Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Culture

Welcome!

The Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan offers topics from culture and society in Germany, India and the South Asian region, thereby building bridges between the continents. With our digital offerings, we want to portray a modern image of Germany. At the same time, we take into account the local perspective, deal with topics from India and neighboring countries and promote international dialogue.

Recent

Game'n'Train Mixer © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

International Exchange Program
Game'n'Train Mixer Online

Our peer-learning program with 20 game designers and students from all over the world is now live! Come meet our participants as they create virtual game studios and develop exhilarating games. Explore more offers about insights into the gaming world, expert opinions, electrifying game-walkthroughs, and an assortment of exciting mobile and computer games.

Cultural scene© Goethe-Institut

Cultural Genres

The art and cultural scene in Germany and India is characterized by great diversity with respect to the size and scope of the various cultural institutions and projects. In the "Arts" section, we highlight "Architecture", "Music", "Visual Arts" and "Dance and Theater" and share regular updates on calls for proposals and residencies. The two focal points of the region, "Film, Media & Digital Culture" and "Literature & Knowledge" are also covered. 

Arts

Joseph Beuys © Courtesy Video Data Bank of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Anniversary
100 Years of Joseph Beuys

Joseph Beuys would have turned 100 in 2021. In celebration, we’ve gathered videos and events on Beuys from our colleagues and partners — and included some 2021 perspectives on the artist’s work.

More on Arts

Film, Media & Digital Culture

Signs of Resistance_COVER

Film Series
Goethe on Demand: Signs of Resistance

The Goethe-Institut presents: "Signs of Resistance", a film series with 14 films about civil society engagement, protest and emancipation movements, the culture of remembrance, migration, and environmental issues.

More on Film, Media & Digital Culture

LITERATURE & KNOWLEDGE

Word! The language column © Goethe-Institut e. V./Illustration: Tobias Schrank

The German Language Column
Word!

How does one find one's way around the rules of the German language, where do new words come from, and what are the most important changes in the use of the language - for example, due to digitalisation and a higher sensitivity due to the gender issue? These and other exciting topics are the focus of our column about the German language.

More on Literature & Knowledge
Contemporary Life©Goethe-Institut

Contemporary Life

Germany is globally renowned as the "Land of poets and thinkers". But it is also the country of the Currywurst, of Christmas markets and Oktoberfest, of soccer and punctuality! How do the Germans live? What is the typical contemporary culture, what is being debated, and where do discourses arise? All of these and many more are the focus of this section. 

SOCIETY

FEHLER Key VIsual Design: Tobias Schrank

Magazine
Fehler

How do we innovate and make progress? Our answer: often by mistake. We’re celebrating mistakes and their innovative power in this magazine: a collection of both big and little mistakes in art, language, technology, and society.

More on Society

Lifestyle

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Boarding!
Graphic Travelogues

Join us on this special journey and immerse yourself in new worlds: Graphic Travelogues presents travel experiences by comic artists from different countries. From sketches to graphic novels, graphic diaries and travel drawings - discover with us the treasures we collect here.

More on Lifestyle

SUSTAINABILITY

As romantic as the idea of rural life might be, it is sometimes also deceptive – the infrastructure in terms of mobility, schools, child care and medical care is far better in cities. Photo (detail): © Adobe

How we survive the human age
ECOLOGUES

Particulate matter, climate change, plastic: How can we solve these problems and preserve the earth for ourselves and our future generations? Ecologues collects stories from people, initiatives, organizations and companies who have already dared to take the step from thinking to acting. 

More on Sustainability
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Kultur

Willkommen!

Das Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan bietet Themen aus Kultur und Gesellschaft in Deutschland, Indien sowie der Region Südasien und schlägt damit Brücken zwischen den Kontinenten. Mit unserem digitalen Angebot wollen wir ein modernes Deutschlandbild vermitteln. Gleichzeitig nehmen wir die Perspektive vor Ort auf, behandeln Themen aus Indien sowie der Nachbarländer und fördern den internationalen Dialog.
 

Aktuell

Game'n'Train Mixer © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

Internationales Austauschprogramm
Game'n'Train Mixer Online

Das Peer-Learning-Programm mit 20 Gamedesignern und Studenten aus der ganzen Welt ist jetzt live! Stöbert in zahlreichen Angeboten über tiefe Einblicke in die Spielewelt, Experten-Meinungen, aufregende Game-Walkthroughs und eine Auswahl an elektrisierenden Handy- und Computerspielen.

Kulturelle Szene© Goethe-Institut

Kulturelle Sparten

Die Kunst- und Kulturszene in Deutschland und Indien zeichnet sich durch eine große Vielfalt aus. In der Sparte „Künste“ vereinen wir „Architektur“, „Musik“, „Bildende Künste“ sowie „Tanz und Theater“. Hier finden Sie auch regelmäßige Updates zu Ausschreibungen und Residenzen. Dazu kommen die beiden Schwerpunkte der Region „Film, Medien & digitale Kultur“ sowie „Literatur & Wissen“.

Künste

Joseph Beuys © Courtesy Video Data Bank of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Jubiläum
100 Jahre Joseph Beuys

2021 wäre Joseph Beuys 100 Jahre alt geworden. Wir haben Videos und Veranstaltungen zu Beuys von unseren Kolleg*innen und Partnern gesammelt – und einige Perspektiven aus 2021 auf das Werk des Künstlers zusammengestellt.

Mehr zum Thema Künste

Filme, Medien & digitale Kultur

Im Zeichen des Widerstands_COVER

Film Serie
Goethe on Demand: „Im Zeichen des Widerstands“

Das Goethe-Institut präsentiert: „Im Zeichen des Widerstands“, eine Filmreihe mit 14 Dokumentarfilmen aus vier Jahrzehnten zu zivilgesellschaftlichem Engagement, Protestbewegungen, Migration, Erinnerungskultur und Umweltthemen.

Mehr zum Thema Filme, Medien & digitale Kultur

LITERATUR & WISSEN

Sprechstunde - die Sprachkolumne © Goethe-Institut e. V./Illustration: Tobias Schrank

Die Sprachkolumne
Sprechstunde

Wie findet man sich zurecht im Regelwerk der deutschen Sprache, woher kommen neue Wörter, und was sind die wichtigsten Veränderungen im Gebrauch der Sprache - zum Beispiel durch die Digitalisierung und die Sensibilisierung hinsichtlich der Genderfrage? Um diese und andere spannende Themen geht es in unserer Kolumne rund um die deutsche Sprache.

Mehr zum Thema Literatur & Wissen
Zeitgenössisches Leben©Goethe-Institut

Gegenwart

Deutschland ist weltweit bekannt als das „Land der Dichter und Denker“. Aber es ist auch das Land der Currywurst, der Weihnachtsmärkte und Oktoberfeste, des Fußballs und der Pünktlichkeit. Wie leben die Deutschen? Was ist typische Gegenwartskultur, worüber wird gestritten, wo entstehen Diskurse? Um diese Fragen und mehr rankt sich unser Bereich „Gegenwart“.

GESELLSCHAFT

FEHLER Key VIsual Design: Tobias Schrank

Magazin
Fehler

Wie kommt das Neue in die Welt? Häufig durch Fehler! Wir feiern den Fehler und seine Innovationskraft mit einer Sammlung der schönsten kleinen und großen Fehler aus Kunst, Sprache, Technologie und Gesellschaft.

Mehr zum Thema Gesellschaft

Modernes Leben

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Boarding!
Graphic Travelogues

Begleiten Sie uns auf eine besondere Reise, tauchen Sie ein in neue Welten: Graphic Travelogues präsentiert Reiseerfahrungen von internationalen Comic-Künstler*innen. Von Skizzen über Graphic Novels, grafischen Tagebüchern über Reisezeichnungen - entdecken Sie hier wahre Schätze.

Mehr zum Thema Modernes Leben

NACHHALTIGKEIT

So romantisch die Vorstellung vom Landleben ist, so trügerisch ist sie manchmal auch: Um die Infrastruktur in Sachen Mobilität, Schulen, Kinderbetreuung und Medizinversorgung ist es in Städten deutlich besser bestellt Foto (Detail): © Adobe

Wie wir das Zeitalter des Menschen überleben
ECOLOGUES

​Feinstaub, Klimawandel, Plastik: Wie können wir diese Probleme lösen und die Erde für uns und nachfolgende Generationen erhalten? Im Rahmen des Projekts Ecologues werden daher Geschichten von Menschen, Initiativen, Organisationen und Unternehmen gesammelt, die den Schritt vom Denken zum Handeln schon gewagt haben. 

Mehr zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit
Top