich.

Von Ulrike Putz

Wer gestandene indische Männer weinen sehen will, kann das zum Beispiel im Kentucky Fried Chicken Schnellrestaurant am Connaught Place in Neu-Delhi tun. Draußen tost der Großstadtverkehr um den gigantischen Verkehrskreisel, den die britischen Kolonialherren den Indern dagelassen haben. Drinnen sitzt der Fahrer Vicky und kämpft mit den Tränen. Vicky ist ein stattlicher Mann, 34 Jahre alt, ein stolzer Sikh aus dem Punjab, Familienvater und Body Building Fan. Seine Pranken sind fast so groß wie das Tablett, das vor ihm steht und auf das bereits zwei Tränen getropft sind.
 
Was passiert ist? Vicky hat gerade in eine "Flaming Crunch" Hähnchen-Keule gebissen. Dieses Folterinstrument wird am Tresen paarweise abgeben, für 155 Rupien (2,20 Euro) je zwei Stück. "Made with the worlds spiciest chili" steht in rot geflammten Lettern auf der Menukarte über der Kasse geschrieben. 

"Sehr scharf, sehr gut"

Man könnte das als Warnung verstehen, doch Inder wie Vicky scheinen von den Versprechungen von Höllenqualen geradezu angestachelt. Repräsentanten von KFC Indien zu Folge ist "Flaming Crunch" eins der meistverkauften Gerichte der Kette. Danach hat sich der Verkauf von panierten Hähnchenschenkeln seit der Einführung des "Flammenden Knuspers" verdreifacht. Auch Vicky isst seine mit giftig-orangenem Chili-Pulver bestäubten Keulen auf. "Sehr scharf, sehr gut", lobt er leicht verheult.
 
Das Inder gern scharf essen, ist bekannt: Wie scharf sie gern essen, haben westliche Fast Food Ketten, die auf Indiens 1,2 Milliarden Menschen großen Markt drängen, erst mühsam herausfinden müssen. 1996 eröffneten McDonalds, Dominos, Kentucky Fried Chicken und Pizza Hut ihre ersten Imbisse in Indien - ohne großen Erfolg. Die Inder, wenngleich neugierig auf die internationale Kost, konnten dem für ihren Geschmack faden Fraß nichts abgewinnen. 

Gemüsevielfalt statt Fleischlast

Erschwerend kam hinzu, dass Rindfleischkonsum im Land der heiligen Kühe strickt verboten ist: Das macht vor allem den Burgerbratern das Leben schwer. Burger gibt es in Indien allenfalls mit oftmals etwas zähem Büffelfleisch. Nächstes Problem: Mehr als die Hälfte aller Inder sind Vegetarier. Burgerschmieden und Hähnchenbrater mussten ihr fleischlastiges Angebot um sehr viel Gemüse erweitern, um bei diesem Klientel zu punkten. 
 
"Natürlich haben wir die Herzstücke unseres Menus beibehalten", sagt bei McDonalds am Connaught Place der Chef der Abteilung Qualitätssicherung. Pommes Frites und paniertes Huhn würden von jedem McDonalds rund um den Globus angeboten. Das wüssten vor allem die Ausländer zu schätzen. "Wir haben hier immer viele Touristen, die sich wie verhungert auf die Sachen stürzen, die sie von zu Hause kennen", sagt der Manager, der seinen Namen nicht gedruckt sehen will, weil er nicht als Sprecher authorisiert ist. 

Magnet: Blitzsaubere Klos

Wenn er die Ausländer anspreche erzählten viele, dass sie nach wochenlangen Reisen mit ausschließlich indischer Kost die Nase voll hätten von den vielen Gewürzen, erzählt der McDonalds-Mann. "Viele haben auch Magenprobleme.” Die Tatsache, dass sein Laden ein für indische Verhältnisse blitzsauberes Klo habe, sei ein Magnet für ausländisches Publikum. Auch freue es die Westler, wenn sie sich auch zu einem schnellen Essen mal hinsetzen können: Entlang der Straßen Indiens wird sonst eher im Stehen gespeist.
 
Selbst das Hamburger-Restaurant McDonalds erzielt in Indien etwa 70 Prozent seines Umsatzes mit fleischloser Ware. Größter Hit: Der McSpicy mit "100% Paneer Passion". Paneer ist der schnittfeste Frischkäse, den die Inder lieben. Zwischen zwei Brötchenhälften gesteckt und höllisch scharf paniert versöhnt er den südasiatischen Geschmack mit westlicher Esssitte. 

enormes Wachstum

Die Verrenkungen der internationalen Schnell-Ess-Ketten dürften sich lohnen: Die die Fast Food Industrie in Indien gilt Branche mit extremen Wachstumschancen. Die indische Beraterfirma Technopak schätzt, dass das jetzige Marktvolumen von knapp einer Milliarde Euro in den kommenden fünf Jahren auf bis zu 3.5 Milliarden Umsatz im Jahr ansteigen wird. 
 
Der Versuch, sich den lokalen Gepflogenheiten anzupassen, kann allerdings auch seltsame Ergebnisse hervorbringen. Seit einem Jahr bietet Pizza Hut Indien Birizza an, eine Fusion aus dem typischen Reiseintopf Biryani und Pizza. Dazu wird eine Schale mit dem Reisallerlei mit einem Deckel aus Pizzateig verschlossen und dann gebacken. Der Gast klopft den essbaren Deckel auf und löffelt den Inhalt mit einer - logo - teuflisch scharfen Soße zusammen aus. Auch bei den Getränken geht es bei Pizza Hut experimentell daher. Die Limonade wird mit der indischen Gewürzmischung Masala versetzt serviert. Und im Mangosaft schwimmt - was wohl? - eine Chilischote.
 

Top