Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Reception of Franz Kafka in India
Indians eagerly embrace the genius of the famous German language writer

Pune-based theatre director Zameer Badrunnisa in The Metamorphosis in original German performed in Pune in July this year
Pune-based theatre director Zameer Badrunnisa in The Metamorphosis in original German performed in Pune in July this year | © Expression Lab, Pune

Translations, adaptations, paintings and even sculptures reveal an increasing influence of Franz Kafka's works on India's artistic and literary landscape.

By Faizal Khan

In July this year, the Western Indian city of Pune's popular Expression Lab, a happy hunting ground for experimental theatre enthusiasts, staged three plays of the same story on the same day. The plays were each called A Report to an Academy, all solo performances of Franz Kafka's short story of the same title written more than a century before. The plays were in three different languages – the original German, English and the local Marathi language.

"There were also three different actors," recalls Soumyabrata Choudhury, who directed and performed the play in English. "The response from the audience to the plays was extraordinary," adds Choudhury, who is Associate Professor at the School of Arts and Aesthetics of Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), New Delhi. Choudhury first performed A Report to an Academy at the India Habitat Centre in New Delhi almost two decades ago. 

Vaibhav Abnave, a filmmaker and independent researcher from Pune who recorded the performances at the Expression Lab, is now completing a movie on the three plays. The film will be titled Three Monkeys and explore the human-animal relationship and how cinema encounters stage. "Kafka dismantles our presumption about what it means to be human, living and progressed," says Abnave about A Report to an Academy, Kafka's story of a man called upon to submit a report concerning his previous life as an ape.

Growing Influence

From theatre to cinema and literature to art, the influence of Kafka's works are increasingly visible across India. There are translations of the author's short stories and novels available in Indian languages like Hindi, Bengali, Tamil, Malayalam and Urdu. Adaptations of Kafka's works like that of A Report to an Academy in Pune occur with growing regularity in Indian theatre. Filmmakers openly talk about Kafka's influence on their productions. Whether it is literary non-fiction or news reports, titles and headlines draw the word, Kafkaesque, to book covers and front pages of newspapers.

"The name Kafka evokes worldwide a variety of interpretations, metaphors and images with something universal in them," says Rosy Singh, Associate Professor at the Centre of German Studies, School of Language, Literature & Culture Studies of JNU, New Delhi. "In India, Kafka is often interpreted with a local colour and adapted for current contexts," adds Prof. Singh, who has done extensive research on reception of Kafka in India.

For more than a decade, adaptations of Kafka's short stories and novels have been a recurring theme in theatre festivals in Indian cities like Delhi, Kolkata, Mumbai and Pune. At the National School of Drama (NSD), Delhi's repertory theatre festival in 2006, one of the highlights was Kafka – Ek Adhyay (Kafka – A Chapter), a play on the Czech writer. Staged several times again in the following years, Kafka - Ek Adhyay, written by NSD graduate Asif Ali Haider is set in a sanatorium where Kafka's fiance Felice Bauer is visiting the writer who is undergoing treatment for tuberculosis.

When a new theatre company opened in New Delhi two years ago, its inaugural play in Hindi was an adaptation of The Trial. Rama Theatre Natya Vidya's Giraftari (which means arrest in Hindi) directed by Rama Pandey used folk traditions of India to look at contemporary Indian society through the struggles of Kafka's character with authority and justice. Prism Theatre, another stage group in New Delhi, too adapted The Trial in Hindi in the same year, replacing Joseph K. with Kumar, a software engineer arrested on his 30th birthday. 

The Trial also received an adaptation in Hindi in 1989 by celebrated Indian playwright Mohan Maharishi as Joseph Ka Mukadma (Joseph's Court Case). Three years ago, the popular Bharat Rang Mahotsav, a national theatre festival organised by NSD in New Delhi, staged Upashya, a play in Marathi language based on Kafka's short story, A Hunger Artist.

Local Reflections

Four years ago, Pune-based theatre director Zameer Badrunnisa brought together Kafka and 15th century Indian poet Kabir Das in a new play, Suno Bhai Kafka (Listen Brother Kafka). "The play was based on the imaginary meeting between Kafka and Kabir," says Badrunnisa, who studied German at the University of Pune. "There were Indian spiritual stories in the play that responded to Kafka's stories," he says, referring to Kabir's poems that questioned religious obscurantism and women's inequality. 
Indian artist Paribartana's mother Bishnupriya Mohanty (left) and aunt Sarojini Mohanty (right) reading from Rupantara, the Oriya translation of The Metamorphosis by famous Indian writer Kamalakanta Mahapatra as part of his artistic project, Five Million Incidents, at the Goethe Institut, New Delhi Indian artist Paribartana's mother Bishnupriya Mohanty (left) and aunt Sarojini Mohanty (right) reading from Rupantara, the Oriya translation of The Metamorphosis by famous Indian writer Kamalakanta Mahapatra as part of his artistic project, Five Million Incidents, at the Goethe Institut, New Delhi | © Paribartana Mohanty In September, Indian artist Paribartana Mohanty joined his mother Bisnupriya Mohanty and aunt Sarojini Mohanty to read from Rupantara, the Oriya translation of The Metamorphosis by famous Indian writer Kamalakanta Mahapatra as part of his artistic project, Five Million Incidents, a new exhibition at the Goethe Institut in New Delhi. "The Metamorphosis is also about family," says Mohanty about reading Kafka's novella in Oriya, his mother tongue. His work, which mainly composed of conversations with his family, explores relationships and nationalism in contemporary society. "How do you understand family as a unit when people are coming together today through different ideologies?" says Mohanty, who tries to understand the answer through the existential dilemma in The Metamorphosis.

Impacting creativity

Translations of Kafka's works in Indian languages also include, Kafka ki Lokpriya Kahaniyan (2016), a collection of stories in Hindi published by Prabhat Prakashan, Durgam, a Malayalam translation of The Castle, an e-book of The Metamorphosis in Tamil, and a 1962 Urdu translation of the novella, titled Kaya Kalp, by Intizar Husain. Another Urdu writer and teacher, the late Naiyer Masud, a former head of Persian department at the Lucknow University in Uttar Pradesh, translated 20 short stories of Kafka in 1978. Mukadmo, a Gujarati translation of The Trial, is available at a cover price of roughly and one-and-a-half euro. 

"There is also a book, Kafka in Ayodhya and Other Stories, by Singapore-based Indian journalist and writer Zafar Anjum, which imagines Kafka going to Ayodhya (where a 16th century mosque was demolished in mob violence in 1992), with a copy of The Metamorphosis in his suitcase," says Rosy Singh, who taught German at the Delhi University for nearly two decades before taking up her current position as Associate Professor at JNU three years ago. 

Mumbai-based independent filmmaker-producer Anurag Kashyap's 2007 film No Smoking has a character named K. "K. is a chain smoker who wants to quit smoking. He visits a rehabilitation centre that resembles Kafka's world. The fusion of real and dreamlike worlds, the topography of the apartment blocks and slums, the labyrinthine situations and the fear of the protagonists are quite Kafkaesque," says Singh, whose doctoral thesis was on the famous Czech writer. "India doesn't have a Kafka, but the country has different ways of understanding and adapting his works," she adds.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Rezeption von Franz Kafka in Indien
Inder begeistern sich für den genialen deutschsprachigen Schriftsteller

Theaterregisseur Zameer Badrunnisa aus Pune in Die Verwandlung, Aufführung im deutschen Original in Pune im Juli diesen Jahres.
Theaterregisseur Zameer Badrunnisa aus Pune in Die Verwandlung, Aufführung im deutschen Original in Pune im Juli diesen Jahres. | © Expression Lab, Pune

Übersetzungen, Adaptionen, Gemälde und sogar Skulpturen sind Beweis für den wachsenden Einfluss Kafkas auf das künstlerische und literarische Schaffen in Indien.

Von Faizal Khan

Im Juli diesen Jahres kamen beim beliebten Expression Lab im westindischen Pune, einem Tummelplatz für alle, die sich für experimentelles Theater interessieren, gleich drei Inszenierungen der gleichen Geschichte auf die Bühne. Die Stücke trugen alle den einen Titel: A Report to an Academy (Bericht für eine Akademie). Es handelte sich um drei Solo-Bühnenadaptionen der gleichnamigen Kurzgeschichte von Franz Kafka, die dieser vor mehr als einem Jahrhundert schrieb. Die Stücke waren in drei verschiedenen Sprachen: einmal im deutschen Original, einmal auf Englisch und einmal in Marathi, der vor Ort gesprochenen Regionalsprache.

"Es waren auch drei verschiedene Schauspieler,” erinnert sich Soumyabrata Choudhury, der das Stück auf Englisch aufführte und dabei Regie führte. "Die Publikumsresonanz war überwältigend,” fügt Choudhury, der als Associate Professor an der School of Arts and Aesthetics of Jawaharlal der Nehru University (JNU) in New Delhi unterrichtet, hinzu. Erstmals aufgetreten war Choudhury mit seinem A Report to an Academy am India Habitat Centre in New Delhi vor beinahe zwei Jahrzehnten. 

Vaibhav Abnave, der als Filmemacher und freier Forscher aus Pune die Aufführungen beim Expression Lab dokumentierte, arbeitet gegenwärtig an der Fertigstellung eines Films über die drei Versionen. Der Film wird den Titel Three Monkeys tragen und von den Beziehungen zwischen Mensch und Tier handeln und dabei die Darstellung der Theaterbühne im Film mit thematisieren. "Kafka hinterfragt unsere Vorstellungen dessen, was es bedeutet, ein Mensch zu sein, zu leben und sich fortzuentwickeln,“ äußert sich Abnave über A Report to an Academy, Kafkas Geschichte eines Mannes, der aufgefordert ist, in einem Bericht über sein vorheriges Leben als Affe Rechenschaft zu geben.

Wachsender Einfluss

Im Theater, im Kino und in der Literatur ist Kafkas wachsender Einfluss auf die Künste in Indien spürbar. Die Kurzgeschichten und Romane des Autors wurden in Hindi, Bengali, Tamil, Malayalam und Urdu übersetzt. Adaptionen von Kafkas Werken wie A Report to an Academy in Pune findet man mit großer Regelmäßigkeit auf den Theaterbühnen des Landes. Filmemacher sprechen ganz offen über den Einfluss, den Kafka auf ihre Arbeiten hat. In Titeln oder Überschriften von nicht-literarischen Texten wie von Zeitschriftenartikeln findet man oft das Wort „kafkaesque“ – ebenso auf Buchumschlägen und den Titelseiten von Zeitungen.

"Der Name Kafka ruft eine ganze Vielzahl verschiedener Interpretationen, Metaphern und Bilder hervor, die etwas Universelles an sich haben," erklärt Rosy Singh, Associate Professor am Centre of German Studies, School of Language, Literature & Culture Studies der JNU in New Delhi. "In Indien verbindet sich der Name Kafka oft mit einer lokalen Lesart und wird in einen jeweils aktuellen Kontext übertragen," fügt Prof. Singh hinzu, der sich lange mit der Rezeption Kafkas in Indien beschäftigt hat.

Seit nunmehr einem Jahrzehnt tauchen Adaptionen von Kafkas Kurzgeschichten in Programm von Theaterfestivals in indischen Städten wie Delhi, Kolkata, Mumbai und Pune auf. An der National School of Drama (NSD), Delhis ältestem Repertoire-Theater-Festival, war im Jahr 2006 das Stück Kafka – Ek Adhyay (Kafka – ein Kapitel), ein Stück über den Schriftsteller aus Prag, eines der Highlights. Das Stück des NSD-Absolventen Asif Ali Haider, welches in den Folgejahren zahlreiche Wiederaufführungen erfuhr, erzählt davon, wie der an Tuberkulose erkrankte Kafka im Sanatorium von seiner Verlobten Felice Bauer besucht wird.

Das Eröffnungsstück einer Theatergruppe in New Delhi vor zwei Jahren war eine Hindi-Adaption von Der Prozeß. Natya Vidyas Stück Giraftari (was sich mit Die Verhaftung übersetzen lässt), das das Rama Theatre unter der Regie von Rama Pandey auf die Bühne brachte, verwendet folkoristische indische Traditionen, um ein Bild des Indiens der Gegenwart zu zeichnen – und nutzte dazu Kafkas Kämpfe mit Autorität und Justiz. Das Prism Theatre, eine weitere Theatergruppe aus New Delhi, adaptierte im gleichen Jahr ebenfalls Der Prozeß auf Hindi, wobei sich die Figur Josef K. durch Kumar ersetzt fand, einen Software-Entwickler, der an seinem 30. Geburtstag verhaftet wird.

Der Prozeß wurde außerdem schon 1989 vom gefeierten indischen Dramatiker Mohan Maharishi auf Hindi adaptiert: als Joseph Ka Mukadma (Josephs Gerichtsverhandlung). Vor drei Jahren brachte das populäre Bharat Rang Mahotsav, ein von NSD in New Delhi organisiertes nationales Theaterfestival, Upashya auf die Bühne, ein Stück auf Marathi, das auf Kafkas Geschichte Der Hungerkünstler beruht.

Lokale Reflexionen

Vor vier Jahren ließ der in Pune lebende Theaterregisseur Zameer Badrunnisa Kafka und den indischen Dichter Kabir Das aus dem 15. Jahrhundert einander in einem Stück begegnen: Suno Bhai Kafka (Höre, Bruder Kafka). "Das Stück beschreibt ein fiktives Treffen von Kafka und Kabir," erläutert Badrunnisa, der an der Universität in Pune Deutsch studierte. "Es gab indische spirituelle Geschichten in dem Stück, die mit Kafkas Geschichten korrespondierten,” erklärt er und meint damit jene Gedichte von Kabir, in denen religiöser Obskurantismus und die Ungleichheit der Frauen angeprangert werden.
Mutter (Bishnupriya Mohanty, links) und Tante (Sarojini Mohanty, rechts) des indischen Künstlers Paribartana lesen aus "Rupantara" des berühmten indischen Schriftstellers Kamalakanta Mahapatra. Es ist die Oriya-Übersetzung von Kafkas "Die Verwandlung" und Teil von Paribartanas Kunstprojekts Five Million Incidents am Goethe Institut in New Delhi Mutter (Bishnupriya Mohanty, links) und Tante (Sarojini Mohanty, rechts) des indischen Künstlers Paribartana lesen aus "Rupantara" des berühmten indischen Schriftstellers Kamalakanta Mahapatra. Es ist die Oriya-Übersetzung von Kafkas "Die Verwandlung" und Teil von Paribartanas Kunstprojekts Five Million Incidents am Goethe Institut in New Delhi | © Paribartana Mohanty Im September las der indische Künstler Paribartana Mohanty mit seiner Mutter Bisnupriya Mohanty und seiner Tante Sarojini Mohanty aus Rupantara, der Oriya-Übersetzung von Die Verwandlung des berühmten indischen Schriftstellers Kamalakanta Mahapatra – als Teil seines künstlerischen Projekts Five Million Incidents, einer neuen Ausstellung am Goethe Institut in New Delhi. "Die Verwandlung handelt auch von der Familie," sagt Mohanty über die Lesung von Kafkas Geschichte in Oriya, seiner Muttersprache. In seinem Werk, das hauptsächlich aus Gesprächen mit seiner Familie besteht, geht es um Beziehungen und Nationalismus in der Gesellschaft der Gegenwart. "Wie kann man die Familie als Einheit verstehen, wenn die Menschen durch unterschiedliche Ideologien zusammenfinden?" fragt Mohanty, der auf die Frage eine Antwort durch das existentialistische Dilemma in Die Verwandlung zu geben erhofft.

Der Einfluss auf die Kreativität

Zu den weiteren Übersetzung von Kafkas Werken in die indischen Sprachen zählen außerdem Kafka ki Lokpriya Kahaniyan (2016), eine Sammlung von Geschichten, die von Prabhat Prakashan auf Hindi veröffentlicht wurden; Durgam, eine Malayalam-Übersetzung von Das Schloß; ein E-Book von Die Verwandlung auf Tamil; und eine 1962 als Kaya Kalp erschienene Urdu-Übersetzung der Geschichte von Intizar Husain. Ein weiterer auf Urdu schreibender Autor und Lehrer, der verstorbene Naiyer Masud, ehedem Leiter der Abteilung für Persisch an der Lucknow University in Uttar Pradesh, übersetzte 1978 zwanzig Kurzgeschichten von Kafka. Mukadmo, eine Übersetzung von Der Prozeß in Gujarati, ist für umgerechnet anderthalb Euro erhältlich.

"Es gibt auch noch das Buch Kafka in Ayodhya and Other Stories des in Singapur lebenden indischen Journalisten und Autors Zafar Anjum, der Kafkas fiktive Reise nach Ayodhya beschreibt (wo es 1992 zu einem gewalttätigen Sturm auf eine Moschee aus dem 16. Jahrhundert kam). Kafka hat dabei ein Exemplar von Die Verwandlung im Gepäck," weiß Rosy Singh, die seit fast zwei Jahrzehnten an der Delhi University Deutsch unterrichtete, bevor sie vor drei Jahren ihre gegenwärtige Stelle als Associate Professor an der JNU antrat. 

Im dem 2007 herausgekommenen Film No Smoking des in Mumbai ansässigen unabhängigen Filmemachers und Produzenten Anurag Kashyap taucht eine Figur mit dem Namen K auf. "K. ist ein Kettenraucher, der das Rauchen aufgeben möchte. Er besucht eine Gesundheitsanstalt, die sehr an Kafkas Welt erinnert. Die Überblendung von wirklichen und traumhaften Welten, die Topographie der Wohnblöcke und Slums, die labyrinthische Situation und die Angst der Protagonisten ist sehr kafkaesk,” meint Singh, die ihre Doktorarbeit über den berühmten Autor aus Prag schrieb. "Indien hat keinen Kafka, aber das Land kann seine Werke auf eigene Weise verstehen und sich seine Schriften aneignen,“ fügt sie noch hinzu.

Top