Meet our guests Dr. Renate Goldmann

Dr. Renata Goldmann
Dr. Renata Goldmann | Photo: © Peter_Hinschläger

Dr. Renate Goldmann has curated the Ifa-exhibition "Come in" at Emami Chisel Art Galery. An exhibition, which investigates the connection between fine art and applied design in twenty-five artistic positions by means of individual objects, sculptures, installations and videos. The interior spaces chosen by many of the contributing artists form links between aspects of contemporary history and their own biography and critical aesthetics

My first impression of India…
My first impression of India was a very multifaceted in dealing with a country with religious culture, colonial legacy and a forward-facing society. The interest in modern and contemporary art, as demonstrated by the exhibition “Come-in” at the Emami Chisel Art Gallery, is quite big in the exciting city of Kolkata. One of the artists in the exhibition, Gregor Schneider, already a realized a project in the public space in 2011, which garnered enormous reception from the people and in the media. 

Things in Kolkata that remind me of my home town Cologne…
Many of the preparations for Durga Puja remind me of my home city of Cologne at the highpoint of the year here, Carnival on the Rhine, the festive season around Christian Lent and Easter. My visit to Kumartuli, and seeing the bamboo structures popping up everywhere, drawing thousands of visitors to the streets and public squares for communal rejoicing, was further proof for how open and vibrant the city of Kolkata is. 

A memory of India that will stay…
My enduring impressions of Kolkata will be my visit to the Kalighat Temple, with its site-specific rituals and visiting the Marble Palace with its paintings, artistic treasures and its collection of birds. The Indian Museum from 1814 and the Victoria Memorial are overpowering in their architectonic dimensions. The media is currently discussing the canonization of Mother Teresa, which became notable during my visit to Mother House and influenced my lively impression of Kolkata.

Dr. Renate Goldmann, (*1967) is an art historian, publicist and curator for modern and contemporary art. Since 2010 she is the director of the Leopold-Hoesch-Museum & Papiermuseum Düren (near Cologne). She completed a PhD from the University of Cologne on the Swiss artist duo Peter Fischli and David Weiss. She lives and works in Cologne.

Bei uns zu Gast ... Dr. Renate Goldmann

Dr. Renata Goldmann
Dr. Renata Goldmann | Foto: © Peter_Hinschläger

Dr. Renate Goldmann hat die Ifa-Ausstellung „Come in“ in der Emami Chisel Art Gallery in Kolkata kuratiert. Die Schau zeigt die Verbindung zwischen den schönen Künsten und angewandtem Design aus 25 künstlerischen Perspektiven. Dabei zu sehen: Einzelgegenstände, Skulpturen, Installationen und Videos. Die Innenräume, die von den teilnehmenden Künstlern ausgewählt wurden, vereinigen sowohl zeitgenössische als auch eigene biografische und ästhetische Aspekte in sich.

Mein erster Eindruck von Indien war...
Mein erster Eindruck von Indien ist sehr facettenreich im Umgang des Landes mit religiöser Kultur, kolonialem Erbe und zukunftsgewandter Gesellschaft. Das Interesse an moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst, wie es sich bei der ifa-Ausstellung "Come-in" in der Emami Chisel Art Gallery zeigt, ist im aufregenden Kolkata sehr groß. Ein Künstler der Ausstellung, Gregor Schneider hat 2011 bereits ein Projekt im öffentlichen Raum realisiert, das für enormen Zuspruch in der Bevölkerung und bei den Medien gesorgt hat.

An meine Heimatstadt Köln erinnert mich in Kolkata...
An meine Heimatstadt Köln und hier an einen der kulturellen Jahreshöhepunkte, Karneval am Rhein als fünfte Jahreszeit der christlichen Fastenzeit und Ostern, erinnern mich die vielen Vorbereitungen für Durga Puja. Mein Besuch in Kumortuli und der Anblick der allerorts sich im Entstehen befindlichen Bambusbauten, die Tausende Besucher auf die Straßen und Plätze zum gemeinsamen Feiern locken werden, zeugen von einer offenen und lebendigen Stadt Kolkata.

Eine bleibende Erinnerung an Indien…
Bleibende Eindrücke an Kolkata sind der Besuch des Kalighat Tempels mit den spezifischen rituellen Handlungen und die Besichtigung des Marble Palace mit seinen Gemälden und Kunstschätzen sowie seiner Vogelsammlung. Das Indian Museum von 1814 und das Victoria Memorial überwältigen in ihren architektonischen Dimensionen. Aktuell berichten die Medien über die Heiligsprechung von Mutter Teresa, was auch bei meinem Besuch im Mother House deutlich wurde und das lebhafte Stadtbild von Kolkata prägt.

Dr. Renate Goldmann (*1967) ist Kunsthistorikerin, Publizistin und Kuratorin für Kunst der Moderne und Gegenwartskunst. Seit 2010 leitet sie als Direktorin das Leopold-Hoesch-Museum & Papiermuseum Düren in der Nähe von Köln. Sie schloss ihr Studium an der Universität zu Köln mit einer Dissertation zum Schweizer Künstlerduo Peter Fischei und David Weiss ab. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Köln.