On Tour with... ... Christopher Kloeble through Berlin

Christopher Kloebles at Potsdamer Platz
Christopher Kloebles at Potsdamer Platz | Photo: © Valerie Schmidt

With the writer Christopher Kloeble you are never only at one place at the same time. Nevertheless, we try to be today. The author of several novels, plays and film scripts shows us one of the cities that is part of his multi-layered biography: Berlin. 

It may go against the laws of physics but not against the imaginative power of Christopher Kloeble.  An encounter with this writer at any one place makes you feel that you are also at some other place at the same time or even at several places. For example? Hotel Begaswinkel. It is located in a largely overlooked and yet not uninteresting part of the Tiergarten area in Berlin. The New National Gallery, the Public Library, the Philharmonica (more about that later) or even the notorious kerb crawling area in Kurfürstenstrasse are only a short walk away. Yet only a blind person could describe this area as beautiful. Just one look at the street that seems to have been so carefully destroyed during the war tells you that it is an advantage for the Hotel Begaswinkel to be situated in a lane that is set back, in a dead corner. And standing there you wonder whether this picturesque, run-down Wilhelminian-style villa should not be the location for the next Wes Anderson or for a remake of Hitchcock’s Psycho. But this doesn’t have to be decided here and now.

The "Fürstenhof"

The elegantly curved staircase, the little breakfast room on the top floor – and there the writer Christopher Kloeble who welcomes you for a coffee. Why? Because his ­– that is Kloeble’s mother – works here and has just laid out the buffet? Because the father, a one-time actor, will also drop in later to say a passing ‘hello’?
 
  • In front of hotel Begaswinkel Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    In front of hotel Begaswinkel
  • Hotel Begaswinkel Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Hotel Begaswinkel
  • Notes Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Notes
  • Christopher in the café Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Christopher in the café
  • Talking Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Talking
  • Stairs Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Stairs
  • Stairs Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Stairs
  • Good bye Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Good bye
As already mentioned, with this author one is never just in one place at the same time and also never completely at home in the present – family stories, the kind that he narrates in his novel Almost Everything Very Fast invariably haunt his wordy stories that stand out, above all, because of his very eloquent answers to questions that nobody has asked. Hotels like the one here engage Kloeble for autobiographical and literary reasons. Berlin, Leipzig, Bavaria, India? But let’s start at the beginning: a setting in Kloeble’s next novel will be the Fürstenhof, a hotel in Leipzig, a traditional lodging house which, long before the Berlin wall was built, was managed by the 32-year-old author’s great grandfather, who came from Germany’s Rhineland area; this great grandfather had previously been a tenant at the Löwenbräukeller in Munich where he was once in prison, apparently for being too stingy with the beer – an episode immortalised in literature by none other than Feuchtwanger, and that too as a prime example of arrogant Bavarian hard-heartedness.

From a provincial town

The story of the Hotel Fürstenhof, which was taken over by East German regime, had its name changed and was handed over to the ministry of tourism (which in turn was under the infamous Ministry of State Security), is what Christopher Kloeble is now researching along with how all this is connected to the history of his own family. However, along Bavaria, Leipzig (and Berlin today), Kloeble can also trace his own biography. He comes from a place close to Bad Tölz, a picturesque provincial Bavarian town in the German mountains, that became world famous because of its boys choir, of which (of course) Kloeble was also a member until his voice broke at the age of 11.

Coming from Bavaria, he was drawn to Leipzig immediately after completing high school. Leipzig was the home of the Institute of German Literature, the very first address in Germany for young, up-and-coming literary writers who want to further their literary skills. Kloeble started early because he knew sooner than many others that he wanted to be a writer. He studied and he wrote. And this led to stories, a novel, screenplays. He is currently working on a television adaptation of his book Almost Everything Very Fast and that is precisely why he happens to be in Germany at the moment. Actually Christopher should have been in India in the winter.
 
  • On the road Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    On the road
  • In front of the Indian Embassy Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    In front of the Indian Embassy
  • Christopher Kloeble at Potsdamer Platz Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Christopher Kloeble at Potsdamer Platz
  • Philharmonie Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Philharmonie
  • In front of the Philharmony Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    In front of the Philharmony
  • Philharmonie_1 Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Philharmonie_1
  • Philharmonie_2 Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Philharmonie_2
  • Philharmonie_3 Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Philharmonie_3

Half the year in India

India? That this is the most recent and perhaps most important part of the author’s life is revealed here in Hotel Begaswinkel as we very gradually peel away the many layers of his still relatively brief biography: namely, four years ago, Christopher Kloeble met his wife, the writer Saskya Jain, daughter of German-Indian parents, who grew up in India, speaks Hindi, German and English with native speaker fluency and writes her literature in English. Kloeble was in India for the first time in 2012; today he spends half the year there and the other half in Berlin, but of course more during the warmer months of the year.

Because he’s a bit homesick and wants to relieve his acute heartache (Kloeble’s wife is currently in India), a short detour to the Indian embassy, perhaps? Fine, but just for a short while. The building is also located in the Tiergarten area, the embassy district in Berlin, and is as big as the Baden Württemberg state house, situated right next to it. But that’s just the way it is with the dimensions of meaning between Germany and India: even from the Indian perspective, Germany seems very far away, and not just further from India than England, the former colonial power, which does not seem so far for historical reasons alone. The whole of Europe, when looked at from this multifaceted and complex country with its many languages and ethnic groups, actually appears to be a relatively uninteresting continent – and, to recognise this, says Kloeble while we are standing in front of this red quarry stone building in a biting winter wind, can also be a very sobering experience.

The best known and most famous orchestra in the world

A couple of hundred meters further: the Berlin Philharmonic. This building, designed by the architect Hans Scharoun, is the home of probably the best known and most famous orchestra in the world. The Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra? ‘As children we didn’t have a clue!’ says the writer with a laugh. ‘As a child, you only want to know when you are getting the next Fanta. Or something to eat.’ That this is where the Berlin Philharmonic plays and that Claudio Abbado is wielding the conductor’s baton does nothing to excite a ten-year-old. It was on this occasion that Christopher Kloeble actually came to Berlin for the first time, as a singer, that was more than 20 years ago, just before his voice broke and he left the Tölz Boys Choir. Kloeble also recalls appearances in Cologne, Munich, Florence or Montreux but no longer remembers the pieces he sang in Berlin. Wagner’s Tannhäuser? The Christmas Oratorio? Doesn’t matter.

A fundamental experience he made at the time is more important. When you have to engage with music as a child, and in a choir as disciplined as this one, in a way you learn about the process of learning itself. You begin to understand that to achieve success, even in art, requires hard work and effort. Do choir boys grow up more quickly? The writer admits that even today he shares a recurring dream with his father, the former actor: ‘After many, many years – as an actor who has long retired or as a former choir boy – you will be pushed once more onto the stage and with the one and only question on your lips: “Which piece? What is being played here in the first place?”’ Apparently it’s not easy to ever forget the drill and the performance situation.

Curries, Chutneys, Thosais and Idlis in Kreuzberg

However, in the Tamil canteen where we go to warm ourselves later, there is no doubt about what is being played. India! There are several Asian restaurants here, in the Kreuzberg area, but none like this: the display of fruit on the street, the cash counter right behind the entrance, this is not a restaurant but rather a small supermarket and yet there are two tables in a corner of the room where one can sit and eat. These are the secret tips offered by someone married to an Indian. There is a reason for the food here, the curries, chutneys, dosas and idlis, being so good: normally, explains Kloeble, the Indian restaurants in Germany are run largely by Bangladeshis  and offer north Indian cuisine adapted to European tastes. According to him, the best food is South Indian. Usually vegetarian, usually spicy but never overly greasy.
 
  • The Cantine Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    The Cantine
  • Indian food in Kreuzberg Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Indian food in Kreuzberg
  • Yummy Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Yummy
  • Samosas Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Samosas
  • Fresh and healthy Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Fresh and healthy
He is amazed by how little many Germans know about India. Once, in all seriousness, his wife was whether she rode to her wedding on an elephant. Or the common cliché of a society with deeply entrenched misogyny. While Kloeble does not dispute the rape cases that have made news in Germany too, he points out that there are many more women in top positions in India than in Germany, for example. You can’t really say that the woman is oppressed per se, he says.

Mountains in the capital

And yet: Aren’t there clichés everywhere about people who come from somewhere else? Again and again Christopher Kloeble returns to his Bavarian origins. Königsdorf, this tiny hamlet close to Bad Tölz, was where even Goethe once alighted while on his way to Italy, but what about the intellectual horizons today? Although the place is only 45 minutes from Munich, Kloeble still knows people of his age who have been to the city perhaps just twice or thrice in their lives. And doesn’t an old encyclopaedia somewhere say that the Bavarians are a devious and dwarf-like mountain people? Dwarf-like and devious obviously do not apply to Christopher Kloeble. But the mountains? Sometimes he does miss them in Berlin. And going for a walk is his consolation. So at the end, the two of us also climb the hill in Kreuzberg which has given this part of the city its name. And how he stands there, right on top, in front of the neo-Gothic national monument for the wars of liberation and how the tarnished inscription, glistening in golden letters behind him, proclaims: Leipzig, 18 October 1813, it becomes absolutely clear: with this writer one is never only at one place at the same time.
 
  • On Kreuzberg Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    On Kreuzberg
  • Still on the hill Kreuzberg Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Still on the hill Kreuzberg
  • View over Kreuzberg Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    View over Kreuzberg
  • Christopher Kloeble Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Christopher Kloeble
  • Infront of the neo-Gothic national monument for the wars of liberation Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Infront of the neo-Gothic national monument for the wars of liberation
  • National monument for the wars of liberation Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    National monument for the wars of liberation
  • Tarnished inscription, glistening in golden letters behind him... Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Tarnished inscription, glistening in golden letters behind him...
  • ... proclaims: Leipzig, 18 October 1813 Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    ... proclaims: Leipzig, 18 October 1813

Unterwegs mit ... ... Christopher Kloeble durch Berlin

Christopher Kloebles am Potsdamer Platz
Christopher Kloebles am Potsdamer Platz | Foto: © Valerie Schmidt

Mit dem Schriftsteller Christopher Kloeble ist man nie an nur einem Ort zu gleich. Heute versuchen wir es dennoch. Der Autor diverser Romane, Theaterstücke und Drehbücher zeigt uns eine der Städte, die Teil seiner vielschichtigen Biographie sind: Berlin. 

Es widerspricht vielleicht den Gesetzen der Physik, nicht aber jenen der Imaginationskraft von Christopher Kloeble, dass man, wenn man diesem Schriftsteller an irgendeinem Ort begegnet, nicht zugleich auch an einem oder auch ganz vielen anderen Orten zugleich ist. Zum Beispiel? Das Hotel Begaswinkel. Es liegt in einem weithin übersehenen und doch nicht allzu uninteressanten Teil des Berliner Stadtteils Tiergarten. Bis zur Neuen Nationalgalerie und Staatsbibliothek, zur Philharmonie (aber dazu später) und auch zum berüchtigten Straßenstrich in der Kurfürstenstraße ist es jeweils nur ein Spaziergang. Nur ein Blinder könnte diese Gegend aber als schön bezeichnen. Ein einziger Blick auf die, im Krieg offenbar sehr sorgfältig zerstörte Straße, offenbart es als Vorteil, dass das Hotel Begaswinkel in einer zurückgesetzten Gasse liegt, in einer toten Ecke, und man weiß, wenn man da steht, auch nicht so recht, ob in dieser pittoresk angegammelten Gründerzeitvilla eher der nächste Wes-Anderson-Film gedreht werden sollte oder ein Remake von Alfred Hitchcocks Film Psycho. Aber das muss hier und heute ja auch niemand entscheiden.

Das Hotel Fürstenhof

Das elegant geschwungene Treppenhaus, das Frühstücksräumchen im obersten Stock – und dort eben der Schriftsteller Christopher Kloeble, der zum Kaffee empfängt. Warum? Weil seine, also die Mutter von Christopher Kloeble, hier arbeitet und gerade das Buffet angerichtet hat? Weil später auch noch der Vater, ein ehemaliger Schauspieler, vorbeischauen wird, um beiläufig hallo zu sagen?
 
  • Vor dem Hotel Begaswinkel Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Vor dem Hotel Begaswinkel
  • Hotel Begaswinkel Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Hotel Begaswinkel
  • Notizen Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Notizen
  • Christopher im Café Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Christopher im Café
  • Im Gespräch Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Im Gespräch
  • Treppen Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Treppen
  • Wendeltreppe Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Wendeltreppe
  • Auf Wiedersehen Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Auf Wiedersehen
Man ist mit diesem Autor, wie gesagt, nie an nur einem Ort zugleich, und auch niemals so ganz in der Gegenwart zu Hause – Familiengeschichten, so wie er sie in seinem Roman „Meistens alles sehr schnell“ erzählt hat, geistern immer durch seine wortreichen Erzählungen, die sich vor allem dadurch auszeichnen, dass er dauernd sehr beredte Antworten auf Fragen gibt, die niemand gestellt hat. Hotels, wie dieses hier, beschäftigen Kloeble aus autobiografischen und literarischen Gründen. Berlin, Leipzig, Bayern, Indien? Aber von vorn: Ein Schauplatz in Kloebles nächstem Roman wird das Leipziger Hotel Fürstenhof sein, eine Traditionsherberge, die – lange vor dem Mauerbau – einmal von dem aus dem Rheinland stammenden Urgroßvater dieses heute 32-jährigen Autors geführt wurde; dieser Urgroßvater, war zuvor Pächter des Löwenbräukellers in München gewesen und hatte dort, wegen angeblich zu knickerigem Bierausschank, auch einmal im Gefängnis gesessen – eine Episode, die von niemand geringerem als Feuchtwanger literarisch verewigt wurde, und zwar als Musterbeispiel bayerisch blasierter Hartherzigkeit.

Aus der Provinz

Die Geschichte des Leipziger Hotels Fürstenhof, das in der DDR enteignet, umbenannt und dem Tourismusministerium zugeschlagen wurde (welches wiederum der berüchtigten Staatsicherheitsbehörde unterstand), – damit also, und wie all dies mit der Geschichte seiner eigenen Familie zusammenhängt, beschäftigte sich Christopher Kloeble nun also aus Recherchegründen. Entlang der Orte Bayern, Leipzig (und heute Berlin) lässt sich aber auch seine eigene Biografie nachzeichnen. Christopher Kloeble kommt aus der Nähe des bayerischen Bad Tölz, das ein malerisch gelegenes Provinznest in den deutschen Bergen ist und weltberühmt geworden durch seinen Knabenchor, dem (natürlich) auch Christopher Kloeble angehörte, bevor er mit elf Jahren in den Stimmbruch kam.

Also aus Bayern stammend, zog es ihn direkt nach dem Abitur nach Leipzig, wo sich das namhafte Deutsche Literaturinstitut befindet, welches die erste Ausbildungsadresse des literarischen Nachwuchses in Deutschland ist. Kloeble war früh dran, weil er früher als viele anderen wusste, dass er Schriftsteller werden wollte. Er lernte, und er schrieb. Und so entstanden Erzählungen, ein Roman, Drehbücher. Gerade arbeitet er an einer Adaption seines Buches „Meistens alles sehr schnell“ fürs Fernsehen, und das ist überhaupt der Grund, warum er sich zu dieser Zeit in Deutschland aufhält. Eigentlich sollte Christopher im Winter in Indien sein.
 
  • Auf der Straße Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Auf der Straße
  • Vor der Indischen Botschaft Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Vor der Indischen Botschaft
  • Christopher Kloeble am Potsdamer Platz Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Christopher Kloeble am Potsdamer Platz
  • Philharmonie Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Philharmonie
  • Vor der Philharmonie Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Vor der Philharmonie
  • Philharmonie_1 Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Philharmonie_1
  • Philharmonie_2 Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Philharmonie_2
  • Philharmonie_3 Photo: © Valerie Schmidt
    Philharmonie_3

Ein halbes Jahr in Indien

Indien? Das schält sich, während wir hier im Hotel Begaswinkel und ganz allmählich die vielen Schichten seiner ja noch gar nicht mal so langen Biografie freilegen, dann als jüngster und vielleicht wichtigster Lebensabschnitt dieses Autors heraus: Vor vier Jahren nämlich hat Christopher Kloeble seine heutige Frau, die Schriftstellerin Saskya Jain, kennengelernt, die als Tochter deutsch-indischer Eltern in New Delhi aufgewachsen ist, Hindi, Deutsch und Englisch wie Muttersprachen spricht und ihre Literatur auf Englisch schreibt. Im Jahr 2012 war Kloeble zum ersten Mal in Indien, heute wohnt er das halbe Jahr dort und die andere Hälfte des Jahres in Berlin, nur eben sonst eher während der wärmeren Monate des Jahres.

Also aus Gründen des halben Heimwehs und Linderung akuten Herzschmerzes (Kloebles Ehefrau ist zurzeit in Indien) vielleicht ein kleiner Abstecher zur indischen Botschaft? Na gut, aber nur kurz. Das Gebäude liegt auch im Tiergarten, der in Berlin überhaupt das Botschaftschaftsviertel ist, und es ist genauso groß wie die gleich daneben platzierte Botschaft des Bundeslandes Baden Württemberg. Aber so ist es eben mit Bedeutungsdimensionen zwischen Deutschland und Indien: Auch aus indischer Perspektive erscheint Deutschland ganz schön weit entfernt, und nicht nur weiter weg, als es die ehemalige Kolonialmacht England alleine aus historischen Gründen ist – eigentlich ist nämlich ganz Europa aus Sicht dieses auf tausenderlei Ebenen komplexen Landes mit seinen vielen Sprachen und Ethnien eben vor allem ein relativ uninteressanter Kontinent – und dies einzusehen, sagt Kloeble, während wir nun im schneidenden Winterwind vor diesem roten Bruchsteinbau stehen, das sei doch manchmal auch eine ganz heilsame Erfahrung.

Das berühmteste Orchester der Welt

Ein paar hundert Meter weiter: die Berliner Philharmonie. Dieser Bau des Architekten Hans Scharoun ist der Heimspielort des womöglich besten und berühmtesten Orchesters der Welt. Die Berliner Philharmoniker? „Als Kinder hatten wir doch keine Ahnung!“, lacht der Schriftsteller. „Als Kind willst Du immer nur wissen, wann es das nächste Mal wieder eine Fanta gibt. Oder etwas zu essen.“ Dass da die Berliner Philharmoniker sitzen, und dass Claudio Abbado den Taktstock schwingt, regt einen Zehnjährigen nicht weiter auf. Bei dieser Gelegenheit ist Christopher Kloeble aber tatsächlich zum ersten Mal nach Berlin gekommen, also als Sänger, das war vor über zwanzig Jahren und kurz, bevor er in den Stimmbruch kam und aus dem Tölzer Knabenchor ausschied. Kloeble erinnert sich auch an Auftritte in Köln, München Florenz oder Montreux, aber nicht mehr daran, bei welchem Stück er damals in Berlin mitgesungen hat. Wagners Tannhäuser? Das Weihnachtsoratorium? Egal.

Wichtiger sei eine grundlegende Erfahrung, die er damals gemacht habe. Wenn man schon als Kind musikalisch arbeiten müsse, und zwar unter so disziplinierten Bedingungen wie in diesem Chor, dann lerne man dabei gewissermaßen das Lernen selbst. Man bekomme ein Begriff davon, dass dem Erfolg, auch dem künstlerischen, Arbeit und Mühe vorausgesetzt seien. Werden Chorknaben schneller erwachsen? Noch heute, gesteht der Schriftsteller, habe er mit seinem Vater, dem ehemaligen Schauspieler, einen immer wiederkehrenden Traum gemeinsam: „Du wirst nach vielen vielen Jahren – also als längst pensionierter Schauspieler oder ehemaliger Chorknabe – noch einmal auf die Bühne geschubst, und das mit der einen und einzigen Frage auf den Lippen: ‚Welches Stück? Was wird hier überhaupt gespielt?’“ Den Drill und die Aufführungssituationen je zu vergessen, ist offenbar nicht leicht.

Curries, Chutneys, Thosais und Idlis in Kreuzberg

In der tamilischen Kantine, in der wir uns danach aufwärmen, ist jedenfalls klar, was gespielt wird. Indien wird gespielt! Es gibt hier, im Stadtteil Kreuzberg, nicht wenige asiatische Lokale, aber keines ist wie dieses: Die Obstauslagen auf der Straße, die Kasse gleich hinter der Eingangstür, dies ist kein Restaurant, sondern eher ein kleiner Supermarkt, und doch stehen in einer Ecke eines Raumes zwei Tische, an denen man sitzen und essen kann. Solche Geheimtipps hat zu bieten, wer mit einer Inderin verheiratet ist. Denn, dass das Essen hier, also die Curries, Chutneys, Thosais und Idlis so ausgezeichnet sind, hat seinen Grund: Normalerweise, erklärt Kloeble, gibt es in Deutschland vor allem von Bangladeschis geführte Lokale mit nordindischer Küche, die zudem noch einmal sehr auf den europäischen Geschmack angepasst sei. Das beste Essen aber gebe es im Süden Indiens. Meistens vegetarisch, meistens scharf, und nie besonders ölig.
 
  • Die Kantine Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Die Kantine
  • Echt indisch in Kreuzberg Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Echt indisch in Kreuzberg
  • Lecker Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Lecker
  • Samosas Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Samosas
  • Frisch und gesund Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Frisch und gesund
Erstaunlich sei es doch, wie wenig die Deutschen über Indien in der Regel wüssten. Ob sie auf dem Elefant zu ihrer Hochzeit geritten sei, habe man seine Frau hier einmal allen Ernstes gefragt. Oder das weit verbreitete Klischee von einer durch und durch frauenfeindlichen Gesellschaft. Kloeble bestreitet zwar nicht die Vergewaltigungsfälle, von denen auch hierzulande in den Nachrichten zu hören war. Andererseits gebe es in Indien viel mehr Frauen in Führungspositionen als zum Beispiel in Deutschland. Dass die Frau per se unterdrückt werde, könne man nicht gerade sagen.

Berge in der Hauptstadt

Andererseits: Gibt es nicht überall Klischees von Leuten, die woanders her stammen? Immer wieder kommt Christopher Kloeble auf seine bayerische Herkunft zurück. In Königsdorf, also jenem Nest in der Nähe von Bad Tölz, da sei, auf seiner Reise nach Italien, zwar auch Goethe einmal abgestiegen, wie aber steht es heute um den Horizont der Einheimischen? Obwohl der Ort nur eine Dreiviertelstunde von München entfernt ist, kennt Kloeble doch immer noch Leute in seinem Alter, die in ihrem ganzen Leben vielleicht nur zwei oder drei Mal in der großen Stadt gewesen sind. Und steht nicht in irgendeinem alten Lexikon, die Bayern seien ein zwergenwüchsiges und hinterhältiges Bergvolk? Zwergenwuchs und Hinterhältigkeit sind – ganz offenbar – keine Eigenschaften, die auf den Schriftsteller Christopher Kloeble zutreffen. Aber die Berge? Die vermisst er in Berlin manchmal dann doch. Und verschafft sich dann als Spaziergänger schwache Abhilfe. So erklimmen zum Abschluss auch wir gemeinsam jenen Kreuzberg, der dem Stadtteil seinen Namen gegeben hat. Und wie er da nun steht, ganz oben und vor dem neugotischen Nationaldenkmal für die Befreiungskriege, und wie dann hinter ihm der in goldenen Lettern angeschlagene Schriftzug „Leipzig, den 18. Oktober 1813“ hervorscheint, da ist es wirklich klar: Man ist mit diesem Schriftsteller nie nur an einem Ort zur selben Zeit.
 
  • Auf dem Kreuzberg Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Auf dem Kreuzberg
  • Noch immer auf dem Kreuzberg Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Noch immer auf dem Kreuzberg
  • Blick über Kreuzberg Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Blick über Kreuzberg
  • Christopher Kloeble Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Christopher Kloeble
  • Vor dem neugotischen Nationaldenkmal für die Befreiungskriege Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Vor dem neugotischen Nationaldenkmal für die Befreiungskriege
  • Das Nationaldenkmal für die Befreiungskriege Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Das Nationaldenkmal für die Befreiungskriege
  • Der in goldenen Lettern angeschlagene Schriftzug... Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    Der in goldenen Lettern angeschlagene Schriftzug...
  • ... „Leipzig, den 18. Oktober 1813“ Foto: © Valerie Schmidt
    ... „Leipzig, den 18. Oktober 1813“