Meet our guests Ulrike Almut Sandig

Ulrike Almut Sandig
Ulrike Almut Sandig | Photo (detail): Andrea Fernandes

Ulrike Almut Sandig, German poet and author attended Poets Translating Poets, organised by Goethe-Institut/Max Mueller Bhavan in Mumbai between 25 and 27 November.

My first impression of India was…
My first time in India was in 2001 as a student and I spent a lot of time in Varanasi. We were freer and had time to spend and I travelled a lot. The experience at that time was very different to my experiences now. In the past 15 years, India has changed a lot. I have a very emotional feeling attached to India and am in love with the country. Unlike other countries where I travel; I don't feel neutral to the society here; I am too close to it.

Things in Mumbai that remind me of my hometown
I come from a small village of 500 habitants in Eastern Germany. Mumbai is very different to that. However, the one thing, which reminds me of my hometown are the crows. They take me back to my hometown. I feel they too possess a partly human behavior - a slightly human self-confidence with a sense of superstition.

One thing I noticed in India ( and which is rather untypical in Germany)...
The gestures and mimics of people. The body language is very different to that of Germans. The way people nod their heads to say yes or ask one to wait for them with hand gestures is very different.

A lasting memory of India...
The fact that everything exists next to each other. Different parts of societies live door to door and next to each other. Nothing is hidden. You can see poverty and the richness clearly. You can see joy and grief at the same time. But still no one competes with each other. There is a struggle which people don't resist- they just do it.
 

In 2005, Ulrike Sandig completed her Masters in Religious Studies and Modern Indology in Leipzig and later her Diploma at the Deutschen Literaturinstitut (German Literature Institute) in Leipzig in 2010. She has published three volumes of poetry, one novel, as well as two pop audio music books. Her poetry has been translated often, made into films and also won awards, among others, the Leonce-und-Lena- Award, 2009.


The Poets Translating Poets Festival in Mumbai between 25 and 27 November 2016, organised by Goethe-Institut/Max Mueller Bhavan was a major success. Poets from South Asia and Germany participated translating each other’s poetry. We celebrated literature, poetry and languages with more than 3000 Audiences and 51 Poets from 5 different countries. It took place in over 30 venues across the city, in schools, colleges, even on some street corners.
 
  • Neerav Patel at The Mumbai Tea Party - Poetry in the streets Goethe-Institut / Bombay Film Factory
    Neerav Patel at The Mumbai Tea Party - Poetry in the streets
  • Poets Translating Poets Festival Khublei Arts
  • Poets Translating Poets Festival Goethe-Institut / Bombay Film Factory
    Poets Translating Poets Festival
  • Poets at The Mumbai Tea Party - Poetry in the Streets Goethe-Institut / Bombay Film Factory
  • Poets Translating Poets Festival Khublei Arts
  • In conversation with Dr. Thomas Wohlfahrt, Prof. Dr. Karin von Welck, Dr. Martin Walde, Dr. Jurgen Morhard, Mr. Anand nambiar & Amrita Tripathi at NCPA Mumbai Goethe-Institut / Bombay Film Factory
  • Poets Translating Poets Festival Photo (detail): Goethe-Institut / Aman Negi

Bei uns zu Gast ... Ulrike Almut Sandig

Ulrike Almut Sandig
Ulrike Almut Sandig | Foto (Ausschnitt): Andrea Fernandes

Die deutsche Lyrikerin und Autorin Ulrike Almut Sandig nahm vom 25. bis 27. November an Poets Translating Poets teil, das vom Goethe-Institut/Max Mueller Bhavan in Mumbai organisiert wurde.


Mein erster Eindruck von Indien …
Zum ersten Mal war ich 2001 als Studentin in Indien und verbrachte viel Zeit in Varanasi. Wir waren damals ungebundener und hatten Zeit und ich reiste viel. Die Erfahrungen damals waren ganz andere als die von heute. In den letzten 15 Jahren hat sich Indien sehr gewandelt. Ich fühle mich Indien ganz nah und liebe das Land. Anders als bei anderen Ländern, die ich bereise, fühle ich mich in der hiesigen Gesellschaft nicht neutral, dazu fühle ich mich ihr zu eng verbunden.

An meine Heimatstadt erinnerte mich in Mumbai …
Ich stamme aus einem kleinen Dorf in Ostdeutschland mit 500 Bewohnern. Mumbai ist ganz anders. Was mich allerdings an zu Hause erinnert, sind die Krähen. Die versetzen mich zurück in meinen Heimatort. Für mich gibt es an ihrem Verhalten auch etwas Menschliches – ein gewisses menschliches Selbstbewusstsein und ein Sinn für Aberglauben.

Etwas, das mir in Indien auffiel (und das anders ist als in Deutschland) ...
Die Gesten und Mimik der Menschen. Die Körpersprache ist ganz anders als die der Deutschen. Wie die Menschen mit dem Kopf nicken, um Zustimmung zu signalisiere, oder einen mit Handbewegungen zu warten bitten, ist so ganz anders.

Eine bleibende Erinnerung an Indien ...
Die Tatsache, dass alles neben dem anderen existiert. Unterschiedliche Gesellschaftsschichten leben Tür an Tür und in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft. Nichts wird versteckt. Armut und Reichtum sind ganz deutlich sichtbar. Man kann Freude und Leid zeitgleich erleben. Gleichzeitig konkurriert niemand mit dem anderen. Gegen die mühsamen Kämpfe wehrt sich niemand – man nimmt sie einfach an.
 

2005 machte Ulrike Sandig ihren Master in Religionswissenschaft und Moderner Indologie in Leipzig und 2010 ihr Diplom am Literaturinstitut in Leipzig. Sie hat drei Gedichtbände, einen Roman und zwei Pop-Audio-Bücher veröffentlicht. Viele ihrer Gedichte sind bereits übersetzt und verfilmt und mit Preisen wie dem Leonce-und-Lena-Preis 2009 ausgezeichnet worden.

Das vom Goethe-Institut/Max Mueller Bhavan organisierte Poets Translating Poets Festival, das vom 25. bis 27. November 2016 in Mumbai stattfand, war ein großer Erfolg. Dichter aus Südasien und Deutschland nahmen daran teil und übersetzten gegenseitig ihre Werke. Gefeiert wurde die Literatur, Dichtung und die Sprachen mit mehr als 3000 Besuchern und 51 Dichtern aus fünf Ländern. Das Festival fand an mehr als 30 Orten in der ganzen Stadt statt, darunter Schulen, Colleges und sogar an einigen Straßenecken.
 
  • Neerav Patel bei The Mumbai Tea Party - Poetry in the streets Goethe-Institut / Bombay Film Factory
    Neerav Patel bei The Mumbai Tea Party - Poetry in the streets
  • Poets Translating Poets Festival Khublei Arts
  • Poets Translating Poets Festival Goethe-Institut / Bombay Film Factory
    Poets Translating Poets Festival
  • Dichter bei The Mumbai Tea Party - Poetry in the Streets Goethe-Institut / Bombay Film Factory
  • Poets Translating Poets Festival Khublei Arts
  • Im Gespräch mit Dr. Thomas Wohlfahrt, Prof. Dr. Karin von Welck, Dr. Martin Walde, Dr. Jurgen Morhard, Mr. Anand nambiar & Amrita Tripathi, NCPA Mumbai Goethe-Institut / Bombay Film Factory
  • Poets Translating Poets Festival Foto (Ausschnitt): Goethe-Institut / Aman Negi