Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

German List
“A Noah’s ark of books”

Paperback edition of „Seagull Library of German Literature“
Paperback edition of „Seagull Library of German Literature“ | © Florian Schoemer

On 16 October, the opening day of the 2019 Frankfurt Book Fair, Seagull Books from Kolkata in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut presented the latest paperback edition of its German List. Many friends and companions were invited to the event.

By Florian Schoemer

The Goethe-Institut has supported Seagull Books’ German List series since 2009 and now looks back on more than 140 translations of discerning, more recent German-language literature. Publisher Naveen Kishore, founder of Seagull Books Kolkata and winner of the 2013 Goethe Medal, held an enjoyable panel with Dr Berthold Franke (Regional Director of the Goethe-Instituts in Southeast Asia), who was opening speaker.
 
Franke described Seagull Books as a perfect partner “for bringing good German books into the world.” The crucial elements, Franke noted, are the quality of the translation and the choice of titles.
 
Alongside Max Frisch, Adorno and the newly crowned 2019 Nobel laureate for literature, Peter Handke, the illustrious circle of successful German-speaking authors published by Seagull includes Alexander Kluge (e.g., Drilling through Hard Boards) and Jo Lendle (All the Land) who also took part in the round.  
 
Dr Franke handed the panel over to publisher Naveen Kishore, who can be considered a daring advocate of the written word on conventional paper in this age of widespread digitisation. Kishore has, in a way, a “paper vision.” While many large publishing groups are increasingly turning to e-books, Kishore relies on high-quality literature in an inexpensive paperback format. In addition to the high quality works that, according to Kishore, “arouse the intellect of readers and can alter their perspectives,” he cites the progressive design of the covers by his compatriot Sunandini Banerjee as another guarantor of success. Her work on the design of the new edition of the German List plays with adaptations of the colours of the German flag.
 
When Petra Hardt from Rights and Licenses at Suhrkamp Verlag took the microphone, she underscored the publisher’s persistence. “Naveen Kishore has won over every German publisher,” she explains, which was not easy. After all, some German publishers who had previously published German-language literature in English in London and New York simply saw no need and underestimated the English-speaking region of the Indian subcontinent. The decision to publish with Seagull, according to Hardt, was made based on their partnership with the Goethe-Institut.
 
Alexander Kluge, philosopher, critical filmmaker and author, eight of whose books have been published by Seagull, is also impressed with “the selection, the quality and the composition of authors at Seagull.” He continued, “I’m proud of my country for issuing this Noah’s ark of books. We’ve built a silk road of books across the oceans. That’s the value of books. I would like to thank Naveen Kishore and the Goethe-Institut for making this possible.”
 
The books in Seagull’s series are like a raft carrying literature across the seas. A raft is built of several tree trunks and together, the more than 100 books published by Seagull form this raft.
 
“All that’s been said so far is true,” added Jo Lendle, who was the next to speak, “but it’s not all that makes the team around Naveen Kishore so special. We have a great publisher here, an outstanding list of books, editors and book designers,” said Lendle, and went on to highlight the quality of the Seagull School of Publishing. During his teaching career in Kolkata, he was surprised by the curiosity and creativity of the people at Seagull who share the responsibility for the high quality. 
 
Translator Wieland Hoban, who translated the first book of the German List and Theodor Adorno for Seagull, emphasised the publishing house’s uniqueness and summed up Kishore’s secret of success with “trust and recommendation” and his go-getter mentality. Kishore is a little like a gambler. He enables freedom in the creative process, is curious, daring and determined. His prudence in dealing with his team and the atmosphere he manages to create are the basis for the good work.
 
Isabel Cole, who translated Dürrenmatt (Selected Essays) and other works for Seagull, praised the publishing house for the great care it puts into translating the book selection into English. They devoted themselves to works that were underrepresented in the English-speaking world, written by powerful writers and are, in part, world literature.
 
In her closing speech, PEN UK Translation Award-winner Tess Lewis, who translated Anselm Kiefer into English for Seagull as well as books by Peter Handke, Walter Benjamin and Alois Hotschnig, described Naveen Kishore as a genius. “He [Kishore],” said Lewis, “found a way to open a new door to literature in different languages to the English-speaking world. This selection in the Seagull Library of German Literature is breath-taking, almost a distillate of the Seagull project.” Lewis closed her speech with passion, “Whenever you see a Seagull book, pick it up and read it. You’re sure to enjoy it.”

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

German List
„Eine Arche Noah der Bücher“

Die Paperbackausgabe „Seagull Library of German Literature“
Die Paperbackausgabe „Seagull Library of German Literature“ | © Florian Schoemer

Am 16. Oktober, dem Eröffnungstag der Frankfurter Buchmesse 2019, präsentierte der Verlag Seagull Books aus Kolkata in Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut die neue Edition der German List im Taschenbuchformat. Geladen waren zahlreiche Freunde und Wegbegleiter.

Von Florian Schoemer

Das Goethe-Institut fördert die Reihe der German List des Seagull Verlags seit 2009 und blickt mittlerweile auf mehr als 140 Übersetzungen anspruchsvoller, neuerer deutschsprachiger Literatur zurück. Verleger Naveen Kishore, Gründer von Seagull Books Kolkata und Preisträger der Goethe Medaille 2013,  lud zu einer launigen Runde um Dr. Berthold Franke (Regionalleiter Goethe-Institute Südostasien), der die Eröffnungsrede hält.
 
Franke stellt darin den Seagull Verlag als perfekten Partner dar, „um gute deutsche Bücher in die Welt zu bringen“. Entscheidend, so Franke, sei dabei vor allem die Qualität des Übersetzungsprozesses und die Auswahl der Titel.
 
Im illustren Kreis erfolgreicher deutschsprachiger Autoren, die bei Seagull verlegt werden, finden sich neben Max Frisch, Adorno und dem frischgebackenen Nobelpreisträger für Literatur 2019, Peter Handke, auch Alexander Kluge (u.a. Drilling through Hard Boards) sowie Jo Lendle (All the Land), die ebenfalls in der Runde Platz genommen haben.  
 
Dr. Franke übergibt das Wort an den Verleger Naveen Kishore, den man im Zeitalter der allgemeinen Digitalisierung als mutigen Vertreter des geschriebenen Wortes in herkömmlicher Papierversion sehen kann. Kishore hat gewissermaßen eine „Papiervision“. Während viele große Verlagsgruppen ihr Augenmerk zunehmend auf E-Books legen, vertraut Kishore auf qualitativ hochwertige Literatur im kostengünstigen Taschenbuchformat. Als Erfolgsgaranten neben den qualitativ anspruchsvollen Texten, die, so Kishore, „den Geist der Leser anregen und Sichtweisen verändern können“, nennt er das progressive Design der Cover durch Landsfrau Sunandini Banerjee, die in ihrer Arbeit rund um die neue Edition der German List mit Adaptionen der Farben der Deutschen Nationalflagge spielt.
 
Als Petra Hardt aus der Abteilung für Rechte und Lizenzen des Suhrkamp Verlages zum Mikrofon greift, unterstreicht sie die Beharrlichkeit des Verlegers. „Naveen Kishore hat alle deutschen Verleger überzeugt“, erklärt sie. Kein einfaches Unterfangen. Schließlich hatten einige deutsche Verlage, die zuvor bereits in London und New York deutschsprachige Literatur in englischer Sprache verlegten, schlicht keinen Bedarf gesehen und den englischsprachigen Raum des Subkontinents Indien unterschätzt.
Der Entschluss mit dem Seagull Verlag zu publizieren, so Hardt, sei nur in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut gefallen.
 
Auch Alexander Kluge, Philosoph, kritischer Filmemacher und Autor, von dem bisher acht Publikationen bei Seagull erschienen sind, zeigt sich von „der Auswahl, der Qualität und der Zusammensetzung der Autoren bei Seagull“ beeindruckt. „Ich bin stolz auf mein Land“, sagt Kluge, „eine solche Arche Noah an Büchern auszurüsten. Wir haben eine Seidenstraße der Bücher über die Weltmeere gebaut. Das ist das Prinzip Buch. Ich bedanke mich ganz herzlich bei Naveen Kishore und beim Goethe-Institut, dass das hier möglich ist“.
 
Die Bücher der Seagull-Linie seien wie ein Floß, das Literatur über die Meere transportierte. Ein Floß bestehe aus mehreren Bäumen. Die über 100 bei Seagull veröffentlichten Bücher seien zusammen eben dieses Floß.
Gäste beim Launch der "Seagull Library of German Literature" Gäste beim Launch der "Seagull Library of German Literature" | © Florian Schoemer „All das bisher Gesagte“, so Jo Lendle, der im Anschluss spricht, „ist richtig, aber es ist noch nicht alles, was das Team um Naveen Kishore ausmacht. Wir haben hier einen tollen Verleger, eine hervorragende Liste an Büchern, Herausgebern und Buchdesignern“, sagt Lendle, der zudem die Qualität der Seagull School of Publishing hervorhebt. Während seiner Lehrtätigkeit in Kolkata habe ihn vor allem die Neugierde und Kreativität der Menschen im Seagull-Kosmos überrascht, die für die hohe Qualität mitverantwortlich zeichne.
 
Übersetzer Wieland Hoban, der das erste Buch der German List für Seagull sowie Theodor Adorno übersetzte, unterstreicht die Einzigartigkeit des Verlages und fasst Kishores Erfolgsgeheimnis mit „Trust and recommendation“ sowie seiner Machermentalität zusammen. Kishore sei ein wenig wie ein Spieler. Er lasse Freiräume im kreativen Prozess, sei neugierig, mutig und entschlossen. Seine Umsicht im Umgang mit seinem Team und die Atmosphäre, die er zu erzeugen schaffe, sei Basis für die gute Arbeit.
 
Isabel Cole, die unter anderem Dürrenmatt (Selected Essays) für Seagull übersetzte, lobt den Verlag vor allem wegen des Herzblutes, mit dem die sprachbasierte Auswahl ins Englische übertragen wird. Hier habe man sich Texten verschrieben, die in der englischsprachigen Welt unterrepräsentiert gewesen seien, die von kraftvollen Schreibern verfasst und zum Teil Weltliteratur seien.
 
Die mit dem PEN UK Translation Award ausgezeichnete Übersetzerin Tess Lewis, die neben Peter Handke, Walter Benjamin, Alois Hotschnig auch Anselm Kiefer für Seagull ins Englische übertrug, bezeichnet Naveen Kishore in ihrer abschließenden Rede als Genie. „Er [Kishore], so Lewis, „hat einen Weg gefunden, der englischsprachigen Welt ein neues Bild aus auf verschiedenen Sprachen beruhender Literatur zu eröffnen. Diese Auswahl der Seagull Library of German Literature ist atemberaubend. Quasi ein Destillat des Seagull-Projektes. Wann immer Sie ein Seagull-Buch sehen“, beendet Lewis ihren Redebeitrag emotional, „nehmen Sie es in die Hand und lesen Sie es. Sie werden garantiert Freude daran haben“.

Top