Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Games and Politics© lalesh aldarwish

Global Gaming

Games are part of life. People play in order to understand themselves and their environment. Since then, there is computer, it is of course used to play. It gives a new aesthetics and new forms of the game that have evolved. Video games have become an asset that enables a global networked industry gains billions in profit. But video games have long since established themselves as their own art form too. Artists use the medium to release the latter’s functionality for observation and explore the limits of the game. Game designers turn to new topics and audiences. And the major museums are discovering the computer game as a cultural asset to be collected and preserved.


EVENTS

Global Games: Games and Politics Iranian Parliament nationalizes Oil Industry © Peter Brinson and Kurosh ValaNejad, 2011

Games and Politics

The interactive exhibition Games & Politics, on display at the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata February 5th – 28th, 2019, encourages the visitor to try out sixteen significant politically-ambitious video games and examine how they each unfold their unique political potential. Video games can be seen as pure entertainment, as political statements, or even as art.

Writing for Videogames © Goethe-Institut

Writing for Videogames

Videogames have far outpaced other entertainment media worldwide in terms of their extremely rapid growth-rate. For a time considered ‘recession-proof’, the game industry is doing well and the effect is evident in new geographies for gaming culture such as India. It is necessary to open up the conversation on videogames as a storytelling medium and on how they have a serious impact on culture and society.

Games and Politics: Teaching history and politics via videogames Sunset © Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn (Tale of Tales), 2015

Teaching history and politics via videogames

Videogames are without any doubt very popular across generations and social strata. As games scholars James Gee and Mary Flanagan argue, videogames are not merely tools that can be used for teaching but that they intrinsically teach us to think critically about our society, politics and history. The choices that are made in many of these games prompt us to engage in ‘critical play’, as Flanagan terms it.


More related articles

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Games and Politics© lalesh aldarwish

Dossier
Global Gaming

Spiele sind Teil des Lebens. Menschen spielen, um sich selbst und ihre Umwelt zu begreifen. Seitdem es Computer gibt, werden sie selbstverständlich auch zum Spielen genutzt. Daraus haben sich eine neue Ästhetik und neue Formen des Spiels entwickelt. Video-Spiele sind zu einem Wirtschaftsgut geworden, die einer weltweit vernetzten Industrie Milliarden-Gewinne ermöglicht. Video-Spiele haben sich aber längst auch als eigene Kunstform etabliert. Künstler*innen nutzen das Medium, um seine Funktionsweise zur Beobachtung freizugeben und die Grenzen des Spiels auszuloten. Game-designer*innen wenden sich neuen Themen und Zielgruppen zu. Und die großen Museen entdecken das Computerspiel als Kulturgut, das es zu sammeln und zu bewahren gilt.


Veranstaltungen

Global Games: Games and Politics Iranian Parliament nationalizes Oil Industry © Peter Brinson and Kurosh ValaNejad, 2011

Games and Politics

Die interaktive Ausstellung Games & Politics, die im Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata vom 5. bis 28. Februar 2019 zu sehen ist, fordert den Besucher auf, 16 bedeutende, politisch ambitionierte Videospiele auszuprobieren und zu untersuchen, wie sie jeweils ihr einzigartiges politisches Potenzial entfalten. Videospiele können als reine Unterhaltung, als politische Äußerung oder sogar als Kunst verstanden werden.

Writing for Videogames © Goethe-Institut

Writing for Videogames

Hinsichtlich ihrer extrem schnellen Wachstumsrate haben Videospiele andere Unterhaltungsmedien auf der ganzen Welt weit hinter sich gelassen. Die Spieleindustrie – eine Zeitlang als ,konjunktursicher' angesehen – schlägt sich gut. Die Auswirkung davon zeigt sich in den neuen Geografien für diese Spielekultur, z.B. in Indien. Es ist notwendig, Gespräche über Videospiele als Medium zum Geschichtenerzählen und über die ernsthaften Auswirkungen von Videospielen auf Kultur und Gesellschaft zu eröffnen. 

Games and Politics: Teaching history and politics via videogames Sunset © Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn (Tale of Tales), 2015

Teaching history and politics via videogames

Videospiele sind zweifellos über Generationen und verschiedene Gesellschaftsschichten hinweg sehr beliebt. Wie James Gee und Mary Flanagan behaupten, stellen Videospiele nicht nur Mittel zum Unterrichten dar, sondern lehren uns im Wesentlichen das kritische Denken über unsere Gesellschaft, Politik und Geschichte. Die in diesen Spielen getroffenen Entscheidungen können dazu führen, dass wir uns mit, wie Flanagan es  nennt, ,,kritischem Spiel'' befassen.


Mehr zum Thema

Top