Meet our Guests Reinhard Kleist

Reinhard Kleist
Reinhard Kleist | Carlsen Verlag GmbH

Reinhard Kleist from Berlin, Germany, has authored a number of graphic novels. He conducted live drawing sessions, workshops and presentations in Pune, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai and New Delhi and he participated in DeCAF – Delhi’s first comic art festival – in December 2017.

My first impression of India…
Somewhat chaotic! For Germans the traffic surely is quite unorthodox. I had to get used to the noise and shambles. In Pune my driver even had to explain how to cross the road: “You have to walk like a tiger.”
 
Things in Delhi that remind me of my hometown Berlin…
Actually a stationary store only! Two Indian fellow artists were kind enough to take Arne Jysch and myself there. A big signboard on the outside read “German drawing quality” even though most of the objects originated from Japan.

One thing I’ve noticed in India (that’s not so typical in Germany)…
Certainly people smiling all over. In Germany you find the corners of people’s mouths rather turned down - especially in Berlin. Here people seem to be laughing even when in bad, forbidding surroundings and circumstances. How much of this is merely a façade I cannot say.

A lasting memory of India…
Definitely the amazing live drawing concerts I could do together with brilliant Indian musicians. They ranged from Jazz via Goa style techno to traditional songs with a Chennai children’s choir.
 

Reinhard Kleist lives in Berlin and studied at the Münster School of Design. He has published a number of graphic novels, many of them biographies for example of Johnny Cash, Fidel Castro, the Somali runner Samia Yusuf Omar and most recently of Nick Cave. He has received numerous awards: the “Max and Moritz Award” 2008 for the best German publication for “Cash”, or the Grand Prix 2013 of the festival in Lyon for "The Boxer" to name only a few of the. Alongside comics he loves music combining both in Live Drawing Sessions.

In December 2017 he participated in DeCAF – Delhi’s first comic art festival:

Bei uns zu Gast ... Reinhard Kleist

Reinhard Kleist
Reinhard Kleist | Carlsen Verlag GmbH

Reinhard Kleist hat zahlreiche Graphic Novels verfasst. Im Dezember 2017 führte er in Pune, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai und New Delhi Live Drawing Sessions, Workshops und Lesungen durch, und er nahm an DeCAF, dem ersten Comic Arts Festival in Delhi, teil.

 

Mein erster Eindruck von Indien war...
...etwas chaotisch. Der Verkehr ist doch für Deutsche eher ungewöhnlich. Ich musste mich an den Lärm und das Durcheinander erst einmal gewöhnen. Mein Fahrer in Pune erklärte mir, wie ich überhaupt von einer Seite der Straße auf die andere komme: „You have to walk like a tiger.“

An meinen Heimatort Berlin erinnert mich in Neu Delhi...
...eigentlich nur der Laden für Zeichenbedarf, in den zwei befreundete indische Zeichnerkollegen Arne Jysch und mich mitgenommen hatten. Draußen stand auch groß: „German drawing quality“, obwohl die meisten Sachen dort aus Japan stammten.

Eine Sache, die mir in Indien aufgefallen ist (und die in Deutschland eher untypisch ist)…
Bestimmt das Lächeln der Leute überall. In Deutschland sind die Mundwinkel doch eher weit heruntergezogen, besonders in Berlin. Hier scheinen die Leute auch in den schlimmsten, unwirtlichsten Umgebungen und Situationen zu lachen. Wieviel davon Fassade ist, kann ich nicht beurteilen.

Eine bleibende Erinnerung an Indien…
...werden sicherlich die tollen Live Drawing Konzerte sein, die ich mit den großartigen indischen Musikern machen konnte. Die Musik spannte sich von Jazz über Goa-artigen Techno bis zu traditionellen Liedern mit einem Kinderchor in Chennai.  
 

Reinhard Kleist studierte an Fachhochschule für Grafik und Design in Münster, er lebt in Berlin. Er hat zahlreiche Graphic Novels veröffentlicht, viele davon Biographien, z.B. die von Johnny Cash, Fidel Castro, der somalischen Läuferin Samia Yusuf Omar und vor kurzem ein Buch über Nick Cave. Seine Arbeit wurde mit vielen Preisen ausgezeichnet, so erhielt er 2008 für „Cash – I See Darkness“ den „Max und Moritz Preis für die beste deutsche Publikation“ und den Grand Prix 2013 des Festivals in Lyon für „Der Boxer“, um nur einige wenige zu nennen. Neben Comics gilt seine Liebe der Musik und beide Leidenschaften kombiniert er in Live Drawing Veranstaltungen.

Im Dezember 2017 nahm an er am DeCAF, dem ersten Comic Arts Festival in Delhi, teil: