Ilse Aichinger

November 1, 1921, Vienna – November 11, 2016, Vienna
 
“May it always cost the head as long as it does not cost the heart” – Ilse Aichinger
 
A Jewish Austrian writer, lyricist and author of radio plays, Aichinger was born in Vienna (1921) and lived in Linz as a child. Her mother was an assimilated Jew, while her father was Catholic. Her family was persecuted by the Nazis because of their Jewish heritage, and her grandmother died in a concentration camp in 1942. Aichinger's mother, a doctor, was forced to labor in a factory.

Aichinger’s education was interrupted by World War II when, because she was half Jewish, she was refused entrance to medical school. Although she eventually did begin medical school in 1947, she left to concentrate on writing. Her only novel, Die größere Hoffnung (Herod’s Children), was published in 1948. The novel explores the angst and suffering of both the Jews and their pursuers during the Third Reich. The text reflects Aichinger's commitment to the weak and her skepticism about the German language.

In addition to her novel, Aichinger’s works include Rede unter dem Galgen (The Bound Man and Other Stories); Knöpfe (Buttons), a radio play in which workers in a button factory slowly turn into the products they make; Plätze und Straßen (Squares and Streets), a series of meditations on places in Vienna; Zu keiner Stunde (Never at Any Time), a collection of surreal dialogues; and the short-story collection Schlechte Wörter (Inferior Words), in which language is sometimes seen as a barrier to communication.

In 1953 she married the German poet Günther Eich, whom she had met through her participation in the Gruppe 47, a postwar group of German-speaking writers. They had a daughter, Mirjam, and a son, Clemens. She continued to write and began to receive acclaimed prizes, such as the Austrian State Prize for the Encouragement of Literature (1952), the Literary Prize of the City of Bremen (1955), the Bavarian Literature Prize (1961) and the Nelly Sachs Prize of Dortmund (1971).

During these years she lived with her family near Salzburg, until Günter’s death in 1972. Then, she moved to a secluded town on the Austrian-Bavarian border and retired from public life after her son’s death in 1998.
Her fictions could be compared to Franz Kafka, for her stories seem dreamlike, hallucinatory, and subtly allegorical. Like Kafka, she creates a fictional world that is both real and visionary at once. It also displays distinct signs of Christian mysticism.

Her radio plays illustrate existential borderline experiences between assimilation and resistance. In her narratives, she examines a range of human emotions, including angst, alienation, paradox, and ambivalence. Her poetics stand for the conviction that too much light, blinding clarity, does not correspond to reality; the shadow, the nuances, the realm of in-between, on the other hand, offer the possibility of accessing realness. Her fondness of experimentation and attempts to provide texts that are deliberately open to multiple layer of interpretation have made her work an intriguing challenge for the readers.
 

In our library, you find following books by Ilse Aichinger:

Aichinger, Ilse: The greater hope / Translator: Geoff Wilkes. Königshausen & Neumann, 2016. 252 Seiten.
ISBN: 9783826059216; 3826059212
      
Aichinger, Ilse: Selected poetry & prose. Logbridge-Rhodes, 1983. 141 Seiten
ISBN: 0937406244

In our eLibrary you find following eBooks and audiobooks on Ilse Aichinger:

Schmid-Bortenschlager, Sigrid: Österreichische Schriftstellerinnen 1800-2000. Eine Literaturgeschichte. Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft, 2009. ISBN: 9783534704538
http://www.onleihe.de/goethe-institut/frontend/mediaInfo,0-0-355008806-100-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.html
 
"Wir waren voller Hoffnung": Zeitzeuginnen des 20. Jahrhunderts im Gespräch (Audiobook) / Editor: Lerke von Saalfeld. Speaker: Ilse Aichinger, Wibke Bruhns and others. Hörverlag, 2016.
ISBN: 9783844524338
http://www.onleihe.de/goethe-institut/frontend/mediaInfo,51-0-483532267-100-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.htmlText

Ilse Aichinger

1. November 1921, in Wien – 11. November 2016, in Wien
 
“Mag es immerhin den Kopf kosten, wenn es nur nicht das Herz kostet” – Ilse Aichinger
 
Die jüdisch-österreichische Schriftstellerin, Lyrikerin und Hörspielautorin Ilse Aichinger wurde 1921 in Wien geboren und verlebt ihre Kindheit in Linz. Ihre Mutter war eine assimilierte Jüdin, ihr Vater Katholik. Die Familie wurde von den Nazis auf Grund ihrer Herkunft verfolgt und die Großmutter starb 1942 in einem Konzentrationslager. Aichingers Mutter, eine Ärztin, wurde zur Arbeit in einer Fabrik gezwungen.

Aichingers Ausbildung wurde durch den 2. Weltkrieg unterbrochen, als ihr als so genannter Halbjüdin das Medizinstudium verweigert wurde. Obschon sie dann 1947 ihr Medizinstudium aufnahm, war sie so zunächst gezwungen, sich auf das Schreiben zu konzentrieren. Ihr einziger Roman, Die größere Hoffnung, erschien 1948. In dem Roman geht es um die Angst und das Leiden sowohl der Juden wie ihrer Verfolger während des so genannten Dritten Reiches. Im Text spiegelt sich Aichingers Engagement für die Schwachen wie auch ihre Skepsis gegenüber der deutschen Sprache.

Neben dem Roman verfasste Aichinger Werke wie Rede unter dem Galgen, Knöpf, ein Hörspiel, in dem die Arbeiter sich nach und nach in ihre Produkte verwandeln, Plätze und Straßen, eine Reihe von Überlegungen zu Orten in Wien, Zu keiner Stunde, eine Sammlung surrealer Dialoge, sowie die Kurzgeschichtensammlung Schlechte Wörter, in denen die Sprache manchmal wie eine Barriere für die Verständigung erscheint.

1953 heiratete sie den deutschen Dichter Günther Eich, den sie durch ihre Mitgliedschaft in der Gruppe 47 kennengelernt hatte, einem losen Verbund von Schriftstellern in der Nachkriegszeit. Sie hatten eine Tochter, Mirjam, und einen Sohn, Clemens. Aichinger führte ihr Schreiben fort und erhielt wichtige Auszeichnungen wie den Österreichischen Staatspreis (1952), den Literaturpreis der Stadt Bremen (1955), den Bayrischen Literaturpreis (1961) und den Nelly-Sachs-Preis (1971).

Während dieser Jahre lebte sie mit ihrer Familie in der Nähe von Salzburg – bis zu Günther Eichs Tod 1972. Danach zog sie in ein abgeschiedenes Dorf an der bayrisch-österreichischen Grenze, um sich dann nach dem Tod ihres Sohnes 1988 ganz aus der Öffentlichkeit zurückzuziehen. 

Ihre Erzählungen werden mit denen Franz Kafkas verglichen, denn sie erscheinen traumhaft, halluzinatorisch und unterschwellig allegorisch. Wie Kafka entwirft Aichinger eine fiktive Welt, die so real wie visionär zugleich ist. Diese zeigt auch deutliche Züge eines christlichen Mystizismus. Ihre Hörspiele illustrieren existentielle Grenzerfahrungen zwischen Anpassung und Widerstand.

In den Erzählungen untersucht sie eine Vielfalt menschlicher Gefühle, darunter Angst, Entfremdung, Paradoxien und Uneindeutigkeiten. Ihre Poetik geht davon aus, dass zu viel Licht, zu viel blindmachende Klarheit nicht der Wirklichkeit entsprechen. Der Schatten, die Nuancen, das Reich des Dazwischen hingegen ermöglichen den Zugang zum Wirklichen. Ihre Freude am Experimentellen und der von ihr unternommene Versuch, ihre Texte bewusst offen für unterschiedliche Deutungen zu halten, stellen eine faszinierende Herausforderung für die Leser und Leserinnen dar. 

 

In unserer Bibliothek finden sich die folgenden Bücher von Ilse Aichinger:

Aichinger, Ilse: The greater hope / Translator: Geoff Wilkes. Königshausen & Neumann, 2016. 252 Seiten.
ISBN: 9783826059216 ; 3826059212
      
Aichinger, Ilse: Selected poetry & prose. Logbridge-Rhodes, 1983. 141 S.
ISBN: 0937406244
 

In unser eLibrary finden sich die folgenden eBooks und Audiobooks von Ilse Aichinger:

Schmid-Bortenschlager, Sigrid: Österreichische Schriftstellerinnen 1800-2000: Eine Literaturgeschichte. Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft, 2009.
ISBN: 9783534704538
http://www.onleihe.de/goethe-institut/frontend/mediaInfo,0-0-355008806-100-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.html
 
"Wir waren voller Hoffnung": Zeitzeuginnen des 20. Jahrhunderts im Gespräch (Audiobook) / Editor: Lerke von Saalfeld. Speaker: Ilse Aichinger, Wibke Bruhns and others. Hörverlag, 2016.
ISBN: 9783844524338
http://www.onleihe.de/goethe-institut/frontend/mediaInfo,51-0-483532267-100-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.html