Anna Seghers

November 19, 1900, Mainz – June 1, 1983, Berlin

“When you're young and healthy you can recover quickly from a defeat. But betrayal is different—it paralyzes you.” Anna Seghers, Transit
 
Born Netty Reiling in Mainz, Germany, into an upper-middle-class Jewish family. She was a sickly and introverted child by her own account, but became an intellectually curious student, eventually earning a doctorate in art history at the University of Heidelberg in 1924. Her first story, written under the name Antje Seghers, was published in the same year.

Her committed socialist-communist, anti-fascist standpoint has its roots in her years spent studying history of art, sinology and history in Heidelberg, where she left behind bourgeois roots and became committed to proletarian ideals, in a meeting of minds with many Eastern European intellectuals and Marxist thinkers, amongst them the Hungarian economist, László Radványi, whom Seghers married in 1925. He would be her life-long partner, and closest advisor.

By 1929 Seghers had joined the Communist Party, given birth to her first child, and received the Kleist Prize for her first novel, The Revolt of the Fisherman. Having settled in France in 1933, Seghers was forced to flee again after the 1940 Nazi invasion. With the aid of Varian Fry, Seghers, her husband, and two children sailed from Marseille to Mexico on a ship that included among its passengers Victor Serge, André Breton, and Claude Lévi-Strauss.

After the war she moved to East Berlin, where she became an emblematic figure of East German letters, actively championing the work of younger writers from her position as president of the Writers Union and publishing at a steady pace. Among Seghers’s internationally regarded works are The Seventh Cross (1939; adapted for film in 1944 by MGM), one of the only World War II–era depictions of Nazi concentration camps; the novella Excursion of the Dead Girls (1945); The Dead Stay Young (1949); and the story collection Benito’s Blue (1973).

In 1951 she received the first Nationalpreis der DDR and the "Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Jena" in 1959. In 1981, she became "Ehrenbürgerin" of her native town Mainz. In 1978 she was finally granted release from her duties as president of the GDR writers’ union and became its honorary president. By now in declining physical health, her husband also died in this year. Anna Seghers died on 1 June 1983 in Berlin, where she is buried in the Dorotheenstadt cemetery.

Her writing is simple and clear but contains poetic moments reminiscent of the powerful illuminations in Rembrandt’s paintings which Seghers studied as an art student. Her intense interest and preoccupation with the individual and their struggle to find their place in society resonates deeply on a human level today. Her protagonists are always only ever ordinary, even down-trodden people.

Anna Seghers

19. November 1900 in Mainz – 1. Juni 1983 in Berlin

“Wenn man jung und gesund ist, erholt man sich schnell von einer Niederlage. Verrat aber ist etwas anderes – er lähmt einen.” Anna Seghers, Transit
 
Geboren wurde Anna Seghers als Netty Reiling in Mainz in eine jüdische Familie aus dem gehobenen Bürgertum. Nach eigener Schilderung war sie während ihrer Kindheit oft krank und eher introvertiert, entwickelte sich dann zu einer intellektuell-aufgeweckten Studentin, die 1924 sogar einen Doktortitel in Kunstgeschichte an der Universität Heidelberg erwarb.

Ihre erste Erzählung, die sie unter dem Namen Antje Seghers schrieb, wurde im gleichen Jahr veröffentlicht. Ihre ganz entschieden sozialistisch-kommunistische, antifaschistische Haltung geht zurück auf die Zeit ihres Studiums der Kunstgeschichte, Sinologie und Geschichte in Heidelberg, in der sie ihre bürgerliche Herkunft hinter sich ließ und sich proletarischen Idealen verschrieb, als sie dort gleichgesinnte Geister in vielen osteuropäischen Intellektuellen und Marxisten traf  – wie dem ungarischen Ökonomen László Radványi, den Seghers 1925 heiratete. Er wurde zu ihrem lebenslangen Partner und engstem Vertrauten.

1929 war Seghers Mitglied der kommunistischen Partei, hatte ihr erstes Kind zur Welt gebracht und den Kleist-Preis für ihren ersten Roman, Aufstand der Fischer von St. Barbara, erhalten. Nachdem sie sich 1933 in Frankreich niedergelassen hatte, musste sie nach der deutschen Besetzung abermals fliehen. Mit Hilfe von Varian Fry reisten Seghers, ihr Mann und die zwei Kinder per Boot von Marseille nach Mexiko – an Bord befanden sich unter anderen auch Victor Serge, André Breton und Claude Lévi-Strauss.

Nach dem Krieg kehrte Seghers nach Ostberlin zurück, wo sie eine emblematische Figur unter ostdeutschen Intellektuellen wurde und in ihrer Funktion als Präsidentin des Schriftstellerverbandes der DDR den Werdegang vieler junger Autoren beförderte und selbst in stetiger Folge publizierte. Zu Seghers international gefeierten Werken zählen Das siebte Kreuz (1939; Filmadaption von 1944 durch MGM), eine der wenigen Beschreibungen der Konzentrationslager aus der Zeit des 2. Weltkriegs; die Novelle Der Ausflug der toten Mädchen (1945); Die Toten bleiben jung (1949) und Benito’s Blue, eine Erzählsammlung mit Übersetzungen ins Englische (1973).

1951 erhielt sie den ersten Nationalpreis der DDR und 1959 die "Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Jena". 1981 wurde sie Ehrenbürgerin ihrer Geburtsstadt Mainz. 1978 wurde sie schließlich aus der Pflicht als Präsidentin des Schriftstellerverbandes der DDR entlassen und wurde Ehrenpräsidentin. Ihre Gesundheit war da bereits angegriffen, ihr Ehemann starb ebenfalls in jenem Jahr. Anna Seghers starb am 1. Juni 1983 in Berlin, wo sie auf dem Dorotheenstädtischen Friedhof begraben liegt.   

Ihr Schreibstil ist einfach und klar, besitzt aber poetische Momente, die an die wirkmächtigen Bilder Rembrandts erinnern, die Anna Seghers als Studentin der Kunstgeschichte studierte. Ihr ausgesprochenes Interesse und ihre Beschäftigung mit dem Einzelnen und seinem Versuchen, einen Platz in der Gesellschaft zu finden, findet heute wieder deutlichen humanistischen Widerhall. Die Helden ihrer Geschichten sind immer einfache, vom Leben gezeichnete Menschen.