Anchalee Topeongpong
Thailand

Anchalee Topeongpong Photo: Anchalee Topeongpong

Anchalee Topeongpong initially earned her Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in German from Chulalongkorn University in Bangkok. She later continued her studies of language and literature at the University of Bamberg (Otto Friedrich University), earning her doctorate in 2005. During her time in Germany, she taught Thai language and culture as an honorary instructor at the adult education center.

Since returning to Bangkok in 2005, she has worked as a lecturer of German as a Foreign Language at Ramkhamhaeng University. She has overseen and taught in the Master’s program for German-Thai Translation since 2014. She is also interested in the topics of e-learning and blended learning. In this context, the “E-Book for the Reading Course: Life in Germany Today” was published for the university’s E-Learning Center.

Anchalee Topeongpong has received numerous scholarships, including one to attend “Kein Kinderspiel! Werkstatt für Übersetzer deutschsprachiger Literatur für junge Leser” (“Not child’s play! Workshop for translators of German-language literature for young readers”) in Hamburg in 2015. She received the Phraya Anuman Rajchadhon Medal in 2015 for her most recent literary translation of Atemschaukel (The Hunger Angel). Each year this award recognizes outstanding achievements in literary translation.   
 

Anchalee Topeongpong about Social Translating

The project offers many different possibilities using the Lectory platform as a new digital tool. It gives me background information and thus takes a load off my shoulders so that I can focus entirely on translating.
 


Selected translations

Herta Müller: Atemschaukel. Nanmee Books, 2015

Arno Geiger: Abschied von Berlin. In: Deutschsprachige Kurzgeschichten: Eine Anthologie. Circle Publishing, 2008

Ralf Isau: Jonathan Jabbok III. Praew, 2008

Ralf Isau: Jonathan Jabbok II. Praew, 2007

Ralf Isau: Jonathan Jabbok I. Praew, 2003

  Seitentrenner 1

Anchalee Topeongpong
Thailand

Anchalee Topeongpong Foto: privat

Anchalee Topeongpong absolvierte zunächst einen Bachelor- und Masterstudium in Deutsch an der Philologischen Fakultät der Chulalongkorn-Universität in Bangkok. Später setzte sie ihr Studium an der sprach- und literaturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg fort; 2005 promovierte sie. Während ihrer Zeit in Deutschland unterrichtete sie als Honorarlehrkraft für thailändische Sprache und Kultur an der Volkshochschule.
 
Seit ihrer Rückkehr nach Bangkok im Jahr 2005 ist sie Dozentin für Deutsch als Fremdsprache an der Ramkhamhaeng-Universität. Seit 2014 betreut und unterrichtet sie das Master-Programm Deutsch-Thai-Übersetzung. Außerdem beschäftigt sie sich mit dem Thema E-Learning und Blended Learning. 2015 wurde in diesem Kontext das „E-Book zum Lektürekurs: Leben in Deutschland heute“ für das E-Learning-Zentrum der Universität publiziert.

Anchalee Topeongpong erhielt zahlreiche Stipendien wie „Kein Kinderspiel - Werkstatt für Übersetzer deutschsprachiger Literatur für junge Leser” 2015 in Hamburg. Für ihre jüngste literarische Übersetzung „Atemschaukel“ wurde sie 2015 mit der Phraya-Anuman-Rajchadhon-Medaille ausgezeichnet. Diese würdigt jährlich herausragende Leistungen von Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzern auf dem literarischen Gebiet.
 

Anchalee Topeongpong über Social Translating

Das Projekt bietet vielerlei Möglichkeiten mit der Lectory-Plattform als ein neues digitales Tool. Es versorgt mich mit Hintergrundinformationen und hält mir so den Rücken frei, damit ich mich voll und ganz auf das Übersetzen konzentrieren kann.
 
 

Auswahl an übersetzten Titeln

Herta Müller: Atemschaukel. Nanmee Books, 2015

Arno Geiger: Abschied von Berlin. In: Deutschsprachige Kurzgeschichten: Eine Anthologie. Circle Publishing, 2008

Ralf Isau: Jonathan Jabbok III. Praew, 2008

Ralf Isau: Jonathan Jabbok II. Praew, 2007

Ralf Isau: Jonathan Jabbok I. Praew, 2003  

  Seitentrenner 1