Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Graphic TraveloguesGraphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Graphic Travelogues

"Travel - it leaves you speechless, then it turns you into a storyteller." (Ibn Battuta).

In other words, whoever travels can tell something. Spoken, photographed or drawn. Graphic Travelogues are dedicated to this form. Various travel comics already exist, often initiated by the Goethe-Institut - but scattered, sometimes difficult to find. Graphic Travelogues collects old treasures, creates new ones and presents them in a new setting. Join us on this special journey, experience and immerse yourself in new worlds.
 


Current Comics

Sascha Hommer: In China | Language © Sascha Hommer (Ausschnitt)

For Everyday Heroes
"In China"

It takes the graphic artist, Sascha Hommer, to China. In 2011, he spends four months in Chengdu, the capital of Sichuan Province, where he helps his friend Karl and Karl’s wife Linda in bringing out Citylife, the only English-language magazine about Chengdu.

Minsk © Reinhard Kleist

For city explorers
"Travel Sketches from Minsk"

Reinhard Kleist travels to workshops around the world for the Goethe-Institut. This led to numerous travel sketches in which he processes his own impressions and experiences. In 2015, among other destinations, Belarus was on his program.

Dingos_2 © Jan Bauer

For Adventurers
"The Salty River"

On the very first pages, Jan Bauer makes it clear that his focus in “The Salty River" is solitude, peace and quiet, the inner self. This is a self-discovery trip to help him cope with the loss of his mother and the end of a 16-year relationship. The salty river is a dry riverbed which Jan Bauer, starting in Alice Springs, follows for 25 days and nights – 450 km. Of which 233 along the Larapinta Trail.

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Artists from all over the world

Learn more about our well-known artists, including Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist and Sarnath Banerjee. All with proven comic expertise and sometimes with more, sometimes with less travel experience in the respective country.

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues presents travel experiences by comic artists from different countries, illuminates and identifies recurring topics. From sketches to graphic novels, graphic diaries and travel drawings, we collect treasures here and question concepts and motivations, techniques and experiences.


More articles from the comic scene

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Graphic TraveloguesGrafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Graphic Travelogues

“Reisen – es lässt dich sprachlos, dann verwandelt es dich in einen Geschichtenerzähler.“ (Ibn Battuta).

Oder anders gesagt, wer reist, kann was erzählen. Gesprochen, fotografiert oder aber gezeichnet. Genau dieser Form widmen sich Graphic Travelogues. Schon jetzt existieren diverse Reise-Comics, oft vom Goethe-Institut initiiert – jedoch verstreut, zum Teil schwer auffindbar. Graphic Travelogues sammelt alte Schätze, schafft neue und präsentiert sie in neuem Rahmen. Begleiten Sie uns auf dieser besonderen Reise, erleben und tauchen Sie ein in neue Welten.
 


Aktuelle Comics

Sascha Hommer: In China | Sprache © Sascha Hommer (Ausschnitt)

Für Alltagshelden
"In China"

Den Hamburger Comiczeichner Sascha Hommer hat es nach China verschlagen. 2011 verbringt er vier Monate in Chengdu, der Hauptstadt der Provinz Sichuan, wo er seinem Freund Karl und dessen Frau Linda bei der Produktion des einzigen englischsprachigen Stadtmagazins »Citylife« aushilft.

Minsk © Reinhard Kleist

Für Stadtentdecker
"Reiseskizzen aus Minsk"

Für das Goethe-Institut reist Reinhard Kleist zu Workshops um die ganze Welt. Dabei entstanden zahlreiche Reiseskizzen, in denen er eigene Eindrücke und Erlebnisse verarbeitet. Im Jahr 2015 stand unter anderem Weißrussland auf seinem Programm.

 

Dingos_2 © Jan Bauer

Für Abenteurer
"Der salzige Fluss"

Schon auf den ersten Seiten stellt Jan Bauer klar: Es geht in "Der salzige Fluss" ums Alleinsein, um Ruhe und Innerlichkeit. Die Reise ist ein Selbstfindungs-Trip, um den Verlust der Mutter und das Ende einer 16 Jahre langen Beziehung zu verarbeiten. Der salzige Fluss ist ein trockenes Flussbett, dem Bauer von Alice Springs aus 25 Tage und Nächte folgt - 450 Kilometer lang. Davon 233 auf dem Larapinta-Trail.

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über die Künstler*innen

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere namhaften Künstlern*innen, darunter Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist und Sarnath Banerjee. Alle mit ausgewiesener Comic-Expertise und mal mit mehr, mal mit weniger Reiseerfahrung im entsprechenden Land.

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über das Projekt

Graphic Travelogues präsentiert Reiseerfahrungen von Comic-Künstler*innen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern, beleuchtet und identifiziert wiederkehrende Themen. Von Skizzen über Graphic Novels, grafischen Tagebüchern über Reisezeichnungen sammeln wir an dieser Stelle Schätze und hinterfragen Konzepte und Motivationen, Techniken und Erfahrungen.
 

Top