Publisher

Naveen Kishore is the founder and director of Seagull Books in Kolkata. With branches in London and Chicago, Seagull is established in the international publishing business like no other Indian publishing house. 

Kishore is led not by the market, but by personal convictions and passions. By launching The German List book series, he lastingly altered the prevailing circumstances for the reception of German-language literature in the English language not only in India, but worldwide. Naveen Kishore publishes an ambitious series of German literature in outstanding English translations called The German List. Seagull Books is the first to publish German authors such as Brigitte Reimann and Ralf Rothmann in the English language, in carefully edited and aesthetically designed editions. Over the past five years Seagull has acquired the publishing rights to over 60 books from German publishers. This makes it the first Indian publishing house to rival British and American publishers in the purchase of licensing rights. With the 2011 founding of the Seagull School of Publishing in Kolkata, he has provided major stimuli to professionalize cultural and publishing work in all of India. In an outstanding way and at the highest level, Naveen Kishore represents dialogue and cultural cooperation between India and Germany, according to the statement by the conferment commission.

Much more than Books

Naveen Kishore was born in 1953. His relationship with Germany began during his youth, reading British and American editions of the classics of German-language literature. He studied English literature and initially worked as a lighting technician for a theatre in Kolkata. In 1982 he founded the publishing house Seagull Books focusing on art, theatre and film, followed later by books on politics and philosophy. Today, the house owns the worldwide English-language publishing rights for authors such as Paul Celan, Rabindranath Thakur and Hans Magnus Enzensberger. The publishing firm received its first award in 1983 from the Indian government for a paperback edition of five plays by Franz Xaver Kroetz. With untiring energy, Kishore continued to develop his idea: He not only opened the Seagull bookshop and branches in the United Kingdom and the USA, but also founded social and cultural initiatives such as the Seagull Foundation for the Arts (1987), the Seagull Arts and Media Resource Centre, which is a library and archive as well as an exhibition and performance space (1999) and the Seagull School of Publishing (2011) that offers vocational training for young editors and designers.

Publisher by heart

Petra Hardt, Suhrkamp Verlag Berlin, on Naveen Kishore:

“For the worldwide circulation of contemporary German literature in the English language and for its dissemination in Indian languages within India (not as a publisher in these languages, but as an intermediary), for six years there has been a publisher who like no other unites the classical publisher traits of curiosity, independence, preservation and promotion of literary quality, first-class production and distribution of books, companion of his writers, networker, educator: Naveen Kishore. In recent years Seagull Books has done more for the dissemination of contemporary German-language literature than was possible for the American and British publishers within their corporate bonds. (...) This means a renaissance in all countries for the awareness of Hans Magnus Enzensberger and Alexander Kluge, with whom Naveen works together closely. The effects that Seagull’s overall concept – publisher, academy, art gallery and bookseller – will have on the international book market cannot yet be foreseen. Yet we can say with certainty that it is a paradigm shift that will influence other independent publishers on other continents. Just imagine, here comes a publisher from Kolkata and says he is willing to invest in literary quality, in the English language, worldwide, and not as a challenge to New York or London, but as a long past due enhancement, as a saving grace for literature in a book market that is becoming ever more arbitrary. It is exactly what Gaston Gallimard and Siegfried Unseld did 100 and 60 years ago, incidentally also during times of historic upheaval.”

Verleger
Naveen Kishore

Naveen Kishore ist Gründer und Leiter von Seagull Books in Kalkutta. Mit Niederlassungen in London und New York ist Seagull wie kein anderes indisches Haus im internationalen Verlagsgeschäft etabliert.

Kishore leiten persönliche Überzeugung und Leidenschaft statt Marktorientierung. Mit der Gründung der Reihe The German List hat er die Rahmenbedingungen für die Rezeption deutschsprachiger Literatur in englischer Sprache nicht nur in Indien, sondern weltweit nachhaltig verändert. 2013 wurde Naveen Kishore die Goethe-Medaille, eine offizielle Auszeichnung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, für seine Verdienste um die Vermittlung der deutschen Sprache und den internationalen Kulturaustausch verliehen.Naveen Kishore publiziert mit The German List, einer Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut, eine ambitionierte Reihe deutscher Literatur in herausragender englischer Übersetzung. Deutsche Autoren wie Brigitte Reimann und Ralf Rothmann bringt Seagull Books erstmals in englischer Sprache heraus; in sorgfältig lektorierten und künstlerisch gestalteten Ausgaben. In den vergangenen sieben Jahren hat Seagull über 60 Lizenzen von deutschen Verlagen erworben. Mit der Gründung seiner Verlegerakademie, der Seagull School of Publishing 2011 in Kalkutta hat er wesentliche Impulse für die Professionalisierung der Verlagsarbeit in ganz Indien gegeben. Naveen Kishore repräsentiere in herausragender Weise und auf höchstem Niveau den Austausch und die kulturelle Zusammenarbeit zwischen Indien und Deutschland, heißt es in der Begründung der Kommission.

Weit mehr als Bücher

Naveen Kishore wurde 1953 geboren. Seine Beziehung zu Deutschland begann in seiner Jugend mit britischen und amerikanischen Ausgaben der Klassiker der deutschsprachigen Literatur. Er studierte englische Literatur und arbeitete zunächst als Lichtdesigner in Kalkutta. 1982 gründete er den Verlag Seagull Books mit den Schwerpunkten Kunst, Theater und Film, später folgten Politik, Kulturwissenschaft und Philosophie. Heute bringt er auch Prosaliteratur und Lyrik heraus und besitzt die weltweiten Publikationsrechte für Werke von Autoren wie Paul Celan, Ingeborg Bachmann, Jean-Paul Sartre, Thomas Bernhard, Imre Kertész, Yves Bonnefoy, Mo Yan, Mahasweta Devi, Peter Handke und Hans Magnus Enzensberger auf Englisch. Bereits 1983 erhielt Seagull Books die erste einer Reihe von Auszeichnungen für herausragende Produktion durch die indische Regierung – für eine Taschenbuchausgabe von fünf Theaterstücken Franz Xaver Kroetz‘. Mit unermüdlicher Energie setzt sich Kishore weiterhin für Kultur, und insbesondere die Buchkultur, ein. 1997 eröffnete die Seagull-Buchhandlung in Großbritannien und 2005 die Seagull Books Niederlassung in den USA. 1987 gründete er die Seagull Foundation for the Arts, die unter anderem als Galerie für zeitgenössische Kunst und Fotografie funktioniert, die Initiative PeaceWorks, die Jugendarbeit und Kunst verbindet, und die Seagull School of Publishing für die Ausbildung von Verlegern und Designern.

Verleger aus Leidenschaft

Petra Hardt, Suhrkamp Verlag Berlin, in einer Korrespondenz mit Martin Wälde, Leiter des Goethe-Instituts Kolkata, im August 2012 über Naveen Kishore:

„Für die Verbreitung der deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur in englischer Sprache weltweit und für ihre Verbreitung in Indien in den indischen Sprachen (nicht als Verleger dieser Sprachen, jedoch als Vermittler) gibt es seit sechs Jahren einen Verleger, der wie kein zweiter die klassischen Verlegereigenschaften in sich vereinigt: Neugierde, Unabhängigkeit, Wahrung und Förderung literarischer Qualität, erstklassige Herstellung und Verbreitung der Bücher, Begleiter seiner Autoren, Netzwerker, Aufklärer: Naveen Kishore. Seagull Books hat in den letzten Jahren mehr für die Verbreitung der deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur getan als es den amerikanischen und englischen Verlagen in ihrer Konzernbindung möglich war. (...) Für Hans Magnus Enzensberger und Alexander Kluge, mit denen Naveen auch persönlich eng zusammenarbeitet, bedeutet dies eine Renaissance ihrer Wahrnehmung in allen Ländern. Welche Auswirkungen das Gesamtkonzept Seagull – Verlag, Schule, Kunsthalle und Buchhandel– auf den internationalen Buchmarkt haben wird, ist zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt noch nicht endgültig zu bewerten. Definitiv sagen lässt sich, dass es ein Paradigmenwechsel ist, der Einfluss auf andere unabhängige Verleger in anderen Erdteilen haben wird. Man muss es sich vorstellen: Da kommt ein Verleger aus Kalkutta und sagt, ich bin bereit in literarische Qualität zu investieren, in englischer Sprache, weltweit, und dies nicht als Kampfansage an New York oder London, sondern […] als Rettung für Literatur in einem Buchmarkt, der immer beliebiger wird. Nichts anderes haben Gaston Gallimard und Siegfried Unseld vor 100 und vor 60 Jahren, im Übrigen auch in historischen Umbrüchen, getan.“