Meet our Guests Moritz Stetter

Moritz Stetter
Moritz Stetter | © privat

Moritz Stetter, comic artist, illustrator and portraitist from Hamburg, Germany. During the 2017 Jumpstart Conference he conducted the Illustrators’ Masterclass “Play the Palette”.
 



My first impression of India was…
I landed around 3 in the morning and on my way from the airport to the hotel the streets were so unexpectedly empty and quiet. But when I woke up, it was like BOOOM and the smells, the sounds and the heat kicked in.
 
Things in New Delhi that remind me of my home town Hamburg…

So little! But as a bartender, working in a bar on the Reeperbahn, I already know quite well, how to handle people offering you anything in the streets.
 
Things that I noticed in India which are rather untypical in Germany...

Oh so many things!! For example, I had to learn that people in a city like New Delhi couldn't exist without smartphones anymore, calling serious cabs, finding ways and dealing with everyday life problems. While in Germany I’m still able to enjoy the luxury of being old-fashioned. And then also all the animals in Delhi, the birds, the elephants, the cows, the goats, the monkeys...
 
A lasting memory of India...

My sketchbook.
 

Moritz Stetter, comic artist, illustrator and portraitist from Hamburg, Germany. His first Graphic Novel Bonhoffer (2010, Güthersloher Verlag) is a biography of the well-known theologian in resistance during the Nazi regime. The second book Luther (2013, Güthersloher Verlag) deals with the life of the famous reformer, his strongest convictions and how he struggled with them every day. In Das Urteil (The Judgement; 2015, Knesebeck Verlag). Stetter’s works have been shown in numerous exhibitions, such as in Hamburg, Frankfurt, Rome and Lisbon.

Bei uns zu Gast ... Moritz Stetter

Moritz Stetter
Moritz Stetter | © privat

Moritz Stetter ist Comiczeichner, Illustrator und Portraitzeichner und lebt in Hamburg. Moritz Stetter hat den Illustratorenworkshop „Play the Palette“ im Rahmen der Jumpstart Konferenz 2017 geleitet.



Mein erster Eindruck von Indien war...
Ich bin um drei Uhr in der Nacht angekommen. Auf dem Weg vom Flughafen zum Hotel waren die Straßen überraschend leer und ruhig. Als ich aber aufwachte, machte es BOOOM und die Gerüche, der Lärm und die Hitze stürzten auf mich ein.
 
An meinen (Wahl-) Heimatort Hamburg erinnert mich in Neu Delhi...

Sehr wenig! Da ich aber als Barmann in einer Bar auf der Reeperbahn arbeite, weiß ich sehr gut mit Menschen umzugehen, die einem alles Mögliche auf der Straße anbieten.
 
Eine Sache, die mir in Indien aufgefallen ist (und die in Deutschland eher untypisch ist)…

Oh, so vieles! Ich musste beispielsweise lernen, dass die Menschen in einer Stadt wie New Delhi ohne Smartphone überhaupt nicht mehr leben können, zum Bestellen von Taxis, um den richtigen Weg zu finden und um die alltäglichen Probleme zu lösen. In Deutschland gönne ich mir noch immer den Luxus, in dieser Beziehung altmodisch zu sein. Und dann noch all die Tiere auf den Straßen Delhis, Vögel, Elefanten, Kühe, Ziegen, Affen…
 
Eine bleibende Erinnerung an Indien…

Mein Skizzenbuch
 

Moritz Stetter ist Comiczeichner, Illustrator und Portraitzeichner und lebt in Hamburg. Seine erste Grafic Novel Bonhoffer (2010, Güthersloher Verlag) ist die Biographie des bekannten Theologen, der Widerstand gegen das Naziregime leistete. Sein zweites Buch Luther (2013, Güthersloher Verlag) beschäftigt sich mit dem berühmten Reformator, seinen tiefsten Überzeugungen und von seinem täglichen Kampf mit ihnen. In Das Urteil  (2015, Knesebeck Verlag) zeigt Moritz Stetter Kafkas Kurzgeschichte als dunkles, packendes Drama in drei Akten. Moritz Stetters Arbeiten wurden in zahlreichen Ausstellung, u.a. in Hamburg, Frankfurt, Rom und Lissabon ausgestellt.