Recycling Slippers WITH A CONSCIENCE

A pair of recycling footwear
A pair of recycling footwear | © Rhea Almeida

A daily sight in several parts of rural India is that of young, excited children running to and fro their government-run local schools. But often missing—any form of footwear protecting their feet. “It would hurt a lot when I walked,” says 9 year old Natisha, a student from rural Maharashtra. “Thorns would poke the soles of my feet.” Natisha is one of several young students across Indian villages and semi-urban areas that suffer from this resource gap. Correction: was one.

Today, Natisha runs across her school with no fear of pain or injury, her feet firmly protected by a pair of brightly coloured, recycled slippers. And that's true for over 50,000 children across rural area, as a result of an innovative start-up run by two young entrepreneurs: Shriyans Bhandari and Ramesh Dhami.

Founders of Greensole Founders of Greensole | © Rhea Almeida

SOLEFUL BEGINNINGS

“We’re athletes, my co-founder and I,” 23 year old Shriyans tells me, “We realized that each year, we’d end up throwing out three to four pairs of expensive running shoes due to wear and tear.” As he explained further, these shoes, once discarded, would end up in the mammoth mounds of garbage that form India’s burgeoning landfills. And it’s a bigger problem than most people realize.

Every year, more than 350 million shoes are discarded across the globe. A majority of these last-season-fashion pieces have midsoles made of Ethylene Vinyl Acetate, which stay in landfills without decomposing for up to 1,000 years. That means, a pair of old sneakers that you toss could out-live you by 10 centuries, not to mention the process of manufacturing one pair of running shoes is the equivalent of leaving a 100 watt bulb burning for a week. the sheer scale of that problem struck Shriyans and Ramesh hard. Putting their minds together, a possible solution took shape; all they needed was a shoe box and a busy jogging track in the city of Mumbai.

SHOE-BOX TO START-UP

The young, creative twosome placed a shoe collection box at a large jogging track at Mumbai's Mahalaxmi Racecourse and asked people to toss in their old, withering running shoes. Soon enough, joggers began discarding their old footwear, and the entrepreneurs had start-up material.

“Shoes become unfit for running so people through them out, but in most cases, the soles are still in good condition," Shriyans says. Figuring out how to use those soles was the next task. "I was 19 when we first started with it, we had no background in footwear or manufacturing or any such industry. So, we went to experts who were making footwear and got a few prototypes made."

Greensole storage unit Greensole storage unit | © Rhea Almeida Through their network in Maharashtra's capital city, they got in touch with their manufacturing partner Ram Fashion Exports--a company with a factory unit in Navi Mumbai. All the collections from the drop box were moved to the unit, where they were washed, taken apart, and refurbished. The soles, once cut to size, formed the base of these slippers, while the uppers were used for straps. Pretty soon, the pair had drop boxes across public parks, schools, and even corporate offices, thereby reducing the pile up in Mumbai's landfills. And thus the shoemakers and the entrepreneurial elves put their start-up idea in motion.

SUSTAINABILITY & SCALE

As per a recent report by WHO, 1.5 billion people across the world are infected by diseases that could be prevented by wearing proper footwear. Tackling this need gap was the next step.

Once the mechanism of collection and refurbishing was in place, it was time to distribute the products. The pair then identified villages across Maharashtra and Gujarat, and partnered with NGOs in these areas. Through need surveys and research within communities, they counted how many children needed footwear in each area, and then arranged distribution drives accordingly.

Picture this: hundreds of school children lined up in height order, each of them probably wondering which school activity they were being taken to next. Their wait is soon charged with curiosity and confusion, as they are told that the exercise was to measure their feet. As their heels and toes were drawn on pieces of paper and recorded, a list was made. And every child was then provided with a size-specific, colourful pair of recycled GreenSole slippers.

In order to cater to as many students as possible, the duo approached corporate partners such as Axis Bank, MakeMyTrip, Rolls-Royce, L&T, Justdial and so on for shoe donations and support under CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility) programmes. While the slippers are provided free of cost to children from marginalised communities, they are also sold online in order to make the model self-sustainable. The funds collected from sales are then ploughed back into the manufacturing and distribution processes, and used to expand operations.

START-UPS GOING GREEN

Recycling has always been a motto we print on t-shirts, or a slogan we teach children in schools, however new-age start-ups across India have turned that Ecology lesson into an Economics one. Apart from aiding the anti climate change green movements that the world needs, these green start-ups are also lucrative with sound business plans. For instance, Karma Recycling, a 4-year-old start-up is attempting to refurbish old technological devices to lower the e-waste burden on our landfills.  Protoprint, a pune-based young company has tied up with the city's wastepicker network to gather plastic waste, and then converts this waste into filaments for 3D printing.

These innovative solutions can not only serve the enivornment, but can also redirect venture capital and investments into greener causes backed by viable business models. Not to mention, if done with a conscience, those recycled goods can be put towards bridging the large, gaping resource gap that exists in unequal societies. 

Happy children provided with free Greensole footwear Happy children provided with free Greensole footwear | © Rhea Almeida

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Recycling
Schlappen mit BEWUSSTSEIN

Ein Paar recycelter Schuhe
Ein Paar recycelter Schuhe | © Rhea Almeida

Es ist ein tägliches Bild in vielen ländlichen Gegenden Indiens: junge vergnügte Schüler und Schülerinnen auf dem Weg zur Schule. Etwas aber fehlt: das Schuhwerk, um ihre Füße zu schützen. “Es tut richtig weh, wenn ich laufe,” sagt die neunjährige Natisha, Schülerin im ländlichen Maharashtra. “Dornen stechen in meine Fußsohlen.“ Natisha ist eine von vielen jungen Schülern und Schülerinnen, die unter dem Mangel in den dörflichen und halb-städtischen Regionen Indiens leiden. Das heißt: Sie war eine von ihnen.

Heute nämlich läuft Natisha ganz ohne Angst vor Schmerzen oder Verletzungen in ihrer Schule herum, sicher geschützt mit einem Paar knallbunter, recycleter Schlappen. Und das gilt genauso für über 50.000 Kinder in den ländlichen Gegenden des Landes – Dank eines innovativen Start-Ups von zwei jungen Unternehmern: Shriyans Bhandari und Ramesh Dhami.

Die Gründer von GreenSole Die Gründer von GreenSole | © Rhea Almeida

SCHRITTWEISE ANFÄNGE

“Wir sind aktive Sportler, mein Mitstreiter und ich,” erzählt der 23-jährige Shriyans. “Uns wurde bewusst, dass wir jeder pro Jahr drei bis vier Paar teure Laufschuhe wegschmeißen, wenn sie durchgelaufen und verschlissen sind.” Diese Schuhe, einmal entsorgt, würden in den unermesslichen und immer weiter ansteigenden Müllbergen Indiens landen. Und das sei ein ernsteres Problem als viele meinen.

Jährlich landen mehr als 350 Millionen Schuhe weltweit auf dem Müll. Die Mehrheit dieser modischen Artikel aus der letzten Saison hat Mittelsohlen aus Ethylenvinylacetat, das sich in den Deponien erst nach etwas 1000 Jahren endgültig zersetzt. Das heißt, ein Paar alter Sportschuhe überlebt seinen Besitzer um zehn Jahrhunderte – und gar nicht davon zu sprechen, dass der Energieaufwand bei der Produktion jedes einzelnen Schuhs so hoch ist, als ließe man eine 100 Watt-Birne eine Woche lang leuchten. Das Ausmaß des Problems traf Shriyans und Ramesh wie ein Schock. Gemeinsames Nachdenken ließ sie zu einer  Lösung kommen. Alles, was es dazu brauchte, war ein Schuhkarton und eine belebte Laufbahn in Mumbai.

VOM SCHUHKARTON ZUM START-UP

Das junge, kreative Duo stellte an einer großen Laufbahn an Mumbai's Mahalaxmi Racecourse einen Sammelbehälter auf und forderte die Läufer auf, ihre alten, langsam durchgelatschten Schuhe zu spenden. Bald schon sammelten sich die ersten Schuhe bereitwilliger Jogger und die beiden hatten das erste Material für ihr Start-Up zusammen.

“Die Schuhe sind zum Laufen nicht mehr zu gebrauchen, aber meist ist die Sohle noch völlig in Ordnung,” erklärt Shriyans. Die nächste Aufgabe bestand darin, herausfinden, was man mit den Sohlen anstellen kann. "Ich war 19, als wir mit dem Projekt begannen, und beide wussten wir nichts über Schuhherstellung oder den entsprechenden Industriezweig. Also wandten wir uns an Fachleute, die sich mit der Schuhherstellung auskennen, und ließen uns ein paar Prototypen anfertigen."

GreenSole Lagerhalle GreenSole Lagerhalle | © Rhea Almeida Durch ihr Netzwerk in der Hauptstadt von Maharashtra stießen sie auf ihren heutigen Produktionspartner Ram Fashion Exports – eine Firma mit einer Fabrikanlage in Navi Mumbai. Alle gespendeten Schuhe aus dem Sammelbehälter gehen dorthin, werden gesäubert, gewaschen, auseinandergenommen und wiederverwendet. Die Sohlen werden entsprechend zugeschnitten zur Grundlage der Schlappen, das Obermaterial wird zu Riemen umgearbeitet. Bald schon hatte das Duo Sammelbehälter in öffentlichen Parks, Schulen und sogar in Büros und Unternehmen aufgestellt, verringerte damit auch den Müll, der sich auf den Müllbergen in Mumbai wiederfindet. Und so setzten die Schumacher und ihre unternehmerischen Elfen die Start-Up-Idee in Bewegung.

NACHHALTIGKEIT & MASSSTAB

Aus einem aktuellen Bericht der WHO geht hervor, dass anderthalb Milliarden Menschen auf der Welt an Krankheiten leiden, die sich durch das Tragen von geeignetem Schuhwerk vermeiden ließen. Diesen Missstand anzugehen, war die nächste große Aufgabe.

Als das Sammeln und die Umarbeitung des Schuhwerks organisiert war, ging es darum, den Vertrieb zu organisieren. Die beiden wählten dazu Dörfer in ganz Maharashtra und Gujarat, und suchten sich NGOs in diesen Gegenden. Durch eigene Erhebungen und Nachforschungen in den Gemeinden fanden sie heraus, wie viele Kinder in welcher Gegend Schuhe brauchten, um so die Hilfslieferungen entsprechend zu organisieren.
  • Fußvermessung in der Schule © Rhea Almeida
    Fußvermessung in der Schule
  • Es wird ganz genau gemessen © Rhea Almeida
    Es wird ganz genau gemessen
Man muss es sich vorstellen: Hunderte von Schulkinder, der Größe nach geordnet, die warten. Die sich fragen, zu welcher Schulaufgabe sie gerade abgeordnet werden. Die dann etwas irritiert und aufgeregt sind, wenn sie hören, dass ihre Füße ausgemessen werden sollen. Während die Umrisse ihrer Füße auf Papier gebracht werden, wird eine Liste erstellt. Und dann erhält jedes Kind ein eigenes passendes Paar farbenfroher recycelter GreenSole-Schlappen.

Um so viele Kinder wie möglich zu erreichen, nahm das Duo Kontakt zu Firmen wie Axis Bank, MakeMyTrip, Rolls-Royce, L&T, Justdial und weiteren auf, um sie als Sponsoren zu gewinnen und Unterstützung durch deren CSR-Programme (Corporate Social Responsibility) zu bekommen. Hilfsbedürftige Kinder in den Gemeinden bekommen die Schlappen geschenkt, online kann man sie käuflich erwerben, um so zu helfen, die Kosten zu decken. Die Einnahmen durch Verkäufe werden in Herstellung und Vertrieb reinvestiert, um die Unternehmung auszuweiten.

START-UPS WERDEN GRÜN

Recycling ist seit langem ein Motto, das wir auf unsere T-Shirts drucken lassen, ein Slogan, den wir unseren Kindern in der Schule weitergeben, die Start-Ups mit neuem Geist in ganz Indien machen aus dem ökologischen auch ein ökonomisches Programm. Anders als die gegen den Klimawandel gerichteten Initiativen, die so dringend gebraucht werden, haben dieses grünen Start-Ups auch solide Businesspläne. Eine Firma wie Karma Recycling beispielsweise: ein vier Jahre altes Start-Up, das alte Elektronikgeräte wiederverwendbar macht, um so den Elektroschrott auf den Deponien zu verringern. Protoprint hat sich mit der Vereinigung der Müllsammler in Pune zusammengetan, um Plastikmüll zu sammeln und in Material für 3D-Drucker zu verwandeln.

Solche innovativen Lösungen helfen nicht nur der Umwelt, sie können auch dafür sorgen, dass das Finanzkapital in grüne Bereiche investiert wird und in entsprechende Geschäftsmodelle fließt. Und nicht zuletzt können die so entstehenden Produkte, so sie denn bewusst hergestellt werden, den herrschenden Mangel an Ressourcen in einer Gesellschaft der Ungleichheit etwas beheben helfen.

Glückliche Kinder: mit GreenSole-Schlappen an den Füßen Glückliche Kinder: mit GreenSole-Schlappen an den Füßen | © Rhea Almeida

Top