Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Third Cinema
Experimental and Avant-garde films made in India

Ashish Avikunthak
Ashish Avikunthak | © Ashish Avikunthak

By Ashish Avikunthak

In June 2019, I was invited by Abhishek Nilamber - a young curator to show a retrospective of my films at Wolf Kino - one of the newest venue for art-house cinema exhibition in Berlin. This was my mid-career retrospective organized by Wolf-Kino, where over the course of six days between, June 7th to June 12th 2019, five feature films of mine were shown along with a talk on my practice on 9th June. This was the first time a retrospective of my feature-films are being presented in a European country, it was rare honor for me and for Indian cinema.

The Curator - Abhishek Nilamber

As a curator, Abhishek Nilamber, who is originally from Kerala, but has been a resident of Berlin for the past four years, works with projects and products which catalyzes democratization of knowledge. He is a curator and project manager at SAVVY Contemporary, Berlin and creative consultant at Backyard Civilization, Kochi, India. Nilamber has been living and working in Berlin since May 2016.
 
I had met Abhishek Nilamber, when he came to Calcutta in early 2018 to interview me about independent filmmaking and distribution as part of a research project he was curating called “United Screens”. This research aimed to collect testimonials of individuals and associations involved with the contemporary alternate film scenes/industries active in postcolonial countries. “United Screens”, based its investigation on Third Cinema theory which proposed the decolonization of culture, through radical approaches to cinema production and distribution, and argued that the contemporary alternative cinemas, produced in post-colonial nations, might be the resurgence of third cinema propositions.

This curatorial research project was eventually exhibited in Savvy Contemporary, Berlin in July 2018, bringing together filmmakers, producers, formal and informal distributors, cinema critics, and film organizations and institutions into a cross-geopolitical conversation and dialogue about the state of today's: third cinema film culture and what it encompassed.

The Cinema Theater - Wolf-Kino

Wolf-Kino, Berlin is the newest independent art-house theatre in Berlin and shows top of the line international art-cinema from contemporary releases to classics. It is a collaborative cinema theatre in Berlin run by a collective of cinephiles led by Verena von Stackelberg, Kristofer Woods, Maia Santos and others. It is situated in the Neukölln boroughs of Berlin which has very rapidly transformed from a working-class district to a neighborhood inundated with vegan cafés and feisty cross-cultural stores, and delicious kebab shops.

According to the founder Verena von Stackelberg the building which now houses Wolf Kino was once a book binder shop, a laundrette, a bakery, a tobacco store, and a brothel. Before Wolf Kino started, it was a disused and crumbling space and now turned it into a cinema showing the best of international art-house cinema. The collective ran a crowdfunding camping in 2015 to transform the abandoned location into one of Berlin’s happening cinema spot. It started operations in 2017.
 
Today, Wolf-Kino has two screens with pristine exhibition conditions, with high-end 2K Christie’s projectors for screening DCP – gold standard of digital cinema projections – and high fidelity sound systems in their cinema theatre. I was informed by Kristofer Woods that the cinema theatre was designed, constructed and fitted by technicians who work for the Berlinale. 

The Retrospective

The retrospective of my films was the second that Wolf-Kino organized since they opened in 2017. In summer of 2018, they had organized a retrospective of films by Peter Watkins – one of the foremost political documentary filmmaker from UK who has recurrently questioned the establishment in his astonishing works since the 1960s and confronted his audience with his docu-dramatic films.
 
All the films that will be shown in this retrospective have been produced in the last 8 years. Here is short description of each of the films that will be shown as part of retrospective.
 

  1. Katho Upanishad, 35mm, Color, Hindi, 80 minutes, 2011 - Teach me the path beyond death,” asks Nachiketa to Yama, the God of Death. ‘Katho Upanishad’ is a film that expounds on this basic quest of human existence. It is a film about a man's pursuit for nirvana. The film centers on the metaphysical dialogue between Nachiketa and Yama. It is an adaptation of a two and half thousand years old Sanskrit treatise of the same name, where Yama instructs Nachiketa about the path towards enlightenment. Structurally, the film is a triad with three chapters – the quest, the dialogue and the final liberation.
  2. Rati Chakravyuh, DCP, Color, Bengali 105 minutes, 2013 - On a lunar eclipse midnight, in a desolate temple, six young newlywed couples and a priestess meet after a mass wedding. They sit in a circle and talk. This is their last conversation – an exchange about life, death, beginning, end and everything in between. After a discussion that lasts more than an hour and a half, they commit mass suicide.
  3. The Churning of Kalki (Kalkimanthankatha), DCP, Color and B&W, Bengali, 79 minutes, 2015 - Following the footsteps of Samuel Beckett's "Waiting for Godot", two actors from Calcutta go to the largest gathering of humans on earth - the Hindu festival of Maha Kumbh of Allahabad in 2013, which occurs once in 12 years, to search for Kalki - the Tenth and the final avatar of Lord Vishnu. The most mysterious of Vishnu's Avatar who has been on earth but has never been found. However, an outbreak of a monumental war occurs during their quest. They then prepare themselves by reading Chairman Mao-se-Tung's "Little Red Book".
  4. The Kali of Emergency (Aapothkalin Trikalika), DCP, Color and B&W, Bengali, 79 minutes, 2017 - During social and political turmoil what is the manifestation of divine intervention? How do the Gods and Goddess act in the volatility of the contemporary world? If they walk on earth as men and women, how they endure the chaos of modernity? Centering on the terrible and the majestic incarnations of Goddess Kali and her celestial avatars, this film is a metaphysical contemplation in times of perpetual emergencies.
  5. Dispassionate Love (Virndavani Vairagya) DCP, Color, Bengali, 91 minutes, 2018 - Recalling memories of a friend who committed suicide, three lovers slowly slide into an anguish labyrinth of desire, loss and longing. They entangle in a colliding maze of forsaken loves, failed expectations and imperfect anticipations. A disintegrating web arises in which love exists, but as dispassionate yearning. Here affection is an indifferent desire that burns the soul to death.

These films were shown once every evening at 7PM from June 7th to June 12th 2019 and were well attended due to the extensive network of cinephile audience that Wolf-Kino attracts regularly. Each screening was introduced by Abhishek Nilamber and Kristofer Woods. After each screening there was extensive Q&A often lasting for more than an hour, where I was asked incisive questions by the audience who had seen the film, over beer and drinks in the adjoining Wolf Kino bar and restaurant.
 
These post-screening conversations were the most fruitful part of my experience at Berlin – questions about the content, aesthetics, practice, ideologies, philosophies and theories were asked pertaining to my films, which led to animated discussions.

Cinema Prayoga: Theory against experimental from India

On 9th of June, I gave a talk to an audience about my filmic practice. The talk was entitled “Cinema Prayoga: Theory against experimental from India” – In this talk I provided a historical and philosophical context to the term Cinema of Prayoga that was first employed by film critic Armit Gangar in 2006 to describe experimental and avant-garde films made in India. My films have been classified within the productive possibility of this term by Amrit Gangar since the inception of this term. In the talk, I argued that the theoretical armature of Cinema of Prayoga provides an alternative theoretical framework to comprehend especially the idiosyncrasies of Indian cinematic modernity. I emphasized that a mere derivative appropriation or a credulous transference of western art historical theories, models and conceptual framework is not adequate to grasp, explain or theorize filmic archive that have been erroneously categorized in India as experimental or avant-garde. 

Cinema of Prayoga emphasizes that a nuanced story of these films can be told if conceptual frameworks are employed from pre-modern/pre-colonial Indian theoretical and philosophical universe. Hitherto, these filmic works (Mani Kaul, Kuamr Shahani, Kamal Swaroop and others) have been assessed from the perspectives of western theoretical framework primarily because of the preponderance of the western technological provenance of the cinematic apparatus. 
 
I suggested that Cinema of Prayoga is pointing at the necessity of introducing pre-modern/pre-colonial/ non-western Indian epistemological and ontological theories that are largely ignored by contemporary commentators of these filmic works in our comprehension of this body of films. I further contended that this is because these filmic works of idiosyncratic Indian cinematic modernity are in a conversation predominantly with Indian pre-modernity than with contemporary western modernity. These films, like mine are undoubtedly located in western modernity, but only so much as product of a modern technological apparatus.

They are I reiterate again, are in conversation with a pre-colonial and pre-modern India. Cinema of Prayoga is not seeking to substitute prevailing theoretical and historical models of Indian cinema, but provides a nuanced history of Indian cinematic modernity by introducing a body of pre-modern theoretical interlocutors that have been largely ignored by historians and commentators of Indian cinema. Cinema of Prayoga is not a comprehensive theory of all encompassing Indian cinematic modernity, but it specifically employs this terminology to comprehend the most misunderstood fraction of India cinematic modernity – imprecisely labelled experimental.
 
The talk followed an invigorating Q&A that lasted more than an hour in which I gave clarification to the many queries raised.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Third Cinema
Experimentelle und Avantgarde-Filme aus Indien in Berlin

Ashish Avikunthak
Ashish Avikunthak | © Ashish Avikunthak

Von Ashish Avikunthak

Im Juni 2019 kam ich auf Einladung von Abhishek Nilamber, einem jungen Kurator, nach Berlin, um dort meine Filme in einer Retrospektive im Wolf Kino zu zeigen. Es zählt zu den jüngsten Art-House-Kinos der Stadt. Es war eine Mid-Career-Retrospektive, die an sechs Tagen zwischen dem 7. und 12. Juni 2019 lief. Gezeigt wurden fünf Langfilme von mir, dazu gab es noch ein Publikumsgespräch am 9. Juni. Es war die erste Retrospektive meiner Filme in Europa – eine seltene Ehre für mich und das indische Kino.

Der Kurator - Abhishek Nilamber

Der ursprünglich aus Kerala stammende Abhishek Nilamber arbeitet an Projekten und Produkten, die die Demokratisierung von Wissen befördern sollen. Er ist Kurator und Projektmanager bei SAVVY Contemporary in Berlin und kreativer Berater für Backyard Civilization in Kochi, Indien. Nilamber lebt und arbeitet seit Mai 2016 in Berlin.
 
Zum ersten Mal traf ich Abhishek Nilamber Anfang 2018 in Kolkata. Er interviewte mich im Rahmen seines Forschungsprojekt “United Screens” zum unabhängigen Filmemachen und zu alternativen Filmvertrieb. Ziel des Projektes war es, Statements und Aussagen von Personen und Institutionen zusammenzutragen, die in der Gegenwart zu alternativen Filmszenen und Filmindustrien in postkolonialen Ländern zählen. Grundlage sind Überlegungen des so genannten Third Cinema, das die Dekolonialisierung von Kultur durch radikale Ansätze bei der Filmproduktion und bei den Vertriebswegen befördert.

Man kann in heutigen alternativen Filmszenen in postkolonialen Ländern eine Wiederaufnahme von Positionen dieses Third Cinema erkennen. Das von Nilamber kuratierte Forschungsprojekt wurde dann im Juli 2018 bei Savvy Contemporary in Berlin gezeigt, wobei Filmemacher*innen, Produzent*innen und Filmkritiker*innen sowie verschiedene Vertriebe, Filminitiativen und Einrichtungen miteinander ins weltumspannend geopolitische Gespräch gebracht und zu Dialogen über den aktuellen Status des Third Cinema und seiner Ausdrucksformen angeregt wurden.

Das Filmtheater – Wolf Kino

Das Wolf Kino in Berlin ist das jüngste Art-House-Kino in Berlin und zeigt erstklassige neue internationale Art-House-Film wie auch Klassiker. Es ist ein Gemeinschaftsunternehmen, das von einem aus Cineasten bestehenden Kollektiv (u.a. Verena von Stackelberg, Kristofer Woods und Maia Santos) geleitet wird. Es befindet sich im Stadtbezirk Neukölln. Neukölln hat sich unlängst von einem Arbeiterbezirk in eine Gegend voller veganer Cafés, immer belebter Ladenlokale mit Kulturartikeln und ausgezeichneten Kebab-Läden verwandelt.

Nach Auskunft der Mitgründerin Verena von Stackelberg beherbergte das Haus, in dem sich heute das Wolf Kino befindet, vorher eine Buchbinderei, einen Waschsalon, eine Bäckerei, einen Tabakladen und ein Bordell. Bevor das Wolf Kino einzog, stand das Gebäude leer und war ziemlich heruntergekommen. Das Kollektiv startete 2015 eine Crowdfunding-Kampagne, um den verlassenen Ort in eine der ersten Kino-Adressen von Berlin zu verwandeln. Der Spielbetrieb wurde 2017 aufgenommen.
 
Heute hat das Wolf Kino zwei neue Leinwände mit exzellenter Abspielqualität mit High-End-2K Christie’s Projektoren für DCP-Vorführungen – der Goldstandard für digitale Projektoren – und High Fidelity-Klangsysteme. Kristofer Woods erzählte mir, dass das Filmtheater von Technikern entworfen und eingerichtet wurde, die auch für die Berlinale arbeiten. 

Die Retrospektive

Die Retrospektive meiner Filme war erst die zweite, die seit der Eröffnung 2017 im Wolf Kino lief. Im Sommer 2018 gab es eine Retrospektive mit Filmen von Peter Watkins, einem der profiliertesten politischen Filmemacher aus Großbritannien, der mit seinen Filmen das Establishment seit den 1960igern immer wieder in Frage stellt und das Publikum mit seinen doku-dramatischen Filmen konfrontiert.
 
Alle in der Retrospektive gezeigten Filme entstanden in den vergangenen acht Jahren:
 

  1. Katho Upanishad, 35mm, Farbe, Hindi, 80 min., 2011 - “Lehre mir den Weg nach dem Tod,” bittet Nachiketa Yama, die Göttin des Todes. Der Film behandelt die grundlegende Frage menschlicher Existenz. Es ist ein Film über die Suche eines Menschen nach dem Nirwana. Der Film konzentriert sich auf den metaphysischen Dialog zwischen Nachiketa und Yama. Es ist die Adaptation eines zweieinhalbtausend Jahre alten Stückes aus dem Sanskrit gleichen Namens, in dem Yama Nachiketa den Weg zur Erleuchtung erklärt. Strukturell gliedert sich der Film in drei Teile: Suche, Dialog und endgültige Befreiung.
  2. Rati Chakravyuh, DCP, Farbe, Bengali 105 min., 2013 - Zu mitternächtlicher Stunde, während einer Mondfinsternis, treffen sich sechs jungverheiratete Paare und eine Priesterin nach einer Massentrauung in einem einsamen Tempel. Sie sitzen im Kreis und unterhalten sich. Dies ist ihre letzte Unterhaltung – ein Austausch über das Leben, den Tod, den Anfang, das Ende und alles Weitere. Nach einer mehr als einstündigen Unterredung begehen sie gemeinschaftlich Suizid.
  3. The Churning of Kalki (Kalkimanthankatha), DCP, Farbe und s/w, Bengali, 79 min., 2015 - In Nachfolge von Becketts “Warten auf Godot” machen sich zwei Schauspieler aus Kolkata auf den Weg zur größten Versammlung von Menschen auf der Welt – dem Hindu Festival Kumbh Mela in Allahabad 2013, das nur alle zwölf Jahre stattfindet, um nach Kalki zu suchen – der zehnten und finalen Verkörperung des Lord Vishnu. Die geheimnisvollste Verkörperung von Vishnu ist auf der Welt, wurde aber nie gefunden. Während ihrer Suche allerdings bricht ein gewaltiger Krieg aus. Die beiden bereiten sich dann vor, im dem sie das “Kleine rote Buch” des Vorsitzenden Mao lesen.
  4. The Kali of Emergency (Aapothkalin Trikalika), DCP, Farbe und s/w, Bengali, 79 min., 2017 - Was ist ein Zeichen für göttlichen Eingriff während sozialer und politsicher Unruhen? Wie handeln Götter und Göttinnen in der Unbeständigkeit der gegenwärtigen Welt? Wenn sie als Männer und Frauen durch die Welt schreiten, wie halten sie dann das Chaos der Moderne aus? Mit einer Konzentration auf die schrecklichen und majestätischen Inkarnationen der Göttin Kali und ihrer himmlischen Verkörperungen ist dieser Film eine metaphysische Besinnung in Zeiten ständiger Krisen.
  5. Dispassionate Love (Virndavani Vairagya) DCP, Farbe, Bengali, 91 min., 2018 - Im Gedenken an einen Freud, der sich umgebracht hat, versenken sich drei Liebende langsam in ein schmerzvolles Labyrinth von Verlangen, Verlust und Begehren. Sie verlieren sich in einem kollidierenden Irrgarten aus aufgebenen Lieben, gescheiterten Erwartungen und unvollkommenen Vorgefühlen. Ein zerfallendes Gewebe entsteht, in dem Liebe existiert, allerdings als leidenschaftslose Sehnsucht. Zuneigung ist hier ein gleichgültiges Verlangen, das die Seele zu Tode verbrennt.

Der Publikumszuspruch war sehr gut dank intensiver Werbung unter dem kinobegeisterten Stammpublikum des Wolf Kino. Zu jedem Film gab es vorab eine Einführung von Abhishek Nilamber und Kristofer Woods. Auf alle Vorführungen folgten ausgedehnte, bis zu einer Stunde lange Q&A bei Bier und anderen Getränken in der Kneipe des Wolf Kino, in denen ich von den Zuschauern mit sehr präzisen Fragen konfrontiert  wurde.
 
Diese Gespräche nach dem Film waren der fruchtbarste Teil meines Berlin-Aufenthalts – die vielen Fragen zu Inhalten, Ästhetik, Praxis, Philosophien und Theorien, die meine Filme betreffen, führten zu angeregten Diskussionen.

Der Begriff Cinema of Prayoga

Am 9. Juni hielt ich einen Vortrag zu meinem Filmschaffen: “Cinema Prayoga: Theory against experimental from India”. Darin erläuterte ich den historischen und philosophischen Zusammengang des Begriffs Cinema of Prayoga, der erstmals 2006 vom Filmkritiker Armit Gangar gebraucht wurde, um experimentelle und Avantgarde-Filme aus Indien zu beschreiben. Auch meine Filme bezeichnet Amrit Gangar mehrfach mit diesem produktiven Begriff, seit er ihn einst prägte.

In meinem Vortrag machte ich deutlich, dass das theoretische Rüstzeug des Cinema of Prayoga eine alternative theoretische Rahmung liefert, um insbesondere die Besonderheiten der indischen Kino-Moderne zu verstehen. Ich unterstrich, dass eine blindgläubige Übertragung oder nachahmende Aneignung von Theorien, Modellen oder Konzepten des historischen westlichen Kanons nicht angemessen seien, um das gesammelte filmische Schaffen zu erfassen, zu erläutern und zu analysieren, das in Indien irreführenderweise als experimentell oder avantgardistisch bezeichnet wird.

Cinema of Prayoga hebt hervor, dass eine weitaus nuanciertere Filmgeschichte zu erzählen ist, wenn konzeptuelle Rahmen zur Anwendung kommen, die zurückgehen auf eine vor-moderne/vor-koloniale Zeit in Indien mit einem eigenen theoretischen und philosophischen Universum. Bislang wurden diese filmischen Werke (Mani Kaul, Kuamr Shahani, Kamal Swaroop und weitere) aus einer Warte betrachtet, die sich aus den westlichen Rahmenbedingungen ergab und aufgrund der Vorherrschaft der westlichen technologischen Herkunft des cinematographischen Apparates. 
 
Ich machte vor diesem Hintergrund deutlich, wie wichtig es sei, dass das Cinema of Prayoga die in Indien existenten vor-modernen, vor-kolonialen, nicht-westlichen epistemologischen und ontologischen Theorien mit in den Blick nimmt, die von den gegenwärtigen Filmkommentatoren weitgehend vernachlässigt würden bei unserer Sichtungen und Deutungen dieser Art von Filmen. Im Weiteren argumentierte ich, dem sei so, weil diese eigenwilligen Werke indischer Filmkunst stärker in Korrespondenz mit der indischen Vormoderne ständen als mit einer gegenwärtigen westlichen Moderne.

Diese Filme wie auch meine eigenen verdanken sich zweifelsohne der westlichen Moderne, aber nur weil sie die Resultate der modernen technischen Apparatur sind. Sie stehen, so meine wiederholte Behauptung, hingegen in Korrespondenz mit dem vor-kolonialen und vor-modernen Indien. Cinema of Prayoga versucht nicht, bestehende theoretische und historische Modelle des indischen Kinos einfach zu ersetzen, will aber eine nuanciertere Geschichte der indischen Filmmoderne zu erzählen, indem vor-moderne Stichwortgeber eingeführt werden, die bislang von den Historikern und den Kommentatoren des indischen Kinos weitgehend ignoriert werden. Cinema of Prayoga ist keine allumfassende Theorie, die die gesamte indischen Filmmoderne beschreibt, doch liefert sie Begriffe, um einen der am häufigsten missverstandenen Bereiche des indischen Filmschaffens der Moderne besser verstehen zu lernen – das, was unscharf als „experimentell“ bezeichnet wird.
 
Auf meinen Vortrag folgte eine sehr lebendige und belebende mehr als einstündige Q&A Session, während der ich auf viele der aufgeworfenen Fragen klärende Antworten liefern konnte.

Top