Translators

James Reidel is a poet, translator, and biographer who was educated at the University of Cincinnati (BA European History), Columbia University (MFA Creative Writing), and Rutgers University (MA English Literature). He works as a freelance editor and writer based in Ohio. In 2007, his translation of Thomas Bernhard’s poems, In Hora Mortis/Under the Iron of the Moon (Princeton University Press, 2006) was selected as a finalist for the PEN Translation Prize. In 2010, he won a National Endowment for the Art grant to translate Franz Werfel’s Eine Blaβblaue Frauenschrift (Pale Blue Ink in a Lady’s Hand, Godine, 2012). He had published two collections of his own poetry as well as a biography of the American poet Weldon Kees. In 2013, he served as a James Merrill House fellow. Currently, he is finalizing a book about Manon Gropius and her parents. 

Selected translations:
  • Bernhard, Thomas: Collected Poems (Gesammelte Gedichte), Seagull Books, forthcoming
  • Bernhard, Thomas: Goethe Dies: Short Stories (Goethe stirbt), Seagull Books, spring 2016
  • Bernhard, Thomas: In Hora Mortis/Under the Iron of the Moon (Unter dem Eisen des Mondes), Princeton University Press, 2006
  • Trakl, Georg: Poems (Gedichte), Seagull Books, 2015
  • Trakl, Georg: Sebastian Dreaming (Sebastian im Traum), Seagull Books, spring 2016
  • Walser, Robert: Fairy Tales (four dramolettes, with Daniele Pantano), New Directions, 2015
  • Werfel, Franz: The Forty Days of Musa Dagh (Die vierzig Tage des Musa Dagh, a revised and expanded version of the 1934 Geoffrey Dunlop translation), Godine, 2012
  • Werfel, Franz: Pale Blue Ink in a Lady’s Hand (Eine Blaβblaue Frauenschrift), Godine, 2012
Tess Lewis is a writer and translator from French and German. Her translations include works by Peter Handke, Alois Hotschnig, Maja Haderlap, Philippe Jaccottet, and E.M. Cioran. She has been awarded translation grants from PEN USA and PEN UK, an NEA Translation Fellowship, a Max Geilinger Translation Grant, the Austrian Cultural Forum NY Translation Prize, and most recently a Guggenheim Fellowship to translate the work of Ludwig Hohl.  She also serves as an Advisory Editor for The Hudson Review. Her essays have appeared in a number of literary journals and newspapers.

Selected translations:
  • Seiler, Lutz: Kruso (Kruso), Scribe Publications (forthcoming 2016)
  • Merz, Klaus: Stigmata of Bliss: 3 Novellas (Jakob schläft, LOS, Der Argentinier), Seagull Books (forthcoming 2016)
  • Haderlap, Maja: Angel of Oblivion (Engel des Vergessens), Archipelago Books (Herbst 2016)
  • Kiefer, Anselm: Notebooks, Vol. 1, 1998-1999 (Notizbücher, Band 1, 1998-1999), Seagull Books, 2015
  • Nadj Abondji, Melinda: Fly Away, Pigeon (Tauben fliegen auf), Seagull Books, 2014
  • Hotschnig, Alois: Ludwig’s Room (Ludwigs Zimmer), Seagull Books, 2014
  • Rabinovici, Doron: Elsewhere (Andernorts), Haus Publisher, 2014
  • Bärfuss, Lukas: One Hundred Days (Hundert Tage), Granta Books, 2012
  • Hotschnig, Alois: Maybe This Time (Die Kinder beruhigte das nicht), Peirene Press, 2011
  • Rabinowich, Julya: Splithead (Spaltkopf), Portobello Books, 2011
  • Handke, Peter: Once Again for Thucydides (Noch einmal für Thukydides), New Directions, 1998
Martin Chalmers grew up in Glasgow, Scotland, and after many years in Birmingham and London he lived in Rixdorf in Berlin. He studied history at the universities of Glasgow, Birmingham and Bochum. Martin Chalmers has translated many leading German-language authors into English. His book translations include Europe, Europe and The Silences of Hammerstein by Hans Magnus Enzensberger, The Passport (Der Mensch ist ein grosser Fasan auf der Welt) by Herta Müller and The Orphanage by Hubert Fichte. He edited and translated a selection of stories by Erich Fried under the title Children and Fools and edited Beneath Black Stars, a volume of contemporary Austrian fiction. Recent translations include Summer Resort by Esther Kinsky and Brussels, the Gentle Monster or the Disenfranchisement of Europe by Hans Magnus Enzensberger. In 2004 Martin Chalmers was awarded the Schlegel-Tieck Prize for The Lesser Evil, his translation of the post-1945 Diaries of Victor Klemperer. Martin Chalmers passed away in October 2014.

Selected translations:
  • Fatah, Sherko: The Dark Ship (Das dunkle Schiff), Seagull Books (forthcoming)
  • Kluge, Alexander: The Air Raid on Halberstadt on 8th April 1945 (Der Luftangriff auf Halberstadt am 8. April 1945), Seagull Books, 2014
  • Peltzer, Ulrich: Part of the Solution (Teil der Lösung), Seagull Books, 2012
  • Enzensberger, Hans Magnus: Brussels, the Gentle Monster (Sanftes Monster Brüssel oder die Entmündigung Europas), Seagull Books, 2011
  • Kinsky, Esther: Summer Resort (Sommerfrische), Seagull Books, 2011
  • Bernhard, Thomas: Victor Halfwit (Viktor Halbnarr), Seagull Books, 2011
  • Bernhard, Thomas: Prose, Seagull Books, 2010
  • Enzensberger, Hans Magnus: A history of Clouds (Die Geschichte der Wolken), Seagull Books, 2010 (übers. mit Esther Kinsky)
  • Enzensberger, Hans Magnus: The Silences of Hammerstein (Hammerstein oder Der Eigensinn), Seagull Books, 2009
  • Hackl, Erich: The Wedding in Auschwitz (Die Hochzeit von Auschwitz, Serpent's Tail, 2009
  • Brecht, Bertolt: Stories of Mr. Keuner (Geschichten vom Herrn Keuner), City Lights Books, 2001
  • Enzensberger, Hans Magnus: Europe, Europe! (Ach Europa!), Pantheon Books, 1989
  • Müller, Herta: The passport (Der Mensch ist ein großer Fasan auf der Welt), Serpent's Tail, 1989
  • Wallraff, Günter: Lowest of the Low (Ganz unten), Methuen, 1988
Isabel Fargo Cole was born in Galena, Illinois in 1973. After graduating from the University of Chicago in 1995, she has lived in Berlin as a freelance writer and translator. In 2013 she received a PEN/Heim Translation Fund Grant to translate Franz Fühmann's At the Burning Abyss (Vor Feuerschlünden) for Seagull Books. Since 2006 she has also co-edited One Man’s Land, the online journal of new German literature in translation.

Selected translations:
  • Dürrenmatt, Friedrich: Selected Essays (Ausgewählte Essays), Seagull Books (forthcoming)
  • Fühmann, Franz: The Jew Car (Das Judenauto), Seagull Books, 2013
  • Schwarzenbach, Annemarie: All the Roads Are Open (Alle Wege sind offen), Seagull Books, 2011
  • Ungar, Hermann: Boys and Murderers (Knaben und Mörder). Twisted Spoon Press, 2006
David Constantine, born 1944 in Salford, Lancs, was for thirty years a university teacher of German language and literature. He has published several volumes of poetry, most recently Elder (Bloodaxe Books, 2014); also a novel, Davies (1985), and four collections of short stories: Back at the Spike (1994), Under the Dam ( 2005), The Shieling (2009) and Tea at the Midland (2012) – this last won the 2013 Frank O’ Connor International Short Story Award. He is an editor and translator of Hölderlin, Goethe, Kleist and Brecht. With his wife Helen he edited Modern Poetry in Translation, 2003 to 2012.
Katy Derbyshire was born in London in 1973. After studying German at Birmingham University, she continued her education at the University of London and attained a Diploma in Translation there in 2001. In 1996 she moved to Berlin where she worked in various jobs including teaching English to children, until taking maternity leave in 2001. Since 2002 she has worked as a freelance translator of German into English and in 2008 she founded a blog called love german books.

Selected translations:
  • Rammstedt, Tilmann: The King of China (Der Kaiser von China). Seagull Books, 2013
  • Brauen, Yangzom: (Eisenvogel). Harvill Secker / St. Martin's Press (forthcoming)
  • Parei, Inka: What Darkness Was (Was Dunkelheit war). Seagull Books, 2013
  • Parei, Inka: The Shadowboxing Woman (Die Schattenboxerin). Seagull Books, 2011
  • Hegemann, Helene: Axolotl Roadkill. Constable & Robinson, 2011
  • Hanika, Beate Teresa: Learning to Scream (Rotkäppchen muss weinen). Andersen Press, 2010
  • Co-editor and translator: Berlin-City-Lit. Oxygen Books, 2009
  • Bode, Volkhard and Kaiser, Gerhard: Building Hitler's Missiles (Raketenspuren). Ch. Links Verlag, 2008
  • Mueller-Stahl, Armin: Portraits. Aufbau-Verlag, 2006
Kári Driscoll was born in Iceland in 1980 and grew up there as well as in Germany, England and Denmark. He studied German and Italian at Wadham College, Oxford, and recently completed his PhD in German at Columbia University in New York with a dissertation on the poetics of animality in the works of Hugo von Hofmannsthal, Rainer Maria Rilke, Luigi Pirandello and Franz Kafka. He is currently a lecturer in comparative literature at the University of Utrecht in the Netherlands. In 2011 he was awarded the inaugural Gutekunst Prize for Young Translators, for his translation of an excerpt from Martin Mosebach's novel Was davor geschah.

Selected translations:
  • Helle, Heinz: The Reassuring Sound of Exploding Kerosene (Der beruhigende Klang von explodierendem Kerosin), Serpent's Tail (forthcoming)
  • Mosebach, Martin: Was davor geschah, Seagull Books, 2014
Wieland Hoban was born in 1978 in London and studied Music together with German Language & Literature at Bristol University. His musical composition studies led him to Frankfurt where his first articles and translations on music analysis were published in specialist magazines. Since 2000 he has been writing regularly for specialist magazines such as Musik & Ästhetik and Fragmen, and the book series New Music & Aesthetics in the 21st Century. He also works as a translator for the Darmstadt International Summer Course for New Music. In addition to his translation work, musical composition is another of his main activities, for which he has won several prizes.

Selected translations:
  • Celan, Paul und Bachmann, Ingeborg: Heart-Time: The Correspondence (Herzzeit. Der Briefwechsel). Seagull Books, 2010
  • Huber, Klaus und Mahnkopf, Claus-Steffen: From Time to Time (Von Zeit zu Zeit). Wolke, 2010
  • Rothmann, Ralf: Young Light (Junges Licht). Seagull Books, 2010
  • Adorno, Theodor W.: Night Music: Essays on Music 1928-1962. Seagull Books, 2009
  • Sloterdijk, Peter: Derrida, an Egyptian (Derrida ein Ägypter). Polity, 2009
  • Adorno, Theodor W.: Letters to his Parents (Briefe an die Eltern). Polity, 2007
Karen Leeder (born 1962) is Professor of Modern German Literature and Fellow and Tutor in German at New College, Oxford. As an academic she had published widely on modern German poetry, with volumes on Brecht, Rilke, contemporary German poetry and, most recently, Durs Grünbein: A Companion (2013). She has also translated work by a number of contemporary German poets including Evelyn Schlag, Ulrike Almut Sandig, Durs Grünbein and Volker Braun. In 2005 she won the Schlegel-Tieck Prize for her translation of Austrian poet Evelyn Schlag’s Selected Poems (Carcanet, 2004) and in 2013 the Times Stephen Spender Prize for her translation of Durs Grünbein. In 2014 she was awarded a Robert Bosch Stiftung award to the Literarisches Colloquium Berlin for her translation of Ulrike Almut Sandig. During 2014-15 she is Knowledge Exchange Fellow with the Southbank Centre, London, where she has curated a series of events on Modern Poetry and Translation and was Translator in Residence for Poetry International 2014.

Selected translations:
  • Krüger, Michael: Last Day of the Year: Selected Poems, Sheep Meadow Press, 2014
  • Braun, Volker: Rubble Flora: Selected Poems, translated by David Constantine and Karen Leeder Seagull Books, 2014
  • Schmid, Wilhelm: High on Low: Harnessing the Power of Unhappiness (Unglücklich Sein: Eine Ermutigung), Upper West Side Philosophers Press, 2014
  • Enzensberger, Hans Magnus: Fatal Numbers: Why count on Chance?, Upper West Side Philosophers Press, 2011
  • Schrott, Raoul: The Desert of Lop (Die Wüste Lop Nor), Macmillan Picador, 2004
  • Schlag, Evelyn: Selected Poems, Carcanet Press, 2004
  • Krüger, Michael: Scenes from the Life of a Best-selling Author (Aus dem Leben eines Erfolgsschriftstellers), Harvill Press, 2002
Donal McLaughlin was born in Derry in N. Ireland and has lived in Scotland since 1970. The author of An Allergic Reaction to National Anthems & Other Stories, his second collection, Beheading the Virgin Mary & Other Stories, is forthcoming from Dalkey Archive early in 2014. Donal also translates from German. Known for his bilingual edition of the poetry of Stella Rotenberg (Shards) and his translations of over 100 German-Swiss writers for the New Swiss Writing anthologies, he also collaborated with Chris Dolan on a stage version of The Reader. He is the voice of Urs Widmer in English. My Father's Book was shortlisted for the Best Translated Book Award 2013 in the United States. Donal featured as both an author and a translator in Best European Fiction 2012 (Dalkey Archive).

Selected translations:
  • Widmer, Urs: My Mother’s Lover (Der Geliebte der Mutter), My Father’s Book (Das Buch des Vaters), On Life, Death, and This and That of the Rest (Vom Leben, vom Tod und vom Übrigen auch dies und das), Seagull Books, 2011, 2012 und 2013
  • Simon, Christoph: Zbinden’s Progress (Spaziergänger Zbinden), And Other Stories, 2012
  • Khider, Abbas: The Village Indian (Der falsche Inder), Seagull Books, 2013
  • Lenz, Pedro: Naw Much of a Talker (Der Goalie bin ig), Freight Books, 2013
  • Cantieni, Monica: The Encyclopedia of Good Reasons (Grünschnabel), Seagull Books, 2014
  • Camenisch, Arno: The Alp (Sez Ner), Dalkey Archive Press (in Vorbereitung)
Mike Mitchell was born 1941 in Rochdale, Lancashire. He studied French and German at Oxford University, eventually graduating Bachelor of Letters with a thesis on Heimito von Doderer. He taught German at Reading then at Stirling University (1967-1995). His research interest lies in both Austrian and East German literature. Mike Mitchell took early retirement to work as a translator, mostly from German, some from French. He is also a director of Dedalus Books and general editor of their European series. Many times shortlisted for translation prizes Mike Mitchell won the Schlegel-Tieck Prize 1998 and was awarded an Austrian prize for translation 2012.

Selected translations:
  • Lehr, Thomas: September. Mirage (September. Fata Morgana), Seagull Books, 2013
  • Rothmann, Ralf: Fire Doesn’t Burn (Feuer brennt nicht), Seagull Books, 2012
  • Simon, Christoph: Zbinden’s Progress (Spaziergänger Zbinden), And Other Stories, 2012
  • Hammesfahr, Petra: The Lie (Die Lüge), Bitter Lemon, 2009
  • Kafka, Franz: The Trial (Der Prozess), Oxford World’s Classics, 2009
  • Krausser, Helmut: Eros (Eros), Europa Editions, 2008
  • Rottensteiner, Franz (Hrsg.): The Black Mirror and Other Stories. An Anthology of Science Fiction from Germany and Austria, Wesleyan University Press, 2008
  • Himmler, Katrin: The Himmler Brothers (Die Brüder Himmler), Macmillan, 2007
  • Schätzing, Frank: Death and the Devil (Tod und Teufel), William Morrow, 2007
  • Glauser, Friedrich: In Matto’s Realm (Matto regiert), Bitter Lemon Press, 2005
  • Kokoschka, Oskar: Plays and Poems (Dichtungen und Dramen), Ariadne, 2001
  • Grimmelshausen, Hans Jakob Christoffel von: Simplicissimus (Der abenteuerliche Simplicissimus), Dedalus, 1999
  • Rosendorfer, Herbert: Letters Back to Ancient China (Briefe in die chinesische Vergangenheit), Dedalus, 1997
  • Meyrink, Gustav: The Golem (Der Golem), Dedalus/Ariadne, 1995
Samuel Pakucs Willcocks was born in 1973 and came from the English seaside town of Brighton. He studied German and Czech in Cambridge and has lived variously in Ljubljana, Philadelphia, Paris and Berlin until he finally settled in the multi-cultural city of Cluj, Romania, also known in Hungarian as Kolozsvár and in German as Klausenburg. In 2010 he won the inaugural German Embassy Award, London, for translation. He has been a freelance translator, working from four East and Central European languages into English. In 2014 he received a grant from the Alfred-Toepfer-Stiftung to support the translation of Werner Bräunig’s novel Rummelplatz, once suppressed by the East German Communist government. In 2015 Samuel Pakucs Willcocks passed away.

Selected translations:
  • Ciocîltan, Virgil: The Mongols and the Black Sea Trade in the Thirteenth and Fourteenth Centuries. Brill, Leiden, 2012
  • Dath, Dietmar: The Abolition of Species (Die Abschaffung der Arten). Seagull Books, 2012
  • Eschbach, Andreas: Lord of All Things (Herr aller Dinge). AmazonCrossing, 2013
  • Loetscher, Hugo: Noah. Seagull Books, 2012
  • Loschütz, Gert: Dark Company (Dunkle Gesellschaft). Seagull Books, 2012
  • Pannke, Peter: Singers Die Twice: A Journey into the Land of Dhrupad (Sänger müssen zweimal sterben). Seagull Books, 2013
  • Bräunig, Werner: Rummelplatz (Rummelplatz). Seagull Books, 2016
Nathaniel McBride was born in London in 1971 and studied at the universities of London and Oxford. He has been a freelance translator from German to English since 2004. In 2011 he translated Heiner Mueller's three Lehrstuecke Philoctetes, The Horatian and Mauser for Seagull Books. His translation of Gerhard Richter and Alexander Kluge's Dispatches from Moments of Calm was published by Seagull in 2016.
Simon Pare grew up in Shropshire, England, and studied French and German at Cambridge University. After gaining an MSc in Sustainable Agriculture from the University of London, Simon spent eight years developing Fairtrade coffee, tea and cotton in France.
Simon lives in Paris and has been a literary translator since 2006. His translations from German and French have appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, and he also translates for television and cinema (including subtitles for a film adaptation of W.G. Sebald’s Austerlitz).

Selected translations:
  • Christoph Ransmayr: The Flying Mountain (Der fliegende Berg), Seagull Books (forthcoming)
    Beatrice Meier: The Vintage Springtime Club (Alleine war gestern), Little, Brown UK (forthcoming 2016)
  • Christoph Ransmayr: Atlas of an Anxious Man (Atlas eines ängstlichen Mannes), Seagull Books, 2016
  • Richard von Schirach: The Night of the Physicists. Operation Epsilon: Heisenberg, Hahn, Weizsäcker and the German Atomic Bomb (Die Nacht der Physiker), Haus Publishing, 2015
  • Nina George: The Little Paris Bookshop (Das Lavendelzimmer), Little, Brown UK / Crown US, 2015
  • Wolfgang Büscher: Asian Absences (Asiatische Absencen), Haus Publishing, 2010

Übersetzer

James Reidel ist Lyriker, Übersetzer und schreibt Biografien. Er studierte an der University of Cincinnati (BA Europäische Geschichte), an der Columbia University (MFA Kreatives Schreiben) und an der Rutgers University (MA Anglistik). Er lebt in Ohio und arbeitet als freiberuflicher Redakteur und Autor. Seine Übersetzung von Thomas Bernhards Gedichten In Hora Mortis/Unter dem Eisen des Mondes (erschienen 2006 bei Princeton University Press) wurde 2007 in die Endauswahl für den PEN Translation Prize aufgenommen. 2010 erhielt er ein Stipendium des National Endowment for the Art für die Übersetzung von Franz Werfels Eine blassblaue Frauenschrift (Pale Blue Ink in a Lady’s Hand, erschienen bei Godine, 2012). Er hat zwei Sammlungen eigener Lyrik veröffentlich sowie die Biographie des amerikanischen Dichters Weldon Kees. 2013 war er James Merrill House Fellow. Derzeit ist er dabei, ein Buch über Manon Gropius und ihre Eltern fertigzustellen.

Auswahl an übersetzten Texten:
  • Bernhard, Thomas: Collected Poems (Gesammelte Gedichte), Seagull Books, in Vorbereitung
  • Bernhard, Thomas: Goethe Dies: Short Stories (Goethe stirbt), Seagull Books, Frühjahr 2016
  • Bernhard, Thomas: In Hora Mortis/Under the Iron of the Moon (In Hora Mortis/Unter dem Eisen des Mondes), Princeton University Press, 2006
  • Trakl, Georg: Poems (Gedichte), Seagull Books, 2015
  • Trakl, Georg: Sebastian Dreaming (Sebastian im Traum), Seagull Books, Frühjahr 2016
  • Walser, Robert: Fairy Tales: four dramolettes (Märchen) mit Daniele Pantano, New Directions, 2015
  • Werfel, Franz: The Forty Days of Musa Dagh (Die vierzig Tage des Musa Dagh), überarbeitete und erweiterte Fassung der Übersetzung von Geoffrey Dunlop aus dem Jahr 1934), 2012 erschienen bei Godine
  • Werfel, Franz: Pale Blue Ink in a Lady’s Hand (Eine blassblaue Frauenschrift), Godine, 2012
Tess Lewis ist Schriftstellerin und übersetzt aus dem Französischen und Deutschen ins Englische. Sie hat Werke von Peter Handke, Alois Hotschnig, Maja Haderlap, Philippe Jaccottet und E.M. Cioran übersetzt. Ihre Übersetzungen wurden vom amerikanischen und britischen PEN gefördert. Sie erhielt ein Stipendien des National Endowment for the Arts und der Max Geilinger Stiftung. Sie wurde mit dem Übersetzerpreis des Österreichischen Kulturforums New York ausgezeichnet und kürzlich wurde ihr ein Guggenheim-Stipendium zur die Übersetzung der Werke von Ludwig Hohl zugesprochen. Sie ist Mitglied im Redaktionsbeirat der Zeitschrift Hudson Review und veröffentlicht regelmäßig Essays in Tageszeitungen und Literaturzeitschriften.

Auswahl an übersetzten Texten:
  • Seiler, Lutz: Kruso (Kruso), Scribe Publications (in Vorbereitung für 2016)
  • Merz, Klaus: Stigmata of Bliss: 3 Novellas (Jakob schläft, LOS, Der Argentinier), Seagull Books ((in Vorbereitung für 2016)
  • Haderlap, Maja: Angel of Oblivion (Engel des Vergessens), Archipelago Books (Herbst 2016)
  • Kiefer, Anselm: Notebooks, Vol. 1, 1998-1999 (Notizbücher, Band 1, 1998-1999), Seagull Books, 2015
  • Nadj Abondji, Melinda: Fly Away, Pigeon (Tauben fliegen auf), Seagull Books, 2014
  • Hotschnig, Alois: Ludwig’s Room (Ludwigs Zimmer), Seagull Books, 2014
  • Rabinovici, Doron: Elsewhere (Andernorts), Haus Publisher, 2014
  • Bärfuss, Lukas: One Hundred Days (Hundert Tage), Granta Books, 2012
  • Hotschnig, Alois: Maybe This Time (Die Kinder beruhigte das nicht), Peirene Press, 2011
  • Rabinowich, Julya: Splithead (Spaltkopf), Portobello Books, 2011
  • Handke, Peter: Once Again for Thucydides (Noch einmal für Thukydides), New Directions, 1998
Martin Chalmers wuchs in Glasgow (Schottland) auf und lebte, nach mehreren Jahren in Birmingham und London, in Rixdorf, Berlin. Er studierte Geschichte in Glasgow, Birmingham und Bochum. Martin Chalmers hat mehrere deutsche Autoren ins Englische übersetzt. Zu den Büchern gehören unter anderen Hans Magnus Enzensberger’s Europe, Europe und The Silences of Hammerstein (2009), The Passport von Herta Müller und The Orphanage von Hubert Fichte (1992). Zudem war er auch Herausgeber und Übersetzer von Children and Fools, Erzählungen von Erich Fried und Herausgeber von Beneath Black Stars (2002), eine Anthologie zeitgenössischer österreichischer Prosa. Zuletzt sind erschienen Esther Kinskys Summer Resort und H. M. Enzensbergers Brussels, the Gentle Monster or the Disenfranchisement of Europe. 2004 erhielt Martin Chalmers den Schlegel-Tieck-Preis für Victor Klemperers The Lesser Evil, eine Übersetzung Klemperers Nachkriegstagebücher. Im Oktober 2014 ist Martin Chalmers verstorben.

Auswahl an übersetzten Texten:
  • Fatah, Sherko: The Dark Ship (Das dunkle Schiff), Seagull Books (in Vorbereitung)
  • Kluge, Alexander: The Air Raid on Halberstadt on 8th April 1945 (Der Luftangriff auf Halberstadt am 8. April 1945), Seagull Books, 2014
  • Peltzer, Ulrich: Part of the Solution (Teil der Lösung), Seagull Books, 2012
  • Enzensberger, Hans Magnus: Brussels, the Gentle Monster (Sanftes Monster Brüssel oder die Entmündigung Europas), Seagull Books, 2011
  • Kinsky, Esther: Summer Resort (Sommerfrische), Seagull Books, 2011
  • Bernhard, Thomas: Victor Halfwit (Viktor Halbnarr), Seagull Books, 2011
  • Bernhard, Thomas: Prose, Seagull Books, 2010
  • Enzensberger, Hans Magnus: A history of Clouds (Die Geschichte der Wolken), Seagull Books, 2010 (übers. mit Esther Kinsky)
  • Enzensberger, Hans Magnus: The Silences of Hammerstein (Hammerstein oder Der Eigensinn), Seagull Books, 2009
  • Hackl, Erich: The Wedding in Auschwitz (Die Hochzeit von Auschwitz, Serpent's Tail, 2009
  • Brecht, Bertolt: Stories of Mr. Keuner (Geschichten vom Herrn Keuner), City Lights Books, 2001
  • Enzensberger, Hans Magnus: Europe, Europe! (Ach Europa!), Pantheon Books, 1989
  • Müller, Herta: The passport (Der Mensch ist ein großer Fasan auf der Welt), Serpent's Tail, 1989
  • Wallraff, Günter: Lowest of the Low (Ganz unten), Methuen, 1988
Isabel Fargo Cole wurde 1973 in Galena, Illinois geboren. Sie studierte an der University of Chicago und lebt seit 1995 als freiberufliche Autorin und Übersetzerin in Berlin. 2013 erhielt sie einen PEN/Heim Translation Fund Grant für die Übersetzung von Franz Fühmanns Vor Feuerschlünden für Seagull Books. Außerdem ist sie seit 2006 Mitherausgeberin von No Man‘s Land, der Online-Zeitschrift für neue deutsche Literatur auf Englisch.

Auswahl an übersetzten Texten:
  • Dürrenmatt, Friedrich: Selected Essays (Ausgewählte Essays), Seagull Books (in Vorbereitung)
  • Fühmann, Franz: The Jew Car (Das Judenauto), Seagull Books, 2013
  • Schwarzenbach, Annemarie: All the Roads Are Open (Alle Wege sind offen), Seagull Books, 2011
  • Ungar, Hermann: Boys and Murderers (Knaben und Mörder). Twisted Spoon Press, 2006
David Constantine wurde 1944 in Salford, Lancashire, geboren und war 30 Jahre lang Dozent für deutsche Sprache und Literatur an den Universitäten von Durham und von Oxford. Er hat mehrere Lyrikbände veröffentlicht, zuletzt Elder (Bloodaxe Books, 2014). Bei Wallstein erschien 2007 die zweisprachige Auswahl Etwas für die Geister. Der neueste unter seinen vier Bänden von Kurzgeschichten – Tea at the Midland (Comma Press 2012) – gewann 2013 den Frank O’ Connor International Short Story Award. Er ist Herausgeber und Übersetzer von Hölderlin, Goethe, Kleist und Brecht. Zusammen mit seiner Frau Helen gab er von 2003 bis 2012 Modern Poetry in Translation heraus.
Katy Derbyshire wurde 1973 in London geboren. Nach dem Studium der Germanistik an der Universität in Birmingham setzte sie ihre Ausbildung an der Universität in London fort und schloss dort 2001 als Diplom-Übersetzerin ab. 1996 zog sie nach Berlin, wo sie bis zu ihrem Mutterschutz 2001 unter anderem als Englischlehrerin für Kinder arbeitete. Seit 2002 ist sie als freiberufliche Übersetzerin vom Deutschen ins Englische tätig und moderiert den 2008 gegründeten Blog love german books.

Auswahl an übersetzten Texten:
  • Rammstedt, Tilmann: The King of China (Der Kaiser von China). Seagull Books, 2013
  • Brauen, Yangzom: (Eisenvogel). Harvill Secker / St. Martin's Press (in Vorbereitung)
  • Parei, Inka: What Darkness Was (Was Dunkelheit war). Seagull Books, 2013
  • Parei, Inka: The Shadowboxing Woman (Die Schattenboxerin). Seagull Books, 2011
  • Hegemann, Helene: Axolotl Roadkill. Constable & Robinson, 2011
  • Hanika, Beate Teresa: Learning to Scream (Rotkäppchen muss weinen). Andersen Press, 2010
  • Co-Autorin und Übersetzerin: Berlin-City-Lit. Oxygen Books, 2009
  • Bode, Volkhard und Kaiser, Gerhard: Building Hitler's Missiles (Raketenspuren). Ch. Links Verlag, 2008
  • Mueller-Stahl, Armin: Portraits. Aufbau-Verlag, 2006
Kári Driscoll wurde 1980 in Island geboren und ist dort aufgewachsen, sowie unter anderem in Deutschland, in Großbritannien und in Dänemark. Er hat Germanistik und Italianistik an der Oxford University studiert. Seine Promotion hat er mit einer Doktorarbeit zum Thema Zoopoetik in den Werken Hugo von Hofmannsthals, Rainer Maria Rilkes, Luigi Pirandellos und Franz Kafkas an der Columbia University in New York mit Auszeichnung abgeschlossen. Er ist Dozent für Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft an der Universität Utrecht in den Niederlanden. Im Jahr 2011 wurde er mit dem Gutekunst Preis für Nachwuchsübersetzer für die Übersetzung eines Auszuges aus Martin Mosebachs Roman Was davor geschah ausgezeichnet.

Auswahl an übersetzten Texten:
  • Helle, Heinz: The Reassuring Sound of Exploding Kerosene (Der beruhigende Klang von explodierendem Kerosin), Serpent's Tail (in Vorbereitung)
  • Mosebach, Martin: Was davor geschah, Seagull Books, 2014
Wieland Hoban wurde 1978 in London geboren und studierte Musik und Germanistik an der Universität in Bristol. Das Studium der Komposition führten ihn nach Frankfurt, wo er erste eigene Artikel sowie Übersetzungen im Bereich Musik-Analyse in Fachzeitschriften veröffentlichte. Seit 2000 schreibt er regelmäßig für Zeitschriften wie Musik & Ästhetik, Fragmen und die Buchreihe New Music & Aesthetics in the 21st Century. Weiterhin arbeitet er als Dolmetscher bei den Internationalen Ferienkursen für Neue Musik Darmstadt des Internationalen Musikinstituts Darmstadt. Neben dem Übersetzen zählt das Komponieren zu seinen Haupttätigkeiten, für die er bereits mehrere Preise erhalten hat.

Auswahl an übersetzten Texten:
  • Celan, Paul und Bachmann, Ingeborg: Heart-Time: The Correspondence (Herzzeit. Der Briefwechsel). Seagull Books, 2010
  • Huber, Klaus und Mahnkopf, Claus-Steffen: From Time to Time (Von Zeit zu Zeit). Wolke, 2010
  • Rothmann, Ralf: Young Light (Junges Licht). Seagull Books, 2010
  • Adorno, Theodor W.: Night Music: Essays on Music 1928-1962. Seagull Books, 2009
  • Sloterdijk, Peter: Derrida, an Egyptian (Derrida ein Ägypter). Polity, 2009
  • Adorno, Theodor W.: Letters to his Parents (Briefe an die Eltern). Polity, 2007
Karen Leeder, geboren 1962, ist Dozentin für deutsche Sprache und Literatur am New College, Oxford. Ihre zahlreichen wissenschaftlichen Veröffentlichungen zu neuer deutscher Lyrik beinhalten Bücher über Brecht, Rilke, deutsche Gegenwartslyrik und, kürzlich erschienen, einen Titel zu Durs Grünbein. Sie hat eine Reihe zeitgenössischer deutschsprachiger Lyriker und Lyrikerinnen übersetzt, darunter Evelyn Schlag, Ulrike Almut Sandig, Durs Grünbein und Volker Braun. Im Jahr 2005 wurde sie für ihre Übersetzung der österreichischen Dichterin Evelyn Schlag (Selected Poems, Carcanet, 2004) mit dem Schlegel-Tieck Preis ausgezeichnet und 2013 mit dem Times Stephen Spender Prize für ihre Übersetzung von Durs Grünbein. 2014 erhielt sie ein Stipendium der Robert Bosch Stiftung am Literarischen Colloquium für ihre Ulrike Almut Sandig-Übersetzung. In den Jahren 2014/2015 ist sie Knowledge Exchange Fellow am Southbank Centre, London. Dort hat sie eine Reihe von Veranstaltungen zu moderner Lyrik kuratiert und war 2014 Translator in Residence für internationale Lyrik.

Auswahl an übersetzten Texten:
  • Krüger, Michael: Last Day of the Year: Selected Poems, Sheep Meadow Press, 2014
  • Braun, Volker: Rubble Flora: Selected Poems, in Übersetzung von David Constantine und Karen Leeder Seagull Books, 2014
  • Schmid, Wilhelm: High on Low: Harnessing the Power of Unhappiness (Unglücklich Sein: Eine Ermutigung), Upper West Side Philosophers Press, 2014
  • Enzensberger, Hans Magnus: Fatal Numbers: Why count on Chance?, Upper West Side Philosophers Press, 2011
  • Schrott, Raoul: The Desert of Lop (Die Wüste Lop Nor), Macmillan Picador, 2004
  • Schlag, Evelyn: Selected Poems, Carcanet Press, 2004
  • Krüger, Michael: Scenes from the Life of a Best-selling Author (Aus dem Leben eines Erfolgsschriftstellers), Harvill Press, 2002
Donal McLaughlin wurde in Derry, Nordirland, geboren und lebt seit 1970 in Schottland. Er ist Autor und Übersetzer, wie es sich auch in seiner zweifachen Aufnahme in die amerikanische Anthologie Best European Fiction 2012 widerspiegelt. Nach seinem 2009 erschienenen An Allergic Reaction to National Anthems & Other Stories wird Anfang 2014 ein zweiter Band mit seinen Kurzgeschichten, Beheading the Virgin Mary & Other Stories, bei Dalkey Archive erscheinen. Seine zweisprachige Ausgabe von Stella Rotenbergs Lyrik, Shards, und seine Übersetzungen von mehr als 100 deutschschweizer Autoren für die Anthologien New Swiss Writing (Neue Texte aus der Schweiz) haben ihn bekannt gemacht. Gemeinsam mit Chris Dolan entwickelte er eine Bühnenversion von Der Vorleser. Er ist die englische Stimme von Urs Widmer. My Father’s Book (Das Buch des Vaters) wurde 2013 in die Shortlist für den amerikanischen Übersetzerpreis „Best Translated Book Award“ aufgenommen.

Auswahl an übersetzten Texten:
  • Widmer, Urs: My Mother’s Lover (Der Geliebte der Mutter), My Father’s Book (Das Buch des Vaters), On Life, Death, and This and That of the Rest (Vom Leben, vom Tod und vom Übrigen auch dies und das), Seagull Books, 2011, 2012 und 2013 
  • Simon, Christoph: Zbinden’s Progress (Spaziergänger Zbinden), And Other Stories, 2012
  • Khider, Abbas: The Village Indian (Der falsche Inder), Seagull Books, 2013
  • Lenz, Pedro: Naw Much of a Talker (Der Goalie bin ig), Freight Books, 2013
  • Cantieni, Monica: The Encyclopedia of Good Reasons (Grünschnabel), Seagull Books, 2014
  • Camenisch, Arno: The Alp (Sez Ner), Dalkey Archive Press (in Vorbereitung)
Mike Mitchell wurde 1941 in Rochdale, Lancashire, geboren. Er studierte in Oxford Germanistik und Romanistik und schloss sein Studium als Bachelor of Letters mit einer Dissertation über Heimito von Doderer ab. An den Universitäten Reading und Stirling (1967-1995) war er als Dozent mit den Forschungsschwerpunkten Österreichische Literatur und Literatur der DDR tätig. Mike Mitchell zog sich vorzeitig ins Privatleben zurück, um freischaffend als Übersetzer zu arbeiten. Meistens übersetzt er aus dem Deutschen, aber auch aus dem Französischen. Er ist Geschäftsführer von Dedalus Books, London. Achtmal war Mike Mitchell in der engeren Wahl für Übersetzerpreise. 1998 erhielt er den Schlegel-Tieck Preis und 2012 einen Übersetzerpreis des Österreichischen Bundesministeriums für Unterricht, Kunst und Kultur.

Auswahl an übersetzten Texten:
  • Lehr, Thomas: September. Mirage (September. Fata Morgana), Seagull Books, 2013
  • Rothmann, Ralf: Fire Doesn’t Burn (Feuer brennt nicht), Seagull Books, 2012
  • Simon, Christoph: Zbinden’s Progress (Spaziergänger Zbinden), And Other Stories, 2012
  • Hammesfahr, Petra: The Lie (Die Lüge), Bitter Lemon, 2009
  • Kafka, Franz: The Trial (Der Prozess), Oxford World’s Classics, 2009
  • Krausser, Helmut: Eros (Eros), Europa Editions, 2008
  • Rottensteiner, Franz (Hrsg.): The Black Mirror and Other Stories. An Anthology of Science Fiction from Germany and Austria, Wesleyan University Press, 2008
  • Himmler, Katrin: The Himmler Brothers (Die Brüder Himmler), Macmillan, 2007
  • Schätzing, Frank: Death and the Devil (Tod und Teufel), William Morrow, 2007
  • Glauser, Friedrich: In Matto’s Realm (Matto regiert), Bitter Lemon Press, 2005
  • Kokoschka, Oskar: Plays and Poems (Dichtungen und Dramen), Ariadne, 2001
  • Grimmelshausen, Hans Jakob Christoffel von: Simplicissimus (Der abenteuerliche Simplicissimus), Dedalus, 1999
  • Rosendorfer, Herbert: Letters Back to Ancient China (Briefe in die chinesische Vergangenheit), Dedalus, 1997
  • Meyrink, Gustav: The Golem (Der Golem), Dedalus/Ariadne, 1995
Samuel Pakucs Willcocks, Jahrgang 1973, stammte aus Brighton an der Südküste Englands. Nach Studium der Germanistik und Bohemistik in Cambridge und Wanderjahren in Ljubljana, Philadelphia, Paris und Berlin ließ er sich in der multikulturellen Stadt Cluj, Rumänien, auch ungarisch als Kolozsvár und deutsch als Klausenburg bekannt, nieder. 2010 erhielt er den ersten Übersetzerpreis der Deutschen Botschaft London. Er arbeitete als freischaffender Übersetzer aus vier ost- und mitteleuropäischen Sprachen ins Englische. 2014 übersetzte er als Stipendiat der Alfred-Toepfer-Stiftung den unterdrückten DDR-Roman Rummelplatz von Werner Bräunig. Samuel Pakucs Willcocks verstarb Ende 2015.

Auswahl an übersetzten Titeln:
  • Ciocîltan, Virgil: The Mongols and the Black Sea Trade in the Thirteenth and Fourteenth Centuries. Brill, Leiden, 2012
  • Dath, Dietmar: The Abolition of Species (Die Abschaffung der Arten). Seagull Books, 2012
  • Eschbach, Andreas: Lord of All Things (Herr aller Dinge). AmazonCrossing, 2013
  • Loetscher, Hugo: Noah. Seagull Books, 2012
  • Loschütz, Gert: Dark Company (Dunkle Gesellschaft). Seagull Books, 2012
  • Pannke, Peter: Singers Die Twice: A Journey into the Land of Dhrupad (Sänger müssen zweimal sterben). Seagull Books, 2013
  • Bräunig, Werner: Rummelplatz (Rummelplatz). Seagull Books, 2016
Nathaniel McBride wurde 1971 in London geboren, und hat an den Universitäten von Oxford und London studiert. Er ist seit 2004 als freiberuflicher Übersetzer tätig. 2011 hat er Heiner Müllers drei Lehrstücke Philoktet, Der Horatier und Mauser für Seagull books übersetzt. 2016 wurde seine Übersetzung von Gerhard Richter und Alexander Kluges Nachricht von ruhigen Momenten auch von Seagull herausgegeben.
Simon Pare ist in Shropshire, England, aufgewachsen und hat Deutsch und Französisch an der Universität Cambridge studiert. Nach einem Magisterabschluß in Nachhaltiger Landwirtschaft an der Universität London hat Simon acht Jahre lang im Fairtrade-Bereich gearbeitet und insbesondere Kaffee-, Tee- und Baumwollhandelsketten entwickelt.
Simon lebt in Paris, wo er seit 2006 als literarischer Übersetzer arbeitet. Seine Übersetzungen aus dem Deutschen und Französischen sind in verschiedenen Anthologien und Literaturzeitschriften erschienen. Er übersetzt auch regelmäßig fürs Fernsehen und fürs Kino (u.a. Untertitel für eine Filmversion von W.G. Sebalds Roman Austerlitz).

Auswahl an übersetzten Titeln:
  • Christoph Ransmayr: The Flying Mountain (Der fliegende Berg), Seagull Books (forthcoming)
  • Beatrice Meier: The Vintage Springtime Club (Alleine war gestern), Little, Brown UK (forthcoming 2016)
  • Christoph Ransmayr: Atlas of an Anxious Man (Atlas eines ängstlichen Mannes), Seagull Books, 2016
  • Richard von Schirach: The Night of the Physicists. Operation Epsilon: Heisenberg, Hahn, Weizsäcker and the German Atomic Bomb (Die Nacht der Physiker), Haus Publishing, 2015
  • Nina George: The Little Paris Bookshop (Das Lavendelzimmer), Little, Brown UK / Crown US, 2015
  • Wolfgang Büscher: Asian Absences (Asiatische Absencen), Haus Publishing, 2010